People labeled my gender as this!

51 74
Avatar for DennMarc
1 year ago

Writing this blog today is very personal, way more personal than any of my blogs that you read. It was something that can shock you, hate, like, dislike and be proud of me. Well, whatever you read today is the best testimony that I got and I am very proud of it. Actually, right now I am hesitant to tell this because you know, this story is not common to be published or read. I only read so few related things about what I am going to tell so brace yourself.

Disclaimer: The events happened here are real, factual and truthful. I didn't alter any part of the story. Please be more understanding of me.

The story started when I was young. Since I was a kid, I have had this different attitude, personality and behavior than most of the boys my age. They teased me because I am slow, my actions are a bit similar to girls and I don't like to play the normal games the boys would do outside like basketball, baseball and football. Since then, I often hear to our neighbors that they are labeling me as a “gay child”.

I grew up believing in the culture that when you are a boy and your actions are similar to girls, them you are gay. If you are a girl and your action is similar to boys, then you are lesbian. All my life, I believed in that kind of culture that even some of my family would label me. Well, at first, it hurt my feelings. It hurts because I know that although my behavior and actions are like that, the label they put is not me.

Years passed by, I entered high school with so much expectations and joy. I cannot believe that finally a new chapter of my life was opened. When I was in high school, I saw numerous students who are publicly stood themselves as gay and lesbian. You can easily spot them because of their unique actions and how they interact with people. That's why my curiosity about myself is heightened as well.

In fact, that is no longer a curiosity for me. It was gender confusion or what you call gender dysphoria. My confusion about my gender is becoming bothersome to me because I have this inner heat in my heart that is shouting. It is shouting and looking for the right answers about my gender and why I am confused. That literally happened and every night I kept searching online about how to identify myself and answering online tests about gender.

One time, I was invited by my friends to a certain group chat on messenger. He added me there and I was shocked because all of them are either gay, bisexual or confused like me. Yeah, they are asking for meet ups. They are messaging each other and some of them already have a relationship. There is a member there who messaged me privately. He asked how I am, where I am schooling and basically questions that getting to know about me.

We chatted for about six weeks and he wanted to meet me. It was actually December and we met at SM Bacoor. I was surprised to see him. And a few minutes later, asked me to watch a movie. I didn't decline him since he already bought tickets beforehand. We were there watching and laughing together at Vice Ganda's movie. I forgot what the title is. Then suddenly, he grabbed my hand and stayed like that for like 10 minutes or something.

What's surprising to me is when he started to move his hands lower. It was as if his hands were traveling free, but that is the time I realized that I am not like that. I am not a person who will do that or allow someone to do that for me. No! I stood up and ran away. Like, I remember I went straight to the bus station and went home without bidding goodbye.

For a whole week, I asked myself who I am and what I am. You know what, at the very end, there is something that hits me hard. Something that cuts off what I believed for my whole life. Something that I didn't allow people to label me anymore. And here it is.

“Most people believe you are gay today. You are still gay tomorrow, in the next following days, months and years. But no, you can be changed. You will be changed.”

In my whole life, I kept hidden this feeling that I wanted to be accepted in the group. I wanted to be part of the community where I am accepted for who I am. I wanted to be real for the rest of my life. That community is not the community you are thinking of right now. The community that I am referring to is the “people who I loved, who accepted what and who I am regardless of blood relation.”

The time I embraced myself, the whole being given to me. I never ever changed how I act, how I speak, how I think, and how I socialize with people. May it be at home, at school, and at public. I want to leave this quote, a quote that I still hold on for so many years. I made this quote myself.

“To live true is to be happy. To be happy is to live truly.”

PS: This is my testimony for pride month and if you are curious about my family. They all know this because they are the ones who encourage it. I am not gay.


Sponsors of DennMarc
empty
empty
empty

Thank you generous sponsors for giving me this sponsorship. I appreciated it a lot.

My previous articles you might love to read:

Thank you for reading. I'll see you next time!

25
$ 2.36
$ 1.91 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @Olasquare
$ 0.05 from @Dennnis
+ 13
Sponsors of DennMarc
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for DennMarc
1 year ago

Comments

I rejoiced at the end of the postscript. So happy to know that you finally realized who you are. In a society full of judgmental people, gender stereotyping is common but in the end, the only one who truly knows ourselves is only ourselves.

