MidNight Gems - Undiscovered, Underrated and Forgotten Songs vol. 21 "In Loving Memory"

0 47
Avatar for BitcoinBaby
2 years ago
Topics: Music, Memory, Midnight, Gem, Journey, ...

For those of you that are new to my MidNight Gems series. Welcome to this nightly trip on which we will uncover & recover some amazing songs.

Tomight is all about one thing...one guy ....one bro.....it´s his Brithday today.....and he left a couple of months ago.....to never come back.

We lived in different worlds.....but we will be brother in arms forever. Even though you passed away a couple of months ago....and today is your birthday.

I will not cry, or try not to do so. I will just go through the records we shared in our youth. This is not the Greatest Midnight Gems in the world....this is just a tribute to my brother.

1. Dire Straits - Brothers In Arms

We were such boy´s screaming our lungs out on this one....I think I owned the vinyl 45 for this one....some songs just do not lose their touch.

2. Bryan Adams - Summer Of '69 

One of my best memories, as far as music and my memory goes of course was this one....not sure what was the occasion, but in my recollection, it was you & me at home without parents.

It was Veronica´s Music Movie Month and the movie we watched was Footloose...and it ends with this all-time classic and you and I were dancing on our parent's sofa´s. So I am sure they were not around and we had the time of our life.

3. Kenny Loggins - Footloose 

Still, no idea how you ended up with this disc instead of me....? But guess we both loved Tori´s 2nd album. And now that your time has come to be a ghost... I hope you are a Happy Phantom & it was you making the Spanish earth quack on the day you left your physical shape and you just wanted to hunt me as a way to say hasta luego Bro.

4. Tori Amos - Happy Phantom

They're not that many English songs we really share (can be my memory), but More than words from extreme probably was one....but I think we both enjoyed this hard rock band going soft even more.

Guess now I will be the one that needs to have patience as you already figured out what happens if you finish the final level.

5. Guns N' Roses - Patience

You ve always been our mothers love boy.......but this song is the only song I am sure of you shared with me.....prior to grunge really being my thing you knew this was an amazing song.....and probably the biggest GEM in a pretty overall pretty popular list----

Thanks for sharing still playing it!

6. Mother Love Bone - Chloe Dancer / Crown of Thorns

The next one always made me think of you, we never listened to it together. But we sang to Tiny Dancer....and it talks about us growing up and doing stupid stuff.....like streaking through the neighborhood....remember?

7. Ed Sheeran - Castle On The Hill

How American were the songs we grow up with....and still you ended up being the biggest anti-Trump advocate I ever met from the Netherlands and maybe that all started with the next song.

How we loved to sing along with Dennis.....and ranting the whole No cure for cancer one-man show when we got a bit older. And in the end, we´re probably both assholes and proud of it.

8. Denis Leary - Asshole

Somehow, this will be the song Bro.....the song that reminds me most of you. It´s about a pearl...that makes a journey and ends up where it started. You made your journey & now you are back where you started......

It´s probably not your last journey....but wait for me up there as we still have some catching up to do.

9. Soul Asylum - String Of Pearls - 1995 Canada

What the fluff are midnight gems?

Somewhere lost in time, trying to escape out of the rabbit hole back into the rat race there is a vacuum..... that´s the place where midnight gems are found.

My Midnight Gems will try to uncover & recover those beautiful songs that nobody ever noticed or might have been forgotten.

Who the fluff am I?

Being a former DJ playing about everything and having an uncompleted study of radio journalism I have been wanting to do this for years....Thought about it many nights and guess now it´s time to finally take it to the streets.

Hope you enjoyed this slightly confronting wave of amazing music and you still feel like joining me on the next trip as vol 11. of Midnight Gems is coming soon.

Previous Released Midnight Gems:

MidNight Gems - Undiscovered, Underrated & Forgotten Songs vol.1 "Shoe...

MidNight Gems - Undiscovered, Underrated & Forgotten Songs vol.2 "Dutc...

MidNight Gems - Undiscovered, Underrated & Forgotten Songs vol.3 "Dist...

MidNight Gems - Undiscovered, Underrated & Forgotten Songs vol.4 " Syn...

MidNight Gems - Undiscovered, Underrated & Forgotten Songs - Vol.5 Vin...

MidNight Gems - Undiscovered, Underrated and Forgotten Songs vol.6 - "...

MidNight Gems Vol.7 - Undiscovered, Underrated and Forgotten Songs - "...

MidNight Gems - Underrated and Forgotten Songs vol.8 " This is what Sa...

MidNight Gems - Undiscovered, Underrated and Forgotten Songs vol.9 " I...

The best covers you probably never heard - MidNight Gems Vol.10 - Cove...

MidNight Gems - Undiscovered, Underrated and Forgotten Songs vol.11 "G...

MidNight Gems - Undiscovered, Underrated and Forgotten Songs vol.12 "M...

MidNight Gems - Undiscovered, Underrated and Forgotten Songs vol.13 "P...

MidNight Gems - Undiscovered, Underrated and Forgotten Songs vol.14 "S...

MidNight Gems - Undiscovered, Underrated and Forgotten Songs vol.15 "L...

MidNight Gems - Undiscovered, Underrated and Forgotten Songs vol.16 "D...

MidNight Gems - Undiscovered, Underrated and Forgotten Songs vol.17 "B...

MidNight Gems - Undiscovered, Underrated and Forgotten Songs vol.18 "P...

MidNight Gems - Undiscovered, Underrated and Forgotten Songs vol.19 "S...

MidNight Gems - Undiscovered, Underrated and Forgotten Songs vol.20 "...

Disclaimer

I do not have any connection with any company I am writing about. I am not being paid to write this article.

If you like my content, please hit like and subscribe. Because more Bitcoin baby Mistakes are coming......

Feel free to provide tips, comments, feedback, anything.....?
Remember that sharing will improve life in general!

Direct Donations are always welcome to keep me going:

BTC: bc1qdsrg7qaefxvel6hn6mjemjd4c8jjs40sasyvkp

ETH: 0x4216fEC23Ae7A7d9c46143Ce56C3e8f301F9868c

Bitcoincash:qqesav8kuwcrhl4y8qs9zfjg90cf8dnlkyz43u9w6u

3
$ 4.02
$ 3.97 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @wrabbiter
Avatar for BitcoinBaby
2 years ago
Topics: Music, Memory, Midnight, Gem, Journey, ...

Comments