It's just goodbye, not the end

19 51
Avatar for ZehraSky
2 years ago
Sponsors of ZehraSky
empty
empty
empty

As a working adult in the BPO industry, it has always been a mindset to me not to be too attached on the people I worked with. On my first job with Sykes, I befriended everyone that was on the same team as I was, so when they resigned or go on AWOL (Absence Without Official Leave), I got demotivated on coming into work. It was hard for me to surrounded by new people. I have this attitude that I don't talk to people if they will not talk to me first. And the new hires already have their own respective group of friends. So it has been really a struggle for me to open up with them. After just a few weeks, I can no longer endure the feeling of being left out, I decided to resign. This experience has been an eye opener to me that the real world will not adjust on your emotional feelings. I learned to distance myself to everyone I worked with.

This has been an ongoing attitude of mine for the last companies I got employed. I come into work, go home, repeat. Though, I communicate with them if it's work related but I didn't agreed to come any unrelated work invitation. I don't want to be too much attached and dependent again. Just so you know, in the BPO setup, every once in a while, we were being shuffled and transferred to different teams and have to change schedules. So it will just be useless to create a bond with your current team, knowing that you will need to say goodbye to them at some point. However, I was not able to maintain this belief of mine in my current workplace.

I am working here for 9 months now; my first ever work since I got terminated from my previous job due to pandemic. I can honestly say that the reason why I spend time with them outside work is because I just got out of a toxic relationship and wanted to enjoy. Anyways, since March of this year, I've been with this team and got really close to everyone. I attended team buildings, eat outs or just a normal get together and it made me really happy. But it's not always sunshine and butterflies as they said, just yesterday, I got the news that four of our teammates have been terminated due to performance issue.

That was the saddest I have been. I already build a bond to these people and it was hard for us to accept that the management only gave them 3 days to provide a certain number of sales. But then again, I still knew that it might happen. I may not be prepared but I had encountered it before. I just thought that everything happens for a reason and a little sacrifice is all we need to be at the place we were destined to be. I bid my goodbye to them, I cried so hard but still managed to tell them that it's just goodbye, not the end. Life must go on. My tears would not pay my bills.

Positively thinking, we can still schedule a get together once in a while. Not because we were no longer working on the same company, that doesn't mean that it was over for our friendship. Sooner or later, we will all be fine, slowly. Friendships are great but remember that you go to work to earn. Keep going.


This is my sister's article. I have been struggling to write anything so I gave her permission to post during the days I was supposed to be posting. This one is supposed to be for yesterday, but I fell asleep as soon as I got home and forgot about it.



Thank you for reading this article!

If you want to read some more articles of mine, I have monthly summaries here:

September 2021 Articles Summary

August 2021 Articles Summary

July 2021 Articles Summary

June 2021 Articles Summary

May 2021 Articles Summary


To show my appreciation for the support that I have been receiving, please accept a small gift I prepared for the first reader.

https://branch.wallet.bitcoin.com/1ddOKmboZkb

19
$ 6.64
$ 6.33 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.10 from @DM
$ 0.05 from @Jane
+ 6
Sponsors of ZehraSky
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for ZehraSky
2 years ago

Comments

Ganyan din ako pero once na kinausap na ko,madali akong naaattached sa tao. Kaya kapag may hiwalayan na ganyan ang sakit,iisoin mo bakit?,😅

Pero life must go on nga. Hindi naman porket natanggal sila hindi na kayo magkikita diba?uoi can set it,panahon ngayon madali ng magset,chat chat lang eh. Gora na.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yeah I agree with you!🤗👍

$ 0.00
2 years ago

That is why we should always have limits when it comes to making bonds because there is no permanent set up in this world especially when it comes to work.. ganyan ako dati kaya nasanay na ako nakikisama pero di ko masyado ina.attached sarili ko sa kanila.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

I had fear of losing people before but as I grew older, I realized worth it people will stay. ~Manju

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Its good to see you posting over here consistently since I came back after a long time..

$ 0.00
User's avatar DM
2 years ago

I have the attitude too that if you do not say hi first, I will not mind you. Because I feel like they will say "feeling close" or I think they do not really want to interact with me.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Right? We just don't want to be misunderstand, so we tend to keep our distance ~Manju

$ 0.00
2 years ago

That is life. People come and go but what is best in it is that you learn something from them and they learn something from you. Friendship will never ends as long as both are still willing to give some time for each other.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

True. And we get to have people we can confide to relax on a stressful work environment ~Manju

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes sis! So keep going whatever happens. Thank you for your generosity.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Kaya minsan nalilito ako kung sino yung may work at yung student 🤣 Anyway, we are the same. Hndi ako mahilig makipag usap sa iba kpg hndi ako nila unahan. Kya bihira lng may mag approach sakn kasi kala nla snob ako 🤣

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Sorry for the confusion. I'm the sister haha ~Manju

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Its so nice that your sister helps you out when you're busy, it seems like writing runs in the family. That's really nice indeed!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

To say goodbye means to say goodbye for a moment and to end means to end forever, so saying goodbye and ending is never the same.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

There are some colleagues that will turn friends, just Depends on how well you people was available to each other..

$ 0.00
2 years ago

This is one of the reasons I am very selective about who I make friends with. I only choose people i know value friendship, so that when we seem to part ways, it doesn't end the friendship

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Wise choice. Spend effort to those who will stay ~Manju

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Dear sometimes it happens that we attached to someone and it's become difficult to stay without them but it's reality that no one stays always we have to say goodbye

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Can't agree more. We all meet temporary people. Let's make the best out of it. ~Manju

$ 0.00
2 years ago