Smile to your reflection.

38 79
Avatar for Ellawrites
2 years ago

Self reflection

Self reflection is like looking into a mirror and describing what you see. It is a way of assessing yourself, your ways of working and how you study. To put it simply 'reflection' means to think about something

Wikipedia.

Before I proceed...

Happy Eid to all my Muslim friends and family, I'm sure you enjoyed your celebration today, wishing you the best, more celebrations to come. Do have a great day/night ahead.

Self reflection.

Whenever she cries and her tears doesn't easily dry.

Take her to a mirror or a reflective glass, just for her to see herself.

Yeah, once she does; her tears suddenly stops and dries off.

Oh!, The persona is a baby I know of.

There's a baby I know, her name is Shalom, so pretty yet peaceful, she loves seeing herself, her mum and I knew this so anytime Shalom cries, what we do is that; we take her to a mirror or a reflective glass. Once she sees herself, she stops crying immediately. Lol, I guess she wouldn't want to watch herself crying.

If you take her away from the mirror too soon, she'll continue crying, take her back once more and she'll again; stop crying.

Children love you taking a selfie with them.

A picture freak is what I am,

A teacher; I was, back in days of yore.

Bringing out my phone to take a shot,

you'll see them all, hovering around, to be a participant.

Oh!, The persona's here, are children I had taught.

During my days; being a teacher, there's something i noticed and I guess this was what made the kids so fond of me.

I'm a picture freak, so I'm always taking pictures and whenever I bring out my phone to take a picture, you'll see them all, hovering around me, changing styles and laughing out loud.

(They always wanted to see their faces through those pictures).

A quick drive to two years back,

I remember I saw it, hitting the window pane,

I had thought it was peering to see what's in.

You bet I tried to chase it out.

But it never moved an inch.

I remember, she said; it was looking at its' reflection.

Me; going out to check,

I saw this was true.

Oh!, The persona here, was a lizard I had seen.

Reflection,

You keep displaying no affection towards your reflection?,

You wish you were never born, you wish life could take a different turn and maybe then; some parts of your body would change.

Oh!, I'm so fat, a dunderhead, I've got no sense.

Or no; I guess, I'll never learn, it's just too much for me to bare.

Oh yes!. My hair is too short,

I'm so short, I'm ugly, I look so bad.

Why the hell was I created.

I bet you know what I'm talking about.

So much negativity to your reflection.

Oh!. You expect people to love you when you show no love to yourself?.

I just chuckled cause you just told a lie.

Love yourself for who you are.

It all starts with you.

You can't call yourself a pig and expect people to see you as a dove.

Even if they do; you'd never believe. And Why?

Oh well, because you never saw and might never see yourself as such..

And yes, The persona here, is you.

  • Positivity to your reflection,

  • Start appreciating yourself,

  • Goodness to yourself,

  • never sentimentally harsh.

  • You look good you know.

  • Common, appreciate yourself.

  • Look into that mirror, and tell yourself sweet things, call yourself sweet names.

  • And let's see how it all turns out.

  • The persona here, Is the new you.

You can't be too hard on yourself, smile while looking at your reflection, tell yourself sweet things, giggle, flaunt yourself to your mirror, commend yourself and oh just be happy... It'll all work out fine, definitely.

There was a quote I read sometime ago and that quote actually triggered the writing of this article:

"People would come and go in your life but that person in the mirror would always be there."

So...

BE GOOD to YOURSELF.

New Sponsor: Thanks a whole lot @sumaiyyakainat for your sponsorship, I appreciate and won't take this for granted. Do check out her page, dear subscribers.

Till we meet again in my next article and in yours.

Thanks for reading.

30
$ 2.95
$ 2.25 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.10 from @Tomi-Ajax
$ 0.06 from @Bilqees
+ 19
Sponsors of Ellawrites
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Ellawrites
2 years ago

Comments

When you see yourself in a good health and with a good body then you have to thank the God because many people have bodily defects that even don't let them see people who can criticize them for something they're not guilty of.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Looking at your reflection in the mirror huh??, hmm.... This would explain why anytime I look in the mirror and I see my reflection I go "hey! there handslme devil how you doing"(with a smirk on my face )lool, okay I'm just clowning though. That little baby sounds like she'd be adorable.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Lol, handsome devil indeed... Lol, oh yeah, she's so so adorable el.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I love seeing myself in the mirror to see how my reflection is, nice to meet you friend i am just a newbie here hehe i hope we can get along too.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Awwwwn, thanks for stopping by here... Welcome to read.cash, and sure you'll get along. I just subscribed

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Many thank you to you and for the tip also

$ 0.00
1 year ago

When I look to a mirror I can still remember those bad things happened to me. I couldn't imagine how my life before, like full of trials. Well, its part of life. Maybe I can get over what I've experienced before. This thoughts has a reflective idea.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Awwwwwn,dear Natsu, don't give regards to things of the past, the past is the past for a reason. Just move on and start seeing those great and beautiful things.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Yeah, that's right. I think we need to look forward to the things that is good.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I think smile is best medicine for our soul, keep smiling dear ellawrites

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Exactly dear, it's the best medicine ever

$ 0.00
1 year ago

You sound like a sage right now 😄

$ 0.01
1 year ago

I am talking to the man in the mirror and telling him, how awesome he is.

Thanks Ella for this beautiful write-up. I think this is one of your finest write-up ever

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Awwwwwn, thanks for the compliment Ajax dear.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

This self reflection and self love has helped me a lot. Before I suffered bullies because of my slim nature and very fair skin/complexion. But all these died when some people were admiring my look and skin. Since then I developed the habit of reflecting myself especially the pics. You said you're picture freak? You never see. Lol.

They way I look at myself now ehh... Each time I snap and check the phones, I throw accolades to God and my looks, omo, I be spec 🤣.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Ouch, I can imagine how that must have felt...

Lol, and I'm pretty sure this feels better and it has definitely contributed In helping you love yourself more.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I remember talking about this to a friend.. Wish she can see this or I would just send the link to her, why do you always feel you are inferior to others? Because they where better cloth than you? This is just absurd.. I hope everyone see the bigger value they portray. I know my value and worth. I have mouth in the place I stay, in my family, in my environment.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Gbaaam!!! You've said it all dear Fash, truth is when we know our worth and our value, it'll be hard for others to belittle us...

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Very very hard... You will feel like a king when you talk...especially when you're an expert in a particular field

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I literally stood up and went to mirror and smiled at my reflection lol! Feels good!

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Awwwwwn, ☺️ oh Articlee, it really feels good indeed.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Appreciate ourselves and smile to see a happy reflection. No one could really appreciate ourselves more than we do. stop overthinking and down grading yourselves specially your worth. As We are the one who creates a great reflection to ourselves and so be the sweetest version of your own.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Grey dearest, exactly... Let's learn to appreciate ourselves, we are what we see ourselves as

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I think I have to see myself in the mirror also hehe, I can imagine how cute Baby Shalom is .. looking herself at the mirror and stop crying..

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Awww, yes Dawn, and yes,baby Shalom is really so cute

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I have a bird going back and front while looking at a reflection, being happy with your reflection is a sign that you appreciate yourself regardless of whatever is happening.

Everyone was created beautifully, we just haven't realized that.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Yes George, it's a sign that we do appreciate ourselves.

Exactly, I hope everyone realizes this soon

$ 0.00
1 year ago

We need to encourage and discover ourselves and appreciate who we are coz nobody will do that for us.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Yes Ola, you've spoken well. thanks for stopping by

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Reminded me of "you are short, you are dark, you are ugly". Valuation of reflection of our own self would go a long way to help our self esteem. It's something we cannot run from.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Exactly, valuing ones reflection would really go a long way in overcoming low self-esteem

$ 0.00
1 year ago

When we don't appreciate who we are, we start yielding to the names others call us. We need to be comfortable with who we are because that's the only way we can make a difference.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

This is deep Sir, thanks for this Sir, it just starts from us... We need to learn how to appreciate and see our worth

$ 0.02
1 year ago

Absolutely, Ella. Thanks for such a wonderful post too.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Love yourself no matter what others think, God did a perfect job creating you.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Oh yeah! He sure did Dan... Exactly; let's learn to love ourselves.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Thank you for wishing EID to us....so nice of you....you write amazing thoughts . I think smile is the best expression in the world.i usually do this whenever I thought that I am sad or not in good mood i go in front of mirror and talk to myself like hey girl! How ugly you are looking in this mood and many more this makes me to smile hehehehehe.. .

$ 0.02
2 years ago

You're welcome Tanain dearest... Awww, that must have been a lovely one, I can just imagine how that has helped in different occasions.

$ 0.00
1 year ago