Farting in presence of your spouse.

63 64
Avatar for Ellawrites
2 years ago

Fart, according to Wikipedia is also referred to as flatulence and it's the intestinal wind that's passed from the anus.

Just today, I reminisced on a conversation I had with a person I take as a sister. The conversation left me in a state of wonder. I kept wondering if I should just try to adapt and start learning, honestly speaking; I don't just know why I'm so different.

It's not like I'm trying to form, or I'm probably just acting like a fine girl, but the truth is that: It irritates me whenever I hear a person talking so freely about farting or pooing, everyone poops, it's natural. But the truth is that, I just hate talking about it.

I could recall an experience I had in school, that day I badly wanted to poop, like..., I really wanted to, the school toilets aren't that good so I opted for a toilet within the boundaries of the school but not owned by the school.

To use this toilet, you have to pay for it.

To wee: 50naira.

To poop: 100naira.

When I got there, I met a queue of people, some wanted to do the same as I, while the others just wanted to relieve their bladders. The owner started questioning; asking each of us what we actually wanted to do. You should have seen me that day, the way I said the "I want to poo" I tried pronouncing it in a coded way but the owner of the place spoke pidgin and people heard: "oh you wan sheet?"

Arrgg, must you be this difficult? I rhetorically asked myself. Truth is I was quite embarrassed and when I finally went in, I was so scared and hoping it doesn't smell the way it usually smell.

The conversation I had.

In her words, she said: she wonders how people who can't fart in presence of their spouses cope, she recalled to me; something she read on one of her social media accounts. A question was asked; a question about farting in presence of your spouse, in one of the reader's comment. The woman had said; "she can't fart in her husband's presence, that if she feels the urge to fart, she'll go to the toilet to fart and if her husband feels the urge, he also does the same."

In my sister's words: How boring?!.

When she told me that, I just affirmed with a slight chuckle. I didn't know what to say, but the truth is, I actually picture having such kind of play with my spouse, you know, being so close to him to the extent of farting in his presence and laughing at eachother's fart.

But can I really do it?

I had to do some research today about this topic.

According to science, when you fart in presence of your wife/husband.

  • The couples might be happier and healthier.

Farting might seem uncouth and gross, infact it's a kind of rude or crude behavior. But I read that couples shouldn't shy away from; or feel ashamed of passing gas in presence of each other.

Also, today I learnt that; holding in farts can cause bad breath. Trapped intestinal gas can be reabsorbed into the bloodstream only to reemerge as bad breath.

  • Farts is a means of telling your spouse that you're healthy.

Farting is actually good for you, it may not be part of good manners but it's a symptom of healthy diet. If one doesn't fart and doesn't also hold it in (doesn't fart at all) it just shows they aren't eating healthy and they are just eating refined sugars.

  • Farts are funny: yeah, truly it is, as for me, we have various kinds of farts. The silent one, the loud one..., People do say the silent one has the worse kind of smell, but the loud ones rarely smells. Imagine you, giving your spouse different odour from your farts, with both of you laughing over it. (Isn't that funny?).

  • Farts is a way of telling your spouse "I love you."

Image source: Unsplash.

Farting has different causes; which most of you all know, the intake of too much eggs, beans and so much more, but that's not my reason for this topic.

Is it okay to be disgusted when you hear someone talking so freely about passing gas, pooing and the likes?.

You know, sometimes I imagine being able to fart in presence of my spouse, and then the big question comes up: How Can I be that free with him?

I can't even fart in presence of any of my brothers, neither can they fart in my presence. Let me share a funny experience with y'all.

I was alone in the room one day, I had the urge to pass gas, since no one was within sight, I quickly allowed nature take its course. After awhile, I heard my brother's footstep, I was so scared (not like he would beat me, but I was just scared) the smell hadn't cleared off yet. I had to stop him, so to do that; I immediately stepped out to meet him and started asking him irrelevant questions, he had to stand back to reply me. After sometime when there was no question left to ask, he entered the room with me following behind while sniffing to see If the odour had cleared off. Oh! Yes it had!

