Issues with me.

59 84
Avatar for Ellawrites
1 year ago

First of, thanks to all my amiable sponsors, subscribers, my wonderful commentators, readers, tippers and mostly to those who asked after me. Thanks for your lovely show of concern.

I've kinda been absent for over two days now; basically because of weekend stress due to my hectic part-time classes.

After the hours of lecture on Saturday, my brain was too stressed to read with understanding; the articles of my lovely writers, so without understanding what I've read, there's surely no way I'd be able to drop not just a comment, but a reasonable one, talk more of creating my own article. I'm actually a little bit happy that ASUP have decided to put all full-time and part-time students on strike for two weeks. (Partially happy though). Not so happy about that...

Sighs...

Special appreciation to these two lovely writers on read: @VinceCharlie and @FashTioluwa .

Today's blog.

I'm one who is highly anti-social, so completely different from my brother; who is actually free, finds it easy to mingle with people and also the boss when it comes to retaining friendship.

Making friends...

I find it so difficult when it comes to making friends or retaining such friendship. And worst of; I find it strange when a person speaks to me for the first time, talk more; laughs and is just extremely jovial to me at first.

There are these ladies in my church, we are all in the same group, one Is named: "Oyindamola" while the other is named "Boluwatife." The very first day I set my eyes on them, I had imagined and so dreamt of becoming friends with them, I actually fell so in love with their dressing and their charisma.

But...

I can't, like I just can't walk up to them and strike a long-term conversation. Something happened yesterday and it was quite shocking.

During rehearsals, Oyindamola was sharing a particular testimony and Bolu; who sat beside me, laughed and whispered something into my ears, I literally didn't hear her, I only responded with a slight chuckle.

Then this question popped into my mind.

Really?... Did she just talk to me? Oh my goodness!! Is this a sign?.

I honestly wasn't expecting any conversation from either of them and that might be because I might prolly have an issue with lack of self-confidence.

Sighs...

I'm this kind of person that hardly relates with people, and gets so shocked when people, especially pretty ones; come, talking to me.

I stayed in my previous area of residence for 18years, when I was 13years, we had a new neighbor, a family that consisted of their parents and four children, of which, two were girls.

I admired these girls and imagined being friends with them someday, but till my family and i relocated, the only words I ever uttered to these girls were: "goodmorning, goodafternoon, goodevening and goodnight."

I always see myself as one kind of not too good looking lady who can't strike a friendly and long-term conversation with others, and when those "others" come; sticking around, I'll be like... 'Awww, is this really happening?.'

This next one is a question though and also something about me.

  • Does this happen to everyone?

In most cases, when we meet a person for the very first time, (s)he tends to act all calm and normal, but after you've finally gotten to know this person so well, you'll surprised at their real interactive nature. (Not something bad, in most cases but something way different from the first day you both met).

I'm this kind of person that behaves normally at first.

For a guy, you might actually think am tripping for you, with the way I'll just be laughing and talking like someone that is picking her words.

For some other guys, I'll be too respectful, literally adding "Sir" to everything I type or say.

And for the ladies, I'll be so humble and calm, slowly observing and looking for ways I can showoff my true nature.

But, when I get really close to you, sighs... you'd be so surprised.

And finally...

  • Who else does this?

When you go to an event, and you don't know anyone there, your friends are not really available, it's just you for yourself.

The food is served, it's not takeaway, it's eat and drop the plate.

How do you eat?

One thing about me is that I find it so difficult to eat in public with the exception of having my friends around. If I'm the only one at that event, I usually eat meals in a way that people who sits close to me, assumes I'm forming.

I joined a Redeem Church last year, as stated earlier, I find it hard to make friends, most times, if you don't walk up to me, I might not walk up to you, even if I'm dying to be your friend.

Back to the gist...

I was in this church, just attending services, helping them keep their seats warm and going back home.

One day...

They announced that there would be a youth seminar after service, and oh! I love attending seminars. I stayed behind, after service and assisted them in arranging the tables.

They arranged the tables and chairs exactly the way it is in the picture above, after about an hour later, people started trooping in. We sat on the chairs and the seminar began.

Now...

