Cooking with Love

91 138
Avatar for CoquiCoin
2 years ago

Hi, wonderful people of Read.cash. I wish you all a stunning day or night.

You can guess from the title that I'm going to talk about food. I think I've said before that I like to cook. But not that cooking that some of us have to do every day. As a daily routine, I don't like it too much that kind of cooking.

But I love cooking for special occasions. To celebrate. To have dinner with friends or family. Or simply making a dish that brings back memories. Or that it comforts me because it reminds me of someone, a place, a trip. Or it reminds me of a memorable experience. Simply, Cooking with love.

Ceviche, the Peruvian star

So last week was my husband's birthday, and it made me want to prepare Ceviche that day. I've already published the photo of the result on my profile in Noise. So maybe you have already seen it. Ceviche is a Peruvian dish made of fresh raw fish marinated in lemon or lime fresh juice. It's considered one of the best known dishes of Peruvian gastronomy. Although, I must say that Peruvian cuisine is much more than Ceviche. And Lima, the capital of Peru, is on my wish list of travel destinations, just because I love Peruvian food. And I think it is one of the richest in flavors and complexity in Latin America.

Ceviche has become so popular in some Latin American countries that I cannot remember the first time I ate Ceviche. It would be a long time ago. But I do remember the first time I ate Ceviche as it should be. Because many people let the fish marinate in the lemon or lime juice for hours. And that makes the fish "overcooked" and with a texture that isn't so pleasant. The fish, in the good Ceviche, should only be marinated for a few minutes. And I learned this from some Peruvian friends who used to live here. We used to get together a lot, to eat and drink and we always prepared different things. All the Peruvian food I cook, I learned with them.

So I'm going to share with you how to prepare a Ceviche. The first you'll need it's a very fresh white firm fleshed fish. I used Dorado fish because it was what my fish supplier had. But I usually like to make Ceviche with Sea Bass.

Fresh raw fish diced - Photo by me

The fish is diced and seasoned with salt and pepper. Then we add onion cut in slices, I like the purple onion better for Ceviche, but it can be any. Chili finely cut, it can be yellow, which is the Peruvian chili, but the chili peppers that I used this time are also fine. And it's not the classic Ceviche recipe, but I like to add a bit of fresh ginger grated very finely. All of this is placed covering the fish.

Fish with onion slices, chili, and grated ginger - Photo by me

Finally, add the freshly squeezed lemon juice and a little finely chopped fresh coriander. And left the fish to marinate for 10 minutes.

Some time ago, I read in an interview with a famous Peruvian chef, Gastón Acurio. He said some ice cubes should be added to the fish while marinated to keep it cold. And that the lemons shouldn't be squeezed completely to don't let the bitterness of the lemon peel affect the flavor of the lemon juice, and therefore the flavor of the Ceviche.

Ceviche - Stir the fish after 10 minutes marinated - Photo by me

So after 10 minutes, the fish is stirred so that all the ingredients are well mixed. And voila, the Ceviche is ready to serve. This time, I didn't make it as a main dish. Rather we had several starters to snack on. But when you have Ceviche as your main dish, Peruvians usually eat it accompanied by sweet potatoes and canchitas (Peruvian corn nuts).

Ceviche - Photo by me

Quesillo, a traditional Venezuelan dessert

If there is a dessert that gives me good feelings, it's the Quesillo. It's the Venezuelan version of Flan. And the main difference is the flan is made only with the egg yolks, but for the quesillo, we also use the egg white.

In my house, there are no birthdays without quesillo. For me, it's a dessert that has great sentimental value. I learned how to make quesillo with my grandmother. And although, it's a dessert with no hidden science behind it and very easy to make. It seems in my family is implicit that I'm the only one that makes Quesillo.

The first thing is to make the caramel. We'll use the same mold we are going to use to bake the quesillo later. The secret to making a good quesillo is the caramel. It shouldn't be burned, but be golden to give a tasty flavor to the quesillo. For the caramel and the amount of ingredients to use in the quesillo, I usually use 12 tablespoons of sugar and the same amount of water.

Caramel for quesillo - Photo by me

I'm not very into following recipes to the letter. But with desserts, that changes a bit, and you have to be more strict in the amount of ingredients. For a small quesillo, you'll need 5 eggs, a can of condensed milk, and the amount equivalent to the can in milk. Some people add a teaspoon of vanilla essence. And even if you want to be more creative, you can even add a touch of coffee or rum.

