Sloth, short for.. Internet.

Avatar for Ellehcim
2 years ago

11/04/2021


Among all of the pet peeves I can remember, slow internet connection is the strongest one. Nothing rivals it, so far.

Source: Unsplash

You can make me stay with the person I hate for a whole day, or have me do math problems, which I absolutely don't like, for hours. But give me a slow internet connection, I can be a walking monster within a minute.

Nothing sucks more than waiting for at least SIX HOURS to download a 200MB File, then seeing the "Failed to Download" prompt just as it is 0.50MB close to fully finish. Wasted data, wasted time. Wasted efforts. The poorest thing during these situations, is my phone. I tend to suddenly just throw it on the ground when I am really oozing with anger.

I always try to calm myself, of course. I take deep breaths, and think of good things, so bad mood won't get the best of me.

You may now think that I am a bit over-reacting, or easily mad at petty things. Try to live here in my country, and see for yourself. Just how sluggish internet connection is here. Imagine trying to download a series episode since early in the afternoon, and waiting until the evening, only to see it will eventually fail to download overall. Imagine a 0.01 MB per second internet speed, while you have a very important file to submit online, or a vital zoom meeting that requires your attendance on time. Isn't that just enough to explode?

I don't know, maybe it's just me. Turtle-like internet connectivity just effortlessly activates all the Hulk cells in my body (if I have any), and destroys my mood.

Is a slow internet not that of a big deal for you? Please let me know, so I can do something about myself. Maybe I am weird for letting this thing ruin my day.


One of the best things that happened today, is the day itself. Friday. So, it's okay even if I'd need to wait for at least five hours for an episode to download. I can spend that time catching up with my unattended stuff both here in read.cash, amd in noise.cash.

I am still about to check out the songs you guys recommended me in my article before this one, Music and Me. I am happy that you aided to my request and gave me suggestions of music I'd listen to. I really appreciate that.


Update in my current download status:

21.41 MB out of 228.32 MB. It has been thirty minutes since I started. 6 hours estimated time left. For a freakin 200+ MB, six hours? My goodness, what theβ€”calm down, calm down, Elle. You got this.

Anyway, I am really dying to see what's next in this drama, so by hook or by crook, I'llreally watch it now, even this would mean I'd stay up until 1 a.m. until it finishes downloading. Good thing it's a weekend.

If my patience really runs out, I'd just give up and watch on Facebook. I don't know anymore.

Anyone here who lives in the Philippines? What telecom service do you use for a bearable connection? Definitely not DITO sim. It's only good to use in the first month, the succeeding ones were just giving me non-existent high-blood pressure LOL. Can the next president of the country focus on internet speed, too? I think it's not this bad in other countries. My mom sometimes snaps at me whenever she hears me say "I want to get out of this country.. " because she thinks I hate being a Filipina. It's understandable though. I was not always able to explain her the real thought among these words. I want to be in a place with speedy internet.

When it comes to internet in the Philippines, I do believe that patience is a virtue, but it has a limit! (Haha!)

Anyway, I apologize for this rant-filled random blog. I am tired from a week's work, and a good Korean Drama is best to make me feel better. Thanks to the internet, I felt worse that I expected. It's so annoying.

I think I'd take a short nap until the episode gets fully saved on my phone. My body's getting heavy, maybe a good rest is what it needs. I have to tone down my rage too. Thanks to writing it, I feel somehow okay.

Okay, so out of curiousity, I looked for the ranking of fastest to slowest internet conmection in the world. Guess what, Philippines is out of Top 70. Not surprising.

Click photo for source.

The last time I checked, Philippines was in Top 72. South Korea being one of the top three, is not a surprise to me. Let me also add my story earlier, that not only I do say I don't wanna be in my coubtry anymore.. I also wished I can be in South Korea so I can enjoy a stable internet.

In other sources, it was said that Singapore tops the list. Other countries also are using 7G or 8G right now, while in our country we are still stuck in 3G or 4G, the latter of which is almost useless to me.

Why is internet in the Philippines so slow? I found some answers. If you may grow curious, too, feel free to read through the following articles.


