Mentorship Call Hosting Experience

28 69
Avatar for Eybyoung
1 year ago

I'm not really a speaker type, I tend to be silent than to speak a lot. I'm not introvert either, but I am not just comfortable being a speaker. Especially if I'll use the English language, it's not my native language, although I can write better English speaking it would be a different story.

But for the sake of growing my involvement in SuperUMAn DAO, I gather all my confidence and courage to volunteer when our Mentorship team leader asked who will lead the mentorship call meeting last June 4, although he was not around during my hosting as he was busy with real life stuff, I did my best to host the call until the end.

Hosting call experience in details

Last week, I've been preparing myself how to manage hosting a call. It's really a challenge to me because like I said I am not a speaker type. I just let my pen talk a lot or the keyboard instead of me.

Prior to the call time, I woke up two hours advance just to prepare the meeting agenda. I just wrote it in my notepad, since I don't have to share my screen because I don't have any slides to show for visual approach. I woke up at 12mn and my call meeting hosting will be at 2am in our time zone. Imagine I have to wake up in the middle of the night just for these stuff, that goes to show my interest in growing my experience and knowledge within the DAO.

Upon my hosting, there are only 15 attendees, some even jump off the call especially those SuperUMAns they're not even required to attend our call because they're on the higher level but some stays which we always appreciate because SuperUMAn people are always busy.

I was actually nervous but I still speak calmly as if I'm just talking to some friends. I can't speak English in straight so I just speak slowly, so the listeners won't feel that I am rattled.

I was even silently laughing and told myself “gosh, maybe they're bored already” because when I call some of the attendees to speak, they we're all silent and I was like “oh my gosh, why you guys are not speaking?”

I always ask “guys can you hear me?” as I was thinking maybe my connection got interrupted but some answered “yes” so they heard me.

Those people I call that doesn't speak, cannot speak for some specific reasons and just type on our workspace that they can't speak.

Feedback of my hosting

I did manage to finish hosting the call for one hour, so let's see what's my teammates feedback about my hosting. I am courageous and confident but sometimes I can't recognize appreciation, so I'll let you be the judge if I manage to do it or not.

After everyone left the call they said “great job” and that I manage it.

I was touch by the message of Amadex that slow and steady wins the race, I did try my best to calm down even if some of those I called didn't speak. RuneManny does not speak when I called him but he chatted “well done” and he even replied, he needs my courage so he can speak as well on the next call.

I was also happy Sofia appreciated me, she's one of the coolest SuperUMAn and very approachable too. My heart was happy when Lizzie said I had a nice voice because it's calm haha! I don't know if it's true as I can't hear myself in recorded audio, the one who can record the call didn't attend as well as they were busy.

This was the last appreciation I got but most valuable because it came from a very busy guy but still manage to stay just to listen on my boring hosting haha! He said they're all quiet because they're listening to me.

It was very challenging because when they don't talk, I have to speak further just so the call won't be in silence. Even though I'm already silently annoyed with others that doesn't speak, I bet some of the recruits just attended the call for attendance and don't bother listening because our team leader is not around.

The call ended fine, I speak a lot ended especially when nobody is answering just to fill the gap and don't let the call empty.

It was a great experience, I was supposed to cancel my hosting as I'll be busy when my partner will arrive but I still manage to do it. I just don't want to fail anyone's expectations on my hosting as they were rooting for me, and most of all I don't want to fail myself.

It was a challenge that I accepted for myself to overcome my fear of speaking, to grow and to be able to talk with diverse people without any restrictions. I think by not giving up my hosting, I already succeeded it coz it wasn't easy when you're not an English native speaker yet you manage to host a meeting with foreign people. This will not be the first and last for sure, but for now.. I'll just chill and let the others host the call as well.

So what can you say? Did I do a great job or not?

Recent personal blogs:

Time Is Our Ultimate Enemy When We're Busy & Enjoying

How To Love A Toxic Person

The Random It Gets, The More It Is Rewarded (Sometimes Not)

Becoming A Mom (Happy Mother's Day!)

