How to use the editor at read.cash

111 14816
Avatar for Read.Cash
4 years ago (Last updated: 3 years ago)

The editor is pretty simple and tries to get out of your way as much as possible. But, don't let the simplicity fool you - it allows you to do a lot.

Headings, subheadings

Adding headings and subheadings is simple - just click H1 (header), H2 (subheading) or type a hash (#) followed by a space at the beginning of the line, like this:

Bold, italics, links

To make something bold, italic or a link to somewhere, just select some text and you'll see a context menu:

Click B to make it bold (or you can also press Ctrl+B/Cmd+B), I for italics (Ctrl+I/Cmd+I).

"Add link" to make a link (it should be Ctrl+K/Cmd+K, but we haven't implemented it yet).

Underline is Ctrl+U/Cmd+U.

You can also use markdown shortcuts, like **bold** or *italic*.

Strike-through is ~strike-through~.

Images

To insert an image - just drag-n-drop it to the empty space or click the image button in the toolbar.

How to insert an image

Clipboard support

The other very convenient way to insert an image is by pasting it from the clipboard. Just copy the image to the clipboard and press Ctrl+V or Cmd+Von Mac.

Embeds

We currently support YouTube, Vimeo, Streamable, lbry.tv videos and SoundCloud embedding, but we'll add more integration later. Just paste the URL of the video into the text:

Alternatively you can click the "video" button in the toolbar.

Lists

To make a list - start a paragraph with a dash and a space - or an asterisk and a space (* ) - that should make a list like this:

  • Improve the editor

  • Improve it some more

  • Never stop improving

To make a numbered list - start with a number, a dot and space: 1. , like this:

  1. The most important part

  2. Second most

  3. ...the others

Code

There are two kind of code markup: inline (for stuff like variable names, etc...) and code block (for long pieces of code).

Inline code

To make an inline reference, like this: variableName - just type a backtick (`), then the name, then another backtick. Or select some text and click < > in the popup menu:

Code blocks

To make a code block:

Code block

Just type three backticks (```), then type or paste your code. Or you can click <> on an empty space:

Example of creating a code block with button and keyboard

Block quotes

"Adding a block quote is pretty easy." - read.cash authors

To add a block quote - start a line with > .

Saving the article

You can always press Ctrl+S or Cmd+S to save your article or click Save as Draft at the top of the editor.

Publishing the article

When you're ready - press the Publish button at the top of the editor.

To Do items

You can also add "To Do items", like this:

  • Boil the teapot

  • Fry the eggs

  • Take out the garbage

Just type [ ] at the beginning of the line.

You can even drag them to move.

Images

You can also position images on your screen.

You can also add shadow to the image - it makes some content better. Though it mostly works great if you have white background and some padding.

Final notes

We understand that our editor is not perfect. There are quirks. There is some missing functionality. But as we're also the ones who are using it - we're definitely going to improve it as much as possible.

205
$ 1.57
$ 0.50 from @JonathanSilverblood
$ 0.50 from @btcfork
$ 0.25 from @nyusternie
+ 12
Sponsors of Read.Cash
empty
empty
Avatar for Read.Cash
4 years ago (Last updated: 3 years ago)

Comments

I can't post articles because it tells me that my account isn't allowed to post links even though there's no link in my article.

$ 0.00
4 months ago

Heyy same goes to me. I cannot post my entry and it mention "Sorry, your account is not allowed to post links". Have yours one solve as of todate?

$ 0.00
3 months ago

HI.I cannot post my entry. There is pop up mention ''Sorry, your account is not allowed to post links'' I have been trying it since few months or so now. Why? Please assist. I cannot even save as draft too. Its kind of frustrating you know. I saw that some other people are commenting the same too. Is anyone here know how to fix this? Pleasee.

$ 0.00
3 months ago

I want to add some links in my articles, but the system tells me that I'm not allowed to add links. I don't know if it's due to the inactivity of my account (I recently retok it after two years) or something else. Can you clarify me that doubt, please?

$ 0.00
6 months ago

why my account can't post articles can you help me

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I have a doubt, as I can justify a text?

