Of bulbul and queens

88 84
Avatar for ARTicLEE
2 years ago

It's the Friday blues.

I've been sitting in front of my laptop with no idea what to write. So what better way to joggle the mind than to look at photos.

Say hello to this yellow-vented bulbul bird (Pycnonotus goiavier). This bird was probably waiting for his partner that time. I just kept clicking and clicking. I like this one particularly because it seemed to be posing for the camera. Right after I took this shot, it turned its back on me. I see these birds come in pairs in the morning and late afternoon. Bulbul birds, maya (Eurasian Tree Sparrow) and olive-backed sunbirds are some of the birds that would hang out in our yard especially on the bamboo trees. I don't know why they are so noisy during the early morning hours around 5:00 a.m. and late afternoons. Any other time of the day, they would just be perched somewhere silently.

Just like this other bulbul bird that I took a photo of one time. It was perched in one of the branches that I almost missed it.

These are Eurasian Tree Sparrow which some would locally call "maya." These birds are easily startled and would fly away. When I was taking photos of them, I would have to be slow in my movements or I would stay in one place and wait.

Photography does really need patience and timing.

We do have a lot of flowers growing in our yard. The collage above (edited in Canva) shows some of those that you can see in our yard. They don't bloom all at once. Those photos were taken over the years whenever I decided to take photos of them.

There are many more but these two flowers below are my favorites.

Of all the flowers that one can see in our yard, the Queen of the Night is what I love the most. It is also called Night-Blooming Cereus. Ture to it's name, it only blooms throughout the night. Someone in noise said that plants are more active at night. you will be surprised to see the evidence of the change they have undergone overnight.

I remember creating a time lapse of this. There was a drizzle then but I still pushed through with it. I just can't remember where I uploaded the video. Again, one must be patient to do time lapse.

Probably around 8:00 p.m., the flower will start to every so slowly open. It would fully bloom by midnight and would start to wilt by dawn.

This is one of the photos that I love. I placed a brighter light behind it for this was taken at night and used a softer flash to illuminate everything else. I'm not sure if I posted this in noise.

Beauty does fade away quickly sometimes.

This St. Christopher Lily is just so pretty to look at. Unlike the Queen of the Night, this flower blooms longer. Both of these flowers have a nice scent to them, the Queen of the Night stronger of course.

There are many flowers in our yard. These were taken two and three years ago. Now that my sister has more time to garden and take care of plants, there are more flowering plants. The hibiscus that I planted had flowers then which she sent me a photo of.

The lead image was a collection of flowers that I picked and place them in a drum full of water.

It's the weekend again. I just noticed that I have been here in read for 2 months already. It felt like I was here longer than that. I guess that is how I am enjoying this platform.

I hope you have all great plans for this weekend and may you all fulfill them all safely.

It's now a few minutes more before Friday ends. I bid you all good night for tomorrow I plan to go for a walk. Come join me tomorrow!

30
$ 10.19
$ 9.22 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.10 from @Ruffa
$ 0.10 from @Just1dood
+ 16
Sponsors of ARTicLEE
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for ARTicLEE
2 years ago

Comments

Beautiful photos, very inspiring to make a story, you have a lot of imagination, I love it. The queen of the night, also known as lady of the night, has a unique fragrance. A few months ago I was propagating one I have at home, I made it into 20 plants, 2 months ago 15 bloomed the same night. Last night by chance one of them had 3 flowers, they are very delicate but very beautiful.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

I really miss the fragrance of this. It's exciting to see them bloom that much. When ours started to bloom the first time, it was just one or two at a time every night. As the years go by, more and more flowers were blooming every night at the same time. Amazing!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Great photos! πŸ‘

It's a cold rainy Saturday. Had it not for an early school virtual meeting, I would have still be in bed, snoring. 😁

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Lol! Rainy days will find me in bed too :D

$ 0.00
2 years ago

In my backyard, I also have many birds that visit me. For days now there has been one that keeps singing all the time, I think it is looking for a mate. Sometimes they wake me up in the morning at my bedroom window. Tomorrow I will accompany you on your walk. Greetings.

