How To Get Rid Of Canker Sore

40 46
Avatar for Jinifer
2 years ago

This has been bothering me for the past three days. I merely ignored it at first because it was so small and didn't itch all that much. I used to dabble with it with my tongue every now and then. But the next morning, when I awoke and went to get a glass of water to gargle, I sobbed because it was so painful. And the more I gazed at it in the mirror, the bigger it got. I couldn't eat since everything I ate pained my mouth and made me feel even worse.


So, what is a Canker Sore?

Canker sores, also known as aphthous ulcers, are small, shallow lesions that appear on the soft tissues of the mouth or along the gum line. Canker sores do not appear on the surface of your lips; instead, they develop inside the mouth, on the gums, and are not contagious. However, they can be painful and make eating and speaking complicated. Source- Canker Sore

What triggered Canker Sore?

1. A little mouth injury occurred. We bite our tongue and the soft portion of our mouth by unintentionally on occasion. It then leaves a small wound, which develops into a canker sore.

2. Brushing your teeth excessively to the point where it hurts your mouth

3. Sensitivities to certain foods, such as spicy foods, sweets, coffee, nuts, eggs, or acidic foods

How to get rid of it and what treatments are needed?

Way back when, I had several treatments for my canker sore. I tried everything just to get rid of my canker sore, no matter how painful it was.

These are the following treatments that I've used and tried.

Honey

When I was a kid, my mom used to put honey in my mouth whenever I was in pain with a canker sore. She sometimes let me have at least four spoons of honey. Though it is sweet, I kid you not, it's the worst of all. It's so painful to  the point that I started hating honey. The use of honey is that you just need to put some of it on the area where the canker sore was and gently apply it. It is truly painful, but you have to endure the pain if you don't want to suffer or have difficulty eating for a week.

Tawas (Alum)

For me, this is not that painful at all. Well, maybe because I've gotten used to this already. Tawas, or Potassium Alum, is a white powder and is most commonly used as underarm powder. It is also used as a protection for "kili-kili power". This has a lot of usage, sometimes in feet. But it can also be a great cure for canker sores. You will need a cotton bud to scoop up a small amount of powder and gently apply it to the canker area. I suggest that you have to put tawas twice or thrice a day for fast healing.

Baking Soda or salt.

The baking soda has the same effect as the tawas, so they're like the same. All you have to do is to add a small amount of baking soda and a cup of lukewarm water. You just have to gargle using the mixed baking soda and water. But if you don't have baking soda, you can definitely use salt as a substitute. They're both the same and effective. But if you want fast healing, take a small amount of baking soda and put a little bit of water to make a paste and stick it in the area of the canker sore. And if you think that it's too painful, then you can have the other one, which is lukewarm water with salt or baking soda. 

 

How to prevent having canker sore again?

Make healthful dietary choices - Consume enough of fruits, veggies, as well as the whole carbs to avoid nutritional deficits.

Be mindful of what you eat - Avoid eating foods that can irritate your mouth especially spicy and acidic foods and fruits.

Maintain proper dental hygiene - Brushing your teeth after meals and flossing once a day can help keep your mouth clean and clear of things that can cause a sore. To avoid irritation of fragile mouth tissues, brush with a soft toothbrush and avoid toothpastes and mouth rinses containing sodium lauryl sulfate.

A more cautious about your mouth - If you have sharp teeth edges, make sure to carefully not get into the surface of your lips.


I decided to make an article of this one because I also have mine right now, and it's starting to get bigger and bigger. I accidentally bit it, and it's also because of my wisdom tooth which is so annoying. LOL

Click each images attached for image sources

Lead Image Source

You might wanna check out my Story

You're My First And Will Be My Last

You're My First And Will Be My Last. P2

At Last: You're My First And Will Be My Last

You guys can also check out my recent articles :>

Underrated Movie Recommendations
Just An Ordinary Day
A Not So Entertaining
5 Years Of Celebrating Father's Birthday Without Him
Is It True That Pain is Beauty?


Author's Note:

Heeeyyaaa! Thank you guys for dropping by and reading this article of mine. I hope it helps you guys who are also suffering with canker sore just like me lol.

You can always hit the Like and Subscribe button if you want to. Really appreciate it. :>

Arrigathankyougozaimuch :>

18
$ 8.49
$ 7.98 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.10 from @ARTicLEE
$ 0.05 from @Ruffa
+ 10
Sponsors of Jinifer
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Jinifer
2 years ago

Comments

Experienced that too.., at times, i love putting salt in it.., even if I feel the pain, but I just want to get rid of it, so that I can eat properly 😁

$ 0.00
2 years ago

When I have a gum ulcer I put salt directly on the wound, it hurts a lot but only for an instant. It heals quickly with salt. Very useful and interesting article. Thank you for sharing it.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ang hirap po pag may ganyan lalo na pag sa pagkain hirap tapos ang hapdi. Lagi ko lang ginagawa whenever i have that one is lalagyan ko lang tawas and its not easy kase you should be careful baka makain mo yung tawas mahapdi din sya.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Pakita ko nga Ito sa kuya ko,lalapitin siya ng ganyan eh😂 thanks for this

