My first time. It hurts.

98 129
Avatar for ARTicLEE
2 years ago
A silhouette of the band and some of the crew

I was just starting in photography then. No formal training, just being a hobbyist, clicking here and there of things that interest me. All I get to practice was the Rule of Thirds. You can read more about that here. From that site it states:

The rule of thirds describes a basic compositional structure of a photograph. Taking any image, you can split it into 9 segments by using 3 vertical and 3 horizontal lines.

Remember that rules are not restrictive but this is a good place to start if you want taking better pictures or improve on your photography skills.

It gets technical. Just like any other thing, one must start at something and improve from there.

I didn't know anything about aperture, speed shutter, IOS, etc. I have an idea but still I don't know much. As you know, photography is a broad subject. There's landscape, portrait, street photography, food photography, macro photography and many more.

Photos that I took were posted in my social media account and friends are supportive enough to appreciate it.

Imagine my surprise then when one of my friends asked me to cover a private event. I will serve as a backup photographer to that event. Me as having no experience and no training whatsoever, I was hesitant. I was not confident about my skills and I only have a kit lens. I said all the excuse that I can tell. I initially said no until I was convinced to take the job. I was up for the experience anyway.

I and @Jaytee were part of the crew and staff behind the scenes. Jaytee and the others were assigned to help in setting up the venue. Others were assigned to help in the kitchen and food department.

It was a two-day event. All of us including the talents had a briefing the first day wherein we were told what to do, who to expect and such. We had to travel early from the city to the venue so that we will be there early to do what we had to do.

I on the other hand was introduced to the official photograph I was to work with. He asked me a few questions about my experience with photography and I said none. I just got my camera. I thought he would send me away but he was kind enough to say it was okay.

He then told me some of the things I have to do. The first day was more of preparation for the main event the next day. We practice with the dancers, band and other presenters. All the time my lead photographer was telling me where to position myself to get a good shot and the expected shot.

I did test shots and showed it to him which he seemed to like. Aside from the expected shots, he also encouraged me to take photos that might be of interest which I did.

The deal was at the end of the day, I had to surrender the memory card of my camera so I have no copy of the photos I took. I do have an extra memory card and that is what I used to take the photos that I posted here whenever I had the time to take pictures after the event. I would have loved to take more photos and switch memory cards but it would be counterproductive since I am on my feet all the time and one must be ready to capture moments.

It was lunchtime then and I was called by my fellow crew to eat and so I went and ate. I went back to the room where my lead photographer was and I was reprimanded by his team leader. Apparently, they were looking for me and couldn't find me as I was at the kitchen enjoying my meal. The team leader said I should have asked permission for there were things to cover still at that time and they needed backup I wasn't there. I stood there in the middle of the room full of other people. I didn't say anything but just apologized for that. My lead photographer then led me outside and talked to me about it and said he understood what I did and it's okay on his part. He even apologized for the way the team leader acted. He told me to just go ahead and keep shooting which I did.

It was a tiring event but such a fulfilling one. It was my first time to cover an event and I am glad that my lead was kind enough to give me directions and believe in me. Looking back, I know I have checked his works in social media and it was impressive. I saw some of his photos during the event and they were really great! Truly a professional in every essence of the word - not just in skill but also in how he dealt with others. I wish him every success!

I really have high regard to those who are kind and treat others nicely. We don't know all and we learn from others. We should teach others what we know and impart in them good deeds. Be a good example.

After the event, we went and checked out Ambuklao Dam.

Ambuklao Dam is part of a hydroelectric facility in Brgy. Ambuclao, Bokod, Benguet province in the Philippines. With maximum water storage capacity of 327,170,000 cubic metres, the facility, which is located 36 km from Baguio city, can produce up to 105 megawatts of electricity to Luzon grid. 

Source: Wikipedia

The lead image and the first photo were all taken at the dam. It was the crew, the band and the cultural dancers who went there to enjoy the view and took photos.

Once the event was over, we had a good time and a bit of celebration for we successfully managed to finish the event. Some of us went to the restaurant where the band performs too. We were able to listen to them during the event but we get to hear more of them.

Days later, I was informed by my friend that the photos I took were great and that the lead photographer was able to work on those shots. Whatever happened with those, I don't know but to know that I did a good job, that was enough for me.

Do you remember your first? Did it hurt?

In this experience, my pride was hurt when I was embarrassed in front of other people but that's about it. In my defense, I didn't know everything or what should I do but me and the lead photographer are a team so I should've have at least told him where I was. However, I learned not to do that again.

We make mistakes and that's okay. Be challenged to learn and improve. Be ready and willing to be changed.

I have published a post about this experience in another platform. You can read more about that here.

If you ever pass Ambuklao Road, try to visit Ambuklao Dam.