$ 0.10
2 years ago

It's what I miss where we are now. We still do have birds but only the sparrows. I miss the different sounds :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Same kami ni "bulbul bird" , naghihintay ng partner hahaha. Ang ganda ng mga kuha mo kuya Lee.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Jan lang sa pix. Dumating na partner nyan later after ko napix hehe. Salamat!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ay sana all buti pa sila haha. Welcome kuya

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Incredible photos 😍😍😍

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Thanks a lot! :) Have a good one :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Those birds are very lovely to begin and good shots you got there po ..It's very hard to take photos of birds kasi sensitive sila konting galaw lang eh nagrereact agad πŸ‘..that flower is really awesome for being active at night..

$ 0.03
2 years ago

That's true that's why I used telephoto lens for the birds so that I can picture them from a distance.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

oh .that's explain why they didn't flew away..such a techπŸ˜ŠπŸ‘

$ 0.01
2 years ago

It's one of the things I love about my camera then because of that.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Beautiful flowers and maya is buulbul pala. Easily startled I agree. That is why farmers would just have to move the line so that the mayas will fly away and not eat the grains of rice in the ricefield

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Iba un maya sa bulbul hehe.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Akala ko parehas lang yun

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hehe. Di ko alam ang tawag jan locally.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I'm always amazed at the crispness of your photos. And you know your subject well. I don't only mean the composition but the subject itself. I mean you know the names of the flowers! How do you know that?

$ 0.03
2 years ago

I don't know. Only those that really interest me :D Google is my friend when it comes to knowing the names. I just image search the photos :)

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Ah, yes! Image search. Duh! hahahaha...

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Lol! If that fails, I go the hard way, keywords :D

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Dedicated your valuable time and patience for nature is a big task

$ 0.03
2 years ago

You are right on that one. Sometimes though it's just all about timing. Being there at the right time :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Getting a picture of a bird is really tough indeed. Those are some really great shots!

$ 0.03
2 years ago

I had more bad shots than good ones :D Thanks a lot!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Amazing photos sir, nag-aral ka po ba ng photography? The name of the bird is fresh to my knowledge...hehe

$ 0.03
2 years ago

I taught myself and got ideas mostly from what I see online :D Thanks so much!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Those bird photos are really impressive. You do have a lot of patience. ;)

$ 0.03
2 years ago

They are always in our yard. I think they got used to us for they don't get startled that much giving me more chance to take photos :D

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Ganyan pala pangalan nya. Dami po ng ganyan din dito sa amin. Hehe

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Di ako alam ang local name nya hehe. Parang wala ata. Ano tawag nyo jan?

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Huehue, bulbil bird 🀧. Pero ang cute nya, bali ang ulo pose ee. Ang gaganda din nong mga flowers. Lalo na yang Night Blooming Cereus, bagay sa kanya name nya blooming na blooming sya 🀩

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Parang walang local name mga yan. Need pa magsearch kung meron nga hehe.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Gaganda ng photos mo tlga. Are you selling them? Sa shuterstock ata ped magsell

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Nagtry ako several sites pero waley hehe. Thank you!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I was wondering, what queen? And there it is! Queen of the Night indeed! And the bulbul, I never thought of the word as a bird, it sounded "hair" to me the moment I read it, lol! Amazing shots by the way, not surprising coming from you :)

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Yes, that's my forever queen :D I don't know what's the local name for that bird. Do you see it there?

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Beautiful queen! I'm not sure, I asked the hubby about the bulbul but he didn't know either :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ah hehe I tried Googling it more and it says pirruka is the Ilocano name of this bird but I'm not really sure.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hehe thank you :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ang ganda ng mga kuha ng pictures, nakakarefresh ng utak seeing ung maya at mga halaman, ang sarap maging photographer, kailangan lng tlga ng love at passion para maganda ung otcome nya

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Maraming salamat! Practice lang ng practice :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

jay tree sparrow isu ba dayta jay house bird met lng? saan ang walk hehe

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Wen hehe bilit tuleng kunadan sa dita.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yay, 😍. Yung maya talaga ang galing 😍 saka may red rin na maya pero hindi sila masyado nag stay sa bahay, yung brown na maya lang. Kaya kapag nilalapitan ko sila para picturan hindi ko mapicturan umaalis kaagad. πŸ˜† Ang gaganda pp mg photography mo madam. 😍

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Ah e sir po ako hihi. Yun red ang wala dito sa lowlands lang talaga sila. Salamat :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

HAHAHAHA huli ko na nalaman lalaki ka 🀧

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Haha np. Matagal lang talag ako mag reply sa comments hehe.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

The title is serving its purpose, it is attracting attention. Good job! You have an eye for bulbul errr birds and flowers. Good job again!

