Slave to Money

10 34
Avatar for ZehraSky
2 years ago

As we all needed money to make a living, it's not new for us to hear people dying just to earn it. This week has been really tough for me, as of today I've been spending 12 hours nonstop shift since last week. Since it is close to our account's peak season's end, the client wanted to fully maximize the remaining days for revenue. It was actually a good opportunity for me, given that holiday season is just around the corner.

How can you say no to a 4 hours overtime equals to $30 and a double pay rest day overtime (RDOT). On top of that, you will earn a raffle ticket per overtime hours spent and will get a chance to win P10,000. I've been really exhausted this past few days, that what I only did is to sleep after work and wake up to work again. It'll all be worth it once I got paid for this cutoff.

I am not a coffee type of person, but it has been in my company since I started rendering overtime to keep me alive and concentrated.

I am thinking of upgrading my coffee to Starbucks after the release of salary, 'cause why not? I deserved it. Haha!

As per the dates I was really excited the most, "the furlough" which will start on December 8 till the end of month. It was supposedly the days where we are off to work as the peak is already over. The thing is, I was one of the 35 agents who were selected by the client to continue taking in phone calls during the furlough, as I performed really well during the peak season. It was not a bad news honestly, because I will keep on earning and it had been my problem before on how will I be if I'm not selected to return at work after furlough.

For those confused, in our account, there were 500 plus agents up to date since we had massive hirings before the peak started. Now, it was also announced that only 200 out of the 500+ agents can return to work after the furlough (Miss Universe vibe lol), selection will be made based on performance. After that announcement, I can't help but to overthink if will I be one of the selected employee. So now that I've heard the news that I was included on the top 35 employee, I was really glad. Though, I honestly looked forward to travelling, that could wait, since I can't let this kind of opportunity pass. I prayed hard for it and now it's here!

Some die to earn money. Some really needed money. Some were driven to live for money. Some is me. No worries, I made sure that I am not putting my health at risk. Sadly, I spent less time with Moshi but I'll make sure to catch up after this long week's overtime. Aja!



Thank you for reading this article!

If you want to read some more articles of mine, I have monthly summaries here:

October 2021 Articles Summary

September 2021 Articles Summary

August 2021 Articles Summary

July 2021 Articles Summary

June 2021 Articles Summary

May 2021 Articles Summary


To show my appreciation for the support that I have been receiving, please accept a small gift I prepared for the first reader.

https://branch.wallet.bitcoin.com/i8aiWrVWJlb

13
$ 3.87
$ 3.59 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @Porwest
$ 0.05 from @Lucifer01
+ 5
Sponsors of ZehraSky
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for ZehraSky
2 years ago

Comments

In the Philippines, it is really hard to earn money because we are still a developing country. The key is just to manage money just in case there is an emergency, you have money.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Buy some SmartBCH tokens, it will help you to earn money passively. Hence no one will give you some bucks for free. It's the universal law of our life

$ 0.03
2 years ago

I'm not that familiar with cryptocurrency. Will watch videos diacussing about it. Thanks for the info. ~Manju

$ 0.00
2 years ago

This is why investing is so important. It allows us to accumulate wealth which in turn generates dividends that can replace the need for front-end income from a job over time.

I still wouldn't pass up the extra money offered by the overtime of course. But I would not be upgrading my coffee to Starbucks. I'd be putting a little of that extra money into things that will also generate more money.

Like stocks in the stock market.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Yes. Long term investment is a must. Saving is also important. Everyone should know the value of Needs vs Wants

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Unfortunately we have to work hard to earn good money. This world order is not on our side. But I think this situation will change. Most of us don't deserve this.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

For me it's about your faith in God. If you have enough faith that God will provide everyday you will no longer run after money because by Faith in God, the money will run after you.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

People choose to be slave just to earn money. I mean some people doesn't have a choice but to grab that opportunity. Some would willing to give their life just to earn some. Life over the money.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Where is the lie? It's hard when we have to pay to live ~Manju

$ 0.00
2 years ago

We all have to die today or tomorrow. Money will not walk along with us. People don't understand that running after money is useless. You can earn what you truly desire. Not more than that. Is that manju?

$ 0.03
2 years ago