I feel really sleepy as of the time of writing this, so let me take a power nap (or sleep if it goes to that LOL) now. Thanks for bearing with me. I appreciate you coming in here, even it's more of a rant blogging.

Until next time!

Thanks a lot for reading! And also... ehem! Thanks in advance for considering to sponsor me. πŸ˜‰ I will do my best to not disappoint you.

Connect withΒ Club1BCH!

Start worthwhile journeys:

❄️ Read Next!

#Club1BCH

To God be The Glory.

  • Lead Image from Unsplash

15
$ 9.04
$ 8.24 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.20 from @PVMihalache
$ 0.10 from @Crackers
+ 10
Sponsors of Ellehcim
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Ellehcim
2 years ago
Enjoyed this article?  Earn Bitcoin Cash by sharing it! Explain
...and you will also help the author collect more tips.

Comments

Scientist has discovered that slowly internet is worst than an heartbreak and it causes more damage than corona.

If you are anxious to know the scientist, it's me πŸ˜…

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Ahahaha! Thanks for this, Scientist! πŸ˜‚ I can prove it! Hehehe!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Quite an informative post. Internet speed is a matter for freelancers.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Only one thing is worst than no Internet... no Internet

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Ahahaha! They're nothing different! πŸ˜‚

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I wouldn't mind Dubai either

$ 0.01
2 years ago

After reading your troubles with the internet I was wondering where South Africa is, so I went and looked...we rank number 90 🀣 it is very frustrating here as well because most of the time the same thing happens like with you. Especially the windows updates 🀬 they fail every time 🀬

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Ahahaha! I think it's still too far to dream our countries to rank within top 10. πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Me too! For now I'm just thankful I have electricity πŸ˜¬πŸ˜›πŸ˜…

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Oh yes, thank God. ❀️

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Oh my this is one give me a headache Ellehcim having a slow internet. I remember when I was in province. I should walk a place that I have a good internet connection.

Especially when I have an important to download but a slow internet interrupt. It's really hard. The worst one if I have something to download. It makes me arrgh..πŸ˜”

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Oh, yeah. To the point we just want to cry. 😭

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes Ellehcim. Truth. 😒

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Dadagdagan ko pa ba ang rants mo? hehehehe. as in relate ako dito, yong may klase ka tapos bigla ka nalang na out kasi nawala ang connection. anyways, sana naman, mabigyan na ito ng solution.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Opo nga eh. Sa naresearch ko, dahil pala maraming islands sa Philippines at costly yung pag set up ng mga cables underground eme, basta ganun po hahaha.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You are not alone, dear; I'm not too fond of slow internet speed, especially when I want to binge-watch my movies. Your 6 hours reminded me of how I waited a day to download a 1GB movie; in the end, it was an unsupported file; I wanted to cry and break my phone. It isn't easy dealing with slow internet; it wastes data, time, and effort.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

It is just 6 hours yesterday. In ither sutuations it can even take a whole day. 😭

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Seriously I can understand your frustration with the internet connection. I feel like crying whenever I encounter such. There was a time I subscribed to data in the midnight with just little amount of money and I downloaded a movie so as to watch the next day. I slept off and when I woke up the next morning, I was so happy and finished my chores ready to watch this interesting movie, I opened my phone and I saw empty in my downloaded files.

Jeez 😬 I wasted my money and data plus my time. Even drained my battery πŸ˜–πŸ˜–

Sorry about yours too

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Oh, I know this! We can't even leave our devices to download because in a few minutes it just stops moving. Sigh.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I can understand you feelings because I am also facing the there is also extreme problem of network in my country. I can't also waste my time in doing things due to slow speed it makes me furious or irritating

$ 0.01
2 years ago

I feel happy, that at least I am not the only one who feels this way. Thabks for reading. πŸ€—

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I feel your nerves right here sis. You are so pissed that you even searched for why internet here in our country is slow. I feel you. I would be pissed off to if I'm in your shoe. Your feelings are normal and valid.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Oh yes. Hahahah, I envy ither countries with fast internet speed.

$ 0.00
2 years ago