I was satisfied!.

The only person I feel so confident; farting in her presence is my mum.

I could recall a period of time, when I went to stay for a week in my employer's house, based on some reasons I'd rather not discuss. But I went. Oh! That period was far from being funny.

I badly wanted to poo, but I didn't know how to go ahead with it. The stench that comes from my poo is not in this world. So I was scared of doing it and scared of them, perceiving it.

Guys... I kept it in, till I left their place a week later. Oh!, How relieved I was to finally be in the comfort of my own WC.

With the way I am, I wonder if I'll be so free with my spouse.

I would love to know your take on this.

Do you feel it's normal to fart in presence of your spouse?

And for those who just might not like it, do you feel they should try and change or do you perhaps feel it's okay for them to remain that way?

Kindly air your views on this; readers. I'm anticipating your wonderful answers.

This would be all for today, till we meet again in my next article and in yours.

Thanks for reading.

20
$ 2.73
$ 2.10 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.10 from @Olasquare
$ 0.10 from @Tomi-Ajax
+ 15
Sponsors of Ellawrites
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Ellawrites
2 years ago

Comments

As i was reading this, I started laughing. The "oh you wan sheet?" said my the Man really made me laughed. πŸ˜‚ You're funny. Silent Fart smells a lot, i could remember while we were traveling sometimes back, we were all in a bus, and an unknown person among us released a silent Fart, omo, come and bad smell, smelling like a decayed rat. The driver had to stop, we all came down so that the fart can go.

I can fart at my spouse's presence if the fart comes suddenly and there's no other way i could excuse myself.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Awwwwwn, lol. That man really got me pissed off that day. Lol, yes, indeed it smells. Aaaah πŸ˜‚ lol, I can't imagine the way you all coped that day, I'm pretty sure the person that farted didn't confess that he's the culprit.

Wow! Thanks for airing your view Ayo

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Farting is natural to human, as you said it was meant that a person was healthy. However in terms of farting in your spouse presence was very common to me, as me and my partner used to do it. Well it's really fun though sometimes it's annoying because of its bad smell but from that way you can tell that your spouse was really comfortable with you. He felt that you are one as he/ she was free to do the old things that he/she used to do when she/he was still single, which means farting in the same place without worries that he/she might get nagged or bullied because of her/his fart smell. Meanwhile since couples has different types of closeness or affection for each other, we really can't tell that some couple who haven't tried farting in their spouses present must change their own preferences with this matter. As we all know some people believe that farting in front of a person weather it's your spouse or not was a disrespectful act and so we cannot tell they must change.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Such an awesome contribution Gray, thanks alot for shedding more light to this. I really appreciate it. You're right Gray, couples have different ways of showing love and affection towards one another.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Farting a way of saying I love you?πŸ˜‚ There's this comfort that comes when one does that with the significant otherπŸ˜‚

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Lol. It's absolutely normal dear and there's nothing serious about it.... Maybe it's cos of your introverted nature, but believe me, if you can dont mind doing it presence of your Mom whom you have know for about 20 years. Then, you wouldn't mind doing it in the presence of the love of your life, and he wouldn't mind too, whom you are probably going to spend the rest of your life with... Just like you mentioned, it's another way of saying " I love you". Lol

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Awwwwwn, Bilquees. Thanks alot got these words. You're right dear, I would definitely be able to be free with him to such extent. Lol, yes Bilquees

$ 0.00
2 years ago

This really got me laughing and cracking my ribs🀣. I had experience with all those scenarios and they were funny. But they say fart has no special toilet, why would you go to the toilet that's mean for solid and liquid stuffs to pass out ordinary gas?🀣. Way back at home when I was with family, we used to fart anyhow, both the ones that has nice smells πŸ€—. Oh! Yes I can fart at the presence of someone I'm comfortable with

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Lol πŸ˜‚ Abi ooh, why would one go to the toilet to fart Lol, damn... This must have been so much fun. Awwwwwn, nice Kacy, thanks for airing your view.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Lol this is funnny how could you say farting is a way of saying I love lol πŸ˜‚ but it doesn’t have any obstacles against couples sha

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Lol πŸ˜‚ that's what I read on the net dear. Lol, thanks for airing your view on this.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hehe farting for me is also a way of saying "i love you" cause its feel like you're already comfortable to the person whose with you. And it's the sweetest thing for me too.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Lol, hehe. You're right Jen, it's one of couple's way of expressing their love for each other.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hahaha, I never thought farting is a way to say "I love you" but maybe yes, lol!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Lol, dear. Maybe yes... I read that on the net

$ 0.00
2 years ago

In half countries, the service that you talked about is provided for free for the customers of a restaurant or a coffee but in half of the countries, it is a separate service that you need to pay for benefit from it.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Hmmm, that's true amani

$ 0.00
2 years ago

This is funnyπŸ˜‚, I just feel it depends on the level of comfortability between you guys. I feel being able to do that shows intimacy in some weird way

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Lol πŸ˜‚ intimacy in some weird way... You're right dear. Thanks for airing your inspiring view

$ 0.00
2 years ago

For better or worse, right? I think farting is under "worse" so why be shy about it? But I do respect each other's preferences. We all have different understanding :)

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Awwwwwn, yes Article. You're right. Lol, a nice contribution from you. Thanks alot for airing your view.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I never hold my fart. My stomach will suffer if I don't let it out.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Wow! Lol, it's quite hard to hold ones fart, the stomach really suffers from it

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You pipu wee nor kee meπŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚. This is what I have been looking for. Now I can go do bed a happy young man! πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Lol πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚ happy young man khe. Hehehe

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I love this topic. I remembered my wife telling me that I will be evicted to the house when farting infornt of her. I read this Infront of her telling her that it's a symptom of healthy.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Lol, evicted. Awwwwwn, yes Han, farting shows that one is healthy.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ahahahhaha I can’t imagine your face that day on the queue . Well for me I don’t know if I can’t fart in front of my spouse well I am single asf maybe until I get a girlfriend then we will see

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Lol, my face was indeed wearing an horrible look. Lol, I bet you'd be able to do so once you're free with her.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Maybe we’ll let’s wait till I find the one then

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Laugh at each others fart like its a contest or something dude gross lool, Anyhoo yes farting is a sign of being healthy, it resulting to bad breath when held in for too long this is news to me. If I do get married omo I go dey fart anyhow for my wife side, if she vex na she sabiπŸ˜‚.

Some people don't like if they fart besides others or others fart beside them be it spouse or not, not like there's anything wrong with farting, its just how they are, and isn't a bad thing either people are different and how people do things wouldn't always be the same as others.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

It's not actually gross, to some couples; it's awesome.
Lol, el... Aaaah πŸ˜‚

Yeah, you're right el, people are different, thanks for airing your view el

$ 0.00
2 years ago

My pleasure "princess" πŸ˜‰

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I count farting in spouse's presence as an actor disrespect. Not totally disrespect, because sometimes fart is incontrollable and any spouse can understand. But doing it intentionally when you can go out or to the loo doesn't makes sense to me.

But I've seen a movie where both husband and wife turned it to competition. The first will do pra, second will do pra pra...🀣🀣🀣🀣🀣🀣🀣🀣🀣🀣🀣🀣

It depends on level of understanding sha.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Wow! Thanks for airing your view ma'am, this is also enlightening.

Lol πŸ˜‚ you got me cracked up with this. Hehehehe, lol

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Lol. Ella I'm a guyπŸ€—πŸ˜„

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Lol, really?! I'm sorry, I completely had no idea. Thanks Sir

$ 0.00
2 years ago

πŸ˜…πŸ˜…πŸ˜…πŸ˜… I see no reason why farting or pooing should be a problem among couples. I have seen different cases where my dad will fart while my mom is there and my mom will start laughing and hailing my dad and he will also start laughing too. The same thing applies to my mom too when she does the same thing. It's fun for me and I see no reason why my wife should be sad about it

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Lol, and this is just so interesting, it's indeed fun when we think of it... Like, those funny and happy moments. But some people are just different. Lol, thanks for airing your view on this Gaf

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Lols... This legit happens right. It's actually humorous when you think about it. Nice to meet you. :-)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Nice to meet you too.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

This also applies to partners who are not married yet. I think farting or doing other natural things that your body makes shouldn't be a big deal to your partners. 🀣🀣🀣However I haven't heard my husband fart hahahas. I guess that really goes with personal preference but I still play around with him tooo hahahaha

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Lol πŸ˜‚ yes dear friend, it shouldn't be a big deal to partners.

