The inspirational story of a color blind painter

32 66
Avatar for DennMarc
1 year ago

It was such an amazing feeling whenever you finished your own masterpiece. Whatever kind of masterpiece you made like an article, story, novel, drawing, sketching and painting. At the very end of the day, what satisfies you is you are able to construct and give life to what you did. It doesn't matter what others will say because you know it wasn't for them - it was for you. You cannot call it a masterpiece without a sense of hard work, creativity, uniqueness and meaning of the piece you created.

For some reasons, I am not blessed to make an appealing and pleasant drawing. My poor skill in drawing made me gain low scores and grades in art subjects, but it's okay. I tried to copy and learn as much as possible when I was in high school yet the result improved like 3% of 100%. My creativity in drawing is very limited, no actually I have a broad and wide imagination but the main problem is I cannot draw it the way I want. It's like my very own hands have been so hard and do not want to follow what my head tells it to do.

While I was reading on Facebook, there was some news that shocked me. It was about a painter who sold his pieces for about ₱40,000. It was actually big enough for someone who is not well-known. We know that the more famous and unique your painting is. The higher the bid it can get. But, he is not an ordinary painter like what we know because this man is color blind. The very first impression I had when I read that he is color blind, I was really amazed. How can a color blind person choose an exact color without actually identifying the correct one.

Celso Pepito

The man I was referring to is named Celso Pepito from Cebu, Philippines. Pepito's last name is very popular because there is a show in a particular broadcasting network who aired a show called Pepito Manaloto. Pepito graduated from college and he had no idea that he was color blind. Meaning, in his entire life since he was young, he had no idea that he had color blindness. I found this very interesting and surprising because how he managed to choose and mixed colors if he has color blindness? I guess the answer is, in painting, you will not be questioned on what color you choose because it is your own piece.

He found out that he is color blind when someone asked him to do a wood craft. The customer asked him why the color is not the same as what they agreed on. Then, he explained that he might not see the right color, but that is impossible. He has been painting and using colors since he was young. So one thing that popped up in his head is to verify his assumptions about himself. Later that day, the doctor told him that he has color blindness. It hurts him because as a painter, color is what makes your piece alive and presentable.

Their music, their life (2021)

However, this doesn't stop him from painting, instead he disregards his disability. He wasn't looking at the color blind as a problem because he knew there are people who will help him. He made it as an inspiration to paint more and to prove that disability is not a hindrance to stop what he likes to do. His wife and some members of the family are helping him to pick the right color before he starts painting so that he will not make a mistake again.

The will to inspire (2021)

Color blind means you see colors different from other people. You have a hard time distinguishing what is the exact color. There are two types of color blindness. First, you have a hard time to tell the difference between red and green. Second, you have a hard time to tell the difference between blue and yellow. When you are color blind, it doesn't mean you didn't see color at all, it is just that you see it differently than most people do.

I am truly inspired by Celso Pepito because despite his disability, he still continues to do what he loves to do. So, whatever problems you have while reaching what you love to do, always remember that if you overcome it. Then, surely, you will meet the end and get the satisfaction you want. There is nothing wrong with having a disability because still, you have the most amazing gift given by the Above and that is the gift of life. Remember that you have your very own unique talent that can make you distinguishable, all you need to do is to wake it up and believe that it is all yours.

Sponsors of DennMarc
empty
empty
empty

Thank you sponsors for you all-out support and love to this humble writer of yours.

My previous articles you might love to read:

Thank you for reading. I'll see you next time!

25
$ 5.60
$ 5.12 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @Ruffa
$ 0.05 from @tired_momma
+ 16
Sponsors of DennMarc
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for DennMarc
1 year ago

Comments

Grabi, ang galing pala nya. Maigi lang and kahit ganon nag push pa rin syang ituloy ang hilig nya. And the kind of art he has is very cool ha. Very artistic talaga. If sana lang ako may ganito din tayong kaalaman sa pag guhit. Kaso di ko rin kasi inaral ee. Baka pwd dana if nag practice nv todo

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Ate look mo dito ang iba nyag artwork na for sale. Mas hahanga ka sakanya. Ang gaganda po talaga. https://www.artsy.net/artist/celso-pepito/works-for-sale

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Wow, this is just crazy! A color blind person is a painter and judging from the paintings I have seen here, he is very talented. He has been using any color that comes to mind and that's why hee didn't actually know he was color blind, but the problem is that he can't actually differentiate between those colors. This is very inspiring

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I am very impressed in his capabilities bro. He is one of a kind. Perhaps others cannot tell he his color blind because when it comes to painting. Uniqueness and originality is a key so they might thought that it is his own way of arts.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

It's truly an inspiring story! I know how difficult it is to be a color blind person. This condition usually manifest in men. I encountered one when I had to assist my colleague in applying for a driver's license. They need to undergo a medical exam and I was there watching when the man ahead of us in the line was examined.