...since the tables and chairs were arranged in a dining room kind of setting, of course, that means there would be lots of goodies to eat. The ushers started placing groundnuts and sweets on each tables. The problem here was that, they didn't place it like: "one per person," but they just poured lots of sweets into a plate, lots of groundnuts into another plate and they placed both plates on each table.

It was: "eat as you like, just pick sweets or groundnuts and throw it into your mouth."

I was so famished that day, the people sitting beside me, were just picking sweets from the plate and licking, packing groundnuts and munching and I was there practicing how I'll stretch my hand to pick atleast; one sweet.

My dear readers, I couldn't... I just sat there, so hungry, I had to go purchase a sausage roll to eat. People from different tables, came to join us on ours, cause they saw that our sweets were still very much plenty. So they actually came to help us lick the sweets, since we've proven to be so slow at finishing them.

One guy who came to join us collected my number afterwards and guess what he told me?.

He said and I quote: You couldn't lick those sweets, you were forming because of me right?

In my mind, I was like: Guy!!! Really, it takes grace for me to fall for a guy to the extent of forming for him.

But then, I couldn't blame him, it actually seemed like I was forming. It was then I started wishing...

Me: aaah, if I knew just one person in that place ehn, or if I had a friend there, oh gosh!! The way I would have packed sweets and groundnuts ehn, you people would be wondering how many stomachs I actually have.

Thing here is that:

Is this normal? Do I have any reader here, who finds it difficult to eat in public when you don't know anybody there?

Or do I just have to work on myself?

Special apologies to the commentators on my last article, I promise to attend to them all and also read the articles I've not yet read, once my phone is fully charged.

New sponsor: I should have done this quite earlier, especially since I got this notification, three days ago. Thanks alot @NiceAYO for counting me worthy enough to be sponsored, I love and won't take this kindness of yours for granted.

Till we meet again in my next article and in yours.

Thanks for reading.

30
$ 3.77
$ 2.98 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.07 from @Captainkay
$ 0.05 from @George_Dee
+ 24
Sponsors of Ellawrites
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Ellawrites
1 year ago

Comments

Haha have been in a funny situation a couple of time, and I will admit everyone gets shy. Mine was the first day I visited my boyfriend's parent. I couldn't eat because my hands were shaky. I was so shy. Till my boyfriend had to take me off the table. But now, am used to them. I even prepare meals were all of us eat together.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I completely see things like this as normal girl, you know, its just trying to behave or rather comport oneself in public. I can imagine thoughts of " What would People think" parading your mind. It happens to me too, and have taken it as a plus, probably cos it's like the way I was trained. And then that was so silly of the guy to say that, like seriously..???

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Okay... So, a few of the things you pointed out got me thinking.

Firstly, I have this very good friend who at our first meeting seemed like a timid individual. Well, that was what I thought until I ACTUALLY GOT TO KNOW HIM. In fact, he actually approached me first. (Now, taking to note what you mentioned about people relations... I'm not really good at making friends either!). Secondly, the part about eating in public. I can't count the number of times I took myself out to eat in a restaurant or whatever. And, when I do go out with friends... I just be myself. What that means is, I eat and comport myself as I normally would. (And, that has nothing to do with forming. That's just how I eat!). Plus, i'm a really slow eater, and like you most of my friends think I'm "pretending". Which I don't get. I just shrug off most of their comments everytime. Haha Lastly, don't mind that guy. He's just being overly ridiculous.

P.S Sorry I made this long. Was never my intention, but then again there was quite a lot to say. :D

$ 0.03
1 year ago

Awwwwwn, Vince...trust me, I enjoyed reading this comment of yours, it was an awesome read for me.

From all you said, it seems we are actually in the same boat. I also don't just get or understand why they'll think we are forming or pretending all because we take our time when eating in public. People are just like that, and that's basically why I just want to do away with such habit of not being able to eat in Public, especially when my close friends aren't available.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Lol... That's right. Oh and you looked lovely in that photo, by the way. :)

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Awwwwwn, thanks alot Vince.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

My pleasure, Elle.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

And I was laughing all through 🀣. I used to feel this way when it comes to making of friends (on ladies though), cos I'd feel like "if I go and meet her, she'd form and think I'm in for what she's thinking. Lol🀣. For guys? Oh! I don't know how we go about it but we end up talking and laughing.

