Bulalayaw

93 171
Avatar for ARTicLEE
2 years ago

I read zolabundance2's article about rainbow which gave me an idea what to write today.

Here are some of the rainbows I took photos of that I wanted to share to you.

You must have guessed by now that the title above means rainbow. Bulalayaw is an Ilocano word for rainbow. In Filipino, it is bahaghari. I didn't know that it is also called bulalakaw according to this site. What I know of bulalakaw is it is a meteor or a shooting star.

I was searching the internet for Kankanaey word for it but I couldn't find one. A post in one social media site said it is Abonga. I have yet to verify that. According to this site though, rainbow is called attifungalin or fungakan.

To non-English speakers, how do you call a rainbow in your own language?

Let's get on with the rainbows.

Rainbows in La Trinidad

I was on my way home one morning after my jog when I noticed the rainbow. I am not sure if this is a ring or halo around the sun. According to Google, a halo is called the 22-degree halo. This can also be seen around the moon too. This happens because of water particles in the clouds that are refracting and reflecting the light.

This is another angle of the lead image that I used.

I don't usually see rainbow this early time of the day.

This was taken last November 2019 at Benguet State University in La Trinidad where I used to have my jog/walk.

This double rainbow was taken at Pines Park, still in La Trinidad. I'm not exactly sure if this was December 2019 or January 2020. It rained that afternoon for brief moment and it was cloudy. However, that time the cloud lifted and gave way to the sun.

I guess because there were still particles of water suspended in the air at that time which caused this double rainbow to appear so low. Notice those with umbrellas on the bridge.

I was surprised how low it was. I quickly whipped out my phone and took a shot. If you notice, the upper fainter rainbow did not fit the frame because I couldn't get a better angle. If I move further back, the roof of the establishment will be blocking the rainbow. I can't take it a lower angle for the view is blocked as well.

This is the one that I like the most because of the clarity of the rainbow.

This was taken November 2020 at our house. It was after a tiring day, working on our new house, and we were about to go home when I saw this one. I took the shot and then didn't think much of it. Only when I checked it when I was home in our apartment did I notice the fly. It seems it is flying towards the sunset.

Rainbows in Baguio City

Since moving to a new apartment last year, I have had experienced wonderful skies and it was here that I have seen a lot of rainbows. The two photos above are just some of those. Since witnessing a rainbow one afternoon, I have been checking the sky hoping to chance another rainbow. I think I have seen less than 10. Some complete, some double like the last photo and some partial. Sometimes I tried taking a photo of them but they don't come out as clear as these ones even though I have used filter or adjust the photo. This year though I haven't been lucky catching rainbows.

Except for the second one, I have to make adjustments to the photos so that the rainbows will be more noticeable.

I know I have more rainbow photos but I can't find where are the others. I might have uploaded it somewhere but I'm not sure where. I tried on my other social media but the site will not load the older photos. I kept refreshing to no avail.

In relation to rainbows, during the Pride Month this year, members of the LGBTQ+ community painted a rainbow pedestrian crossing. When I saw that posted in social media, I decided to to take a photo of it. However, two days later, the paint was washed out by a strong rain.

It's now the end of the another month. I have been reading progress reports of regarding their earnings here and/or from noise. It's a nice feeling to see how a lot have benefited from BCH through read and noise. Everyone seems to be achieving their goals. Thank you all for your continued support. Here in read and noise, we grow together.

Congrats and good luck!

37
$ 13.93
$ 12.49 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.15 from @Eylz2021
$ 0.10 from @Crackers
+ 25
Sponsors of ARTicLEE
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for ARTicLEE
2 years ago

Comments

Bulalayaw lagi tawag ng parents ko jan kaya alam ko yang word na yan .hehe

kagaganda nama ng mga kuha mo at mga rainbows jan sa inyo. madalas dito sa amin maliit lang yung rainbow.sayo buong buo.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Naswertehan lang hehe.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

talaga ba? haha. kaswerte mo na naman lagi kung ganun. hehe

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Haha! Lagi kasi ulan dito kaya siguro ganyan na mdami rainbow :D

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Love them pictures. . I always admire double rainbows... i have yet to see a rainbow in an early morning...

$ 0.01
2 years ago

One time ko lang ata nakita na ganyan sa umaga. Siguro dahil sa may bagyo nun.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ganda nakaka good vibes

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Kaya nga e :) Nwala pagod ko nagjog hehe

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Bulalayaw po pala sa Iloko. Di ko naman alam Pangasinan ng rainbow. Hehe

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Try mo ask mga elders baka alam nila hehe.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Huy bakit ang dami mong rainbow pics? Hahaha sana all. ๐Ÿ˜… Ang alam ko rin bulalakaw is comet eh. Basta bahaghari lang ang rainbow for me. Hehe.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Kasi naman lagi ulan dito kaya dami rainbows hehe! Oo din. Ewan ko ba dun sa site na yun.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I can't remember the last time I've seen rainbows. Too bad. I guess I had just spend my time facing the computers. Maybe I'll die unhappy.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

When it rains in your area, try looking up. You might just spot one :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I'll definitely do that some time.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Kapag nakakakitabako ng rainbow nung bata ako halos nakatulala na ako ๐Ÿฅฐ๐Ÿ˜ pinagmamasdan ang kagandahan . Ang galing mo naman po Expert kana mag photography

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Hehe wala pa ako sa level ng expert. Kadalasan jan tsambahan lang ang shots ko hehe.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ang lakas makaganda sa langit ng rainbows. I also try to take picture whenever I see one, but my majestic phone can't always seek to see it. ๐Ÿ˜”

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Dba? Iba din talaga ang dating e. Ganyan din phone ko most of the time. Meron pa un hindi na talaga halata un rainbow pero clear naman sa sky.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Oo. kakafrustrate.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Grabe Idol ko talaga siya oh.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Ah hehe. Taga picture lang naman ako :D

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I think bulalakaw is a meteor.Those rainbow shots are so beautiful๐Ÿ˜ I love it so much and I think you are a good photographer too

$ 0.01
2 years ago

That's what I thought too. Thanks a lot for appreciating!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Eeh. Bulalakaw I know is the same as yours. Mali yung nasa site na yon ha. Hahaha charot. I love rainbows! Love the shots! As always. โ™ฅ

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Kaya nga e. Nakakamislead. Maraming salamat sa pag appreciate.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Lalot lalo akong naamaze sa mga shots mo. Bat ang gaganda? ๐Ÿ˜ญ The first two photos? Just wow! Ang ganda talaga.

Ang yes, bulalakaw is meteor shooting star talaga e. Yun yung lagi akong alam. So if rainbow pala, that means I've been lied my whole life? Charot. ๐Ÿคฃ

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Hahaha! Nagtaka nga din ako sa site na yan e. Baka nga naman another name nya un.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

If ever talaga rainbow nga, nakuuuu! Hahaha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Pwede din hehe.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

All your shots look stunning. I just know it by the English term rainbow haha. The bulalakaw I know is like you said meteor shooting star.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

I wonder why that site listed bulalakaw as another name for rainbow.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yeah, kasi it's meteor shooting star nmn talaga diba?

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Yes, that's what I know :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

How lucky you are to capture a lot of beautiful rainbow. Though I think the first image is a halo as same as you mentioned but danghgh. Tatry ko na din tumingin palagi sa langit baka sakali

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Hehe. Basta pag umulan or kahit umambon lang, kadalasan dun nagkakaroon ng rainbow.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Owwww ,okayy pooo, aabangan ko yann, and I'll try to take some pictures of it and post it here or at noise

$ 0.01
2 years ago

The double rainbow look stunning ๐Ÿ’—

$ 0.01
2 years ago

That's true. The last one is double too but it's tough to see the second one for it's faint.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Rainbows always depicts a new beginning. Been reading some of your latest articles 'nong and I realize pada ka met gayam nga ilokano ๐Ÿ˜…๐Ÿ˜…

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Hehe wen. Adu tayo ditoy nga amu na ag Ilocano :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Rainbow connotations are all nice. I like the one in double. That's my first time seeing double rainbows. ๐Ÿ˜ Sa dialect namin ewan ko kung ano tawag jan balangyaw pero karamihan tawag lang ay rembow, rainbow. Haha

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Whenever you see a rainbow, try to focus on the second one. Most likely, there are always two rainbows. We focused more on the one that is more vibrant and brighter but there is almost always a faint second rainbow.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Really? This is amazing. I'll try this one out. thanks! ๐Ÿฅฐ

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Samin Bahaghari talaga, un lang ang alam kong tawag sa kanya. Pero ang lulupet ng kuha mo po๐Ÿ˜๐Ÿคฉ. Ang ganda, madalang na akong makakita ng ganyan dito ee, nakakamiss din. Thanks sa pag share po ๐Ÿ’™

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Wala din akong alam na ibang tawag din nyan e aside bahaghari. Ni search ko pa un bulalayaw at ibang terms hehe.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I love rainbows because for me it symbolizes hope. Thank you for sharing this wonderful collection of yours. It's amazing!

$ 0.01
2 years ago

I have the same thinking too. It also reminds me of God's grace.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Nice collections, fave ko tay first nagperfect jay curve na kasla magical๐Ÿ˜Š

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Han ko kitdi napansin dagus dijay kasi adayo distance na from jay sun ta nakafocus ak lang jay sun hehe.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Nagmayat nga ipaframe garud, nagperfect!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Mind blowings pics....all the best...keep posting auch pics

$ 0.01
2 years ago

I'll see what I can :) Thank you so much for dropping by and appreciating!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

A cool set of rainbow pics. Love all. But especially the one with the double rainbow taken at Pines Park, amazing! In Spanish, rainbows are called Arcoiris.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

I like how that sounds. It's like a name of a planet or a start.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

I love rainbows ARTicLEE..๐Ÿฅฐ

I remembered when I was a kid, I'm really surprised if there was a rainbow and I watched it over and over again until it's gone.. Rainbows for me it is like a hope in life after the darkness it appears a light and gives us a different colors in life.

