My interview at a private school

66 79
Avatar for Princessbusayo
2 years ago

"Life is one big road with lots of signs. So when you riding through the ruts, don't complicate your mind. Flee from hate, mischief and jealousy. Don't bury your thoughts, put your vision to reality. Wake Up and Live!"

Bob Marley

I saw an advert on my school WhatsApp group last month, a school was in need of a teacher, and so I thought it would be worth it, as I don't want to be staying at home after school. On the other hand, I asked myself “will they pay my money?” because teachers aren't paid well enough except some private schools, but they will make sure to use you and work the hell out of you with such an amount of money. 

I decided to chat with the person that sent the message up, and he gave me a number to call stating my request, which I did immediately that night. A woman picked it and I explained myself, and how I got to know about the school. She told me to write an application letter and submit it next Monday. I immediately brought out my Curriculum Vitae and added new things into it, wrote my application letter and was ready to visit the school. 

The next Monday, I got dressed, took a bike and the journey started. I was charged half a dollar and it surprised me how far the school is from my house. Is this how I will be going to the school daily with a  dollar to and fro? How much should I charge them? I began to ask myself questions until we got to the school. 

The gateman opened the door while I entered. The school was having its Cultural day when I went to submit the letter and I was told they will call me soon. As I was going, my mind completely went off the school. I wasn't interested anymore because seeing the school, pupils were not much and they wouldn't want to pay me much. 

I decided to stay at home while I work on my system with platforms I am into. I kept hoping the school would not get back to me because I am no longer interested. 


While I was busy working on my phone last Friday, I was called from the school to come for an interview on Tuesday, the next week. I dropped the call and one part of me was happy, while the other was sad. I eventually prayed to God for His will to be done, In fact, I know God will be like “You don't need this Job, I can see it on your face”. That is the truth, but I just had to go, at least it would be my first interview and to see how it would be done. 

I wasn't even afraid of it because I know it´s human that would conduct the questions. It was on Tuesday, a few days ago. I ironed my best shirt with my black skirt, did a little make up and left the house at 7:30am while I was supposed to be in the school by 8am. 

Thank God I got a bike immediately at the school gate and the speed was bearable for me. I got to the school at 7:55am and was told to sit in a class for a while. 

I began pressing my phone, while I was looking at the exercises written on the chalkboard. After an hour, a guy also came to join me, as I guess he was also there for the interview. 

In fact, my patience was tested there I think, because the interview didn't start until 9:45am when the owner of the school arrived. 

I kept observing the school premises and was also shocked to see only one girl in Primary four. There weren't many pupils but there were many teachers. I wonder how much they are paid. 

When the interview started, I was the first to be called, and I went to the Headmistress´s office and she started. 

Seriously, those questions caught me unaware and I wasn't prepared for such. 

Questions like;

What is the latest news in the world right now?

Trust me, I mentioned the war between Russia and Ukraine 😂

What are your views in the ongoing war and do you think what Putin did was the best?

I kept looking at the woman with surprise because I am not someone who has interest in politics or news like that. I was speechless at the time, but I spoke eventually. I said Putin has gone to the extreme of punishing the innocents by killing them instead of both leaders should come to a conclusion and stop the war. What do you expect someone like me to say? End the war of course 😆


Then the next thing was asking the name of my Church and asking if I attended the camp program at RCCG. I was asked what happened in the camp, to which I said the general overseer celebrated his 80th birthday. 

Some other questions about education which I answered too plus asking me to sing two rhymes. Lol

They asked what work I am doing presently, and I told them about blogging. 

Are you paid for it?

I said yes. 

“So why don't you sit and collect your dollar instead of getting naira from us”

I love teaching, that was my response. 

Ï was asked why I didn't go back to the previous school where I taught. I explained to them the reasons and why I wouldn't be going back to the state, but staying in my present state before I would be posted for my NYSC. 

Okay, we will get back to you again. In my mind, I said “don´t get back to me because I am not interested.” I left there and went home. 

I thought I would be nervous at first, but it surprised me that I kept answering the questions with boldness and my legs, voice and hands weren't shaken as it always does when I am on stage. 

I still do not want the Job because if I get it, I might not be able to focus more, even though I would feel like I can, but the stress would be too much on me. I prefer staying at home and working before I am posted for my service. Besides, I need to relax from the stress I had being a student then and I don't want anything to disturb me. 

Do you think it's a wise decision? Having platforms like Hive, Readcash and Blurt are enough for me now until later when I finish my service, would I think of getting employed. 

