Poetry Dice Challenge - Blinking Lights

19 60
Avatar for Iremori
3 years ago

There are a lot of things

That I want to see

That I want to do

That I want to be

I want to see

Sheeps grazing on vast plains

Lie on the grass

And feel the air on my skin

I want to cross

Stone bridges that run

Over clear waters

Under the sun

I want to watch

A field of flowers sway

Under a pleasant breeze

On a sunny day

I want to climb

Mountains so steep

And marvel on the view

As I reach its summit

I want to build

Tents in a meadow

And tell stories

As the campfire glows

I want to travel

The scorching deserts

Watching the pyramids

Made by people's efforts

I want to sail

The vast open seas

As the captain of my ship

And enjoy the sea breeze

I always wanted

To see these sights

But all I can see

Are blinking lights

Blinking lights of planes

As they cruise the night sky

Blending with stars

As they slowly fly by

Blinking lights of cars

As they go through the streets

Going home from work

Or to travel or eat

Blinking lights on the phone

From unread messages

That wait there patiently

Until someone notices

And blinking lights of stars

As we bathe in starlight

We dance on the rooftop

Until close to midnight

I can hear faint breaths

As you sleep on my lap

And on times like this

I just wish the world stopped

My hand on your hair

Caressing so gently

Admiring your face

As you're catching some zzz's

These thoughts came flowing in

Glancing through the window

Watching the blinking lights

These thoughts slowly followed

There are a lot of things

That I want to do

But I'd always rather

Stay here with you

10
$ 2.01
$ 1.00 from @feebie
$ 1.00 from @Winona
$ 0.01 from @Charlotte
Sponsors of Iremori
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Iremori
3 years ago

Comments

Brilliant

$ 0.00
User's avatar Win
3 years ago

Thank you, sir

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Another one ❀ Nice poem again @Iremori galing talaga

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Thank you 😁

$ 0.00
3 years ago

The genuine desire of the heart. Sometimes peace is a dreamy eyes and a heartbeat, eh?

Well done:)

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Yes but that's something I don't have so I'll just go to the places that I want haha

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Wonderful. β€οΈπŸ’™

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Thanks for taking your time to read my work!

$ 0.00
3 years ago

You're welcome. It's a beautiful piece

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I wonder about who is the "you" on the lap. I wonder but it doesn't matter. It's good to have wishes, dreams, imagine what life looks like without if all are fulfilled. πŸ’•

$ 0.00
3 years ago

To be honest, I don't have anyone like that. It's always one sided for me. But I think I'll be doing everything else aside from the one I don't have.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Take a cat on the lap. It will appreciate you and can take care of itself if you leave. Unless you suffer from allergies. πŸ€

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I'll keep that in mind. Besides I'm very fond of cats.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Aaahhh another good poem. I can't write my entry🀧 The story connects and it's both sad and happy, choosing her over things you want to see, how lucky a girl can beπŸ’•

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Thanks 😊, I tried writing using the feelings of pure affection. Glad you like it 😌 and thanks for the upvote 😁

$ 0.00
3 years ago

πŸ₯ΊπŸ₯Ί you are very good with words. I commend the story flow and rythm πŸ™

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Thanks 😁

$ 0.00
3 years ago

This is such a beautiful poem.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I'm honored to receive such praise. Thank you very much for reading and for the upvote ❀️

$ 0.00
3 years ago