The Holidays

10 46
Avatar for ZehraSky
2 years ago
Sponsors of ZehraSky
empty
empty
empty

I know it is a little too late to share this but I still want to post something as a documentation of how our family celebrated the holidays. We don't usually post on social media pictures about it, our parents are a very private/lazy persons in terms of using social media. So I chose this platform to at least have a memory of this important happenings in out lives.

CHRISTMAS

We don't usually put extravagant food on our tables, only if we are celebrating something. As far as Christmas is concern, we just prepared something to share with during the "Noche Buena" because a day after will be our mom's birthday. We really don't want to spend too much and make the food go to waste if not eaten.

Zehra and I prepared our Christmas meal with the help of our mom.

This is what we prepared for Noche Buena. Zehra cooked the Garlic Parmesan Chicken Wings, as it was highly requested by our younger siblings. It took a trial and error since Zehra don't usually cook. But the outcome of her dish is just so good that it was emptied in just a short time after serving it. On the other hand, I am the one who prepared the Buttered Shrimp as it was my favorite. Regardless if they're gonna like it or not, I have a confidence that I can eat it all, it was just a bonus that they do like it. We ordered sweets such as brownies and Brazo de Mercedes, and my mom prepared the Graham Cake which was loved by everyone. We like it plain, but she made a separate Mango Graham Cake for her and my father. Of course, the star of every Filipino's celebration, Shanghai.

I just want to share with you the gifts I received this Christmas. It came from my siblings and I really appreciate everything considering that they don't have work yet but they managed to give something to me.

Mom's Birthday

I know it is not a holiday celebration but it is a special event for us. Zehra invited her partner over since my mom wanted to. Though I was not able to meet him as I was sleeping that time, I guess he gives out good impression to my parents, so kudos to him. Our youngest sibling who followed Zehra also invited her friends over and they did indulged my chocolates! Haha.

New Year

We celebrared New Year's Eve at my place. Since the Garlic Parmesan Wings and Buttered Shrimp had been loved by our family, we decided to cook it again for New Year's Eve celebration. Noodles such as Pancit and Spaghetti had been a traditional dish for this event. We also prepared Chicken Barbeque to share with. This is the first time we had bbq in "Media Noche". I was not able to take a photo of our sweets prepared by our mother but she made Buco Pandan and Fruit Salad.

We sang until our throats can no longer release a voice thru our laptop and bluetooth speaker given by our parents. We get the 30 days free trial of youtube premium. Yes, a wise decision for us who don't want to spend money to have fun. At 11:55PM we changed the music to a Kalimba playlist to calm Moshi for the upcoming sound of fireworks. Good thing is, she was not that scared, actually she was just sleeping. We shared a non-alcoholic wine at exactly 12 midnight and had a toast to welcome 2022.

Overall, I did enjoy my time being with my family, I always do. Though I have bothered by my toothache from time to time, it never stopped me from eating. Haha!



Thank you for reading this article!

If you want to read some more articles of mine, I have monthly summaries here:

December 2021 Articles Summary

November 2021 Articles Summary

September 2021 Articles Summary

August 2021 Articles Summary

July 2021 Articles Summary

June 2021 Articles Summary

May 2021 Articles Summary


To show my appreciation for the support that I have been receiving, please accept a small gift I prepared for the first reader.

https://branch.wallet.bitcoin.com/shdCOTP5ymb

12
$ 4.47
$ 4.10 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @Ruffa
$ 0.05 from @bbyblacksheep
+ 7
Sponsors of ZehraSky
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for ZehraSky
2 years ago

Comments

Glad that you all had a lot of fun during the holidays..belated happy birthday to your mom by the way. 🥳 I'd say that you all had feast. I bet your tummies were so happy. Thanks for reminding me about the barbeque. Will try to add that to our menu on my dad's birthday next month.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

May the memories of 2021 be a valuable experience and 2022 will be a challenge to live in the future. happy New Year

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Merry Christmas and Happy New Year, spending Christmas and New Year with family is that best 🥳🥳

$ 0.03
2 years ago

You sure had a lot of fun during the Christmas holiday... How are you doing today, dear friend?

$ 0.03
2 years ago

So far so good. 2022 has been nice to me since it started. How about you? ~Manju

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Been very good to me as well. I'm grateful.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Family girl! So happy to see these all. Adorable gestures.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Thank you. ~Manju

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Seems you had a lot of yummy food to eat. Would like to try the buttered shrimp 🦐

$ 0.03
2 years ago

You'll like it, I can guarantee haha ~Manju

$ 0.00
2 years ago