Heartbreak Hotel.

68 124
Avatar for Olasquare
1 year ago

Image Source.

There are hotels and indeed there are hotels. There are motels that most people call hotels too. It's shocking that most people just want to go into the hospitality business without having any idea what being hospitable means. Being hospitable means you are vested in the well being of others. You want to make them as comfortable as possible as you can be. When people can't get value for what they are paying for, no matter how little it is, what's the point in it?

I've heard several stories of how horrible some hotels are. I've heard about terrible customer service too but this time around, I saw first-hand how people just go into business for the profit without caring about how it makes others feel. They are only after your money and nothing else matters.

It's not a bad thing if you have to wait to get your business running before you start. There shouldn't be any pressure to start it immediately when you are not fully equipped to. We always want to run that race where we can brag to people about having this or that and in this case, I am sure the owner of this hotel I want to talk about would be bragging to friends and family, "I am into the hotel business. I have a hotel now. You should come and visit sometimes" without knowing he was confidently saying nonsense.

When I travelled for the wedding over the weekend, most of the hotels I would have preferred were all booked. The few ones available were too pricey for the number of hours I needed them for. I knew they were standard and I had to respect myself because it's not their business if I am to sleep for 4 hours...I have to pay for the standard payment. I got to the hotel around midnight and I knew I would wake up by 7 am again to quickly go back to the groom so we can all dress up for the Church wedding.

I got to this hotel and the price was okay. It wasn't cheap but it wasn't too pricey either. I checked the room and noticed the AC was there which is good. I paid and moved my bag into the room with a few friends with me as well. We turned the AC on and noticed it wasn't working. We decided to put that fan to the highest at least but we noticed that one was blowing epileptic. We couldn't cry. We decided to shower and go to their lounge hoping we get anything cold to drink. I saw their Hollandia Yoghurt and I ordered it only to be told that they don't have cold drinks. They said that their fridges don't work.

Image Source.

They have electricity which was the only good thing about this hotel and a backup generator that still can't power up most things but can at least allow the ceiling fan to blow while powering up the lights too. I knew we were in trouble that day for choosing that hotel. I was super angry and I just kept to myself. My friends were complaining but I just resisted the urge to lash out in that anger. I ordered the Yoghurt and Lemon Five Alive drink like that.

One of my friends asked what they had in the kitchen and they said they only make noodles, nothing else. At this point, I just busted out in laughter and told him if he knows what's good for him he should let them be. He kept quiet and before we know it, someone from the kitchen came to tell him that the noodles would soon be done. We both gave him the look and in a few minutes, she came back again to tell us that the kitchen lady said she didn't know they are out of eggs and instead of making 2 noodles with eggs, to make up for it, she has added 2 extra noodles 🤣😂😂😂 to make it 4...for the same price.

I couldn't help but laugh out loud as I was playing my Mama Cat Game on Metamask. My friend rejected the food though and the kitchen lady walked past us, sulking. I was so disgusted that I finally asked one of them why they have terrible services there. She said they had complained about so many things to the management especially the ACs, lack of cold drinks, the poor state of the rooms and others but they refused to attend to their requests.

I further asked how long they have been in operation and she said the owner recently just leased the place and it all made sense to me the moment she said that. The owner recently leased the place and he didn't even bother about fixing the things to make it more appealing. The more appealing it looks the better profit he would make. It's a simple understanding... He is not willing to commit more funds to it and that's only normal that he cannot break even before his least is over. Anyone who wants to patronize them would always treat them as the order of last resort - when they have exhausted all possible options and there is no other choice, that's when they would patronize them. How can they break even when they have salaries to sort out?

A lot of people going into business need to understand that you have to invest money to get money. Someone mentioned on Twitter how much she paid on advertisements monthly even for her low scale business and she's seeing the rewards. If you are just into business to make money you will lose but when you satisfy your customers first, that money would come, if not double.

Thank you for your time.

My pen doesn't bleed, it speaks. I am love's chemical content in human form and that's why I advise people to take a dose of "Olawalium" daily. 🙈

Kindly follow me on Noise.Cash... I am trying to engage more with people and connect with everyone with this account. I look forward to seeing you there... You can say hello to me there so we can get familiarized as well. Click here.

30
$ 2.80
$ 2.10 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.06 from @Kushyzee
$ 0.06 from @Ellawrites
+ 17
Sponsors of Olasquare
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Olasquare
1 year ago

Comments

What I learnt is that one has to invest money to get money and business shouldn't just be treated as a source of income but customer satisfaction should be put in place.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

This hotel lacked that basic understanding.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

That is exactly most of the hotels are doing, there will not even fix up the place up to standard before opening the place for business, all they are fighting for is money first, they wouldn't care about their customers life. Most hotels their services are too poor, like if you were hungry and you want to eat immediately, you wouldn't have the food at the right time, instead you have to place order in advance.