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Hehe...Salamat! Ala ket agsurat kan garud hehe.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Those pictures are really astonishing. Really beautiful!!!

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Thanks much! :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Truly photography takes patience and timing to give it perfect shot. I love the view of those birds and flowers too. Photography at its peak and so amazing too.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Aww thanks a lot for those kind words :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I love the bird from the start, wondering how you took the though....something fresh from you again. Thanks for the wishes I'm grateful. You have nice flowers and I agree that photography needs patience and practice.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Those bird shots were taken using a DSLR with telephoto lens that's why I can take photos of them from afar. I only have my phone now so I can't take pictures of birds.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Feels like a cinematic experience, I love the bird from the start....something fresh from you again. Thanks for the wishes earlier I'm grateful.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Thanks also for appreciating! :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Nagulat ako sa title! Grabe hahah! So, okay kalma na ako ibon pala ang Bulbul, akala ko ano na hahah! I love the photos. Indeed, photography needs patience and timing especially sa bird photography.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Haha! Na clickbait ka ba? :D Di ko kasi alam kung ano local name nyan. Wala ako mahanap.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Na click bait ako at kinabahan, juice ko, ang dumi NG isip ko hahahahaha

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Haha! Natawa din ako nung nasearch ko name nyan :D

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I learned something new to me, bulbul is a bird. Bulbul isa name of a bird. Okay. I got anxious about the title lol, I opened it, read it immediately, then I understand. I love all of your pictures!!

$ 0.03
2 years ago

That's the intention but good for you to clicked on and learned about it :D Thank you!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Gaganda naman ng mga bulaklak na yan, nakakainggit :) One of my favorites is gumamela, dami kasi nyang variety. But the Queen of the Night and St. Christopher are so beautiful.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Gusto ko din ung gumamela. May binigay sa amin now lang namulaklak. Gandan naman.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Cool, hope to see some pics of it soon :D

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Queen of the Night featured in KMJS , a very elegant flower.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

That's awesome! I didn't know that :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

There are a lot of Mayas in our neighborhood but I think it's the first time I saw a bulbul up close... or so I thought? Nevertheless, I love how you managed to capture that cute angle tho. Looks like you had a great time capturing these things, definitely mesmerizing!

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Bulbul birds seem to favor bamboo trees. We do have some trees in our yard but I see them more at our neighbor's bamboos.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

The word Bulbul does have a different meaning in our language haha. I wish to see more varieties of birds in our place, lots of maya are breeding with their nests in our trees.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Lol! I know what you mean :D

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Oh my, Bulbuls and sparrows are the most amazing and adroable little birdies ever, I love to wake up to their nosies. Sadly these days, becase of the pollution and radiation of sky, these cuties are dying and i haven't seen one in a while, like few years. But some miracle happened yesterday when I saw one of these cuties sitting on electric rope in front of my house and I jumped with joy and then one more joined, maybe his girlfriend 🀣🀣🀣 i felt so happy seeing them.. your post reminded me of it, i actually took a pic and I will show it to you in noise :)

$ 0.03
2 years ago

That is awesome that you saw some. That could be the girlfriend lol!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I'm wondering how you were able to take the picture of the bird without letting it fly way. I've never been so lucky to snap birds, they'd always see me coming before I'm even able to get close. You're the boss. My favourite picture is the one on frame 5 . Night blooming cereus. Never heard of it, but I like it.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

I've used a dslr and telephoto lens back then that's why I captured those from a distance. I miss those days when I have a better camera.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

At least you've got a camera, I've got none. I don't even know how to take a proper picture when given a camera.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I don't have it know. I only use my phone. If your phone has camera, keep practicing taking photos :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thanks, I'd keep on trying.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Wait what... ? Bulbul ? Is it in Filipino language ? I am amazed because we call it "Bulbul" in Urdu Language too 😍 woah πŸ₯ΊπŸ˜

$ 0.03
2 years ago

It's not and I don't know what is the local language for this.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Wow adu gayam mulmulayo? Nu addaak dita delikado 😁

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Wen hehe. Ad adu manen tadta.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Good day to you What’s a great one and a nice Friday Good you finally got something to pour down after sometime Yeah the sparrow look so cool. But a bulbird I am just seeing for the first time. Thanks for sharing. And the flowers are just so much pretty

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Thanks so much for appreciating :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago