Relationship Is No Joke

81 110
Avatar for Princessbusayo
2 years ago

Image from Milan Popovic

So, we only have just a day to a new year. I am really excited entering into the new season with different perspective and I am sure you are too?

Yesterday was another tiring day for me that I just had to continue multitasking to meet up my plans. Thank God for my system, My phone wouldn´t have been able to go that far, because as I was busy on my system reading articles on read.cash, I was using my phone to make a post on Hive as I didn´t want to miss posting my pictures for the Wednesday Challenge. I was able to do everything I planned doing last night, then I watched an interesting movie titled "fine wine".


I read @Olasquare post about relationship stuff yesterday and that reminded me of something I was shocked with which has to do with marriage. Seeing the way everyone is going into marriage these days is just too much that I am like "is marriage that easy?" But what some people do not understand is that wedding is different from marriage which both terms are far from each other. People want to experience wedding but forget the big event ahead which is marriage and that is the big deal, forever, "till death do us part" saying.

 I have a friend who has a friend which I know very well. This lady clocked 25 this month and just finished her NCE and do not even have plans furthering because when I asked her, she said she won´t further, that NCE is enough for her. I bet you, finding a teaching Job with an NCE certificate is just like being tipped a penny as salary, whereas, I can still say degree holders are receiving something.

 According to my friend, she doesn´t have any savings and would be getting married by February. This lady has never taken her time to know where her boyfriend stays in Lagos. To make it surprising, she didn´t do an introduction and she wants to get married. Will she just be introducing her boyfriend to the family on that day? I still do not get the whole thing. Is marriage that easy and difficult to venture into? You do not know your man and you want to get married. You didn´t define your relationship, and you are already talking about marriage. What is taking her in such an hurry?

How does she plan surviving especially in Lagos? For God´s sake, why are young girls not understanding this word? As a matter of fact, this lady just went to school but still cannot operate an android phone not to talk of expressing herself in English. If you cannot define your relationship now, it would be too late entering into marriage. You don´t have anything, will you depend on him? Your qualification isn´t favoring and there is still time to work on this relationship.

I tried talking to my friend to talk to her because they both flow well but she said she cannot so she doesn´t get embarrassed. Yes, I know this lady to be naive and would pick offence at anything. A reason she never wanted anyone to advice her. I laughed when she mentioned that they would give her part of the rice her husband brings as bride price. Can you imagine? A guy who collects such is a fool, sorry to say. Your husband brought in bride price for the family, and you expect part of it should be shared for you. LOL


I remembered when I was finishing my NCE years back, my friend told me the next thing is for me to start preparing and planning for marriage, even if it is not now. She said any money I have as extra, I should start getting things for marriage, which I love the idea. There is need to plan for anything you want in life. Make plans so you don´t have to regret or cry about it later.

Relationship is  two people´s thing and not one depending on another because if it happens, there won´t be respect or one valuing another. You both should bring something to the table. With this, your union would last long. It will get to a point one would get tired and this is one of the reasons breakups happen. When you do not understand yourselves, when you do not define your purpose in the relationship, where what you both are meant for is “bedmatics” as Ola calls it, the relationship will not last. To avoid this from happening, you need to plan ahead for it. Relationship is not a child´s play, it is meant for the ones who understands the techniques in it just as I commented on Gozie´s article.

Thanks for Reading.

|December 30, 2021|

 

 

 

 

 

41
$ 9.99
$ 9.11 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.10 from @Olasquare
$ 0.06 from @gertu13
+ 22
Sponsors of Princessbusayo
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Princessbusayo
2 years ago

Comments

Money talks good article

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I pity that lady princess, as she missed to enjoyment of freedom as well as spending on anytime she wants from the money she earns. I was thinking what she gonna do after marriage? Will depend on his husband on financial aspect? That's quite hard.🤦‍♀️🤦‍♀️

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Happy New Year My friend! More blessings for you in 2022.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Many girls these days find it difficult to understand what marriage truly means. After the jump in and see how hard it is to get married at an early age without having any skills or hard work. When they understand, they try to jump out, but it will be late already.