The food aspect, I was trained or Rather brought up by don't eat outside, you're a minister bla bla bla, but when I left that home, mehn, we eat to the fullest at party. Oh! Did I said WE? Yes, if my guys are not around, it looks somehow but I do eat too🀣

$ 0.02
1 year ago

Lol, πŸ˜‚ and he said: "he USED to" which practically means, he's now someone who is a real genius when it comes to conversing with ladies. Lol πŸ˜‚

Really? Lol, I'm guessing it's because the food, cooked outside might just be Bewitched...

Awwwwwn, it's actually a turnoff for some ladies ooh, when they see a cute guy eating and eating anything eatable in public

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I'm like that sometimes in some gathering, the moment I set my eyes on anyone and my mind agrees with the person at first glance I will start talking and laughing like i knew them for long, to some I'll just speak little and observe, to others i won't say a word to you'd wonder if I were mute. I am a people person and not so people kind of person,lol it complicated... I just like my peace most times..and welcome back from the hectic lectures.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Wow! I guess I noticed your free and jovial nature, I really admire such trait in you, though...I'm just getting to know through this comment; that you aren't free with everyone, to some you could actually be extremely friendly and to others you can actually be calm and quiet.

Thanks alot Bali.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

😜😜

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Lol, you are not anti-social dear, you are only introverted. Anti-social people are all those sadistic and vile people but you are one of the sweetest souls on this platform 😁

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Really?? Wow! Bil, this last sentence of yours really melted my heart.

I always thought I was antisocial, you made me catch a better glimpse of the meaning of being antisocial.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Awww, shy shy girl, it now feel like I should come and be attending your church so be and you can be friends.. I hope you don't mind sha.. But I'm currently in Kwara state o πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚... Everything you said here was like describing a lady I know.. Even when she was picked to sing, she almost fainted and she has been in the choir for almost a year

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Lol, πŸ˜‚ lemme ooh... Awwwwwn, and that would have been so sweet, ouch! That's true, you're in Kwara State and I'm pretty sure you aren't coming to lag soon.

Lol, πŸ˜‚ imagine!! Aah, my shyness no reach this one ooh, she's my boss.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Nah, I'm not coming anytime soon.. And the part you said shes your bossπŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚that part really got me laughing so hard

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Having friends is something difficult because it needs an additionnal step to handle all their behaviors, I am also of kind of people having little few friends.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Wow! You're right though Amani, having too much friends, has it's bad sides too.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

About the question, there are times I can't alone in public so I'd rather eat at home :D

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Wow! So I guess "not being able to eat in Public view isn't really an issue then."

$ 0.00
1 year ago

You are one of the best one who are really friendly. By the way your smile is really pretty cute.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Awwwwwn, Shawon dear, thanks alot, I deeply appreciate this. Awwwwwn, I take that as a compliment, thanks dear friend.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

you are friendly here, so.I can't imagine you being not so friendly in real life hehe..

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Awww, Dawn,I see this as a compliment, thanks alot dearest Dawn. I wish I was also this way in real life.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

You can do it also in reality πŸ’šπŸ’š

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I also feel the same way when I admire someone but often I don't have the confidence to communicate with them.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Wow! From this comment of yours, I'm guessing you and I are practically on the same page.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I trust myself, why will I form when sweet and groundnut is available to eat. My forming ends when food is involve πŸ˜…πŸ˜…

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Lol, πŸ˜‚ aaah...I wish I was like you ooh, it was just so hard for me to pick and eat.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

O really felt your absence in fact today I was thinking god knows where Ella went she is not publishing for two days. I am kind of person who love gatherings outings i make friend easily. I have alot of friends.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Awwwwwn, dearest Tanain...thanks alot for your lovely show of support dearest.

Wow! I really admire you dear, for real, I wish it was that easy for me too.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚ depends on where I am and who I am with. I can form when I want to. And be shameless when I want to be too πŸ˜…

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Shameless? Isn't that harsh? πŸ˜‚

$ 0.01
1 year ago

πŸ˜…πŸ˜…πŸ˜…. I can be extra, don't mind me.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Lol... Okay. I won't. πŸ˜…

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Lol, Aimure ooh, lol, I'm already picturing you devouring a piece of chicken in public.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I can use a fork and knife, I can use my hand. As the spirit leads.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

My dear friend, this made me laugh, the nerve of that guyπŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚. I can't actually relate with you, on the contrary, I think I make friends too easily. If I was at that seminar I'm sure the guy would have said I was friendly because I liked him. Men are unbelievable.