God bless you ARTicLEE...๐Ÿ™๐Ÿ˜‡

$ 0.01
2 years ago

It truly is a symbol of hope and promise of a better day. That's a nice take you have about it.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes indeed ARTicLEE.. thank you so much...โค๏ธ

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Your collection of rainbow photos are very nice,it's so hard to cat up this happening, and you did a great job with this that you have stored it and showed it to us now.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

I guess I got lucky and my perseverance paid off :) When it rains, I check the sky for rainbows.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

I love rainbows, they reminded me of God. Ganda ng mga shots nyo po.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

I like them too. God is marvelous! He shows us wonderful things.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yup marvelous things.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You have witnessed some amazing rainbows these past few years. Great eye for photography too. Very creative and artistic. very frameable! love it.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

I guess that's how much rain we have had the past years. Thank you so much for appreciating!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

This got me thinking what it was called in our dialect. Rainbow kuna mi lattan๐Ÿ˜.. again, perfect shots

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Haha! Uray dakami. Hanko amu gamin nu nya awag mi su ta in search ko pay. Salamat!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

And again, the double rainbow at pines park at La Trinidad was my favorite among the rest lol.

Pero, how come naging bulalakaw yung rainbow when bulalakaw means meteor lol

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Yun nga din e. Nagtaka nga ako nun nakita ko un sa website.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ang saya ang dami mo rainbow collection ๐Ÿ˜

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Di ko nga mahanap un iba kun san ko napost or nasave :D

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hahaha napakanta ako ng rainbow connection ... Pero rainbow collection lyrics ko

$ 0.00
2 years ago

ahahahaha ayus pakinig nga LOL

$ 0.00
2 years ago

My first time to see a rainbow was when I was in Primary School and I really loved the different colors it brought out. Rainbow shows up once in a while I think after the rain has fallen.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

I can't even remember the first time I saw a rainbow. That's great memory you got there.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Daebak! Pre ang ga ganda nang shots mo kuhang kuha lo na yung halo sa sun at yung rainbow๐Ÿ˜๐Ÿ˜๐Ÿ˜๐Ÿ˜๐Ÿ˜

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Buti nga nadaan pa sa edit para lumitaw sila hehe. Un iba hindi halata sa pix pero okay naman sa personal.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It's the double rainbow shot at Pines Park for me. It's so beautiful along with the rest but I'm particularly drawn to it.

I really need a camera other than my phone's so as to up my nature photography. Lol

$ 0.01
2 years ago

I used to have a camera but DSLR feels heavy and bulky so I resorted to relying on my phone lol! Far from what a camera can do but I am more for convenience :D

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Amazing shots! I love the halo like, Oh actually I love them allโค

Abonga is the kankana-ey term or there may be others. But I often hear people say rainbow :)

$ 0.01
2 years ago

I've only know about abonga when I was searching Google for other terms :D

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hehe it's good even google knows kankana-ey :D I seldom hear anyone say "abonga" though. Even old folks say "Doy di rainbow" (There's a rainbow) haha.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I love the first halo photo! Galing! Really a blessed feeling when you catch one. Thank you so much for sharing the rainbows you've captured.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Yes, I feel blessed when I see rainbows. It reminds me of the promise stated in good book that God will not destroy the world with flood. Thank you for appreciating!

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Ganda talaga pag nature ang may gawa!

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Tama! Galing talaga ni Lord. Sadyang taga appreciate lang tayo.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thats a lot of rainbow! I was just telling my mom a while ago when we were in the car... "there has to be a rainbow.. there has to be a rainbow and i have to see it now .."

Akalain mo yun sa read ko daw makikita. Hahaha..

Rainbows cheer me up. Much like the moon the sunset the sunrise ๐Ÿคฉ.. the stars

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Buti na lang nagpost pala ako haha!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yas... Angel ka eh no? Hahahah

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hala ang gaganda nman ng kuha mo.. Kuha mo.. ng pictures ng rainbows ๐ŸŒˆ

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Hehe adu pay kuma dayta ket han ko mabiruk dadduma.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I'm a proud member of LGBTQ+ And super ganda sa paningin makakita ng rainbow. Huling kita ko ng rainbow almost years narin ata. I'm hoping na makakita this year kasi masyadong nakakachill ng vibes

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Pag umulan dito lagi din ako abang rainbow hehe.

$ 0.00
2 years ago