A bit more than nostalgia and melancholy

Avatar for CoquiCoin
2 years ago

Hello, beautiful people of Read.cash. I hope life is smiling for you.

Sometimes I find it difficult to concentrate on writing. The last couple of days, I have been busy. And it has been almost impossible for me to sit for more than a few minutes straight to put some ideas together.

Also for some reason, these days I've been a bit nostalgic. Maybe because gathering some papers that my son needed to pre-enroll in the university tests, I have come across some old photographs that brought back memories of other times and made me a bit melancholic. Or maybe because seeing my son make his shipments to college, also make me a little nostalgic to see that he has grown up. And it makes me realize he will soon leave the nest, as it should be.

Juan Griego Bay - Margarita Island

Under the sun on Margarita Island, we spent many of our vacations when my son was little. Those were some of the photos I found. At looking at those photos, so many memories arose.

Days that won't return, even if we go back to the place, some of the people who were present on our family vacations are no longer there. And the Island isn't what it used to be. The crisis that has affected the country in the last years has also wreaked havoc there.

Always on those vacations, we live unforgettable moments that I treasure in my memories. Family moments, long days at the beach, meals by the sea, celebrations, and lots of laughs.

Sunset at Playa Zaragoza, Margarita Island

During those vacation days, I watched some of the most beautiful sunsets by the sea I have ever watched. Or maybe it's the nostalgia that makes me think they're the most beautiful ones.

Earlier today, I thought it would be a good idea to leave a bit of the Saudade that I feel today reflected in some lines, and here they are.

*****

There are days when we have nostalgia or longing for other times and other places. To some that we could even return, but the experience would no longer be the same because some of those who were with us are no longer, or because those places have also changed. That feeling is described by my favorite word Saudade.

Saudade is a so beautiful word. I'm sure is the favorite of many other people who speak Portuguese or Spanish. It's a Portuguese word, but it's also used in Spanish since it doesn't have a word with the same precise meaning.

I wouldn't know how to translate it exactly into English. Because it isn't nostalgia or melancholy, it's a feeling that involves those meanings but a little more. In Wikipedia, I found this meaning.

Saudade is a deep emotional state of nostalgic or profound melancholic longing for something or someone that one cares for and/or loves. Moreover, it often carries a repressed knowledge that the object of longing might never be had again. It is the recollection of feelings, experiences, places, or events that once brought excitement, pleasure, and well-being, which now trigger the senses and make one experience the pain of separation from those joyous sensations.

And now that you know what it means. Have you ever had Saudade?

And what is your favorite word? You can tell me in the comments. Or even if you prefer to write about it. And tag me so I can read it too.

Thanks to all of my wonderful sponsors. You all rock!

And a big thanks today to my newest sponsors @Simon.M32 and @Abubakar9667 And to my dear @bmjc98 for renewing the sponsorship. Thank you from the bottom of my heart!

To you, my dear readers, thank you so much!

All images and writing are my own unless otherwise stated.

© CoquiCoin  

You can find me also at Noise.Cash ⊛ Hive ⊛ Torum ⊛ Twitter

Until next time! ;)

October 24, 2021

29
$ 12.52
$ 11.46 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.20 from @gertu13
$ 0.05 from @jasglaybam
+ 21
Sponsors of CoquiCoin
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for CoquiCoin
2 years ago
Enjoyed this article?  Earn Bitcoin Cash by sharing it! Explain
...and you will also help the author collect more tips.

Comments

My first time hearing the words Saudade and I think I have learned something new. I hope I won't be charged for it 🤗Lol

Stay Blessed and remain blessed ma

$ 0.01
2 years ago

I'm glad you learned a new word today. Blessings for you too

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Suadade of those memories deep in our hearts let us feel longing for them but it can never be like as the first time anymore. Its more like it only happens in a lifetime experienced.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

There are places we can return to but the experience will never be the same.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

That's true.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

oh the view and the sunset are both breathtaking! Juan Griego Bay is amazing!

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Margarita Island has very beautiful beaches and spot . You would loved it for sure.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I concur. We can return to where we used to be, however we can't bring back the things that occurred there. Individuals we are with and the actual spot. Change is without a doubt unavoidable.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Saudade is the perfect word. It is sad and happiness all in one. Sad that the longing might never be felt again but happy because we get to commemorate and rekindle the moments.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

You got the feeling. It's happy and sad at the same time.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Si he tenido saudade, ahora mismo leyendo tu artículo experimenté uno. Recuerdo con nostalgia como hace muchos años atrás visitaba la Isla con mi abuela que íbamos a visitar a mi tía, su hija. Tiempos aquellos,que cuando niño uno disfrutaba un montón. Tiempos que no volverán.

Para publicar algo sobre el Saudade, ¿es preciso que sea con un acróstico?

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Puedes escribirlo como quieras, no hace falta hacer un acróstico. Es dibujo libre, jeje. Saludos y feliz semana!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

We can back the moments and place where it happen but not the same feeling like before.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

The places are still there, but the experiences are different.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I agree. We can go back to the places where we used to be, but we can't bring back the things that happened there. The people we are with and the place itself. Change is indeed inevitable.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Yep, life is full of changes. Thanks for stopping by!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Those are beautiful places you have spent time with your loved ones... and saudade might really be a perfect word for such past experiences.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Saudade is a beautiful word to describe our longing for places and past times. Happy week, sis!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thank you sis, happy new week too

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I don't know if I ever told you that my parents were from Portugal, which is why I have dual nationality. I have known that word since my childhood. My parents were full of nostalgia and melancholy for the life left behind in Portugal. They never came back. Saudade is a word that reminds me of my roots. Although my favourite word is "happiness", I always try to keep it in my being and I don't let anyone take it away from me. Interesting post. Greetings to you

$ 0.01
2 years ago

You haven't told me, but I know it since you are Gertu's sister. Saudade is a word that I have always liked. It is so beautiful and contains a feeling so difficult to describe. Saludos!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You are right about the word saudade. It is a feeling that has no single interpretation. And we use it in our family messages. There are times when a moment or situation makes us a bit nostalgic. They are beautiful photos.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Thank you, my friend! Feeling nostalgia and Saudade is part of life. And it means that we have beautiful memories to feel that way about. Un abrazo!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

That feeling of nostalgia, to see that time passes and we only have memories that were unique, will not be repeated, you can spend similar moments but not the same. that's why I try to enjoy every moment, even writing and laughing at many comments. Beautiful pictures

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Thank you Frank! And you are rigth, we should enjoy every moment. Saludos!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I love the word friend :) I missed the beach so much with the sunrise and the sunsets..I have Saudade with my old friends.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

It is a word to love, my friend. Let's hope for beach days soon, hehe

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes, memories bring us feelings that wrinkle our hearts.

There is nothing wrong with nostalgia and melancholy, but giving it a turn towards gratitude for how lucky we were and can be today; will do us a lot of good.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

You are right. And I'm so grateful for what I have today and what I had in the past. Saludos!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

First, it is important to say all the beauty Margarita Island can offer, it´s a heaven´s paradise on Earth! And wow, you have made me think about several things now after reading your posts, I didn´t have any idea that what I usually feel is called Saudade... Keep strong my dear Coqui, good times will be back and you will share again with your family.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

You are right. Margarita Island is a paradise despite it has also been affected by the crisis. I hope to visit it any time soon. I'm not sad, I just have Saudade of old times. Happy Sunday, Simon!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Saudade is is a new word for me. Your acrostics are well-made. Happy Sunday Eliana!

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Happy evening to you, Bryan! :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

That sunset photo would really make you want to return to that place again. . I do have Saudade. And I wanted to go back to an island where I worked and enjoyed my life back in the year 2013.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

I hope you can return to that island one day and have some new good memories of the place.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Sunday explained so well haha.. I love that Sunset pic... gorgeous

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Thank you, doll! ;)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You described things so beautifully I could feel everything. The quality of your writing is pretty much that. It can be understood by reading these writings.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thank you!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Wow!saudade a new word i learnt from you today

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I'm glad you learned it ;)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I do feel it, in fact earlier this week i was in Saudade mood/state (not like i knew the meaning 10mins back😂😂)

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Hehe! Well, you now have a word for that mood, lol

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yeah i have to come your sponsor becuase you deserve more, Thanks a lot of this,

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Thank you! ;)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Wow!!! These is the first time I'll hear of the word Saudade. Nice article.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Thank you, Queen! :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Wow! The magarittan island looks so beautiful for a vacation location. When I raise enough money from here or elsewhere, i'll surely visit this place for my vacation

$ 0.01
2 years ago

You are always welcome to come and visit ;) It's a beautiful island

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You really seems feel like Saudade. I don't know how to pronounce it but the words is really profoundly heart melting

$ 0.01
2 years ago

It's a very beautiful word. :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

that sunset photo is such a beautiful one. I've been longing to go to the beaches but I couldn't because of my busy schedule

$ 0.02
2 years ago

I haven't been to the beach since the pandemic started. :(

$ 0.00
2 years ago

ah momma is getting ready for when the wee chick leaves the nest. Big hugs to you Eliana, and as for favourite words, well chuffed has to be up there along with Rangers

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Hehe, that's right, Ed! Chuffed is now on my list of favorite words, thanks to you ;) A big bear hug to you, Eddie W!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

hehe thank you I enjoyed that Eliana :) 🐻

$ 0.00
2 years ago

The meaning and explanation melt my heart.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Saudade is a word that melts the heart. You got it very well.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Wow , nice job

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thank you! :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Your welcome

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You did it! This challenge keeps resisting me ahah

$ 0.02
2 years ago

At first, I wasn't thinking of doing the challenge, just writing about the word Saudade, but it came out easy for me that way. ;)

$ 0.00
2 years ago