I think the more confident you are, the less you have to worry about all these.

$ 0.02
1 year ago

Nothing beats a woman brimming with confidence. Like I always say. :)

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Lol, πŸ˜‚ like seriously, men are unbelievable, with the way they think and assume things. Awwwwwn, gosh! I wish I was like you; freely relating with different people.

Sighs...this is true dear friend, I think I just need to work on my confidence.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I find it hard to eat in the public also. It's so hard for me. If I actually have someone I know, like a friend, who is there with me, once she eats then I will also do so

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Wow!! This means we are in the same boat, honestly, it's extremely hard to eat outside once I don't know anyone there, but once I have a friend around, it becomes extremely easy.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Yeah......exactly

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Ella you're welcome, i wanted to reach you but there weren't way! Sorry for how you were stressed in the weekend. Pèlé fine girl! Now to the subject matter, you don't like eating and taking anything outside if your friends aren't there, that's good. But for me, i could eat outside oh! As to the keeping of friend, I'm not too good at it, but I'm trying my best.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Awww, thanks dearest Mr Nice, I really appreciate you and everyone. Awwwwwn ☺️ eshey, fine boy.

Wow! You could eat outside even if your friends aren't there!! Wow! I need to tap from this anointing.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

My dear Ella, everything you said made me remember myself. Like you, making friends or retaining friendship is so difficult for me. I can't have a long-term conversation at all. I am very respectful to others too, even with the people who are younger than me. But it isn't difficult for me to eat in public, I think because I like eating... πŸ˜ƒ

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Wow! Really! Dearest Ellen...my oh my! I wish there was something we could do to change this.

Lol, πŸ˜‚ wow! Really, lol, I need to tap from this,I really want to be bold enough to eat in Public.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

First, I will like to compliment your smile, it looks beautiful on you.

If I am writing in a public place? I always like to focus on my food and won't bother to start looking around because I always have the feeling that someone is watching me πŸ˜…

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Awwwn, thanks dearest friend.

Lol, exactly...that feeling that someone is watching you, lol. Thanks for sharing this, I might as well start focusing on just my food and remove my mind from thinking about the faces around

$ 0.00
1 year ago

The issues you think are not issues in my eyes at all.. I also do not prefer to eat in public but I wanna eat in my room confortably and in the way I like to do it without manners, rules bla bla.. just relax, there is no isse with you and you are so gorgeous

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Really!!...wow!, Awwwwwn, thanks alot dearest doll... You're right, I also love eating alone, away from the view of others.

Awwwn, thanks dearest friend.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Most welcome my sis... I hate how our human brain makes an issue out of nothing hahaha.. do not worry about your habit, you are cool

$ 0.00
1 year ago

See sweet girl nah, what a beauty. I understand you very well, eating in public is not my thing and I know how much shame it has cost me.

I easily relate with people who want to be related to, but I find it hard to keep up with friends except we have something that keeps us together.

$ 0.02
1 year ago

Lol, thanks alot George. Really!? Shame? Wow! I would have so much loved you; explaining this, but this is a comment section I guess.

Wow! This is deeply interesting Mr George, it means you must be a man of few friends.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Well i don't feel uncomfortable while eating in public place but i do feel sometimes uncomfortable when there are soo many peoples around me don't know why this is happening with me from past few months, i hope you will overcome all this and you know i can say with surety that you have got a beautiful heart with beautiful looks don't underestimate your self dear ella, you are the best.

$ 0.02
1 year ago

Wow! I'm glad you don't feel shy; eating outside, I do wonder how that feels...

Awww, dearest friend, this really and truly melted my heart, thanks alot dearest.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Taking the classes after the weekend also looking the hectic routine for me, hope so you will manage it. Meeting with new people and making new friends are the difficult task for many people, but I love to make the new new friends 😁

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Ouch! I can imagine dear Roojor, it's truly an hectic one. Wow! I'm glad you love to make new friends and you find it really easy to associate with people.

$ 0.00
1 year ago