At first I couldn't believe when he cannot see the number. After the second image was presented, I realized he is color blind. When a person is color blind, he cannot be given a professional driver's license. Though as of now, there is already an eye glasses for this condition.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

That's sad though. But the special glass for them is very expensive because it as exclusively for color blind people.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

This is what we call determination. He loves what he is doing wouldn't let anything come in between it not even his disability. He has good paintings.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I know this man is quite old, but he has this pure determination to paint even more.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Wow...just wow... Such a cliche...someone into the business of colours couldn't identify them. He paints with his mind and his heart... He has amazing works I have to admit. This is pure talent and not something that can be taught in schools. This is awe-mazing.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

His ability to paint is extremely good and now we found out that he has color blind. We were all shocked because he has this kind of disability.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

It's very hard to know he has that disability with his amazing talent. He is so good.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I love people who can make things possible out of their inability. This is one of the most beautiful things that I have read today. And this is why I have always believe in myself. I don't let people tell me the I cannot do it

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Of course, you have your very own unique talent and that is all yours. Just don't stop believing in yourself.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

His story was indeed inspiring. I was also amazed by his perseverance and determination. With his amazing work's no one could ever imagine that he has disability.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Yes ate. He has a lot of paintings and most of his paintings are based on daily lives of Filipinos.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Pretty interesting din yung lately nya lang nalaman na colorblind pala sya ha. I commend his teachers for respecting the colors he use on his paintings hahaha. Yung iba papakielaman, sasabihin bakit ganyan bat gsnto, mali yan.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Oo bro. Ang ganda ng ugali ng mha prof nya kasi they respect his choice of colors and yung way of his arts

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I am not good in arts too, and I feel envious sa mga magagaling sa arts lalo na ung drawing na yan:(

Buti ndi sya pinanghinaan ng loob after nya malaman na color blind sya, ang gaganda ng gawa nya infairness

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Nakaka amaze talaga kung pano nya nahandle ang disability nya no ate? Mahirap din kasi ang color blind kasi sa mata natin yun eh.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Oo, cguro inspiration nya family na kailan nya buhayin dahil sa talent nya

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Wow! What an incredible story indeed. Even though I don't really know much about drawing I can say that colours are very important in drawing. I really like his determination, he never allows his disability to hinder his fame.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Yeah. I cannot imagine how he did it. But the Lord always make an amazing miracle and wonder to us.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

You made me remember the days I used to draw and the difficulties I faced. Sometimes I would be imagining why it's hard for my hand to put down ordinary "lines" on my mind.

Drawing is a talent 💯

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I didn't know but it's really hard to draw right? Truly, drawing is a talent and if you have a talent then show it too.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

ang galing naman nya kuya. iniisip ko na bakit ang tagal nya nalaman na color blind pala sya? dapat bata palang alam mo na kasi nag cocolor na tayo. ang ganda ng mga paintings niya, very pinoy.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Hindi ko rin alam eh. Wala kasi sa interview at article na bakit nya late na found out na color blind sya.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Such an inspiring story of this guy, hats of and more respect to him!

We all deserves to get a wife or family who support what we want to do.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

When I found out his story, I cannot help myself but to wonder and amaze on how he did it. Like, arts really is boundless.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

This proves that our disabilities shouldn't be an excuse to not continue what we enjoy doing.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Right. Whatever disabilities or lacking we have, as long as we can enjoy and be happy. Then that is okay.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Ang galing and very talented. Kaka amaze kasi kahit 1% di man lang ako nabiyayaan ng gift sa arts. And what makes him remarkable is he paints his piece by how he distinguished colours.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Sobrang talented and gifted nya ate in terms of arts making. Same tayo ate pero arts din naman siguro ang pag susulat. Hahaha.

$ 0.00
1 year ago