I have a similar experience. You know nemern, I'm boyish and not a bit feminine. During Grade 8, I was also confused about my gender but I never got any crush on girls. I act cool and like to hang out with boys because we have similar minds and hobbies, but I don't like basketball, of course. There is a time when I agreed to be the girlfriend of my lesbian classmate, but nothing chu chu happened to us. After a day with her, I distant myself and better be alone since I have confirmed to myself that I'm a girl and I will never be a lesbian.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

See? Sometimes you just need to test the water and see what it feels like so that you will know what you are. Thankfully, okay naman na ko ate. Confirmed na ang lahat. Haha.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Kinalakihan na talaga ng mga pinoy yung gender stereotyping to the point na naging parte na ito nang kultura ng Pilipinas. Kapag hindi ka pasok sa standard ng masculinity, gay ka na agad which is sobrang mali. Boys can be feminine too. Be yourself lang :)

$ 0.00
1 year ago

That's true. Sa babae kasi kapah medyo boyish, ang cool. Pero kapag lalaki na, ay medyo hindi cool. Labeling agad.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

kuya alam mo naman po na laging naka support si mommy sayo simula noong una pa lang. kahit sila tita, pinupush ka nila na gawin mo ang bagay na nagpapasaya sayo. si tito nga tawa tawa lang pero binibigay lahat ng gusto mo. hehe. support lang kami lagi.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Oo naman. Si mommy kasi halos nagpalaki sakin nung baby pa ko at alam na alam ni mommy ang lahat. Hmm. Masaya naman ako ngayon at dahil nandyan rin kayo.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

There are a lot of people that easily judge other people, even from childhood and ones the child grew up to become what they were saying about him, they will start saying that “you can see” for me , I believe that it’s up to you to choose what you want to be.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Indeed. When a child started to see the beauty of life and how life works. Eventually, he would know and understand what he really is.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I guess you got confused about your sexuality because you grew up believing there was something wrong with you, and that's because of the people around you who made you feel that way. There's absolutely nothing wrong, my brother was also feminine while he was growing up but everything changed when he became a teenager.

What happened is actually a biological process that makes the female hormones in your body to be more than the usual amount. Everybody has both male and female hormones but it is at a different frequency. If you have a lot of female hormone, you will look and behave more feminine, the same is true for a girl that has lots of male hormone, she will look and behave like a male.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I am. I am confused because of what they said to me and as a young boy, I have no idea about the distinction between the two.

Thank you bro for your understanding. It means a lot to me to know people here who understand what I have been through.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

That is most people way of believe, some people right from small, they treat their male children stronger

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Ang lalaki mo jan sa picture mo, I can't believe people would label you like that. Anyway, ganyan nmn talaga mga kabataan masyadong judgemental at bully. I have a friend before too na medyo reserve din at na mimisinterpret as gay. Ung iba nga ngaun di mo ma expect na bakla pala kc lalaking lalaki.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Opo ate even though na masculine ang face ko pero medyo malamya kasi ako kumilos so doon sila natingin. Hehe. Ay opo ate, ang dami na ngayong brusko pero ayun nga, bakla po pala.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Don't change your way of life to fit into Amy group or society, because if you do, you will not be able to convince yourself you made the right choice. Being soft or not involving yourself in men's game doesn't make you gay, so live your life and be happy.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I love reading this from you. Yeah, I will not be happy or make a right choice when I believe to them than myself.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

That is why as they says we shouldn't judge the book by its cover and unfortunately people's wrong judgement about you made you confused for your whole life. However I am happy that you finally found the right answer from your confusing mind. Whoever you are, and whatever you are, you are you and that's important, you don't have anything to prove to anyone by who truly you are. Let them crazy and judge you🤣.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I am just happy that I know what I am now ate without confusion. Ang hirap din po kasi talaga na confused ka dahil sa mga sinasabi ng iba. They are going crazy. Haha.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

DO not bother to prove yourself to others Denn, feel happy for who you are and what you truly are. . God bless you.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Yes, I am. The most important thing for me is my family that they know about this. Haha. Claiming all the blessings ate.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

To be honest, I used to think most of the people in these categories adopted it via the influence of their friends but that's not it. Some were born like that(I don't mean being a gay), the way they talk and do their their things.

I know of a lady that's boy-like in nature, I asked her how come she found ourself I this category and she said she grew up to see herself that way.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Yeah, I think I was born this way and I am noy ashamed that in some ways, I have this girl-nature we are talking about. Hmm. It's pretty common nowadays though.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

So confirmed? You are not gay.. You like girls right? I'm calling my youngest bro as gay coz he act as one 🤣. But I would accept him no matter what.. Besides, my gay na kmi sa bahay.. So it's possible that he'll become one too..i have gay uncles and cousins too. Lol

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Yes, confirmed na hetero ako ate. Haha. Ay wow, as in maraming gays sa pamilya nyo ate? Ang saya saya siguro kapag reunión. Maraming comedian. Haha.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

People confuse politeness, chivalry, gentleness with homosexuality. I have met many people like you, but they are kind, subtle men, and deserve all the respect in the world.

people think that to be a man is to be rude, macho, alcoholic, womanizer and that is not so.