Quesillo mix ready to bake - Photo by me

The ingredients are mixed with an electric mixer or in the blender. Then the mixture is poured into the mold with the caramel already cold. It's baked water bath for about an hour, or until when you insert a toothpick into the mixture, it comes out clean. For the first 15 minutes, I bake it uncovered and then I cover the mold so that the surface of the mixture doesn't brown too much.

When we remove it from the oven, we wait for it to cool down. And then put it in the refrigerator for several hours. The quesillo needs to be cold to be removed from the mold.

Quesillo - Photo by me

One of the things about the quesillo and the one that owes its name is the texture, with holes that make it look like a piece of cheese. My grandmother used to tell me that the number of holes was due to the time you spent mixing the mixture. So if you like the quesillo with many holes. You have to beat the mixture for a longer time.

And as a last piece of information, I will tell you that although Venezuelans are very proud to say that the quesillo is ours. The truth is we inherited it from one of the many migrations we have received from Spain. In this from the Canary Islands. In the Canaries, they also made quesillo.

Quesillo slice - Photo by me

So far, my dear readers, my Cooking with love for today to celebrate my hubby's birthday. I hope this whets your appetite. And if you try any of these two dishes don't forget to tell me. And if you have tried them, let me know in the comments.

To all my dear readers, thank you so much!

These are all my wonderful sponsors. I'm very grateful to have all of you. And those who read me, if you still don't know any of these wonderful writers, I encourage you to visit their profiles and read their articles.

Sponsors of CoquiCoin
empty
empty
empty

A special thank you today to my dear friend @Yelenab, my most recent Sponsor. We've been following each other for a long time in Noise. And now she's back in here. If you haven't read any of her poems, I encourage you to do so. Grazie amica mia!

All images and writings are my own unless anything different is stated. Copyright CoquiCoin 2021.

Until next time! ;)

August 17, 2021

33
$ 9.87
$ 8.25 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.50 from @fantagira
$ 0.10 from @gertu13
+ 20
Sponsors of CoquiCoin
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for CoquiCoin
2 years ago

Comments

That quesillo looks like what we call leche flan :) That made me crave for something sweet :D

I want to try that fish. It looks yum!

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Well, you can try to do it. It's easy to prepare!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

That Ceviche looks scrumptious!

Can you use salmon to make Ceviche or it must be white-fleshed fish? My only concern is if the lemon juice is enough to kill off all bacteria. I mean I do once in a blue moon have sashimi which is raw fish but there's always that nagging concern.

The Quesillo is a type of egg custard, right? I think many countries have variations of it. Perfect served cold with caramel sauce!

$ 0.05
2 years ago

You can prepare the ceviche with salmon. The original Peruvian recipe it's with white fish, but people have become really creative with Ceviche. You can even use other citrus fruit to make it. I've tried it with Passion fruit too. And the risk of bacteria, I think is always there with raw fish and this is why is important to use very fresh fish.

And yes, the quesillo is like a kind of egg custard! :)

$ 0.05
2 years ago

One of these days we'll try the Ceviche recipe. When we manage to get fresh Salmon.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Oh my, the Ceviche and the Quesillo dessert sure look yummy! I saw how Ceviche is made in Masterchef shows and it is so interesting that the fish cooks slightly with juice of lemon. And the Quesillo looks really familiarly delicious too! I can see the love in your cooking here :)

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Thank you! :) The quesillo is similar to your Flan de Leche. ;)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Wow! The fish dish looks delicious and seems rather easy to prepare. I might try it one day when I'm in a cooking mood ;) And I won't comment about the dessert - not allowed!

$ 0.05
2 years ago

It's so easy to prepare. You just need to be sure that the fish is very fresh. Mute on dessert! haha. Hugs, Monika!

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Thankyou I have learned a new recipe, I want to try when I have time to cook something like this. It looks like your cooking is delicious, I want to taste it 😅

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Thank you! I hope you can try it! :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Omg, this is what you call the picture that you can taste 😋

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Hehe, thank you! :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I have never try ceviche before...but I think it's yummy because of you picture. God bless both of your love

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Thank you! Blessings for you too!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Your cooking is just awesome. I also love Quesillo and Ceviche. Looks really delicious 👌

$ 0.00
2 years ago

damn.. that is mouth watering! i use lime in ceviche and in quesillo i think we have the same ingredients with our local leche flan here hmmm think we will enjoy the kitchen together LOL

$ 0.02
2 years ago

I'm sure we'll enjoy the kitchen together! 😉

$ 0.00
2 years ago

This is so mouthwatering. I just suddenly feel hungry. Delicious!

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Thank you!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Omg those look exquisite! And quesillo looks a lot like “leche flan” in our place :)

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Thank you! And yes, I think they are quite similar! :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I was really salivating when I saw the ceviche! The acidity and the spices feel like they are encapsulating the fish. And the Quesillo is a delightful dessert to have for sure. Your husband surely enjoyed all of these!

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Thank you, Bryan! And yes, he did! ;)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Oh my I am loving that Quesillo and Ceviche, friend. I do think that they have similarities to some of our Filipino cuisines here

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Others have mentioned the Flan de Leche and the Kinilaw. Thanks for stopping by! :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes that's it! Aweee I miss those food!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Uhhhh we have a similar recipe to quesillo and it's called creme caramel! Thanks for the tag dear, I don't know when but I'll try the marinated fish, it must be a delicious dish! Next month I'll modify my link in sponsorship... I must have mistaken something, the link it's broken I'm a disaster when it comes to technology 🤣

$ 0.05
2 years ago

I've tried creme caramel and yes is quite similar to quesillo. If you want to fix your link I can transfer you back the amount of the sponsorship. And you can do it again. And cancel the one that is wrong. Let me know! ;)

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Naaaa it's ok I'll fix it next time! I just would like to know what link should I add 🤣🤣🤣

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I guess that you miss the @, hehe

$ 0.00
2 years ago

For sure 🤣

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It was a good explanation and supported by visuals. I'm sure you added your love to the food, it tastes great.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Thank you! ;)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

The ceviche here in the Philippines is called "kinilaw". You're great cook. 😍

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Thank you, my dear! ;)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I can say you are a good cook to have come up with the final recipe of Ceviche I doubt it if we can get the ingredients here. Though you have explained step by step on how to prepare this sumptuous meal.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Thank you, Princess! I hope if you can find the ingredients, you'll give it a try! :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Girl, thank you so much for sponsoring, I'm so grateful <3

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You are always welcome! :)♡

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It's so yummy maam! The Ceviche here in the Philippines is what we called "Kinilaw" I really missed this Ceviche or Kinilaw it's been two years I didn't eat like this kind of viand.

The "Quesillo" is a "Leche flan" also in my country. I love this kind of dessert too..🥰

God bless you ma'am CoquiCoin...🙏❤️

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Thank you! I hope you eat Leche Flan and Kinilaw soon! And God bless you too!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes maam.. I hope also.. I'm craving now..😁 Thank you so much ma'am...

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Seeing all these is really tempting m makes me wamma treat myself to a delicious meal but I dont have the money for it 😭😭😭. I'm so hungry, why are you doing this to me?

$ 0.01
2 years ago

I'm so sorry! But I do hope you are teasing me!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ofcourse I'm I'm teasing.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

LOL 😉

$ 0.00
2 years ago

CoquiCoin's kitchen, I sort of feel hungry right away....firstly happy belated birthday wishes to your husband he's got a treasure right there. Secondly I have to try this out maybe when I get the right tools though. Thank you for your sponsorship

$ 0.05
2 years ago

Hehe, thank you! ;) I hope you'll try it someday. And you are always welcome! :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Although the dish is kind of strange to me but with what I'm seeing, I strongly believe that it is a great one that I would like to feel the flavour 🤣

$ 0.01
2 years ago

I hope you can try it one day. ;)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hi, Coqui! Belated happy birthday to your husband. That first photo we call that "kilawin." I love that with lots of chilis! Yum, I'm craving now. It's also my dad's favorite dish 🍴. The flan looks delicious too!! We call it here, "leche flan."

$ 0.05
2 years ago

Thank you, dear wickedsoul! It's good to know that you have your version of ceviche, and it's called kilawin. I also like it with a lot of chilies. And I like the touch of ginger too. If you make kilawin, take a photo.;) Good evening to you, my dear!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Oh definitely, Coqui. I'll tag you prolly on noise hehe. Xoxoxo

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Quesillo is leche plan in the Philippines, and Ceviche looks like kinilaw. I am happy to know we have foods that resembles each other.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Yes, I find it cool too when I found similarities in the food from different places.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

The quesillo looks like leche flan here in the Philippines. My favorite! 😍

I've been playing farmville before and I have heard of Ceviche, certainly looks like yours. Wow! I thought that the developers of the game only make names lol! 😂

$ 0.03
2 years ago

That's funny that you've learned about the name Ceviche in Farmville! 😂

Well one day, you can try to make quesillo instead of flan de leche. You just have to use the egg whites as well.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

The local "Ceviche" in the Philippines is called "Kinilaw" and we use vinegar to "cook" the fish. I miss eating it, I am drooling :D

$ 0.02
2 years ago

That's interesting. That you cook the fish in vinegar instead of lime or lemon juice. We do that but with another kind of fish or seafood.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

We use vinegar even with the meat :) Lemon and lime are expensive here in the Philippines so we have to improvise.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

My father-in-law here makes meat that he prepares with vinegar and calls it cold meat.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Must be delicious :D

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thank you for sharing these dishes, though I must say personally I do not like anything with fish in so the first dish 'Ceviche' would not be able to eat. But I am a huge fan of desserts and 'Quesillo' looks very tasty, and also something which I have never tried before.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

I hope you can try quesillo one day. It's really delicious. Maybe, you may have tried creme caramel. Its flavor is quite similar.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Yes I hope to try one day and I enjoy creme caramel too, in fact I think I like almost any dessert. 🤣

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Your Ceviche looks really appetizing! The Quesillo sounds great too because don't need to separate the egg whites. I made some flan before as it's one of my hubby's favorites but I may try to do that Quesillo one of these days :)

$ 0.05
2 years ago

Thank you, my friend! My husband likes the flan but loves the quesillo. If you try it, let me know! ;)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I will for sure but maybe not soon, my lazy nerves don't like the kitchen these days🤣

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Haha, I know that feeling too! 🤣 Believe me, I have it more often than the one of cooking with love. 🤣 🤣

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Haha we're on the same boat with that one😂

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Woah they looked so awesome.. wish I could take a bite lol!

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Thank you! ;)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

quesillo make me drool and your cooking is amazing.. You also made me hungry at this hour, and its 11pm here already❤️😍

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Haha, thank you! ♡ Sorry for whetting your appetite at almost midnight. Maybe you have there one of those slices of cold pizza that @Bloghound and I like so much as a midnight snack. LOL

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I love that picture of your ceviche. And your recipe is very good. Although it is Peruvian, I think it is identical to the one that we orientals make here. Although here the ginger is not added but from what I read I think it is your personal touch.

$ 0.05
2 years ago

Thank you! :) I learned about the touch of ginger with my Peruvian friends. If you like the taste of ginger, I recommend that you try it sometime. It adds an interesting touch to the flavor of the ceviche.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I mean that in the East they use ceviche without ginger, but for me ginger is a rhizome that is always present in my kitchen. In fact I grow it together with my turmeric. I do not miss it in sauces, fish, meats, rice and soups. Even ginger in my cakes, cookies or muffins is never missing. And in drinks ginger is spectacular.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Agree with you. Ginger it's great. I love it in drinks too!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Oww my mouth waters at the sight of quesillo 😍🤤

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Hehe, thank you! ;)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You are welcome

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Wow. That's a very special dish you made. I love the dessert you made too, it's called here as Leche Flan 🙂

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Thank you! Leche flan, good to know! ;)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes, that's how we called it here 🙂. One of these days, I will try the dish thay you made.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I hope that if you try it, you will share the photos with us! ;)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I'm a vegetarian and hence never read meat posts, but the second recipe caramel one looks so freaking delicious. I actually want to ear that.. omgyou made me so hungry right now.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Thank you! I'm sorry for making you hungry, LOL. But it's easy to make so you can try it.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Aww don't be sorry, you're good and yes am surely gonna try it. :)) Saving the post

$ 0.01
2 years ago