MidNight Gems - Undiscovered, Underrated and Forgotten Songs vol.22 "Feeling alternative 90´s"

0 56
Avatar for BitcoinBaby
2 years ago

For those of you that are new to my MidNight Gems series. Welcome to this nightly trip on which we will uncover & recover some amazing covers and we will do it a little different tonight....

I just got this horrible urge to take a trip down memory lane

If you hear that Intro you go sooo Nirvana & it can be because the Album containing Balentine came out a year later than Nirvana´s Nevermind did.

1. Bettie Serveert - Balentine

Already getting lost in so many 90´s memories, happy merry memories .....as the world was evolving around me. I was the center of the universe and this one always stuck with me. Of course Lay it Down was their biggest hit...but we´re here for the gems and not the rocks.

2. Magnapop - Merry

I needed to dig so deep the leftovers of my brain that I got myself some guidance and OMG that just opened doors to parts of my brain that have been locked by THC for decades......

Those days where The Smashing Pumpkins ruled, but Pavement was the real deal.

3. Pavement - Range Life

Stone Temple Pilots are arrogant Bastards.....that is what I always used to hear and that sounded just right....while in truth it was "Stone Temple Pilots, they're elegant bachelors. They're foxy to me, are they foxy to you? I will agree they deserve absolutely nothing, nothing more than me"

4. Buffalo Tom - Taillights Fade

And if that brings back memories....let´s see how a good wine ages ....well I guess wine ages better....but this is 90´s history right there for you. And yes Buffalo Tom was and is very undervalued. But I think that Eddie has got his values set right.

Talking about values....Evan Dando the Lemonheads Pretty boy screwed up a perfect career.....because drugs are sometimes stronger than we are.....but he´s still alive and that is more than most dopeheads from those days.

5. The Lemonheads - My Drug Buddy

That Drug Budy story was sooo Evan Dando....last time I checked he was looking good and still using...but moderately .....but remember this story:

Weeks after a catastrophic show at the Glastonbury festival 1995, at which he appeared two hours late after an all-night heroin binge and was ignominiously booed off stage, he set off for Australia. At Sydney airport Dando was set upon by five policemen and arrested for possession of drugs. He was high on heroin and LSD at the time and, word has it, was found feeding coins into pavement grates and handing flowers out to strangers.

If you screw up your habits...you will soon become a ghost of your former self.....

6. Kristin Hersh - Your Ghost

Gosh, did I love that song...that is a midnight gem...dark, hunting, hollow, chilling my bones...then and now.

Okay, the next song sucks, but still one of my fav, gems from those early 90´s.

7. Murmurs - You Suck

Sometimes you just remember that little piece of lyrics "Right now there is dust on my guitar you fuck".....and I almost loaded the radio-friendly version for you all.....so glad that I still listen to all songs before playing them....some habits are hard to break.... as you do not wanna see stand there clueless.

8. The Muffs, Kids in America

The kids in America...those popular braindead desperate for attention walking pieces of cheap plastic.... the was what America started to look like in the 90´s and the effects are showing now 20 years later. I mean what else could explain the current state of the nation.

Maybe they took this last song the wrong way....because if you are truly alternative .....you will be popular, I think this playlist proves that point!

9. Nada Surf – Popular 

Or were the 90´s just the dream of any teenage dirtbag?

10. TEENAGE FANCLUB - Sparky's dream

What the fluff are midnight gems?

Somewhere lost in time, trying to escape out of the rabbit hole back into the rat race there is a vacuum..... that´s the place where midnight gems are found.

My Midnight Gems will try to uncover & recover those beautiful songs that nobody ever noticed or might have been forgotten.

Who the fluff am I?

Being a former DJ playing about everything and having an uncompleted study of radio journalism I have been wanting to do this for years....Thought about it many nights and guess now it´s time to finally take it to the streets.

Hope you enjoyed this slightly confronting wave of amazing music and you still feel like joining me on the next trip as vol 11. of Midnight Gems is coming soon.

Previous Released Midnight Gems:

MidNight Gems - Undiscovered, Underrated & Forgotten Songs vol.1 "Shoe...

MidNight Gems - Undiscovered, Underrated & Forgotten Songs vol.2 "Dutc...

MidNight Gems - Undiscovered, Underrated & Forgotten Songs vol.3 "Dist...

MidNight Gems - Undiscovered, Underrated & Forgotten Songs vol.4 " Syn...

MidNight Gems - Undiscovered, Underrated & Forgotten Songs - Vol.5 Vin...

MidNight Gems - Undiscovered, Underrated and Forgotten Songs vol.6 - "...

MidNight Gems Vol.7 - Undiscovered, Underrated and Forgotten Songs - "...

MidNight Gems - Underrated and Forgotten Songs vol.8 " This is what Sa...

MidNight Gems - Undiscovered, Underrated and Forgotten Songs vol.9 " I...

The best covers you probably never heard - MidNight Gems Vol.10 - Cove...

MidNight Gems - Undiscovered, Underrated and Forgotten Songs vol.11 "G...

MidNight Gems - Undiscovered, Underrated and Forgotten Songs vol.12 "M...

MidNight Gems - Undiscovered, Underrated and Forgotten Songs vol.13 "P...

MidNight Gems - Undiscovered, Underrated and Forgotten Songs vol.14 "S...

MidNight Gems - Undiscovered, Underrated and Forgotten Songs vol.15 "L...

MidNight Gems - Undiscovered, Underrated and Forgotten Songs vol.16 "D...

MidNight Gems - Undiscovered, Underrated and Forgotten Songs vol.17 "B...

MidNight Gems - Undiscovered, Underrated and Forgotten Songs vol.18 "P...

MidNight Gems - Undiscovered, Underrated and Forgotten Songs vol.19 "S...

MidNight Gems - Undiscovered, Underrated and Forgotten Songs vol.20 "...

MidNight Gems - Undiscovered, Underrated and Forgotten Songs vol. 21 "...

Disclaimer

I do not have any connection with any company I am writing about. I am not being paid to write this article.

If you like my content, please hit like and subscribe. Because more Bitcoin baby Mistakes are coming......

Feel free to provide tips, comments, feedback, anything.....?
Remember that sharing will improve life in general!

Direct Donations are always welcome to keep me going:

BTC: bc1qdsrg7qaefxvel6hn6mjemjd4c8jjs40sasyvkp

ETH: 0x4216fEC23Ae7A7d9c46143Ce56C3e8f301F9868c

Bitcoincash:qqesav8kuwcrhl4y8qs9zfjg90cf8dnlkyz43u9w6u

1
$ 0.33
$ 0.33 from @TheRandomRewarder
Avatar for BitcoinBaby
2 years ago

Comments