A short time in Bangkok

66 130
Avatar for ARTicLEE
2 years ago

@RyanInSiam asked me about my experience in Bangkok. I gave a brief summary on the top of my head the places I have been to while we were in Bangkok. I had to dig up my old blogs from other site so I can share it here with you (click here). Most of the photos were taken from my video clips. Here is a peek of Bangkok.

It was November 2014 when we went to Bangkok, Thailand.  After coming from Myanmar, we decided to visit some places in Bangkok.  We were blessed that the weather is not that hot during that time.  My experience there is good and bad.

Upon arrival, we checked in at Holiday Inn Express.

Bangkok view taken from Holiday Inn Express Siam

Click on this link to see some photos and a view of the National Stadium.

The building on the left is the Baiyoke Tower.  It is an 85-storey skyscraper hotel. One of the shopping destinations in Bangkok is Siam.  Malls and hotels there are left and right of each other.  It's a jungle of concrete out there.

Damnoen Saduak Floating Market

We then decided to visit their Floating Market located at Damnoen Saduak.  Click the link for the video. We passed by houses on stilts along the way.

I find it busy as what every market should be. The price for a boat to tour you around the market is a bit pricey.  It would be cheaper if you have companions.  Better go their with a group.

There were lots of things you can see there like souvenir shops and spices. There was a store selling drums and other musical instruments.

You can buy food from floating shops. Just like the lady on the phot above who sells soups and noodles. We ordered from her and we liked it. It was simply delicious. She was kind enough to pose for a photo when I asked for it.

Damnoen Saduak Tiger Zoo

After visiting the Floating Market, we then stopped by Damnoen Saduak Tiger Zoo. Here you get to feed and play with baby tigers or take pictures together with the adult tigers.  With the adults, they have to drug them before you can have photos so we didn't to for it. We met Dala who was only four months old at that time.  Even for a four-month-old, she is big and quite a handful.  She actually scratched my back with her teeth.  I was quick enough to avoid her before she could totally bit me. The place have different price ranges as to what you would want to do with the cat.  Mind you though that the place stinks. There were monkeys in the zoo as well.

Jim Thompson House Museum

Of interest is our visit to the Jim Thompson House Museum.  You can learn more about this museum here.  Jim is known for his success in Thai silk business. Unfortunately, he disappeared in Malaysia in one of his walks and was never found. During his stay in Bangkok, he was able to collect antiques and other Thai art. Those collections can also be seen in his house museum. Aside from his collections, you will also see learn a little bit about his Thai silk business. There is also a shop within the compound where you can buy silks. You can also check out the cafe there too. It is a relaxing place for the garden complete with a pond gives off a jungle vibe, not a concrete one, within the city.

This is just walking distance from the Siam Center.  I love how Jim Thompson created a nice place within the city.  Take note however that this is beside a murky and foul-smelling canal and you will get a whiff of that odor once in a while.

Wat Pho

We also took a cab from our hotel to Wat Pho.  Click on that and it will take you to a video of some still photos taken at Wat Pho and other places that have been mentioned in this post.

Wat Pho is just behind the Royal Palace.  We were unable to go to the Royal Palace because it was raining hard that time.  By the time we arrived there, the place is closed for visitors.  We were drenched from the rain.  It was probably from the rain that my right foot wound got infected.  It was just a small wound caused by my slipper.  However, it did not get worse until we got home.  Unfortunately, I have to suffer for weeks from that. It could have been a combination of exhaustion from travel. I suspect it was from dengue even for I did develop rashes later on but it was never diagnosed.

In addition, we also took an afternoon walk to Lumphini Park and Benjasiri Park.

It was a gastronomic experience too for it was my first time to try Tom Yum and I instantly love it! Every time I eat Tom Yum anywhere, it will always take me back to Bangkok.

It really was a good and bad experience during my first visit in Bangkok.  I think next time, the beaches would be the places I would visit.

Below is a sticker I see in taxicabs there.  It indicates what are not allowed in the cab. I find it funny and interesting.

Getting around Bangkok is easy just utilizing their trains.  Sometimes it's still cheaper to take taxi if you want to go from one place to another.  Work on haggling skills though when talking about fare.

Beware of places where they do not allow photographs.  Some establishments do not allow you taking photos.  They have stickers of what not to do and/or bring inside.  If you don't see it, better ask. I made this mistake while we were at Jim Thompson's Museum. We didn't notice the sign right away that taking photos is not allowed. We went inside the shop and I took photos. A staff noticed it and exclaimed rather loudly and suddenly, "No pictures!" She suddenly realized that it was louder than she expected. We we both surprised I guess but we both laughed about it. I quickly deleted the photos. Now that makes for an embarrassing moment.

Take photos whenever you have the opportunity.  This applies to every travel.  You never know if you will be able to return to that place or take that photo again. I missed a lot of things and not able to take photos of that I wish I should have.

I was traveling memory lane as I was making this blog. I remember that we had to stop at a noodle shop for a meal before heading to the zoo. I was unable to take photos at that stop. There were lots of photos I took but these were the ones I was able to recover from my other blogging site.

Thank you for taking time reminiscing with me.

*All contents and photos are mine.

23
$ 25.02
$ 23.95 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.15 from @bbyblacksheep
$ 0.11 from @fantagira
+ 16
Sponsors of ARTicLEE
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for ARTicLEE
2 years ago

Comments

That trip looks really surprising, it is good to visit new places and always have photos to remember them, but not only the photos of the place matter, but also what you have experienced there and what you have enjoyed. It is also good to travel alone or with company so everyone can enjoy different things according to their point of view and then talk about their nice or bad experience somewhere.

A few years ago I went on a trip with my family and my couple's family, it's the first time we were traveling together and it was really fun and different, we enjoyed quite a lot, the good thing is that there was nothing negative on our way, there were only a lot of positive things.

I hope you will have a great trip like that again soon and you can continue to enjoy it.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Huhuhu nakaka miss mag Bangkok. Same here, I was in Myanmar for a month then I went to Bangkok and stayed about 3 months in Thailand. I miss my backpacking days before covid.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Ang saya naman ng month-long stay. Ganun ang goal ko sa mga travels ko sana hehe.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Bat ganon..? Wala manlang akong masabi na nakapunta din ako doon 😂🤣😂.., wala tayong common place na napuntahan kuya sa Bangkok 🤣

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Nyahaha! Walang kaplano plano kasi yan. Nagapu kami Myanmar dita ket ada sa two days vacant mi. Nu inya ladtan mapanunot isu napanan mi.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Mas enjoy un.., ung bahala na kung saan mapadpad 🤣

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Uu din.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Nung binabasa ko ito sabi ko aa utak ko "ito ata yung nagkainfection siya sa paa". Tama nga ako. Hehe. Ang cute ni Dala tapos yung tingin niya tipong "halika dito hindi pa ako tapos sayo". Hahahaha. Dito sa isang lugar sa atin when I realized na kawawa yung mga animals. Lalo na nung nakaakyat ako sa museum na may mga preserved bones and animals. Even pictures of the hunting. Gusto kong umalis agad. Naaawa ako sa animals kasi.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Ayoko dun sa malaking tiger kasi halatang nakadrugs. Tas ang baho jan. Di na ako babalik jan.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Cool!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

looks like the food there is pretty good. btw, is the cost to travel there cheap?

$ 0.01
2 years ago

It depends on how good at budgeting you are and how much budget you have. However, considering their currency has higher rate than ours, I find it more costly based on that but it's still within our budget. We choses places and food that we didn't have to spend much.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It is said that you travel more than twice to a destination: the first, when you plan the trip, the process of buying tickets, booking hotels, contracting tour guides; the second when you make the trip and enjoy it; the third: when you remember the details. In spite of the inconveniences, I hope you are feeling better from the health problems you had.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

That is so true! I do hope we can be free to travel again. Maybe some day I will be able to reach your country through my travels.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You had a nice trip in Bangkok. I wish to experience those too someday.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

I'm sure you will. Who knows, you will be traveling the whole of Thailand :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thank you for this trip to Bangkok. The food looks delicious. I'm sorry you had problems with your foot. Whenever we have a mishap of that nature on a trip, it's a bummer. I've once twisted an ankle in Brazil. Greetings!

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Good thing it wasn't that serious while we were there and only worsened once I'm home. I'd rather not have a twisted ankle. Did it happen on the last part of your trip too? I couldn't imagine continuing the rest of the trip if that happens.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

In fact, it was right in the middle of the trip. I had broken that ankle a few years ago, and on the trip, we went to a show. I didn't see the steps of the theater, and I stepped badly. The next day it hurt too much to walk. Luckily it was not a very serious sprain because in a couple of days with a little rest, and using an anklet, it improved a lot. And I was able to enjoy the rest of the trip.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

That's great that it improved rapidly and nothing else much worse than that. Sometimes no matter how careful we are unfortunate things happen that we cannot avoid. It sucks when that happens though :D

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hmmm...I noticed no Durians are allowed on Taxis. LOL.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

I had to check the photo again and you are right. Durians are not allowed. They know how stinky smelling that fruit is lol!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yeah, I know you noticed something else that's not allowed. Lol.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Lol! I should have asked the driver. Maybe he had incidents he would like to share :D

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes, you should have. That'd make a great story. hahaha...

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ay wow nman this... sana all nkakapagtravel😁

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Haha! Di na nga naulit yan e hehe.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

How I am loving this virtual travel. Thanks for guiding us in Bangkok! 😁❤️

$ 0.01
2 years ago

I'm glad you liked it. Thanks much for appreciating!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thank you for bringing me to Bangkok, Thailand! Sana all talaga ako. Hahaha. Sarap mag travel travel!