I won't blame them because most of them wear brought up in the ghetto.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Your friend is being misled and it's disappointing that even her family member can't speak sense into her. She has no savings, nothing and her only contribution to this marriage would be bedmatics. She thinks that's all a man needs? He can get that for free from some willing friends or even pay to have it.

I am always annoyed when ladies think the only thing they can bring to the table is bedmatics and raising children. Such a person is underestimating her worth because women are capable of so much more. She shouldn't be surprised when the guy sees no value that she brings and starts treating her anyhow.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

You are right. Everything she has in mind is marriage even when we are in the middle of something. I still cannot believe she has no savings but soon, her eyes would be opened. Thank you

$ 0.00
2 years ago

That your friend is something else sha, how will you get married to someone you don't even know much about? That's how most people end up regretting years later, "I didn't know he behaves this way before I married him", how will you know when you barely know him? I hope she realizes early that she's making a life changing mistake

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Marriage isn't a joke at all. Money is very important in it. Person mustn't go into it with an empty pocket. Thanks for the article

$ 0.02
2 years ago

I appreciate you for reading too.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Actually sis, there are two sides to a coin.. The plan might be to have her introduction and engagement on the same day(it happens) and also since you said she's 25 already, going for degreeis another 4 years, which means she'd be 29 by the time she graduates or even 30 with asuu strike. Nysc is there too.

She might have her reasons, but if she really wants to go into marriage unprepared, I pray she doesn't rush out the same way she rushed in.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Really? I haven´t seen where introduction is done with engagement. I only know of engagement and marriage the same day. To me, age doesn´t define marriage, it is how prepared you are.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Of course, age does not define marriage, maturity and readiness does. I've seen it once. Some family might decide to cut cost. They would just have a mini meeting before the engagement begins proper, where they would introduce each other.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Different people with Different thinking but most people think after a girl attain some certain degree the next thing is marriage and for me, it sounds annoying

$ 0.02
2 years ago

So annoying, unless the girl is ready for it completely.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

That's it

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I truly agree to you princess. Relationship is not a child thing. It may take seriously. You should plan for it. The most important both of you have a mutual understanding for all the things you've face.

Marriage must be plan carefully. It's not that easy. It must be given an attention and before you enter with this kind of thing you must have an active mindset. Do a realizations. It must have a good preparations. You should be ready. You should know the responsibilities.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Perfect! Thank you for the contribution. Relationship entails responsibilities.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thank you princess for appreciating my comment. You're always welcome princess.🥰

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Sister I agree with your views both partner should be independent it will make strong to their bond of relationship. But most of the people does not follow this thing and becomes burden for their partner and also face relationship problems. After reading your article in my year 2022 goals being independent and planning married has been added

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Yea, being independent will save someone and not been seen as a liability anywhere. Great that you will include them in your list for next year.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Relationship is something that should be taken very seriously and shouldn't be taken as a joke or a means of passing time and having fun. As for me, relationship isn't for me, at least for now.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

We need to be prepared for it so we don´t regret later. Thanks.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Lolz of people today see marriage as peanut, they don't know that there is more to life after the party.

It doesn't end with the celebration, it has to do with what life would look like after the wedding. What value will you add to the union? Am I ready for this? How do help me spouse?

All these must be considered.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

These are questions to prepare and until you have the right answers to them, you can´t enter into marriage. Thank you

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You have the right idea about relationships my friend... It's for two people and they both have roles to play...

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Thank you my friend.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I'm telling you, it's no joke for real... We need to be careful before jumping into marriages or relationships

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Wahala be pending for that friend of a friend

$ 0.02
2 years ago

I cannot imagine having to introduce your partner at the wedding! I mean before you marry someone he should already be part of the family and know everyone!

$ 0.02
2 years ago

That is my concern. Who does that though? 😂

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Many young girls get married after their SSCE now days not even thinking what they are going to offer to the children if the man die ( GOD FORBID) but mostly some girls don’t think wisely. They just jump into relationships and get married then born children that’s what they think about.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

And to think of it, they are the types that gives birth to children without proper planning.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Absolutely!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Believe me sis,The only reason why she is rushing into marriage is because " all of friends are already married". We all know the dire consequences of such mindset in the nearest future. Just wish her good luck, shikena!