$ 0.00
2 years ago

es muy bueno saber de cada una de las funciones para poder publicar, gracias por la explicacion

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Gracias por esta guía, soy nuevo en el canal, tengo fé en que tendré buena aceptación, haré mi mejor esfuerzo y ayudaré en lo posible. Saludos

$ 0.00
1 year ago

This is valuable information. I was looking for #howto make a table layout. I know this from MarkDown

Header Row
First Row
Second Row

But it doesn't look to work in article preview. Looking forward to some feature like this.

PS. Oh, looks like it somehow works in comments. So lets add it into a code block here for others to explore on it, too.

|Header |Row |
|---|---|
|First |Row |
|Second |Row |

PPS. Ok, so as you can see in the article I put a link hereafter, the table is not working for articles. https://read.cash/@anli/spiele-slang-glossar-games-abbreviations-glossary-0f4cb98a

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Thank you

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I love you read cash

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Do you have plans to enable markdown mode?

$ 0.00
3 years ago

¡Buenas, tardes! Como sabrás soy nuevo en esta plataforma y estaba tratando de escribir un artículo completo y el editor no me deja escribir, se me regresa el cursor y me cambia las palabras, es decir, https://read.cash/write no me deja escribir libremente, ni siquiera el título del artículo. ¿Qué debo hacer?

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Hi there, I just published a second article. I still don't know how to classify article so it shows up under specific topic? Is there a way to do it?

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I came here to learn how to add pictures and videos and got rick rolled

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Fantastic! Good thing I read this because I thought what I used at another site would not apply here. hehe. Now it will make writing easier. Maybe add something on resizing the photos too? Otherwise I will just manually change the photo size. :) And also how to do sub and sup text? Tried using code block but it doesn't change from being a code block. Oh well.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Quiero escribir y publicar artículos en español pero el título se convierte a idioma inglés a pesar que elijo el idioma español. Pienso que hay algo que no estoy haciendo bien. Podrían orientarme sobre qué hacer para que lo que escriba se mantenga en idioma español?

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hola @CCEscritora, quizás tenés el traductor a inglés puesto. No sé si el de read.cash (el logo del mundo) o el del navegador u otro. Ojalá te sirva de algo esto tan poco claro que estoy diciendo. Saludos.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thanks for the guidance, I always thought how some articles were written with all these edits now I know. I always look back to this whenever I am having a hard time editing my article.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

this is awesome, i never knew about this functions before

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Thanks my friend 🤗

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I'm a newbie and this has been very helpful, thank you!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Muchas gracias por explicar los pasos a seguir para los principiantes de ésta página, me sirvió mucho, gané conocimientos y claridad al escribir un artículo y subir la imagen.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Very much helpful especially to newbies, glad we have this here. So much helpful

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Gracias por la ayuda

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Why i can not like any article it shows error

$ 0.00
2 years ago

thank you so much. im a new member here. it helps me alot to understand the platform

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thank you for guiding me😊

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Good information 👍 I really appreciate

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I saw the tools but for the love of god I have never tried them because I didn't think they were that useful, in my next article I will try to use them more to make my articles even better. I am always learning something new when it comes to read cash and noise cash. Just when you thought you had mastered both websites something that you never looked at before appears. Thanks for sharing.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Nice

$ 0.00
3 years ago

thank you so much for the guidelines its really helpful. i hope more tips here in site

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I got some ideas.Thanks😊

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hi, may I know how to justify the text? Thanks in advance.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

My draft was saved MULTIPLE times while writing it. Post almost finished, I DEFINITELY saved the draft and then I clicked out and took a break. 20 minutes later, I came back to find my draft had completely disappeared. Should not an earlier version still be around in My Articles since I saved multiple times?

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Wow thank u for sharing This article

$ 0.00
3 years ago

thank you

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Thisis awesome, but im looking for how to get sponsors onto articles

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Thank you

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Nice.....

$ 0.00
3 years ago

how do i publish the same article to multiple communities?

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Indeed you are a genius, wish to be like you one day. Well explained and you have juct made editing easier

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Omg. I am a newbie and this is a really big help. ❤️

$ 0.00
3 years ago

NOW I understand thanks to this piece of information I found what I need most

$ 0.00
3 years ago

good subscribe to subscribe

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Thanks

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Life of

$ 0.00
3 years ago

thanks, I need this!

$ 0.00
User's avatar ffp
3 years ago

Thank You oga

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Is there a way to put an extra space between characters?