Thanks for reading

Image credit by Christina

[March 10, 2022] (No 69 article for the year)

29
$ 11.49
$ 10.85 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @Ruffa
$ 0.05 from @Amjad_Ali_Waince
+ 15
Sponsors of Princessbusayo
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Princessbusayo
2 years ago

Comments

Lol hope it a standard wey go fit pay you $500 monthly abi na the one wey go pay $10. Anyway if you have passion for teaching you won't mind the payment.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Hehehe! What if I am paid $10 with my passion? I still won't go for it because you need to consider expenses and transportation too.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

This thing happens to me often, as a graduate looking for job, I'd just be applying and to see if I'd get called via the checks on my CV, and yeah they call but I often decline because I knew the standard of engagement and payment. While some I attend the interview and it'll turn to normal raport. Once I left, I'd black my mind not to go incase I'm called for employment.

But, all those questions are somehow off during interview. I wonder who initiated the method of asking rubbish during interview

$ 0.01
2 years ago

😆😆😆 Friend, I prefer blogging than this offline jobs oo. Also, you are your own boss when you work from home and no one would stress you at all. At least if one has to get a paying job, the pay should be worth it.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yeah, that's true. Full time blogging is better but people would be thinking you're a Yahoo 🤪

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Gosh, if that's me I think I'll sweat myself real bad. Specially to me who doesn't like to talk that much. I Need to practice more talking for a job interview gosh. I think I will need a Princess power for this 🙈

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Hahahaha! You can if you decide to have the power. I believe that those people interviewing are also human 😆

$ 0.00
2 years ago

As a teacher myself I guess despite the bad pay we do it because we want to teach kids. But if something gives you a bad feeling, don't work there haha. Though it is nice to get a good pay, we teachers are used to working hard for not that much, I guess that is just the way it is. I still wouldn't want to have a different job though!

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Yes, I love children but when my mind is not interested in a thing, I quickly reverse so I wouldn't affect the kids in a wrong way.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Honestly I wasn't expecting your interview turns out like that. I mean, I was expecting that the questions would be like "Why did you chose this school?" and more on school and teaching related stuff haha. I think it's just irrelevant for the job that you will be taking. But you still nailed it off princess, as expected from you awesome girl! I'm pretty sure you'll get the job, even though you're no longer interested 😂

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Hahahaha, 😆😆 Okay. Let me expect their calls then and if not, I should stay on my lane.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You write with ease. You are so talented. You may take the job so that you keep yourself busy. But you are smarter than the job. How I wish you get better one , though you tend to humble yourself by sitting to be interviewed , notwithstanding the best is yet to come. Keep it up.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Yea, I believe the best is on its way and God's plan is great. Thank you for this.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It’s normal most schools doesn’t pay teachers much due to their situations or so. Bit of you really wants to keeep you self busy while you’re not in school I think you should accept their proposal and bargain the time you will you. I can understand that you’re go to a very good teacher.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Alright, perhaps will keep thinking about it and expect their call. Thank you

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Lol. If you're passionate about teaching, then I don't see any reason why you shouldn't take a job too irrespective of your engagements so long as the stress level doesn't overwhelm you.. but believe me dear, teaching in a private school especially the type you just mentioned could be very unpleasant and you might not even have enough time for other aspects of your life.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

That is it. One thing about such school is that you will take all subjects and not one. I think I just need to focus on blogging for now, till when I finish my NYSC

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I suggest you should calculate the whole expenses and know if teaching will add profit to you at the end of everything, or if blogging is more profitable than teaching that is when you can determine the one to go for. I wouldn't advise people to take a job that is not profitable to them, and even if teaching job might be seeing as an attaching work anything that is unprofitable doesn't worth doing.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Yes, I did the calculation and it wouldn't be enough for me in a month. I still earn more through blogging. Thanks for your feedback.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Lol😂😂😂 it's the questions for me Funny enough, what they would even offer is peanut I see the school is still growing There's no need accepting a job offer if you've lost interest

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Yea, I think it's growing too and I wouldn't want a thing I do not have interest in. Thank you

$ 0.00
2 years ago

If you find it uninteresting, then don't go for it. If you are unhappy and you are just forced with the job that you don't like, you will not be fruitful and you will not grow there.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Thank you for this. 👋

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Follow your heart. Whatever you think works best for you, then so be it. Don't pressure yourself. Well done on that interview!

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Thank you 😊

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I also have the same experience. Applied for a job and realized that it's not worth my effort since the salary is very small. Got interviewed but hoping to not be hire. Anyways, can you guide me with the blurt sis?

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Yes, here is the link.

https://blurt.blog/@princessbusayo

You will only register with little cent of dollar, probably $2 then you can start posting.