$ 0.02
2 years ago

You are very right! She once asked me what was I waiting for when she saw my friends and mates getting married. You would have known such person is moved by peer pressure.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Very true that wedding and marriage are two extremes. Relationships should be valued. Respect each other for a long lasting relationship.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

That's why I don't want to get married that easy, like hellooo we are talking about life time relationship and once in a life time ceremony/occasion. Better to do it on the right man and right time, the one that you really love. I've seen a video about a girl crying because of force marriage, it really broke my heart.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

It´s better to do it with the right person, I love that word. Thank you so much.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

My dear, you have reasoned well and my advice to you all younger girls is to always open your eyes very wide well in order to know who you want to be in a relationship with

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Thank you ma!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Marriage can't just be rushed into.

You need to have built your relationship with someone one, not just any body but someone you love. Even the person will still have some flaws but you would know and also know how to cope with that person.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

You are right. Thanks for showing up.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Smiles.. I was just smiling as I was going through he article, relationship is between the guy and the lady sure, but most time ladies then to take thing too serious, the way I reason relationship might be different from yours, but I tend not to take it too serious after my best friend girlfriend left him in school for holiday just for him to see her introduction picture on Facebook, I told my girlfriend about it and she said probably the new guy was better than my friend, that reply really hurt me, we had a very long argument that night. But all well and good. Also I would never take anything I brought for bride price back to my house.. Not our family style

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Lol, your girlfriend might think that way but it might also be another reason she left him though. A guy in his right sense will not accept something he already gave the bride´s family back. Thank you for your contribution.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

You're welcome princess

$ 0.00
2 years ago

This makes sense. Relationship is not a joke. Yes. And Marriage is not a race. I believe love is not enough, and I guess this is the reason why I am not open for romantic relationships right now. It's like I couldn't just expect a relationship would work well by just telling my partner how much I love him. So as to marriage. I was quite baffled as knowing someone wants to marry a partner whom she barely known. On the other side, I couldn't just judge their decision though. It's their relationship, not mine. Finally, I guess we love the idea of a wedding. But do we truly understand what it means to be married? Before getting married, I think there are a lot to consider. Partners must discuss bills, financial resources, parenting style, relationship with in-laws, career, partner and sexual expectations, properties, and other topics. Love alone won't make marriage work well.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

God bless you for this wonderful contribution. You have said everything we need to know about marriage and relationship.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I want to marry without savings, it will lead to breakfast asap. No body should go into marriage with empty pocket. Well, I don't know much about it but I know that money is important.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Sure, money is important to prepare because you can´t enter marriage empty. How do you then survive?

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Just few ladies on Earth are understanding this "getting to marry" of a thing. To some they see it as a bus stop for striving so when they acquire any fainted paper called certificate either in school or a workshop they conclud that they're ready to go.... Also, peer pressure is still pushing some, once they see others getting married they quicken their brain factory to rush into it, without considering some basics in life. May God help us

$ 0.02
2 years ago

May God indeed help us. I can never allow peer pressure to push me into something I know I am not ready for. I hope they learn too.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

For a beautiful life we need to a beautiful Relationship. Relationship is a important thing. Relationship Is Not a Joke dear. I believe it.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

That is it! Thank you for stopping by.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You said the truth, but I think advising someone who is naive is a whole lot of work. Besides, I don’t know why adults still feel marriage is still like the ones in the olden days, why would you want to believe your life will be better in marriage. We need to create awareness for the youths. Marriage is not as rosy as what we see in the media today.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Exactly. As a matter of fact, I think marriage has been talked out but many people aren´t ready to listen and take necessary steps.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I believe that relationship gives an insight about marriage. Marriage is the product of relationship in a way. Relationship is never a joke. Thanks

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Thank you for your feedback on this.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Marriage is not a joking matter and something we should rush into. This is because when you rush into marriage, you will run out with immediate effect. It is not a child's play and no one has the power to joke with it except love.

Being in a relationship means studying each other which is the does and don't. This lady that wants to get married must have plans for her marriage I guess because it it not easy to venture into marriage. Although, I did traditional marriage and did spent a lot of money. I did not receive any help from anyone instead spent my money.

Since she is receiving just meagre, she may have plans for her marriage.

Marriage is all about understanding each other to the fullest.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Marriage takes plan though and one mustn´t just go into it thinking things would work itself out. Thank you.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I agree with you, Marriage is not a matter of day, so this decision should be taken carefully. Amazed to hear about that he would brought rice to the bride's price.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Yes, raw rice will be included in things to bring to the bride´s family. Thank you

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Of a truth, a genuine relationship is not a joke not to talk of marriage...

People often desire to experience their wedding day or ceremony, forgetting the subject called marriage... Hmm. Ok ooh... I tell some. I feel they are carried away by the fantastic, luxury of the ceremony, people compliments, items of clothing, wedding snapshots, event decorations, special numbers for the couples, entrance dance, bridal shower, bachelor night and many more...

All these above has blinded many to see the content in marriage; like commitment, affection, trust, provision, parenting, protection, shelter, patience, honesty, long-suffering, relations, finances, among many other. These are long time involvement and if one is not ready to engage these virtues such is not ready for marriage...

I advise those who want to get married next year including me such invest more in these virtues above rather than wedding plans and arrangements... However, I wish every soon to be couples congratulations in advance and Happ New Year to all...

Peace ✌️

OkanlaDavid

$ 0.03
2 years ago

You have said it all and I am glad you read through and left this beautiful comment. Amen to them. Thank you

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I feel like I just wrote similar thing to this as well 😅😅 and we both just have the same feeling… relationships should be taken seriously, those words are true, you can’t say because you finished a certain journey in life requires you to get married just like that… it takes the right thinking and a matured mind to fully understand what it takes to be in one…

Besides bedmatics boy oh boy 😅😅

$ 0.02
2 years ago

And the truth is that, only ladies mostly think of it that way.. I don't know how you will say after school you want to get married next 😫😫😫

$ 0.00
2 years ago

😂 Yes, you wrote something similar yesterday. Relationship should be handled with care and wisdom and not anyhow person going into it. Bedmatics means sexual activity. Lol

$ 0.00
2 years ago

When a man dates a woman, it's goal must to marry that person. It shouldn't stay in dating mode co'z we all know that being in relationship is way too hard than we imagine and marriage as well is no longer a joke.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

I am perplexed as to how this friend of a friend wants to marry in February and she barely knows who she wants to marry. Maybe there is more to it than she's saying. Because I can't believe anyone would do that in this time and age

$ 0.02
2 years ago

I can´t believe that too, Perhaps, she may have her plans secretly but if not, then she is deceiving herself.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I guess that's no real relationship and i'm afraid, it may hit the rock. How could she not devote her time to knowing where her boy friend stays in lagos and yet, she could be thinking of herself as one who is in a relationship huh?

$ 0.02
2 years ago

I am surprised too. Why would a lady not know where her boyfriend stays and thinking she wants to get married.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

As the adage goes, it takes two to tango... So both should respect and value each other. Most especially, have a better and continuous harmonious communication.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Communication is important and should be taken serious in relationship.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

A true relationship is both people is in love 🤗

$ 0.01
2 years ago

I feel some people see marriage as a status symbol, like graduating from school early, but they're easily fooled by the glitz and glamour of social media couples that they don't take the time to understand what marriage is about.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Social media is fooling many people but only the wise would not fall for it.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes, exactly

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I hope she really doesn't regret her marriage later on in life. I want to wish her well but considering all what I can deduce right now, things are bound to get Rocky and stormy, I hope she sails through unscathed.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

I hope so too for her.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Marriage is not that easy, Just like my two close friends that now is in marriage and have kids already. Both of them said to me that I must not hurry in marrying coz they already experienced it and they said that it is difficult to raise a child w/o enough money. Hihi

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Can you see? We shouldn´t rush into marriage because we will not be happy with the outcome.

$ 0.00
2 years ago