Poetry Dice Challenge(and the winners)- I Travelled Far

62 70
Avatar for Winona
Written by
3 years ago

I travelled far
To reach the places I listed
I had them stacked in a jar

I travelled far
Through a plane, a ship and a car
I went to places
Vast plains
To the dead sea

I travelled far
Ice cold tundras
Rolled down the Himalayas
To the Amazon Rainforest
East coast
Wild West
Trying to catch life's zest

I travelled far
Went pole to pole
Set camp
In Norway, the night was damp
Put up a tent without a lamp
To watch the light show
Admired Aurora before I go
Caught in the blizzard
Stuck in the thick snow
Crystals impossible to thaw

I travelled far
Witnessed the great migration
Running wildebeest
From the plains of Serengeti
The number's so hefty
To the vast plains of Maasai Mara
It's full of life in plethora

I travelled far
A stroll in the ancient Mexico
To its known but hidden archipelago
Mayans and Incas built pyramids too
A tomb for the rulers
But they don't call them Pharaoh
The ruins in ancient Egypt
They built it to face the sun
Forged into stone
To return back to sand
The oasis of time
Slipping out of the hand

I travelled far
I travelled far
To distant Switzerland
Grazing sheeps
The alps with Edelweiss
The fragrant flower I'll surely miss
Unfamiliar nostalgia in the trains of the Swiss

I travelled far
Places without documented in my phone
It's sad to take selfies
It's sad to say I'm alone

I wanted to travel far
Away from the trouble
Away from the scar
They said it's a bridge over water
Claims of the past- it's time to surrender

I travelled far
Without spending a penny
I lay on the street
Liquor bottles in my side
And all what the trash can provide
People coming by
I laugh at them without saying "Hi"
My mind is always hazy
My body can't move not because I am lazy
When the pavement gets dark
And it's all dim in the park
I lay here without a bed
Without worrying what's ahead
Because tomorrow
I'll go to places again
To the soles of my brain
And the sympathy I can't gain
I'll travel again
Then I'll lay here to sleep
Slumberring in Zzz's
And wish to never wake up
Before the heart slowed then stop
I'll plant white flowers in my grave
A hope for peace in times I succumb
I hope you pay me a visit
-in my lowly tomb

-END-
____________________________
And that is the Poetry Dice Challenge brought to you by Poems and Flash Fiction and Live Poet Society.

It's a hard decision because all of the entries are good. But as promised we've got to select one for the $2 upvote but hey don't frown, we'll be giving bonus upvotes for everyone.

Winner of the 1st Poetry Dice Challenge
Iremori - https://read.cash/@Iremori/poetry-dice-challenge-blinking-lights-d63d610b

I'd also like to commend this list of outstanding works:
https://read.cash/@marcmire/poetrydice-90bffd20

https://read.cash/@Leo_kitti/poetry-dice-challenge-03a338f0

https://read.cash/@lethlieann/poetry-dice-challenge-fbb181ec

https://read.cash/@Charlotte/poetry-dice-challenge-9d2ed3f0

CONGRATULATIONS EVERYONE!!!


@feebie and I will be sending the upvote shortly

Thank you for participating in the Poetry Dice Challenge, I hope you'd be participating in the next. Thank you for your time and effort. You're all great writers and may you not stop writing. Inspire more people through your poems and let's make poetry alive!
____________________________

Another bonus upvote will be given to anyone who can describe what the persona is in the poem above. The first one to get the right answer will get an upvote. Let me know in the comment sec.

28
$ 0.05
$ 0.05 from @feebie
Avatar for Winona
Written by
3 years ago

Comments

Oooooh. I'm very thankful that you picked my work. To be honest, I thought that I would lose because my vocabulary is too few. I'm very honored that you picked my work. Thank you very much.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Congrats to you dear. Continue writing!

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I will, thank you very much

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Congrats 😊

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Thank you 😊

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Thanks for participating. Upvoted your entry already. Cheers

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Cheers! Thanks. I'll participate in the next one too if ever. Thank you very much.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

It's the persona of a homeless person maybe?

LOVED the poem. I hope I could join the next challenge

$ 0.02
3 years ago

Yes the persona is a homeless person, but anything else you can tell about him?

We'd be glad to host another challenge:)

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I think he's a homeless person suffering with a mental illness hence the travelling with out a penny. Or he could be a past soldier.

$ 0.05
3 years ago

Another right answer there. Very good. But there's a general description. Mmmhh

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I think it is the persona of someone suffering from PTSD from war? hahaha I am not sure

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Mmmmh. Can be. U did great!

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Thank you. will look forward to your next challenge and poems

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Yes. There will be more:)

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Congratulations @Iremori ❀ uwuuπŸŽ‰ Congrats din @marcmire 😁

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Thanks, congratulations to you also πŸŽ‰

$ 0.00
3 years ago

❀❀❀

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Congrats to you too, @Charlotte :P

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Arigatooo senpai? Kohai? marcmire-saaannn

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Kohai. Hahaha.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Oohhh i see kohai-kun😊

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Congrats to you too. Continue writing!

$ 0.00
3 years ago

❀

$ 0.00
3 years ago

The persona on the poem is a vagrant. With no places to go, the only oasis in his/her world is inside his/her dreams

$ 0.02
3 years ago

U hit one answer right. Good. Anything else about the persona? She's not rlly travelling

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I think she lost all her possessions because of something really painful. Painful enough for her to become a drunkard and to wait for own death. A loss of a loved one perhaps.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Yes, but he had lost another important thing, what do u think is that?

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I think that would be himself. His hopes, dreams, expectations, affection, and hate. Just an empty shell waiting for his own demise. Probably because of those that surround him and the people close to him.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Yeah. He had lost those. Now, he travelling inside his mind.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I don't see anything wrong with that though. I myself live in the games that I play. Because I have nothing in this world anymore.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

But depth still counts.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

As Louis Zamperini said " Yet a part of you still believes you can fight and survive no matter what your mind knows. It's not so strange. Where there's still life, there's still hope. What happens is up to God." That persona is so sad yet still so hopeful, life is always unfair yet we strive to survive and fullfill our dreams. Sometimes our emotion feels great happiness by how our mind decieves us. It may be too late for him but too soon for God. πŸ’

Anyway , so sad I was not able to join the contest 😩,but still congratulations to the winners πŸ₯‚ keep on inspiring others , we may be weak sometimes but we can be the strength for others πŸ‘πŸ’

$ 0.01
3 years ago

The persona kept his hope for a very long time. It's wearing off.

We'll have more challenges ahead:)

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Very nice

$ 0.00
3 years ago

To travel is to truly understand how different the world is from our own perspectives and to find ourselves to what we truly call our home, until then we will ever truly know peace. Thank you for the opportunity @Winona and @Febbie

and

Congrats to @Iremori and the other participants.

$ 0.02
3 years ago

We travel for several reasons. I hope to see you in the next challenge;) Job well done. Congratulations!

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Thank you sir. Congratulations to you too. I actually felt intimidated by your poems when I read at a few of them because of your wide vocabulary.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Haha, don't be. You actually write well, if you ask me. Don't get too intimidated, we have our own writing styles. Keep writing, Ire.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I'll try. It's nice to hear that from a person who's better than me, thanks. I will keep writing.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I'd love to read a collab from both of you @Iremori @marcmire wiiiiiπŸ€—

$ 0.00
3 years ago

This is a very nice poem. And i knew @Leo_Kitti was going to be identified here. Congratulations all.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Thanks. The works above are beyond my description:)

$ 0.00
3 years ago

πŸ˜… I'm really excited about the audience the poem drew!! Thank you!

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Thank you ❀️

And congratulations to the winner, when I have the time, I'll go through all the poems β€οΈπŸ’™

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Congratulations to you!😊 Great job. See you in the next challenges.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Thank you β€οΈπŸ’™

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Beautiful poem

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Haha the idea of the challenge is good ya know. I gotta thank u for that haha. Thanks😁

$ 0.01
3 years ago

Yeah i never knew it would turn out with so much beautiful entries. I hope we can do this more often and hopefuly for flash fiction as i would be itching to read some amazing prose.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

That's great. I haven't tried prose writing yet. Ima try it this week. And maybe we can do another challenge for that. Whatdya think? Haha

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I am so in. It woulf be so fun...πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Congratulations guys!!! and Thank you ❣️

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Thats really a nice poem❀️

$ 0.00
User's avatar Ohi
3 years ago

Congress

$ 0.00
3 years ago

what a beautiful poem nice write up

$ 0.00
3 years ago

what a beautiful poem nice write up

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I love to travel very very much

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Nice bro

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Congrats @Iremori

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Thank you very much

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Amazing ka talaga!! Keep it up πŸ‘

$ 0.00
3 years ago