Don't change for anything or anyone, be yourself always, that's what will make you really happy. someday you will find your better half.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I really need to read this. Thank you s much for your thought words. I will change for them. I will be better for myself and do good deeds.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

That second paragraph statement is a pro sis! Love it.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Some men I know are like you, move slow, talk and speak slow but that doesnt mean they are gay, regardless if you are you know your limits and still can follow what's pure and honorable. Your heart know it. Inspite of teasing, like what you said, simply be you, that enlightened you who knows what is true.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Thank you ate. Actually, I am quite afraid when I published this one because I know only few will read and understand. But I am surprised to see the overwhelming thoughtful words. Huhu.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Yup because those who understand already know it even without speech from you or others... Ganoon naman yon, minsan yong hindi pa nakakakilala sa atin ang maingay at madaming sinasabi.

Never mind.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Just live by your own phase never allow those judgemental people who tease what they've observed to you. It's you true identity. I couldn't name it cause you can't too but I do believe that you'll find an answer of who really you are

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Yeah, at first it hurts, but not now. People will have to say whether you do good or bad. The important thing is we love and protect ourselves from their negativities.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

It's good so keep it up and don't mind other criticism

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I am so proud that you're able to figure out what you really are :)). Sobrang lala lang talaga ng stereotype sa atin. Buti nga naging matapang ka to clarify your sexuality

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Yeah, it has been years since I figured it out. Madaming nangyari pero ang mahalaga don, naging tanggap ko yung sarili ko at naging tanggap ako ng mga taong mahal ko.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Ewan ko ba talaga sa mga tao. Actually ganyan din ako, akala nila tibo ako HAAHAHA. Pwede bang brusko lang talaga ako, siga kasi ako legit. Kaya hayaan natin sila, mga wala silang magawa sa buhay at buhay ng iba pinapalelaman

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Ay weh? Parang ang angas mo nga po ate sa mga hair color mo eh. Pero bat kaya ganon sila no? Haha.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Minsan may pagkaboyish tayo no? Feel lang pero babae po kami haha.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Ay oo sis legit boyish, in and out.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Hehe😂. Don't mind them, my friend. You are not gay. Just be yourself and don't mind what anyone will say about you.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Yep. I don't mind them at all. No, before I was shaken, but not now. I am solid as rock.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Ah may naalala akong vlogger mark si rye, yung boyfriend ni Kath Melendez binabash din yan kasi nga bakla kung kumilos ,hayaan mo na lang kung anong tingin ng tao sayo basta ang importante magpakatotoo ka lang sa iyung sarili at wala kang ibang tao na inaapakan.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Ayy opo. Kilala ko po sila ate. HerSkin kasi gamit kong rejuv dati na products nila haha. Totoo po yan ate. Ang mahalaga, totoo at hindi ka mapanakit sa kapwa mo.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

dati rin lagi nila sinasabi na im gay because of my act sometimes my voice rin and. ayaw ko rin maglarp ng parating linalaro ng mga lalake malay koba kung bakit, mas bet ko pa maglaro ng board games kesa sa basketball o baseball o kotsekotse HAHA. mostly nung elementary inaasar rin nila ako na im gay pero di ko nalang pinapatulan beacause i know who i am tsaka wala na silang pake sa buhay ko HAHA pati nanay ko akala niya i will be gay HAHAHA tawa nalang ako ng malala HAHA

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Marami na kasing mga lalaki ngayon ang medyo malamya kumilo at hindi naglalaro ng mga larong panlalaki talaga. Pero alam mo yon, bahala na sila. Haha.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Buset ka, ang halata ko talaga gay ka HAHAHAHA. But I'm not laughing coz of that ha, pero kasi naniniwala talaga ako ee wala lang feeling ko lang ganon. May mga ganito ee, straight pero iba sa nakasanatan na dapat na gagawin ng lalaki ant ginagawa. Na talagang mapag kakamalan mo nga. But they know it naman na hindi talaga, ganon lang talaga sila. And even if ganon sila, wala naman silang pake ddahil buhay nila yon at alam nila kung ano sila, just like you ( ꈍᴗꈍ)

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Whaahah. Sorry na po ate. I confused you a little. Marami kasing mga tao ngayon na laging akala nalang haha. Nagsesettle sila sa belief na ganon.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Hahaha, if nakakamatay lang talaga ang naling akala ano haha

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Alam mo gets ko yan personality mo. Ganyan na ganyan yung hubby ko sa totoo lang. Mas feminine sya gumalaw kesa sakin. Noong unang buwan pa nga namin nakita ko sa room niya na umiinom sya ng myra e eh ahahaha. Pero ito totoo, straight sya. Ganun lang tlga sya, pero lalaking lalaki un. 🥱😂

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Oo nga po ate. Ewan ko ba nature na kasi yung pagiging feminine at masculine whatever gender you have. May tito din akong katulad ko at ngayon pari na sya. Wahahha.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Hahaha nag Mmyra e asawa mo? May ganyang macho na lalaki, maalaga sa balat o katawan, passion nila yon. Minsan mas "maarte" pa sa girls. Yong iba kong friends dati nag ppulbo pa. 😂

$ 0.00
1 year ago

oo ate pero ganun tlga sya, ala ko naman lalaking lalaki tho questionable tlga ung myra e wahahah

$ 0.00
1 year ago