Food for the Tummy, and for the Soul.

49 72
Avatar for Ellehcim
2 years ago

11/09/2021


It was a good dream I dreamt, but a familiar scent woke me up. I opened my eyes with a smile, knowing my favorite cook came today. She did not break her promise months ago to visit me.

The air was filled with the aroma of garlic being sautΓ©ed into melting butter. I greeted Chef Paula a good morning, and I saw her beautiful smile again. She's like a second mom to me, and she prefers it when I call her Nanay Paula.

Nanay Paula is currently mixing last night's cooked rice with salt, some pepper and other seasonings, while the garlic is cooked in low heat.

"I prepared some soup for you. Eat while it's hot."

"Thank you, Nanay!"

The savory taste of the soup woke up my whole system. Nothing's better than a hot soup for an empty stomach, in my opinion. What about you?

I am not a fan of heavy meals. But when it's prepared by Chef Paula, I can't get enough of her dishes. Maybe she adds magic to her delicacies.

The fried rice was served just in time, when I finished the bowl of soup. I love how she put lots of seasonings and some meat into the fried rice.

And by the time I finished the rice (spotless plate now), I was so full already. Breakfast are best when I have company of Nanay Paula. We talked as if we have not met each other for years.

I requested my favorite viand for lunch. She is also talented in making these dishes that I love. We did some housekeeping together, like how she always insisted on helping me tidy the house even I tell her not to. Actually, I am not that shy to show her how I can become messy about my home sometimes. She knows how I can really be unorganized with managing the house chores, especially on busy days.

She laughed when I told her I could not wait for lunch, so with laughter, she left me to clean alone and shopped foods to cook.

She arrived an hour and a half before 12 in the afternoon, and I was also almost finished on cleaning the house. I watched as she organized the ingredients and I could already visualize how the cooked meal would look like, with all these familiar spices and ingredients.

Nanay Paula took an hour to cook the Pork Adobo, along with another all-time favorite of mine, Bicol Express.

Pork Adobo, Source: Instagram

Bicol Express, Source: Instagram

I love adobo with rich flavors embracing the meat itself, plus lots of potatoes cooked just right. Bicol Express is just how I like it, not too spicy, not too creamy. Nanay Paula knows just the right amount of chili to put, and coconut milk to add into the dish. To me, the prevailing taste of soy sauce in Adobo pairs best with the creamy rich taste of Bicol Express. And the spiciness boosts my appetite. Can I say the magic words? It is... just "Chef's Kiss."

This hearty meal was completed by softdrinks, and our favorite noontime show. Wait, what is diet again?

Afternoon is the best time for a siesta. It is one of our favorite bonding time. A full tummy activates a sleepy head. I'll be back for the merienda.


"Hoyeon, wake up! Merienda is ready.." Nanay Paula called.

She woke up almost an hour before me.

Even I am still not hungry, I could not say no to the appetizing look of the newly-cooked banana cue and camote que.

Source: Instagram

These goodies are best served hot.

"I think there is a big festival in my tummy right now. I ate a lot." I jokingly told Chef Paula.

"Let me prepare a light meal for dinner tonight. I will also brew some tea."

"A fruit or vegetable salad is enough. You know my favorite.."

"Lots of cucumbers." We said in unison, and laughed again.

I did not notice, I almost finished the foods.


Salad it is, for dinner.

I am really a cucumber lover. Put it into any dish, I will enjoy it. Nanay Paula has a talent of choosing cucumbers of best quality. I enjoyed a freshly-brewed tea after.

Enjoying the meal lasted more minutes than my usual eating time, because we talked about a lot of things. She asked me lots of questions, and I answered everything honestly. I feel really comfortable around her.

I never talked to anyone else for hours, except Nanay Paula. Aside from her delicious recipes, I always learn a lot of words of wisdom from her. For today, these words are what I found the most impactful:

"You don't have to live someone else's dream. You are not going to be happy in the long run. Choose the path you love. It maybe hard at first, but your passion will keep you going, and there is always a high chance of being successful, and an absolute tendency to be happy, of course."

What a day. It's not just my tummy, but my mind as well. They're both well-nourished. I wish Nanay Paula can always be here everyday.

What a "yummy" blog.

Not too late for Miss @JonicaBradley's Prompt about Food yet? I hope so!

Did this article made you full or hungry? LOL. I attempted to showcase some of the famous delicacies here in the Philippines. Aside from Adobo, and Bicol Express, we also want to flex our delicious Sinigang, Escabeche, and more. If you are not a Filipino, are you familiar with the words I said? Is there a Filipino food you've eaten before? What is your favorite Filipino Food?

Anyway, wanna talk abou FOOD, too? Be aware of these rules:

Let's talk more in the comment section. I am happy you read from me. πŸ€—

Thanks a lot for reading! And also... ehem! Thanks in advance for considering to sponsor me. πŸ˜‰ I will do my best to not disappoint you.

Connect withΒ Club1BCH!

Start worthwhile journeys:

❄️ Read Next!

#Club1BCH

To God be The Glory.

  • All images used (including Lead Image) are from Unsplash, unless otherwise state in caption. Click pictures for direct sources.