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Nalimutan ko na kung nagkaroon ba ko ng ganito o hindi. 😄 masakit po ba? 😂

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Dati, ang limit kong magka ganyan halos linggo linggo nalang ee meron kaurat. Sakin diko na ginagamot, nag titiis ako sa sakit ng isang linggo. Nakakakain pa rin naman ako ee kahit masakit. Di non mapipigilan ang gutom ko wahahaha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Wahahahaha apaka tapang! Minsan nilalaro ko lang to sa dila ko eh, pero kapag lumaki na saka ko lang lalagyan ng tawas hahaa

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hahahaha, ganon kasi talaga sanay nan na akong nasasaktan kaya parang kinagat lang ako ng langgam. Mada masakit pa nga unh sakin na dinulot nya sskin ee ☹️. Charowttt wahahahaha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

What a coincidence it is Lol. I wrote an article about the remedy of tooth ache and here I am reading your article about canker sore. Tawas tawas po talaga gamot ko dyannn ehhh. Pag nabadtrip ako binubudbudan ko na ng asin para mas masakit ahahahha.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

The more painful it gets, the faster it heals kasi HAHAH

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I rarely have canker sores but this will come in handy. When I feel something is not right with my mouth and throat, I gargle with salt and lukewarm water at least three times a day and before I know it, I'm cured :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ako kasi kapag maliit, nilalaro ko sa dila ko. Tas kapag lumaki na, ayun iiyak kasi mahapdi HAHAHAH apaka tanga eh 😂

$ 0.00
2 years ago

There's a cancer core formed on top of my gum a month ago and until now it's still there but it's not painful, I've experience having difficulty in eating on time that I have canker sore, sometimes I want to press it to remove the fluid inside however evedytime I touch it with my tongue, it's getting bigger and bigger, hopefully I have no canker sore now and I don't want to have it anymore.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

HAHAHA the more you play it with your tongue, the bigger it gets

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Same sis, tawas jud akoa itambal permi sa akoa luas.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Super effective ang tawas, mag butang ko mga twice a day HAHAH

$ 0.00
2 years ago

We use bonjela here, it is a little tube of ointment that you rub on and they disappear.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

And I bet it's too painful too? Haha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

WEll I have never had them, so I don;t know hehe

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Di naman siya masakit para saken pero yung lagyan ng asin or mag mumog ng asin talaga dahil dyan, doon ko lang nararamdaman yung sakit kaya di ko siya nimumumogan. Mas maganda pa ilagay yung colgate eh kesa sa asin. Di gaano mahapdi sa colgate. Diko pa din na tratry yung lagyan siya ng honey at tawas

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Honey pina masakit HAHAHHA pero sa tawas, okay lang nasanay na ako eh

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Naaa! Ako sis, kanunay lang tawn masamdan ang wait tungod sa kalungas sa akong bata. Maayu na lang gani kay dili pud maingon-ana.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ambot pud aning akoa oy, sensitive kaayo, masamdan lang gani og gamay Kay mahimo dayun og luas

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Sakit nito dzai. Pero pag nawala yan bawi ka nalanf ulit sa pag kain hahaha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Kainis kasi kapag may masarap na pagkain, dika maka kain ng maayos HAHAHA

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Sakit kaya nyan, sis. Ak lagi kong nakakagat bibig koeh.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Palaki na nga itong akin eh, kainis di ako maka kain ng maayos haha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Aside from having toothache and headache, that is the most painful at all.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

And annoying too HAHAHHA lalo na kung may masarap na pagkain tas hindi ka maka kain ng maayos

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Oh thank you very much for the input, I usually experience this.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Currently suffering with mine right now HAAHHA

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Haha, oh no. Hope you get well soon. 🥰

$ 0.00
2 years ago

My daughter keeps getting these again and again even though her diet is good... Sores are caused by Vit B 12 deficiency... I always give her Vit B tonic to solve this, generally goes away in a week. But it sucks when we get this, can't eat anything

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yah, it truly sucks, this is one of the most annoying pain ever lol

$ 0.00
2 years ago

yes truly and more research and better medicines need to be invented for these soon

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I'm not sure about that but using salt increased my pain 😟

$ 0.00
2 years ago

That's the purpose of it, it has to be painful. The more painful it is, the faster it heals

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ok 😟

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yung pinya pagkain mo tapos nagkasakit ka ganyan hahahaha, ang sakit nun LOL

$ 0.00
2 years ago

HAHAHAHHAHA kabwisit, ako nga kanina nakalimutan ko meron pala ako, nag sawsaw pa ako ng maanghang na suka 😭

$ 0.00
2 years ago