Of movies, tows, and clubhouse

36 89
Avatar for CoquiCoin
2 years ago

Hello everyone, awesome people of Read.cash!

Today, to lighten up a bit on the problems that not only each of us may be facing but also the world is facing these days, to say the least, with the war going on. I thought it best to write about lighter things.

Movies

Yesterday, I went to a cinema for the first time since the pandemic started. My husband is usually invited to press screenings of films that are going to be released in Venezuela. Normally as the premieres are in the afternoon on weekdays I can't go with him, but this time as he can't drive I manage to organize myself to go with him.

It felt a bit weird to be again in a movie theater but wearing masks. I'm not sure if it is my ideal way to enjoy watching a movie. But the movie we watched was an enjoyable one.

Licorice Pizza is one of the films that is nominated for an Oscar this year. And that I would define as an unconventional rom-com. It is directed by Paul Thomas Anderson, famous among others for the 90s films Boogie Nights and Magnolia. The film tells the story of a teen named Gary Valentine and 25 years old girl named Alana Kane as they grow up, and fall in love in the San Fernando Valley, the film is set in the 70s.

The film has so many great references to the '70s and even to some characters of the time such as the actor William Holden, played in the film by Sean Penn, or Jon Peters played by Bradley Cooper.

I liked the film, although it was a bit slow at times. However, I would recommend it. The chemistry between the two main characters is incredible and both actors which by the way are not known at all are great in their roles.

From what I've been able to read the name of the film, Licorice Pizza is named after a famous record shop in the late 70s. And also because the vinyl records of the time look like shiny black licorice and are about the size of a pizza.

The tow

But today was a different story. The morning was very stressful. I had to process a travel permit for my son who, in a little over a week, has to travel with a delegation from his school to an event. As he is still a minor, I had to apply for a travel permit. But the airline had not issued the tickets and these were necessary to process the permit.

I had to submit the permit application today because next week Monday and Tuesday are carnival holidays, and it takes three working days for the permit to be issued. So I spent the morning running errands, and in the end, I reached an agreement that they would accept my application with the promise that I will send the tickets by email tomorrow.

The morning went by and when I was coming back from picking up my son from school, by chance we saw my sister with her car broken down on the motorway. So we ended up waiting for a tow truck to come and take the car. Then we took my sister and my niece, the first to her work and the second to her home.

The clubhouse

After such a stressful day, I didn't feel like going home for lunch and having to follow my husband's salt and sugar-free diet. I needed something to replenish my energy and seriously recharge my batteries. So after we left my niece at her home, we stopped at a café for a clubhouse.

I haven't had one for years and this one with a strawberry smoothie was pretty legit.

I think that's all for today, thanks for reading!

All writings and images are my own unless otherwise stated.

© CoquiCoin  

You can find me also at Noise. Cash ⊛ Hive ⊛ Torum ⊛ Twitter

Until next time! ;)

February 24, 2022


26
$ 7.34
$ 6.62 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @Jane
$ 0.05 from @gertu13
+ 18
Sponsors of CoquiCoin
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for CoquiCoin
2 years ago

Comments

The movies, I have a long time without going, I had been so busy with classes and work that I did not go out to the movies, long before the pandemic. I remember the last movie I saw was Aladdin and it was because a student of mine and Luis, invited us to go with his family, if not more years, really before the pandemic I was too busy to go out and enjoy. But how nice that you went and enjoyed it, despite having the mask, it is something different that you have done.

What a strange coincidence that you found your sister in traffic haha but good thing, so you were able to help her.

Your food looks really delicious, it's been a complex and hectic day, but you've enjoyed it too.