$ 0.02
1 year ago

It's very sad and the sad thing is they won't be checked. They should be closed down till good services can return. It is a disaster.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

They wouldn't, instead of closing down, they will still open it up just to punish people.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Exactly 🤣🤣😂😂 just to punish people.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Lol, I'd love to laugh with you than stressing myself on thinking about their services lol. Better close it than received a lot of complains hahaha

$ 0.02
1 year ago

Hahahaha exactly...they should just close up.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

At least they have a cold drinks

$ 0.00
1 year ago

They didn't.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I was laughing hard as I read through this article 😂, that place doesn't deserve to be called a hotel, it's a circus 😂. Imagine having only noodles in their kitchen and no cold drinks, they should have just indicated that the hotel is for kids

$ 0.02
1 year ago

🤣🤣😂🤣🤣😂😂 even kids love cold drinks. They are a joke of a hotel. Very shameful.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

The least they can offer is cold drinks at least. What's a kitchen with only noodles and what's noodles without anything to go with. Really poor service though.

$ 0.02
1 year ago

Exactly. I wouldn't have complained if they have cold drinks at least. I would have just been okay and sleep...it was really terrible.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Lol, I'm sorry but this really got me cracked up, 😂 I kept laughing all through. "Blowing epileptic, ACs not working, no eggs and extra two noodles for a replacement, no cold drinks..." Haba, kilode😂

Okay, Ella calm your nerves 😂

I'm calm now, you're right Mr Ola, this was really funny but then I love the message you passed across, money needs to be spent to make money. The management should understand this soon enough else his business would end up getting wrecked as no customers would want to come back after the poor service they had; being their first time at the hotel.

$ 0.04
1 year ago

😂😂🤣🤣😂😂 I am glad you are calm now. That hot was hell. I don't know how they are still operating. They should just turn it into motels for knacks. What's the point?

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Omo.. These ones worst. No cold drinks? Really? Only them help you change your order, like seriously? Na wa

$ 0.02
1 year ago

Hahaha. I weak o. They changed the order, they have no cold drinks...only light 😂😂🤣😂 and weakly blowing fan.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

If na me, the person wey come tell me for chop cord for back of him neck

$ 0.00
1 year ago

😂😂🤣🤣😂😂 you won't even have the strength after such a busy day.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Lucky them then

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Hahaha exactly. Wicked people.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I don't know if I should laugh or not 😅 the ac was just there to beautify the place, most of these hotels with low customer service are mostly patronized by visitors, the people around there already know how it is that's they don't go there, just like one close to my work, they only put on their generator at night and off it in the morning 😅

$ 0.02
1 year ago

😂😂🤣🤣😂😂 what's the point of their gen? To create awareness hahaha. Na people wey wan bambam supposed dey attend there and in 3-4 hours they would be out.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Poor staff as well as they have to deal with complaints which are not their fault. The management, owner whoever just wants to make money without real service to serve not even what you can call a hotel. That's a Nightmare!

$ 0.03
1 year ago

It's a nightmare momma. A waste of time, effort and money. It's shameful.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

😂😂 my guy you suffered oh! What was all of that 🤣

$ 0.01
1 year ago

🤣🤣😂😂🤣 no be small.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

There's a saying that says pay before service, but when you paid you don't even see the services, That's remain me, two days ago my friend when to hotel and he booked the room and paid the room rate, unfortunately he discovered that they are not running 24hrs light supply after paying everything, so we have to be vigilant when we get to an hotel.

$ 0.02
1 year ago

That was what one of my friends that we got to the hot said, he told them they "scammed" us. 🤣😂😂🤣🤣

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Venturing into business on low budget gives some people happiness.,.not everyone is good in business,they should just sell the place and buy me cake and yoghurt with it ...what am craving now though 🥺🥺🥺 this sickness isn't for me😣😣😣

$ 0.03
1 year ago

😂😂🤣🤣😂😂🤣🤣 you are not nice at all.

Sickness? So sorry dear. Have you taken medications? How do you feel now?

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Taken all medication but still there, feeling better though after dropping off a huge sum of money..... getting sick now is a crime in Nigeria I swear😔😔😔😔... They should thank me for going for cake and yoghurt...baba dudu would better now sef but I don't take sweet....let them buy baba dudu and lick it to their satisfaction 😅😅

$ 0.00
1 year ago

🤣🤣😂😂 you are a clown. Buy Suya or eat Asun...when the pepper hits you differently, you must be fine.

I think the weather isn't helping too and most people are getting sick. Try and feel better please. Stay strong.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

😂😂😂indeed I am...swears you read my mind perfectly, I'll be taking myself to the beach also, the ocean seems to call on me...the weather is bad ooo... sure I will... thanks for your kind words

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Ah...don't let the ocean call you o...laise yemoja hahahaha. Just go and flex instead hahaha

$ 0.00
1 year ago

😅😅😅 it won't take me away but the smell of the sea is just calling out to me, it is not the first time don't worry, it calls like that when I'm sick🙃🙃🙃..I want to go and flex with yemoja

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Ah. Shey you will wear bikini? Let's go together o.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Na G string( a.k.a catapult pant) we de wear for Niger and cotton pant, aseju ni bikini...leave am for spongebob 😂😂😂

$ 0.00
1 year ago

🤣🤣😂😂😂🤣😂😂. You are a case. Yes, I call it catapult too.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Glad we both agree on a name for it.😂😂

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Hahahaha.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

That's an hell of an hotel. Thank God that the toilet was ok, if not that's when I for kill somebody

$ 0.02
1 year ago

Ah... I would have vexed and sleep inside the car instead. 😂😂

$ 0.00
1 year ago

In customer service, there are a lot of nightmare stories, and the hotel business no less! And what gets me every single time is the audacity of the operator of the hotel. That's why, as paying customers, we must always hold them to account. Thank goodness for sites like TripAdvisor and even social media where they are being held to account. It's good that you had a great sense of humor and were able to laugh through your recent experience. The nerve of the cook is beyond me, and then to suggest that she'd switch the menu up because she's out of a product and all for the same price. Like you, I'd have gone the yoghurt route, lol.

$ 0.04
1 year ago

Exactly... The nerve. I was shocked and angry. Had to just see the humour in all of it and let it go but I confronted them which was why they said they have also complained. Yoghurt was the safest thing there 🤣🤣😂😂. I would never go there again.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

In your first paragraph it seems we have the same perception about being hospital. It used the term hospital to accomodate people who need shelter and help. In our case staff didn't show their hospitality.

$ 0.02
1 year ago

It's terrible, my friend. Most people don't even know these basic things and they are getting the whole idea wrong.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

😂😂😂I couldn't hold my laughter anymore when I got to the noodles part. A kitchen that cooks only noodles wow...how nice. At least now that you know, you will never consider that hotel an option.

$ 0.02
1 year ago

😂😂🤣🤣😂😂 I would never make that mistake ever again 😂😂🤣. I will book other hotels in advance.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

You didn't take photos of the hotel though 😅.. At least, there weren't supernatural creatures there 🤣

$ 0.02
1 year ago

😂😂🤣🤣😂😂🤣🤣 too bad I didn't take pictures. I wish I did...🤣🤣😂

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I am currently working as a hotel staff, virtually and this one, uggh not a good one.

$ 0.02
1 year ago

Hahahaha I can imagine your disgust for the one I mentioned. Good service delivery is key.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I have bad experience of hotels in my country. Once I stay in hotel, manager demanded more fee and there was snowfall outside we were about stuck there and can't go outside. Some hotels provide services you mentioned. According to my experience 5 stars hotels are best option 😉.

$ 0.02
1 year ago

They are the best but costs a fortune. I would have gone for the expensive one if I got there earlier rather than the midnight I got there.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Having an hotel is actually rewarding, but the hotel management are not making it working efficiently, their business won't prosper that way, I think

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Exactly...poor management would make them lose more money than they can imagine.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

The hot business is actually bringing good money in a well civilized and developed environment. It is a good business to invest in.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Yes it is...but only when the owner is able to create a good ambience and spend.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Omor. The owner of that hotel sure is something. If he doesn't want to put money into his business what's the point of running it. Chai! Aal izz well Sha. 😏😂

$ 0.02
1 year ago

He wants to manage it like that and get his lease money back. He or she forgot that we have to use money to make more money.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

It would be best to involve yourself in a business that would give satisfaction and convenience to your customers, instead of thinking how much profit you'll get. The foundating of the business will not be too strong if it's money that you are after.

$ 0.02
1 year ago

Exactly. A lot of people make the mistake of thinking about money first.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Wahalaaaa, a hotel fridge not working? This is beyond comprehension. Are you sure the owner of the hotel knows about all this because the staff might not be reporting issues to him/her

$ 0.02
1 year ago

They said the owner knows and he also visits them from time to time 🤣🤣😂😂🤣🤣. All the rooms o...in fact...they don't even have a cold drink at the lounge...so I am sure he knows 🤣🤣😂

$ 0.00
1 year ago

The title should have been "Nightmare hotel" instead of heart break.. I would not have stayed there and moved immediately.. you guys have patience of a rock

$ 0.02
1 year ago

😂😂🤣🤣🤣🤣 with no other alternative after midnight, we were forced to accept our fate.

$ 0.00
1 year ago