May Target & To-Do List

Demure or Wild? Wild For Fun

Some Memories In Highschool

When You Chose A Woman

Never Let It Hold You

50, 000 Views Milestones

Find me at:

readcash •noisecash •Publish0x •Hive •Twitter •Telegram •Discord •email

Date Published:

June 10,2022(Article#:5)

21
$ 6.69
$ 6.06 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.20 from @PVMihalache
$ 0.05 from @Jane
+ 10
Sponsors of Eybyoung
empty
empty
Avatar for Eybyoung
1 year ago

Comments

Good job and congratulations ate :) I know for sure that you did a great job. Kita naman sa appreciation ng mga teammates mo hehe

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Thanks Cherry, hehe.. nakaka happy lang mga taong yan very supportive talaga.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

nice one !!

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Mka happy kaayu te no basta ma appreciate atung effort hihi. Congrats ate for nailing it. By just readingtheir feedbacks, I think you really did great in hosting. hihih. Well, I can't imagine my self hosting since I would really stutter.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Oo maka happy gyud bisan gamay nga progress bitaw nimo e appreciate ka maka inspire ug samot.. hehe thank you

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Being a host is not easy because the grammar must be arranged so that the meeting participants can follow it well from the conversation guidance from the host but you have done well. it can be seen from some positive comments from meeting participants. I've done this before so I can feel the vibe and pressure of being the mentor in a meeting. you're going to be a great host my friend because by now you've done it right. when we always do this, it is the habit that will lift us up to be the main one, meaning the habit factor will make us comfortable and successful. congrats my friend.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Yeah, it's not really easy.. I was very uncomfortable but I tried my best to calm myself.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

You conquered your fear sissy!..congratulations!..and given the commendations you have received from your audience, looks like you really did well!..

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Thanks sis, yes fear conquered talaga..

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Congrats dear sister, you did Your job in perfect way. Online mentorship is easy after getting experience you felt it.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Than you :)

$ 0.00
1 year ago

That's one thing I like about you. You have the passion of learning and you take challenges, breaking out from your comfort zone. Well done!

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Thanks, Lee . It's really challenging but I tried my best 😊

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I am super uncomfortable with speeches and seminars. I have to get control over this in near future. Glad to hear about your session going good. Cheers!

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Yeah, we have to control our fears or go out in our comfort zone so we can grow. Thank you Esmee!

$ 0.00
1 year ago

You did a great job talaga Eyb. Galing galing. As batchmate mo dito sa read proud na proud ako sayo. Totoo Yan hehe

$ 0.00
User's avatar Yen
1 year ago

Thank you Yen, nakakatuwa na nag grow tayo from where we are before 😊

$ 0.00
1 year ago

My gosh Eyb, you did an AWESOME job. And everyone see that. Ill go with Deadcoin to find and buy some confidence too coz I can never do that. You know how afraid I am in the crowded place while speaking and that also apply even in virtual call or what. ShareIt Confidence pweaseee, I need that too huehue. And patuloy kapang umaabante papalapit sa lahat, yiehhh sene ell. Career-in mo na yan basta wag mo kami kakalimutan ᕙ(͡°‿ ͡°)ᕗ(✿^‿^)

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Hey @ruffa ... what's up? Missing your activity on Discord and TG

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Hahahaha kala mo naman saan ako pupunta at kakalimutan kayo 🤣🤣

Kaya nga courage at confidence nga lang talaga, alam mo yung ang tahimik nila I have to speak more pag walang nasagot grabi yun hahaha sabi ko nga ang boring ko ata mag host, pero kasi wala yung team leader namin, mdjo makuda kasi yun kaya yung ibang host last time mdjo di pressured magsalita.. sus sakin wala sya kaya ayun grabi napasubo ako mag English ba 🤣🤣

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Ouhhh... so sorry I missed that! 😥 was busy with my Metaverse Party

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I understand you're busy, btw . Belated happy birthday PVM, sorry I forgot to greet you, I hope you had a great birthday ever!

$ 0.00
1 year ago

No worries! Blame the timezones

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Yeah, time zone always causing gap haha

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Sayang hndi kita narinig magmeeting 😁.. Tulog ako for sure . late lage eh 🤣

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Hahaha alas 2am na yun eh 🤣 natatawa nga ako ang tahimik nang mga listener ko jusko hahah

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Wala na iinteract? 😅

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Haha meron naman kaso ang tagal sumagot hahaha

$ 0.00
1 year ago