21
$ 13.16
$ 12.37 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.10 from @JLoberiza
$ 0.10 from @Peter-Molnar
+ 15
Sponsors of Ellehcim
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Ellehcim
2 years ago

Comments

😭😭😭 don't do this to me, my friend. My tummy can't take this and now I am drooling hahahaha. I would give anything to try one of these.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Visit Philippines and try these foods first! Or if you can't, you can look for its recipes online. I am sure you can pull them off! πŸ‘Œ

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Hahaha I can't pull this off. I would rather visit hahaha.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hahaha, okay, Looking forward to that!

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Yaaaaaaay. You will make a good host.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Let's see. πŸ˜‚πŸ€—

$ 0.00
2 years ago

πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ€£πŸ€£ don't bail on me now... I've planned for my tickets

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ahahahaha! It's still all up to you! πŸ˜‚

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yaaaaay. See you soon...

$ 0.01
2 years ago

The adobo made me hungry Elle. πŸ₯² Haha. Pero bat ba ayaw ko sa pipino? Hahaha. Kakainggit yung mga kumakain niyan, pero feeling ko kasi di ko kayang kainin e. πŸ₯²

Pero I agree with Nanay Paula, never live other's dream. They can be an inspiration for you to go through, but you need to look for your own path. πŸ’œ

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Ay ganern? Sarap kaya ng pipino! =<

Try mo din minsan. Hehehe.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

That was wonderful Elle I loved it and your second nanay is an awesome cook. I have heard lots of Filipino dishes but for me I love pancit, I love lechon and there are so many I have learnt and I always get hungry when I see them;)

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Oh my, forgot about pancit! love that too, especially the pancit canton one!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

hehe that is the one I cook 😁

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Please cook some for me when we meet, then! πŸ˜„

$ 0.00
2 years ago

hehe and I shall cook for your soul 😁

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I really have a feeling it's ginna be yummy I'd forget my read cash username! πŸ˜‚

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I could enjoy all the food wag lang young may fishy odour hahaha, I like tasteless rather salty nor sweet LOL, imagine eating spaghetti no source, LOL that's me hahaha...

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Ay ako din di mahilig sa fishy hehehe. Pero wag naman yung spaghetti na walang sauce! πŸ˜‚

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It makes me hungry especially the adobo and banana cue 🀀

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Luluto na yan si Mareng Jane! πŸ˜‚

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Talagang yummyyy blog ito ! Nagutom ako kakabasa at kakatingin sa mga pagkain haha

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Ahahha! Kain na kase! πŸ˜‚

$ 0.00
2 years ago

naglaway ako sa cucumber sobrang addict ko yan hahaha. Pero ate nakakatakam sila lahat.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Syempre naman. Pipino lover ka din pala like me. πŸ˜‰

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Super ok lang yan ulan ko ate ahhaha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Oo, kahit pipino lang, sapat na! πŸ€—

$ 0.00
2 years ago

So early jn the morning and you're making me hungry na huehue. Bicol Express, that's what I want right now. Yong mahalang na ang sarap iulam sa steamed rice, oh shoot 🀀🀀🀀

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Haynaku, it's been months since I last ate Bicol Express, kaya lagi yan nasa isip ko. πŸ˜‚

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Same sakin, sobrang tagal na di na kasi nagatinda si mama kaya aun di na makatikim huehue

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ay naku, sana makakain tayo non. San ba may resto na nagseserve non. πŸ˜‚

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hahaha yan nga din tanong ko ee haha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Pag mayron ka nakita, DM mo lang ako ah! Heheh.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

napakasarap tingnan ng mga photos .. of course bicol express is great pero and adobo talga ang pinoyna pinoy

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Yes, adobo.. never yata magsasawa ang Pinoy dito. Iba iba kasi amg style ng pag aadobo eh, lahat masarap. Kaya di nakakasawa.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Elleh why you make me craving with this?πŸ₯ΊπŸ˜„ I love it. I love Filipino foods and there it is my favorite, the Pork Adobo. I love Adobo Elleh.🀀 I tried once the bicol express. It's really delicious too. Oh my!😲 I like it! Banana cue.πŸ₯ΊπŸ€€

$ 0.01
2 years ago

I mean... who would say no to yummy foods like these diba? Ako nga medyo matagal na din na nakakain ng bicol express. Haha. Then yung camote cue and banana cue.. gusto ko rin. πŸ˜‚

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I have always wanted to taste Filipino food and I will do that one day or you could also send down here to Nigeria ahahha

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Ahhaha! If I can only give you some, I would have! You can look for recipe of these foods online, and enjoy it for yourself. πŸ˜‰

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I end up being hungry po especially to the adobo which it is my favorite Filipino food. A pleasant evening to you ma'am

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Oh, thanks for reading! πŸ€— Pleasant day to you, too. :))

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Don't tell me you ate all those foods alone with Chef Paula? 🀣🀣🀣 I couldn't stop staring at those delicious meals in front of me. I wish I could be with you to enjoy these mouth watering foods prepared for you.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Don't worry, it's just fictional. πŸ˜‚ Nanay Paula and Hoyeon, they are both fictional characters. πŸ˜‚ But yeah, I can eat all of those alone, of it's tasty enough. LOL

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ohhh. I have been longing to eat Bicol Express

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Same here! Been lots of months since I had one, too.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Nakakagutom sis. Uwu ang pork adobo. Makaluto nga bukas hehe

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Naks, sana all masarap mag adobo. Charing.. πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Sarap ng adobo Ate. Jusko nagugutom nanaman ako.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Ahahahaha! Ikain na yan! πŸ˜…

$ 0.00
2 years ago