45
$ 16.23
$ 14.56 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.10 from @Jane
$ 0.10 from @Ruffa
+ 31
Sponsors of ARTicLEE
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for ARTicLEE
2 years ago

Comments

i'm just wondering where did the photos that you took pero kinuha nila? they did not even showed it to you? anyway so proud of you.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Bay amun ta bagi dan hehe. Awan met lang pangusaran hehe.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

wen met ketdi ah

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I don't know about that leader but with things like that, they should not embarrass anyone in public.

but shots are really great, my fave is the dam ambuklao photo which you shows the rocks as the foreground and the water as the background. I only learned about the camera settings when my husband became technical about these things. I was the first one who introduced him to photography but he is more knowledgeable about it even to the extent of knowing every single camera brand and model to the lighting, lens, and the rest of the gears. I, on the other hand, would just shoot but I do learn these things through the years, I now shoot manual too, all because of my husband, before I just use auto.

Indeed covering an event is not an easy task. It is tiring and so that's why any photographer has to be paid well for this job.

So, do you shoot raw or jpeg?

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Pa mentor naman hehe. I remember sometimes I shoot raw but most of the time jpeg. I have not grasped much about the difference between the two lol!

$ 0.01
2 years ago

okay naman mag shoot ng jpeg which means processed na ang image in-camera however if need mo mag post-process ng todo esp sa exposure and details ng image, maraming info ung nasisave ni raw. need mo din ng software na nakakabasa ng raw file ng camera mo, there are different raw file extensions depending on the camera used. the files are bigger din since it keeps a lot of information. i shoot raw kasi usually may mga details sa image na gusto ko irecover like if overexposed ung sky, may chance pa na marecover un during post-processing.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Ah ayun...narefresh mga pinagbabasa ko nun haha! Isang reason pala kung bat di ako nagraw kasi un laki ng file. Sarap sana magka dslr ulit.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

yes super laki ng file, kaya kami andaming hard drives..we switched to SSD na kasi mas handy and mabilis

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Ako naman nisave ko lang dati sa dvd kaso nasunog hehe.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

hala sayang naman...

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Kaya nga e. Panibagong collection na lang ulit.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hello. I really liked your honesty, saying that you had no experience. For a first time you did very well. It's good that your boss believed in you, it was necessary for him to give you instructions, because you were sincere in recognizing that you had no experience. There is always a first time, the important thing is to try to do the job well, have a good time, and celebrate success. When it hurts it is also important, it teaches us that we should not repeat the same thing for the next opportunity. I liked your article. Thanks for sharing the photos of the dam. Beautiful pictures!

$ 0.01
2 years ago

I totally agree and I have learned that from that experience. I am trying to emulate that and passing on the kindness. Thank you so much for your kind words!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

learn from experience daw po xd. mistakes now improvement later, ika nga

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Tama ka jan. Dapat willing din tayo mag improve.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Well, past is past.. At least you learned your lesson. Not everyone are understanding you know. But I can see in your photos, they are like proffessional shots.

Ambuklao dam is very much familiar to me. But I didn't have the chance to see it. Only with my husband's stories I got familiar with it.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Maybe one day you get to see it too. Thanks a lot!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

YeaH one of these days. 😊

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Awwww. Grabe naman yun. Diva ang team leader. Hahaha. Well at least nga andun ka as back up nila pero yeah, as a team tlga mahirap pag may nawawala.

I didn't know as a back up photographer you'd surrender all the photos to the team lead? Luh, you weren't paid at all right? Tsh, that's what they call charge to experience. Hahaha.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

May pay naman pero hindi na yun importante sa akin. Pati mga photos kasi walang din ako paggagamitan mga yun hehe. Mostly kasi sa mga tao kami nakafocus kaya okay lang.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ah buti meron bayad naman pala. Hehehe.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Ganda po ng mga shots niyo, ako kase wala future sa photography, kuha ko kun hindi malabo, malayo sa angulo hahaha. Basta ako may mapicture ok na saken kahit di gaanong maganda.😅😅

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Hehe...practice lang ng practice. Nagstart din naman ako ganyan hehe.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Actually you are better then me sister. I am also click but i am still not perfect. Whenever i click i captures moments. So keep it up. Soon you would be a good photographer but still you are not bad okay. You are better most of us.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

That's really kind of you! You too, keep on capturing moments :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

So may I ask, are you now a professional photographer or still a random photographer? 😅 coz seriously, your shots are truly amazing..