By the way, I hope your husband gets better soon, the months have gone by really fast, so his recovery will be quicker than you can imagine, success and blessings.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I just can't ignore that clubhouse and smoothie! Your day seemed very long, good thing you ended it with a great meal. ♥

$ 0.01
2 years ago

omg, that clubhouse looks so good, that movie looks so interesting, I have to do some research on the oscars this year because I haven't seen anything and I love to see all the movies that are nominated.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

The good thing about your whole day of running around is that you didn't have to arrive preparing food. That dish looks tasty with that spectacular strawberry smoothie. Cheers.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

That was a stressful day, my dear Coqui. You definitely deserve that yummy clubhouse and strawberry smoothie. I haven't been to the cinema for quite some time, perhaps after Frozen 2...I envy you, hehe...All the best to your son :)

$ 0.01
2 years ago

After so much stress, you finished with a flourish. Happy day

$ 0.01
2 years ago

You are right! Y estaba buenísimo, jeje

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Wait...... hold up... you are a sister? not a brother omg.. I did not know that at all.. I always thought and called you bro lol

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Jaja! yes, I am a sister. You are the second person to say so today, LOL

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Haha that's good to know :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Jaja 🤪 !

$ 0.00
2 years ago

The car breaks down and your brother is in front of you. This is an excellent chance and I want the same luck, hehe.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

It was a one-in-a-million chance, especially considering that at that time the motorway has a lot of traffic.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Well first, I never knew the person behind Coquicoin is a woman 😂 and secondly I bet it must feel good having to go to the cinema again. Even if it's with a mask there is always that theatrical air.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Do they have this movie in English version ?

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Hi! yep, of course, is an American movie. It is in English. ;)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Okay I would check it out

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Since the pandemic started I never been in cinema co'z mostly they are still close. Anyway, the food looks yummy

$ 0.01
2 years ago

It was yummy ;)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

From the title alone I thought you watched a movie in the car while it was being towed to the clubhouse lol!

I haven't been to any cinema since pandemic although they are open now. I might give that movie a try. Licorice the size of a pizza? How big is the pizza? :D

I'd go for the clubhouse though. Good thing you saw your sister. Coqui to the rescue! I hope all goes well with the application.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Haha, It's been a long time since I've been on a drive-in. I'd love to experience it again sometime and if I can watch the movie while eating a clubhouse, even better, hehe. Cheers, Kuboy!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

that clubhouse looks so yummy! glad you were able to recharge even for a short period... and the movie sounds good hehe.. the last time I went to a movie house was 2019 I think in Perth hahaha I wonder how movie houses look like right now lol and your a heaven sent to your sister :)

$ 0.01
2 years ago

I hadn't been to the cinema since 2019 either, but my husband often goes when he is invited to press screenings like this one. You are right. It was heaven for my sister when my son and I showed up :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

The film sounds interesting sis :) How long has it been since I last saw a movie in a cinema, lol! I hope your son's papers will be processed smoothly after it has stressed you quite a bit. And what are the odds seeing your sister with her car breaking down, she must have been thankful that you were their to rescue :)

And the clubhouse looks yummy!

$ 0.01
2 years ago

It was a great coincidence and a relief for my sister. The chances of me seeing her even if I was passing by were minimal because there is a lot of traffic at that time of day.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I'm really sorry about what happened to your sister car ma'am CoquiCoin. Just relax and take a rest. It will help you from the stress. Always take care ma'am CoquiCoin. It's my first time to hear that movie. I will try it on Netflix. I love the snacks you have ma'am CoquiCoin. It's really delicious.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Thank you! If you find the movie watch it. It is nice!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes ma'am CoquiCoin I will. Thank you again. You're welcome maam. ❤️🥰

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I've never been to the cinema as it's kinda costly over here so I prefer watching movies on Netflix I would give it a trial to visit the cinema some say to watch some movies.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Here, it is also expensive, if we weren't been invited I wouldn't go

$ 0.00
2 years ago

What is important is that it ended with a yummy meal.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

You are absolutely right, jaja 🤗

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I will give it a try and watch that movie, hihi. I must say that you really are into watching movies. The last photo, hmmm yum!

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Hehe, I like to watch movies. And with a filmmaker hubby, I don't have another option either, LOL

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I never tried going to a cinema here yet. It's costly and I rather watch the movie for free on my phone 😂.. I like the clubhouse too. Might gonna try soon haha. I suddenly crave for it.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Hehe! Enjoy your clubhouse soon. And the cinema here is also expensive. I went because my hubby was invited. Otherwise, I watch movies at home.

$ 0.00
2 years ago