$ 0.00
3 years ago

@read cash...good review

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Thank you😊

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Like my artical

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Nice article. This is very helpful to me

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I'm So Addicted To You, Your Smile Your, Laugh, Your Yelling, Your Talks, Your Crying, Your Care Your Love Is My Drug, if I Would Have Got You, Its Like A Dream Come True. Love You.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Nice one it help me in posting articles or short posts in everyday in this read.cash site I learn a lot

$ 0.00
3 years ago

How can i post my one article to multiple communities. My same article that i have posted on "my article" then i try to post it multiple communities but it does not let me post.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Thanks for this informative article. It answered the questions in my mind.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Of course this article helped me a lot Which things were much awkward for us Now almost a are cleared

$ 0.00
3 years ago

would it be possible to add a ref point to an article so if they click on a piece of text it would jump to a specific section?

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Wow nice bro

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Would you consider bestowing the same editing capabilities for writing comments?

$ 0.00
4 years ago

It's pretty hard from a technology point of view. We might add some capabilities to the comments editor, but definitely not all. The editor is pretty complex and hard to maintain already, we don't want to maintain TWO editors. And there's no easy way to use the same editor in two places.

$ 0.00
4 years ago

At least I can see that using the shortcuts for bold, italics, and inline code, still works on comments. And the > for quoting as well as the code block works too. Pretty good for the moment being!

What's the code to underline? Any shortcuts to insert images? Or at least to link out to imgur?

$ 0.00
4 years ago

Basically, all of this should work: https://github.com/adam-p/markdown-here/wiki/Markdown-Cheatsheet

I don't think there's a way to underline in Markdown

Images: ![](https://github.com/adam-p/markdown-here/raw/master/src/common/images/icon48.png )

Though I don't think it's a great idea to insert images into comments :) A link is preferable.

$ 0.00
4 years ago

The ability to import markdown would be great as I write in markdown editors, as do many serious writers. Love the site tho!

$ 0.00
4 years ago

Many of the markdown shortcuts are supported by the editor, like #, ##, ###, **, ``, hte only thing you need to do by hand is the linking. We can't allow custom<html>` in Markdown anyway, as it's a security disaster, considering we host the user wallet.

Though I don't understand the use-case. Why would somebody write a read.cash post somewhere in Markdown editor?

$ 0.00
4 years ago

This comment appears not be translating markdown code like #

hello

$ 0.00
4 years ago

I copy-paste raw markdown into the editor here and it is not recognized. Not headings or lists at least.

Why would I write a read.cash post in a markdown editor? I write everything in markdown editors. How else would I write? Many of the most popular writing apps for Mac for example are markdown editors, such as Ulysses and IAWriter.

BTW the ability to embed tweets might be fun at some point.

Thanks for all your hard work on read.cash. It is really impressive what you are doing here.

$ 0.00
4 years ago

BTW the ability to embed tweets might be fun at some point.

Yeah.. We've tried it a bunch of times, the problem is that mostly everybody except Twitter do it using <iframe> tag, only Twitter has a bunch of markup that doesn't really help. So it's definitely on our minds, but it's definitely not easy :(

$ 0.00
4 years ago

Yeah, pasting it doesn't work, but there's not much that we can do about it. It's deep inside the open source editor that we use http://tiptap.scrumpy.com/, however typing in Markdown definitely works as you can see in the first (headings) gif.

If your editor has a preview feature - you might try copy-pasting the formatted text (the result, with big headings, etc...) - that might work.

$ 0.00
4 years ago

Maybe I will try exporting to MS Word format and copying that.

$ 0.00
4 years ago

Hi, this is a great educational article explaining how to use the read.cash editor.
My question is whether or not there is functionality to add links to our social media accounts, like Twitter?

$ 0.00
3 years ago

how to get my text Right-To-Left , I'm also writing in Arabic ??

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I don't think we support right-to-left languages yet, sorry. I'll add it to the list.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Thanks.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

How do you access saved drafts?

$ 0.00
4 years ago

https://read.cash/@Richie (drafts are visible only to you)

The link is "Your articles" in the top-right dropdown menu.

$ 0.00
4 years ago

@Read.Cash Hello It is very well simple and easy to use it is better, I would just like a command for a justified margin of the text. Thanks for the work.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

How do I add an iframe in my post? Does that stuff work or you block it because of XSS etc attacks?

