Pleasant surprises

20 41
Avatar for zolabundance2
2 years ago

Seeing a rainbow is always a wow moment. At least it is for me. Yes, there is science behind it. The simplest explanation being "when sunlight is scattered from raindrops into the eyes of the person viewing it."

But there is something magical watching this colorful arc on the sky and imagining where its two ends are. Don't you ever get the urge to head to where you perceive the ends to be?

I remember as a child my parents would always call us whenever a rainbow forms right after the rain. And we would stand and stare at it for as long as we can, watching until we finally get bored and run off to play.

However, I don't recall having watched a rainbow disappear from the sky.

Until driving home one day, late in the afternoon, and there looming before me was a rainbow. I know it's dangerous to be distracted by something so pretty while behind the wheel of a vehicle.

But it was directly in front of me and the more I drove towards it, the bigger the smile on my face.

You couldn't really see all its seven colors clearly, and when I think about, from afar, ROYGBIV (red, orange, yellow, green, blue, indigo and violet) aren't all visible to the naked eye. We've just been predisposed to thinking they're there because that's what a rainbow is supposed to look like.

Anyway, I was completely taken by surprise when I saw one end of the rainbow slowly disappearing. Yes, it's as if it was being erased a little at a time from the sky, left to right.

So shocked was I by the sight that I decided to pull over to the side of the road and watch the entire spectacle transpiring before me. It didn't take very long before the rainbow was completely wiped out from the sky. Wow!

That was pleasant surprise number one.

On another drive along Roxas Boulevard, I was headed towards the Port Area from Ermita and I was caught in a heavy shower. It didn't really matter because I was already close to my destination.

As the car crossed Kilometer 0, which is right in front of the Rizal Shrine in Luneta, there was no rain!

But when I looked at the rearview mirror, it was raining like crazy behind me!!!

There was literally a straight line where the rain and no rain zone met. I think my jaw dropped at the sight and experience.

What were the chances I would get to see such a phenomenon? It was totally awesome!

That's pleasant surprise number two.

And I have never seen another like it again.

So, what's pleasant surprise number three?

Well, there are actually nine. I speak of the read.cash authors who have thrown their support for this humble writer by way of sponsorships.

My sincerest gratitude for this, and more importantly for dropping by and reading my entries, and sharing your thoughts as well. That means the world to me.

Without further ado, I present my sponsors, and invite you readers, to check them out too, if you haven't already.

@Eylz2021

@JonicaBradley

@Bloghound

@FrieLincs

@Bjorn

@ARTicLEE

@wakeuplincs

@Pichi28

@emily2u

Often, we are not aware of things happening around us because our mind is preoccupied by a myriad of thoughts, worries, ideas and we miss out on quiet surprises that can lift our spirit.

I'm quite surprised by how many of these pleasant memories come to mind now. Perhaps then I wasn't as mindful, but I do remember them when I sit thoughtfully, pondering life and how different it is today.

There is still much to be grateful for even as living today has become limited, with so many restrictions while the world battles a pandemic.

And while we're at it, thank you read.cash for providing the likes of me with a platform to express myself, meet people, and share experiences. You are a blessing!

14
$ 7.93
$ 7.02 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.30 from @Gemstone
$ 0.20 from @wakeuplincs
+ 9
Sponsors of zolabundance2
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for zolabundance2
2 years ago

Comments

And with that I have an idea what to write lol!

Here in our city, we have a joke that the weather is different per barangay and it's true. We have a different weather phenomenon happening within our city like someone is playing with rain in our atmosphere.

Thanks for the mention!

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Glad to be of help!

$ 0.01
2 years ago

I remember my great grandma said that we must not point at rainbows for our fingers might get cut. Lol. We used to believe that when we were kids. Just sharing, but yeah rainbows are always wow moment and one of the creations that we should be grateful.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

That's new to me. But then our elders held lots of beliefs that were sometimes crazy-sounding. Thanks for dropping by.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes. Welcome friend.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hi Mam. I just wanted to say that I am learning a lot from you! God bless you po!

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Thanks, that means a lot to hear you say that. You inspire me with your ramblings, too! As always, thanks for your generosity!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I love rainbows. When I was a kid, I always believe that there is a golden pot at the end of it 🤗🤣

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yeah, we always wonder if that tale is true.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes, rainbows are always beautiful in the sky with their colors and invite us to have a lot of imagination. I congratulate you for your sponsors.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Yes, rainbows are perfect catalysts to our imagination. Thanks for always visiting and the upvotes. They are sincerely appreciated.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I've experienced the rain when i was younger.. we are on a boat going to tacloban when suddenly we crossed the rain! And i was so surprised to see that we left behind the rain ,😂 though never had a chance to see it again and by the way.. you are very much welcome and thank you too for sharing your knowledge and experiences to us 💖

$ 0.01
2 years ago

It's so awesome that experience, right? I guess we're only meant to experience it once.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I think so too... But yep.. it's one of those unforgettable experience

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes, we must be grateful. Noise and Read have been good escapes to help to face the difficult times of the pandemic. And I also love to see rainbows, hehe!

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Yeah, the two platforms help us vent... hehehe. If there's a child in us, then we love rainbows.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Being here alone is already a huge blessing. Thank you to you too, zola!

$ 0.01
2 years ago

When i was young once they call-out 'rainbow' we would immediately run outside to see its beauty 🌈😊

$ 0.01
2 years ago

we landed right in the middle of an awesome supportive community. the ripple of gratitude and happiness is amazing... it is contagious. it is what we need to pull through this pandemic :D we keep on!!!!

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Indeed, we have been fortunate to have found such an awesome community. Thanks for the encouragement.

$ 0.00
2 years ago