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Kaya nga e. Buti talaga nabigyan ng chance makapunta jan kahit saglit lang.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Para narin ako nagtravel sa Thailand :D Thanks for the story!

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Salamat din sa pag appreciate :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

wow naman mapapa sanaol ka talaga sa mga may privilidge maka travel sa ibang bansa...at sa Thailand pa talaga...gusto ko rin ma experience maka punta dun nang makita ko si Gulf Kanawut mwehehehehe

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Search ko kung sino yan si Gulf Kanawut hehe. Oo nga e. Pasalamat din talaga ako at navisit ko yan kahit papano.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

uy wag na baka ma shock ka hehehe chozzz lang BL actor xia na isang model na rin ngayon...hehehe straight woman here but fully support LGBTQ community ang gusto ko talaga mga THai BL series woooooffffffff

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Dami na BL series ngayon pati sa atin hehe. Para siyang may kamukha na actress dito sa atin hehe.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

sino?

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Di ko matandaan name. Di kasi ako familiar sa mga names e

$ 0.00
2 years ago

idol ko si Gulf simula nung nakita ko BL series nila at ang sexy niya oh em geeeeeee

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ah hehe. Kay naman pala namention mo :) Si Mario Maurer lang kilala ko.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

yep ehehehehehe

$ 0.00
2 years ago

ang saya talaga mag travel... hayz.. sna ma share ko din ung mga international travels namin..madami ka akong backlogs...

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Start mo na share hehe :D

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ang sayang experience naman! I 've only seen the wat pho. I haven't tried the floating market and the tiger zoo! must add to the list for when we can travel again. harhar. Thank you sir!

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Sa floating market ingat na lang dun kahit wag na mag boat tour kasi pwede namang mamasyal na di na need mag boat. Mahal kasi nun rent or basta marami kayo pwede siguro. Two lang kasi kami nun. Di ko na maalala kung magkano rent.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ahhhhh noted! Haha thanks sa tip.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You have such an amazing adventure in Bangkok. Hope I can travel there too someday when I have my own job and explore the Bangkok like you.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

In time you will. If there will be a chance, I encourage you to go for it. It's wonderful place to visit.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Nice tour learned! That lady is so kind for her to have posed for a photo. Most people wouldn't want that or like the idea, and she looks rather cheerful too.

By the way, I have always heard of Bangkok but I have never been there, only in movies lol.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

It is called the Land of Smiles and she is an epitome of that. I would have wanted to chat with her a bit but it's hard because of language barrier. If you can be given the chance to visit Thailand, go for it. There are lots of things to see there :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Great tour Lee! I have never been outside Europe, so I really enjoy reading about your trips.

So sorry about you foot though. I twisted my ankle too during my holiday in Spain. It gave me grief for the coming months!

Do I see it right? They even tell you’re not allowed to have sex in the cab? 😅 Clearly people must have tried it before if it is on the sticker 😅

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Europe is on top of my list to travel to. I hope soon.

Unfortunate things do happen when we are on a trip. Twisted ankle sounds really bad. Maybe it's saying that you should rest first :D

I think you are right on that but I'm not sure. Maybe I should have asked the driver lol!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I travel the Europe, because it’s my homeland, so it’s the easiest. If ever you’re in England, let me know! We should organise a meet-up.

I twisted the ankle on my salsa holiday. Lotsa dancing on the heals, swollen feet from the heat and I topped it up with climbing a small mountain in my flip flops 🙈 You could say (and be right) that I brought it on myself. Lesson hopefully learned 😅

$ 0.01
2 years ago

It would be exciting to meet online friends for sure! Maybe you'll teach me how to dance lol!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You’d need to come for a few year to learn how to dance! I have met with a few ladies from tsu last year in Netherlands. It was great fun 🤩

$ 0.00
2 years ago

That is awesome! I can only imagine how fun that was. I met with some of noisers here in our city and even thought it was just for few minutes, it was still lovely meeting them. I hope soon we can get together and really sit together or do something.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Love the tour with those gorgeous photos!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Salamuch! :D

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You are so much blessed, this one of a kind experience is a dream of everybody. Thanks for sharing, eventhough this is just an article it's like I've already travel there😇

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Indeed. It was an opportunity I did not let it pass. I hope you can visit Thailand too for it's an interesting place to be.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Wow! I'm glad you were inspired to share your story, and I loved all the extra details and even photos that you have here.

Since I wasn't born in Thailand, maybe I can write about my first impressions from when I first visited and moved over. Thanks so much for the inspiration. :) Stay tuned!

$ 0.01
2 years ago

I think you should! I'm sure there are lots of interesting things we can learn from your articles about Thailand.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Intayo manen en!

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Wen sige nu mayat tun amin. Ngem mayat nu agstart tayo pay pinas agtour hehe.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

sama 🙋🏻‍♀️🙋🏻‍♀️

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Tara haha!

$ 0.00
2 years ago