Also, blurt isn't like hive because when you upvote or comment, there is charges deducted from your account. Same applies to posting.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I would stutter if it was me that was asked, lol. And my heart would explode after the interview hahahah

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Hehe, I am still surprised how I didn't stutter 😁

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ha, what kind of questions are these for a teaching job lol. I know that feeling of trying something even if you don't want it. You may actually gain good experience there in preparation for NYSC. And I think you'll have time because you'll only be busy when you have a subject to teach and they close early (I believe)

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Did you say a subject? Remember it's a Primary school. I will teach all subjects and the lesson note would definitely be a stress for me. I prefer teaching in a secondary school though. Lol

$ 0.00
2 years ago

What an interview. Funny but mean

$ 0.01
2 years ago

😆

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Depending on what the pay entails, I've taught in a school before, it was a developing school so the pay was quite minimal, I did continue there, because of my love for children and teaching but I'll say this: "if it isn't pleasing to you, please don't bother yourself, if the pay isn't worth the stress and transport, don't sweat it" there should be other schools around, if at all you must teach.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Yea, I am okay with what I do for now and perhaps I might go into teaching once it's time especially after NYSC

$ 0.00
2 years ago

"So why don't you sit and collect your dollar instead of getting naira from us”, this is the part where I will quietly work out of the interview 😆 I won't even bother to go for the interview after seeing the state of the school, it looks like it's relatively a new school which means they are going to be having difficulties in paying you

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Exactly my point. Lol

I don't want them to start giving me stories at the end of the month. They believe when you are working online, you are paid much dollar 😂

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I like the zeal to get onto a job as soon as possible but I think you should do the maths and know if it's worth the stress and if it won't come between your online jobs. My humble advice.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Yes, I did this but the remaining money wouldn't be enough at all at the end of the month.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Its ok dear...

$ 0.00
2 years ago

The questions at interview was irrelevant and illogical. I vote for not to start the job due to lot of reasons. School is far away , low paying , stress & hectic. Stay with online media and feels the freedom.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Yea, I am okay with staying at home while I work rather than going such distance and having to stress myself. Thank you

$ 0.00
2 years ago

If you went there because of your passion for teaching take the job if they give you the offer, but if it's for the money, based on what you have said about the school I doubt if the pay will be good enough for you.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

I think the school is just coming up and I wouldn't want a situation where I would be owed my salary.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

My question is, if you get to service can you handle it? If yes, then it's okay if you teach but if not then maybe you need time to rest, just blogging is okay.

Most importantly follow what makes you happy❤️

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Sure, blogging is okay for now while I save it too for the future. Yea, during service, I will be posted to teach while government pays us salary.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It's the reason I admire you princess because of your confidence. I love it. You are always strong. You are always prepared. I can totally say you are pretty genius. 🥰 You nailed it princess. I was really shocked too about the questions. 😁

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Those questions are funny and caught unaware but thank God, I answered satisfactorily. Thank you for the compliment too ♥️♥️

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hehe yes princess. It's funny. 😊 I know you can do it princess. You're a genius. 😊 You're always welcome. ❤️

$ 0.00
2 years ago

That's one of the things having platforms like this does to someone. I've rejected some jobs simply because i know i can make more than that from blogging, any job offer i will accept must pay more than this.🤣

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Hehehe! You are right oo. I have enjoyed enough while blogging and so, I don't want shikini money 😂😂

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hi dear princessbusayo. It's difficult to grab an opportunity that you don't like. It will affect your performance even at the start of your work.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

You are right. I agree with you. This is why I don't want to take the job against my interest. Thank you

$ 0.00
2 years ago

That's a good decision my dear. You will not be happy in the workplace if you don't have love for you job.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I wonder why you pursue teaching then you always think about low wages, it's the same in our country teachers are not that paid well..

$ 0.01
2 years ago

I know teachers aren't paid well. I wasn't even looking into that really but the school is just coming up and I don't want a situation where I would end up spending the salary on transportation and I would be left with little that wouldn't help me cope.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

If your heart say NO then for it It's hard to work in an environment we don't like

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Definitely! When you aren't interested in something, do not force yourself.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

They have lots of teachers but with few pupils, hmm.... I'd love know how the rest goes.. however it your decision, only you and you alone knows what you want.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Thank you 😊

$ 0.00
2 years ago

This reminds me of my interview before when I apply for scholarship. I was like in a hot seat haha

$ 0.01
2 years ago

😁😁 Interview questions are always coming unaware.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

The stress of working as a teacher is much as there's many responsibility you would carry out,the noises from students alone is something else,I think looking for a stress-free job that is around you which you won't pay transport for it a good idea.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

You are right. I don't want to stress myself.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I was shocked when the interviewer tells you to sing a rhyme that's tough. Is seems your not interested with the teaching profession cause you anticipate that is has less wages. The same also here in our country privates school give enough salary .

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Yea, I wasn't interested because of the distance and how the school is with its pupil's population.

$ 0.00
2 years ago