$ 0.00
3 years ago

With the exception of YouTube, Vimeo, LBRY, etc... we don't allow any iframes. They shouldn't be able to break out of the iframe and steal the seed, but who knows. If you need an integration with some well-known service that embeds itself via iframes - you can just tell us the service name.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

https://read.cash/@potta/embedenable-donate-bch-button-bceef8ed Do it only if you think it will help the world at large. But maybe stuff from the BCH ecosystem is safe to embed?

$ 0.00
3 years ago

If BCH should teach the world something that would be never trust anything :) Of course it wouldn't make sense to trust, because today this site is owned by one guy, in a week he notices that this site gets him nothing, so he sells it or drops it and then suddenly you rely on someone else. Or maybe that guy says something like "hey, I'm not making anything with this, but if I use this code that steals money from read.cash users - I can make $100,000" so he does it, since nobody even knows who he is... and then he can always claim he was hacked and it wasn't his code anyway ;)

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Got it. Totally onboard with the whole trustless thing extended to applications and ecosystems as well! Not only should your cash be trustless but also your applications. Makes sense!

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I mean I don’t really need it but I was hoping to get a donatebutton widget going in all my posts. Thought that would look cool.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Thank you very much for clarifying few viewpoints and teaching them here. I guess I can understand the site better now

$ 0.00
3 years ago

sorry to keep bothering, I received a notice saying that the following article is not approved...again...I have edited it accordingly, can you please check to make sure it can be shown on your site? Thanks.

https://read.cash/edit/8a974957

$ 0.00
4 years ago

Once the article deemed Non-OC - it's not possible to edit it to become OC, so, create a new article, and just copy all the content to the new article. If you need to quote some sources without triggering Copy-Paste detection - paste the quoted part into the "block quote" inside the article.

$ 0.00
4 years ago

oh ok, thanks for the heads up, but i'd like to know if people can still see my article on main page even it deemed as non original article? it's ok to defined it as non original if people can still see my post

$ 0.00
4 years ago

No, it's not shown on main page or in sections. Only on your personal page on read.cash

$ 0.00
4 years ago

oops, thank you for the reminder, i just made another post for this, thanks.

$ 0.00
4 years ago

This is a very big help. I can remember using markdowns when we have to make changes on our knowledgebase system at work. Though I can only remember some. Just a suggestion you can try adding a Preview option too. Thanks read.cash.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

The editor is What-You-See-Is-What-You-Get - the editor IS the preview :) Markdown is only used optionally for shortcuts, like press # then space to start a heading, but it's not necessary - there are buttons like in Word or any other editor.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Oh that's cool. Indeed. I just discovered these editor help today. I'm positive it will help a lot to make my content more interesting to read. Thanks read.cash!

$ 0.00
3 years ago

This was very helpful, however, I want to know how to add the "topics" for my article. I do not know if those realistic automatic or need to be added manually but so far, I have seen many people have various topics included in their articles. It would be very helpful if you can clear my confusion. Thank you and God bless.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Topics are deprecated. Use "Add communities"

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Hello. I am new to Read.Cash. I am having difficulty uploading some of my photos and many of them are coming up with this error message 'Request failed with status code 500'. Can anyone explain or help me with issue. Some of my photos have uploaded no problem but many came up with this error message. Cheers. Sam

$ 0.00
3 years ago

It's probably because the image is too big. If you still have problems please email hello@read.cash with an example image.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Thanksssss

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Thank you for the information I got it

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Gracias 🤗

$ 0.00
3 years ago

thanks so much

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Thank you very much

$ 0.00
3 years ago

May I ask how can I publish one article and then send it to multiple communities?

$ 0.00
3 years ago

The editor is pretty simple and tries to get out of your way as much as possible. But, don't let the simplicity fool you - it allows you to do a lot.

or just how to link your article to a community ?

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Thanks so much for explaining all

$ 0.00
3 years ago

My article recently post lost its content. How can I retrieve it? Please help me.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

This post is very helpful to platform newcomers! Thanks you. I just have two question to asks. How many images are allowed to add in an article. Can creators put tables with clickable buttons in an article?

$ 0.00
3 years ago