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Waaa! Malayo pa sa pro hehe. Wala na gang phone na lang ako hehe.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I liked that you were so honest with the photographer and also admitted your mistakes. It's good that everything went well in the end in that first event for you. I really don't know much about photography. I learned a little from my husband, who studied filmmaking. And although his specialty isn't photography, he knows quite a bit.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

I think film and photo are pretty similar if not almost the same.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

I agree with you. Film and photography are similar. What I meant is that he isn't specialized in photography on filming, He is a director and writer ;)

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Lol! Got it. I was thinking of the old cameras then with films :D

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Ang galing nyo nga sir eh. Gusto ko rin magkaroon ng DSLR camera, kaso hindi rin pala basta basta maging photographer.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Maraming salamat, sir! Oo nga e. Nung nakabili na ako tsaka ko narealize dami pala dapat matutunan.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes sir. Meron kasi student wife ko na Chinese. Masyadong criticial sa mga pictures. Dapat daw may anggulo tsaka kung anu-ano pa when adjusting the lens. Sumakit ulo ko. Haha

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Nakaka overwhelm nga e haha! Kaya tinamad na ako pag aralan.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

That is it, learn. Do not dwell on it , move on and be the best version of your self.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

I am allowing myself to change and grow :D

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Wait lang, ang madumi kong isip umaataki na naman 😵, yong title 😵😂, sorry na po ahahahaha.

ANYWAYS, you are very talented in taking pictures, nakita nila un that's why they get you. And we see it here naman how good are you. Grabi, di talaga pang amateur to, pang pro na. And, and madami kang natutunan while doing it and that's more important. Kaya, tuloy ang ligaya.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Hahaha! Clickbait ba? hehe.

Maraming salamat sa pag appreciate lagi :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

What's important is that you learned from your experience. Accept mistakes and learn from it. I'm so proud of you for keeping your work good. Keep it up po

$ 0.01
2 years ago

That's true. We must allow ourselves to learn and grow. Thanks a lot!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Naging member ng school newspaper namin at madalas kong naririnig yung rule of thirds sa mga tropa ko photo journalist. Yan pala ibig sabihin non hahaha

Ano po palang gamit nyong camera?

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Nikon D5000 gamit ko nun kaso wala na ngayon. Cellphone na lang hehe.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Nakaktuwa naman niyang experience na yan. Besides, you also learned.

gusto ko matutunan yung rule of thirds. haha

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Madali lang un hehe. Practice mo lang. Imagine mo ung screen nahati sa three parts crosswise at lengthwise. Place mo un subject mo dun sa mga imaginary lines na un. Mostly sa akin sa right or left. Pag landscape sa lower center or upper center. Dependa sa gusto mo pakita, pwede rin sa center.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Well, expected for a first timer. Ganon talaga kapag first time. Nong nag work ako sa isang japanese hotel tas nakabasag ako ng tatlong baso, yung manager hindi nagalit, sinabihan pa nga ako na natural lang na makabasag kasi it's part of the job daw. But I didn't expect na mag rereact pala yung chef sa nagawa ko, siya yung galit eh . Awit 😂

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Iba iba talaga ang level ng tolerance ng tao. Siguro mas stressful sa chef mawalan ng baso :D

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Mistakes will teach us lessons talaga. Anyways your shots are not bad, it's great actually.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Tama yan. Hindi naman sa sinasadyang magkamali pero mas dun talaga natututo e :D

$ 0.00
2 years ago

In life, lessons are meant to be learnt. We'd always have a first time to everything and not everybody's first time will be pleasant.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

It's only a lesson if we are willing to learn and I've learned from that experience.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I completely understand.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

isipin na lang natin, more room for improvement, also a reminder how to treat other people better (and not be like those who would scold people like that :/ hehe) Cheers!

$ 0.01
2 years ago

That's what I do. I am humbled by the experience and I have learned to not do that and be more understanding like my lead.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I think almost everyone's first experience is not as good as we want to, ganun po talaga we learn from our experience ika nga Nila. Pero ang ganda po tlaga ng nga shot moo😭 nakakaiingit po hahahaha. Ang galing galinggg 👏👏👏

$ 0.01
2 years ago

That's right. I was at fault but I have learned. Thanks so much!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

We learn from our mistakes. Thats learning. First experience of yours seems to yield good result from your colleagues. Keep it up. Rarely do we get such opportunities

$ 0.01
2 years ago

I had to deliver or else lol!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Salbahe yun nag sermon sayu sir bestie.. buti mabait si lead photographer. Hanga ako sa mga taong magagaling pero hindi sila yumayabang! Lalong masarap matuto! Nice shots!

