Japanese Curry

32 48
Avatar for ZehraSky
2 years ago

As I mentioned in my article yesterday, my sister wrote an article about the lunch she made. I am sharing this article before classes start HAHA . I am so nervous for the first day.

Sponsors of ZehraSky
empty
empty
empty
Thank you to my amazing sponsors for continuously givkng me support.

As the head cook of our family, I got tired preparing Filipino dish and want to explore something new but easy to make. I already learned how to cook most of the common Filipino dish and my pallette was looking for something new. It's not hard to think what to make next since our family loves Japanese food. When we go out to get our national ID, we shopped at Daiso and good thing is they are selling curry roux there. Though it is not Vermont (the brand commonly recommended for curry making), I still bought it.

Curry Making

Now, making a curry is simple and the ingredients can be bought on our local market. We just need potato, carrots, white onion, Knorr cube seasoning and salt and pepper to create our Japanese curry. It is optional but you can add chicken chunks or any meat chunks to the curry for additional flavor.

Cut the onion on a big portion. I only used half of the onion cause I think it'll be too confusing for our tastebuds if I put too much. But if you are the person who loves onion, you can put one whole. It's your kitchen, don't let anyone decide on what to do. Next, once the onion was halfway cooked, put the carrots and potatoes that was cut as proportional as it can be and sauté it for 2 mins. Put in half of the Japanese roux on the pan and mix it with the carrots, potatoes and onions. Once done, add 3 cups of water with the other half of the roux and let it boil. Don't forget to mix it once in a while so that the bottom part of the curry will not burn. Now if it's boiling already, you can put another set of roux in one go with your seasoning such as; salt, pepper and knorr chicken cubes. Let it boil for 5 mins and turn the fire on low heat for another 5 mins to simmer. Our family loves spicy food so chilli has been a common ingredients for our dish, but it is optional to yours. The finish product will be a thick sauce for Japanese Curry. Very delicate in smell and so flavorful.

Tori katsu (Chicken Katsu)

To make the experience as Japanese as it can be, I decided to make katsu to partner with the curry. It's easy. It's just like creating a chicken fillet here in the Philippines. All you need to have are; chicken breast part, flour, egg and bread crumbs. Dip the chicken on the flour first, then to the egg; make sure that it was fully covered before covering it with bread crumbs. Deep fry it on a medium heat. Make sure to give it full attention or else it will burn and you will left with nothing.

It's really a fun experience and my family loved it. I might try cooking different cuisine once in a while and if the ingredients can easily be found in the market. You should try making this too!

Closing words

I really enjoyed the food that my sister cooked for us. I love how she always try new recipes instead of sticking to the same food we have been eating for years.

Anyway, I am thinking about letting my sister have an access to this account if she ever writes too many articles than I can fit into my schedule. As for now, I will still be the one posting her articles. This will also help in making sure I can read a few of your articles.

I would really need to explain to her how I handle my account first haha. Hopefully though I would not need to do that since she mostly rests after her work. She might stop sleeping altogether if she became addicted to this site jk.

To everyone who is just about to start their classes, fighting to us! Let's do our best for this academic year.

All images used were taken by my sister. The recipe is from various cooking and mukbang youtube channels.



If you want to have a new friend to talk to about random things, feel free to reach out to me:

Telegram: @zehrasky

noise.cash: ZehraSky

Tumblr: Zehrasky


Thank you for reading this article!

If you want to read some more articles of mine, I have monthly summaries here:

August 2021 Articles Summary

July 2021 Articles Summary

June 2021 Articles Summary

May 2021 Articles Summary


To show my appreciation for the support that I have been receiving, please accept a small gift I prepared for the first reader.

https://branch.wallet.bitcoin.com/qT6W7KeOGjb

19
$ 10.27
$ 9.82 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.10 from @Codename_Chikakiku
$ 0.10 from @Eunoia
+ 6
Sponsors of ZehraSky
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for ZehraSky
2 years ago

Comments

Nice explanation brother. Your explain process is so easy. Now i also able to make your japanese curry. Every country has traditional food. I hope you will share your traditional food item making process.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Because of your article I suddenly remember our kind neighbours back then in the subdivision we used to live in. They were a lovely couple, the man was Japanese, and would often invite us over when he comes home. And this curry is my favorite dish, I wanted to ask Tita for this recipe. But glad you made this, now I can make it at home and let my little taste this dish. Though I guess I'd have to search the nearest SM Hypermarket if they have the curry mix.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

I hope that they have the curry mix you are looking for. It's nice to be able to cook your favorite food after all

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You said it right. I also love cooking for the family from time to time. And yep, I hope the curry mix is available too.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Amoy palang niyan ulam na haha ubos agad ang kanin 😊 magkano po nagastos mo sa mga recipies?