Lol, this should be it, your husband is perhaps just not into such kinds of play... It's still awesome... It means we are on the same page. Thanks for airing your view dear friend.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

This is just so funny to read, honestly cus I can imagine farting in your spouse's presence but unfortunately I'm not married because I feel like only married couples can start doing this and feel it sounds funny or shows love...

But from the love doctor's view, I'd advice not to just go messing around with it and think your spouse is cool with it, we are all different and have different love languages and I don't think I've heard of fart love language πŸ˜‚... But consent isn't bad, ask questions if they're cool with it or not... That could help even though there are sometimes that you'd be pressed to the max and won't have a choice, don't feel like a victim too cus it's natural!!! And yeah, it shows you're healthy

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Lol πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚ Dami, I'm actually not also cool with the idea, but I'll definitely ask my spouse this question, to know if he's cool with it or not. Lol πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚

$ 0.00
2 years ago

So you have to ask for consent to fart? Nawa oh

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It's tricky guy... We're all different

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Exactly Dami, we're all so different

$ 0.00
2 years ago

LWKMD. This was quite funny to read. Whatever you're comfortable with works for me. But seriously, holding poop for a week?

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Lol, Aimure... So you're cool with any? Your wife; farting in your presence? Or not doing so?. Lol, it is what it is, lol. I actually did that. I can hold for more than a week too if I'm pushed to.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Well, I believe marriage bars any shame. I think of it as a case where you can't be naked in front of your spouse. I once watched a movie/documentary-ish about something like this. But the question was if couples can enter the bathroom pee in the presence of their spouses. They all had different opinions. I know it is usually difficult for me to poop in a new place. I can go without pooing or days, but not a week

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Your speech makes me remember king Solomon, you're right Aimure. Marriage bars any shame. . Wow! Maybe I'd just stop then... I will stop holding it for a week

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hahaha it is funny, i remember one of our session goes like this and it's just so funny 🀣 this reminds me of

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Lol πŸ˜‚ Lovelyfaith you didn't complete your statement, it reminds you of...?

$ 0.00
2 years ago

HAHAHAH won't mention it'll make u laugh

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Smiles... I legit would've wanted to see your face when you typed this, "I was so scared and hoping it doesn't smell the way it usually smell". In my mind I was like, "what did I just read? πŸ˜‚". Did you have mean it could've actually been worse? 🀭

But seriously, I wouldn't mind if my would-be spouse decided to throw some farts once in a while. Sometimes you can't predict when they come out like that. However, we can control how and where we fart.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Lol, Vince... You wouldn't want to smell that stench. πŸ˜‚

Hmm, now, this is awesome. Thanks for airing your view, Vince.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I can imagine it to be romantic and how close lovers can be to be so free with each other. But if my girl fart Infront I will not sit there and smell its stench. πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Yes Dan, it actually romantic too.. But lol πŸ˜‚ it just might be more fun if you do

$ 0.00
2 years ago

πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚ I think you would be free about it since you wrote an entire article on it. Also you're not the only one who doesn't like using the toilet in public spaces 😏

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Lol, I'm actually not free about it though, I wrote an article on it because I felt I have a problem... I literally can't say this in person, the media just makes it easy.

Wow! Really, now, we must be on the same page as regards this.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Laughing at each other's fart? I find that disturbing.. I'm a very rigid person hence there are certain things I do not appreciate. Excuses can be made and farting can be done else where.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Wow! I guess we're on this same page then... I literally don't find it amusing, though some couples do... Thanks for airing your view on this.

$ 0.00
2 years ago