Charge to experience . . . at least we know what not to do

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Oo din. Di tulad nung kabatch ko ang hangin haha! Sabagay ganun na talaga siya nun pa kaya d na ako nagtaka.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Pro na pro na nga mga shots mo nun e.. Dpat polite at at kind pa din kasla la awan professionalism da nu kasjay.. Buti nga ikaw c always kind kaya pasalamat sila.. 😍

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Tas kelangan pa sabihin kay pia. Bain ko talaga idi hehe.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ay isu, d bale taas kilay lng c pia hahhaha

$ 0.01
2 years ago

I am sorry for what happened. But I think, your photos are all good and you really did great.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Thank you but it was okay. My pride was hurt that that was gone along with the photos I took for them hehe.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Your photos are amazing and it was bad for that guy to have reprimanded you in front of other people and you surely would have been hurt, I would too. Charge it to experience😊

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Salasalamat! In my mind I thought that is not what I came for so I just took photos :D

$ 0.00
2 years ago

That's the good spirit! :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

we all have our first experiences on things, some have it worst while some had it nice and well handed My first experience was when I will present a project in front of many prospective clients for the first time. I was nervous that I tend to forget what was I was about to say Most clients were annoyed as I can see it in their reactions, luckily one client told me not to be nervous and just be who I am And since I sometimes add some humor on every talk that's when I saw that they feel at ease ad understand my point of view of the said proposed project

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Good job! I'm glad you made it in spite of that. Kudos to that client who encouraged you. We really need more people like that. That's why I always go back to that experience and remind myself to be nicer and treat others the way I was treated.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

true...we base on our experience when we encounter situations like that

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Your photos were actually great, I don't know why they need to shout at you as if they own you. These kind of people are considered trash 😆😆

$ 0.01
2 years ago

It must have been just the heat of the moment but it was all good :D

$ 0.00
2 years ago

After shouting at you, the result of the coverage and the photos came out to be perfect despite the fact that you have not covered an event like that before. Some people are not patient enough. If it was to be some people ,they will.jist grow annoyed and leave.

Great job...

$ 0.01
2 years ago

That's the fire we needed sometimes. We shouldn't let it consume us but rather fuel us to do better :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

"I really have high regard to those who are kind and treat others nicely. We don't know all and we learn from others. We should teach others what we know and impart in them good deeds. Be a good example."

Well said. You are fortunate to have a lead photographer who has set an example for you.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

That's true. He's one of the reasons why I wanted to pursue photography even just as a hobby.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I do believe that photography is also an art, if you can click nice shots then it means you are an artistic person as well 😊

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Lots of practice is the key :D

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Magkakilala po pala kayo ni ma'am @Jaytee. Anyway ang gaganda po ng mga kuha nyo. Ganun po talaga sa una mapapagalitan at magkakamali ka pero babawi na lang po next time dahil alam mo na po ang gagawin mo. Ang galing nyo nga pong picture eh.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Yes po :) Oo nga e. Dapat talaga matuto agad hehe. Salamat!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

My first time cooking, my mother shout at me because I forgot how to cook it properly. I learned from that mistake too. I must ask before doing the things that I didn't know. In your case, the lead photographer should have approached you privately but yeah as a team you at least told him where you are. Both sides made mistakes but the important thing is you learned from it. By the way, for the nth times haha, I like your works! You have amazing shots po, Kuya. ♥

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Halatang di ako sanay maging team player haha! Tnx tnx :D

$ 0.00
2 years ago

First time ngarud piman hehe.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Hehe...wen ngay.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

di ba? at least ammon tun nu next hehe

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Awww the team leader should have approached you in a nicer way. Diba? Glad that you did not take it that bad and continued to do the best you can.
I also had my first experience when I joined folk dancing. I am not good at it but then our teacher still choose me. I had few mistakes during practice and then the trainer really said something bad towards me after he called my one. It's just so non-professional of him to even cuss at me. I am not hurt but my pride does.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Ganun kasi ako. Hindi nagtatanim ng galit. Ginagawa ko na lang na learning experience.

Power tripper din kasi minsan mga teachers e hehe.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Our first is always memorable, I guess hehhe! My 1st big gig was a pain too.. Dun ko kc nasira flash ng camera kya ang sakit 😭

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Ah yun din masakit talaga minsan. Sakit sa bulsa hehe.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I did many mistakes when I started working as a teacher. My class result was not UpTo the mark though I worked hard. But then seniors guide me to do remember some points which is necessary. And I improved. By the way which camera do you have ?

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Your seniors are great for they were willing to help you then. I had a Nikon D5000 before.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I am so sorry about what happened in your first time, Kuya Lee. But don't worry, I believe that one day, all your works will be known and appreciated by everyone who sees it. 💗

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Thanks! It's okay. It's not a big deal :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

The first time, it really hurts. I made lots of mistake, but not in photography, it was my first day at work, lol. I remember something attach to the phone to have a great quality photo, o wonder what I called again, I want to buy that.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Where you referring to clip on lens?

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes exactly!!

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Un gamit ko mas maganda sa hindi multilens. Pero meron iba pa naman na ibang clip on lens. Sana makahanap ka compatible sa phone mo :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago