Blue-Themed Throwback!

24 50
Avatar for MegaKyodaiBanrai
2 years ago

Hello guys! Time for another series from my art journey from the previous year. Now I am scrolling back from my gallery vault that contains the works that I did. This was done like March-April this year. This is where I tried to push and challenge myself a lot. It actually took me almost 2-3 weeks to finish everything here. From planning, execution, and of course taking some breaks it can take a while. And I tried to work on an 11"x14" size paper and fit all 4 different kinds of work that has any blue color in it. I really am into anything having a blue shade in it since that affects my mood and perception in a positive way. Now let's get started!

Brandishing the Set of Pencils

First I had one of my favorite Fairy Tail characters that was introduced in the last season, Brandish μ. I saw a scene from the anime where she was up-close and there's the blue skies as a background so I took that as a reference. I was only using 12 set of colored pencils here and it was really challenging to blend the hues that fits her clothing, hair, and skin tone. Even if there were difficulties doing it, I still made it. And below is the final result!

I observed that there are some problems with the shading as I went too dark with some of the shadows. Working with a small set of colors as a challenge feels satisfying as you try to finish it. And there were some smudges with the yellows on her skin. Better use a paper underneath your hands, hooman!

The Complement to my Blues

In primary school, we were mostly taught about the color theory and color wheel. And we knew that the opposite of blue is orange and they are called as complementary due to the fact that these hues create great contrast when paired together.

With this, I thought of a simple subject, and the fruit (or color) itself was chosen. Sometimes it's great to work on simpler things when it comes to art so that we can learn the basics. For the background I chose a teal-aqua and deep blue stripes which reminds me of a wall pattern. Then the orange was placed like it was floating in space, surrounded with the color that complements it. I tried my best to make the orange to look realistic as possible, though I personally think it can be improved.

Midnight Ateng

Next we have the grumpiest catto in the universe, Her Grumpiness Ateng! The idea here is to make her look like looking at you during nightime with that creepy stare while shrouded in the dark. Her presence seems to attract some stars and fireflies though.

With this I have tried to airbrush the background and the circular lights so that it would be less work for me. I masked out Ateng to not let her get some sky colors. Then I used colored pencils to fill her out. This is my 1st attempt with creating fur and animals so here's another stepping stone for learning. Instead of using her calico color, it was decided to make her look as dark as possible with the hint of mysterious aura within.

Time for Display

After a very challenging weeks of pushing myself to finish this project of mine, I felt satisfied and proud of myself. I was struggling with Ateng and there's the lingering thoughts of not finishing her because of that fur.

You can see that the paper is still taped to the easel and it's colored blue as well. :)

Once I finished everything, I thought of ways on how to display it in my room. I can't find any way how to do that. Instead, I just protected the work with a plastic cover then pasted it on a wall using a special type of sticky clay that will not destroy the paint of the wall.

Even my room's wall is colored blue and it's obvious how much I like this color. Sometimes Ateng gives me creeps especially in the dark!

_________________________________________________

Thanks for reading! I hope you enjoyed this short throwback of mine and the story behind it! Happy Thursday and can't wait for weekends again!

For my recent works, try to navigate through the previous parts here:

Part 1: It's Never Too Late to Learn Something New (Start of Journey)

Part 2: I Was Encouraged to Just Keep Going (Colored Pencils and Inktober)

Part 3: Taking the Next Step, While Dealing with Memories and Loss(Acrylics)

Part 4: Spreading Colors Through Spray and Aerosol(Airbrushing)

Part 5: Blending Different Hues With Oil Pastels

Part 6Artback Thursday: Time for Some Anime!

Part 7: Hilarious Editing: The Elemental Cattos!

Part 8: Photo Editing and Nature Art: Kaleidoscopes and Mirror Patterns

Part 9: Blue-Themed Throwback!

[#35] October 28, 2021

10
$ 2.66
$ 2.31 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.10 from @ARTicLEE
$ 0.05 from @Jane
+ 5
Sponsors of MegaKyodaiBanrai
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for MegaKyodaiBanrai
2 years ago

Comments

Hi kuya Brian HAHA I don't have a lot idea about you Brian but now, I know you have a lot of talents, you're so talented kind of person and, friendly. Your art is the best. How to be you po. Good luck always kuya Brian and thank you for being a good friend, good luck😾❤️

$ 0.05
2 years ago

Oyy, thank you for stopping by Roel! I wish you the best here especially in your BCH journey.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Am loving the blue kuya Bryan, all the different shades work well together.

$ 0.05
2 years ago

Thanks kuya Ed, everything was made to be bluetiful for this theme :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I love them all! But especially the one of the black cat. It looks like Cora :)

$ 0.05
2 years ago

Haha, you like Ateng in her new dark form :D

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ganda ng pagkablue hehe. Gusto ko un orange. Nagccrave kasi ako nyan e hehe.

$ 0.10
2 years ago

kaya nga po e, nakakatakam lalo na need natin ng more vitamins hehe

$ 0.00
2 years ago

The green hair looks like it will glow in the dark. I love the luminous effect, and I didn't noticed the problem in the shading in some parts coz I am looking at the hair. I like the orange drawing alot, I am a fan of fruit artworks.😍 For the 3rd part, Wow, that is the airbrush effect? Looking at it, It made me want to try it. I think, next time. Haha

$ 0.05
2 years ago

Haha the 3rd one was the combination of airbrush and some colored pencil. I'm glad that you liked the fruit, it's my favorite too.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I love them all, Bryan!

$ 0.02
2 years ago

All of them were blue except for Ateng😹

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I mean like ko laha cla, Bryan hehe. Ang galing lungs 😍

$ 0.00
2 years ago

At first glance I thought the green haired girl was CC from Code Geass.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Love the blues hehe. Perhaps you can do NFT versions of your art :)

$ 0.02
2 years ago

I am still learning about these, hopefully soon!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Blue is one of my favorite colors. I'm glad you love it too!

$ 0.02
2 years ago

That's the color that makes us feel at peace and relaxed for sure💙

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Wow i love it. Nice edit co cute

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Thank you very much, I am glad that you liked it!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Galing mo tlga sa editing

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Salamat po!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I love the third one. Looks real. You really are talented!

$ 0.02
2 years ago

You liked Ateng too hehe. She made me happy in that dreamy mood too haha.

$ 0.00
2 years ago