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Ay hala hindi ko po alam magkano nagastos huhu. Tanong ko po mamaya si ate mamaya pagkagising niya

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Itsura palang ulam na!..nakakatakam naman po pati ang presentation with rice :)..parang yung mga nasa brochure este menu book ng mga resto :)

$ 0.03
2 years ago

I don't know but watching and reading recipes sound easy but in the final exam of cooking ang hirap whahaha. Cooking wasnt my forte talga

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Wahhhhh, gusto ko nyan. Beke meron pa oi 🤤🤤🤤

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Wala na eh taob kaldero kahapon HAHA

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ehhhhh, bakit naman ganon huehue.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Masarap kasi eh, wala tuloy tira HAHA

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Kahit siguro anong food bsta merong spicy woahh 🤤 Sarap nmn ulamin nyan ngayong tanghali. Pwede po ba magpa ampon haha spicy lover dn po ako eh😅🥰 God bless po sa family nyo💕

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Tara na po dito, para may kasama ako maglinis ng pinggan HAHA

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hahahaha sige soon po. Pag wala na ang covid😅

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Woah sarap naman nyan marengs. Gusto ko din sana talaga magluto takot naman ako sa mantika. Taga kain nalang ako 🤣

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Ako nagretire na ako sa pagluluto, inaasa ko na lang sa kanila. Mas masarap pagkain kapag hindi sariling luto eh HAHAHA

$ 0.00
2 years ago

That looks delicious, never tried Japanese curry before. Hahaha, I never have the interest to cook.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Ang aga tumulo na laway ko. The food looks delicious and I bet it taste delicious too. I wanted to try cooking it next time. But I just wanted to give advice Z as a reader I could remember it easily if you put the procedures on numbers or bullets. But it's up to you Kung sundin mo, for me Lang Naman Yun 😁. Thanks for sharing your recipe with us.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

I'll let my sister know about your suggestion hehe. Personally, I agree with you so I hope that my sister will listen.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hala! Hehe thanks for being open-minded. Beep me of how she would accept the suggestion. 🥰

$ 0.00
2 years ago

That's so colourful. Never tried this one. New experience indeed.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

I might try this one too hahaha. I'm more into pastries kasi, pero nag luto din ako, minsan nga lang hahaha

$ 0.03
2 years ago

If there are things that actually exist, why not try them right? Ako po I'm still learning to cook po, onti palang kaya kong lutuin KAsi hindi namann ako tambay sa kusina. Tagal kain kang talaga ako. But I'm planning to make cooking as my hobby po. Start from filipino cuisine po muna ako the. Foreign cusine nanaman para mas masarap

$ 0.03
2 years ago

This is the part where I would request for your house address so I can visit to enjoy this treat 🤣🥰😍🙈🙈🙈.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Ako din cook dito sa bahay eh, ang wlam ko lng Luton mga Filipino dish lang, parang gusto ko din subukan yang Japanese curry, ano ba dapat maging lasa niyan? matamis? Anyway mukhang masarap, baka naman tagiisang kutsara l ang kami hahaha.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Hindi ko madescribe lasa niya eh HAHA medyo maanghang tas basta masarap HAHAHA. Marami naman siya. Umabot po sa gabi yung naluto ni ate, eh anim kami tas plus pa si Moshi HAHA

$ 0.00
2 years ago

magluluto din ako niyan tingin ako kay Google para da instruction.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Parang gusto ko tuloy itry yan hehez nakakatakam e. Lalo na yung chicken katsu ang easy lang gawin. Anyway, goodluck to our first day of class. Fighting!

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Fighting din po sayo! Absent agad first prof namin HAHA pero first week pa lang naman so mej expected lalo na meron pang mga may pronlema sa enrollment

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I personally like Japanese curry food very much. You have shared so many beautiful food recipes that you want to eat more. Looking at the pictures, it means that the food will be very beautiful.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Wow superb sarap siguro yan sis, ma try nga yant Japanese curry ☺️

$ 0.03
2 years ago