Spreading Colors Through Spray and Aerosol

25 171
Avatar for MegaKyodaiBanrai
2 years ago

It's been two weeks since I posted my personal art journey through the past year. It's because the last two weeks has been spent through numerous ventures like trying out a blockchain game, exploring a new BCH project, and being lazy in general. But now that we're here, let me continue from the last episode where I explored acrylics and had some fun with it.

Sponsors of MegaKyodaiBanrai
empty
empty
empty
These people are really inspiring and pushing me to
get out of my lazy zone! Thanks guys! 

Not an entirely new medium, but a type of brush!

Current airbrush supplies

While searching through different kinds of brushes that can be used for acrylics online last November, there are filberts, rounds, liner, flat, fan, and many others that offer a unique type of brushstrokes depending on the project that you are working on. But there's something that caught my attention which is the airbrush.

It allows the release of paint with the help of compressed air from a compressor, and the airbrush itself is the metallic instrument that has a small cup in it to store paint. Mine is a dual-action airbrush which allows you to control the amount of air and paint by pushing and pulling the trigger. I bought mine during January when I used my funds from the allowances and side hustles from school. It's a pretty expensive brush I would say, but it's worth it!

I used my acrylic paints instead of buying ones that are thinned down for airbrushing. I got an airbrush medium that will allow thick acrylics to get through the tiny nozzle of the airbrush. Also, I got a masking fluid to hide out important places where paint is not desired to be. Then there are tiny containers that store paint which allow you to dispense droplets. I used to store my paints here dedicated for airbrushing.

Different stencils and templates

With a little bit of research, I did find out that there are stencils used to create intricate designs from airbrushing. These are really useful because it can be otherwise time-consuming and will take more effort to produce patterns by painting them manually.

Inspiration from Home

One of our walls in the living room have stenciled patterns, created using an airbrush. There are several more designs in other rooms

I am still in awe looking at our walls in the living room because it feels regal and something out from a royal castle. It gives a welcoming atmosphere that makes you feel special. It makes me want to go into a palace or hotel that has similar ambiance. My mom said that the carpenter used a large airbrush and compressor dedicated for home use and a wall stencil during the painting process. This then inspired me to try using it in my future works.

Taking it to the Test

After having all the things that I needed, it's time to make the use out of it. What makes airbrush special is how it creates smooth backgrounds and gradients, along with the use of stencils while saving a lot of time. Most importantly, it allows me to create out-of-focus background or the bokeh effect seamlessly.

My first attempt involved the subject of having rainy nights. It's because this scene reminded me of going back home from school during night classes, seeing lights from the bus while raining. It feels nostalgic to remember that time.

The first thing that I did was to gesso a spare watercolor paper to prevent it from warping and absorbing water from the acrylics. Then I painted the background a solid black as a base layer. I used the circular template while switching into different colors to create random circles for the bokeh look.

First layers of random circles
Building up more layers and depth

I am glad that it was working well and liked the appearance of bokeh circles. However, I was not satisfied with the colors because they look dull. The yellows look like neon and the blues went too dark. It's a good thing airbrushing is just as forgiving as acrylics and I painted over those areas. I wanted it to look more similar and have some glow similar to what we see from lights at night blurred from camera (I often see this look from movies or television series.)

The final result, entitled "Busy and Rainy Nights"

After several attempts and multiple layers, I was able to achieve this final result. I didn't imagine that I will be able to accomplish this to be honest but I just kept going until it looks good. Then I manually added the rain droplets in to get that rainy night atmosphere. This was also posted before in noise months ago: https://noise.cash/post/162607xv

Important Learnings

Airbrushing is an easy tool to get used to, especially if you will use it for out of-focus backgrounds, stenciled patterns or getting a smooth look without the brushstrokes from traditional brushes. It also allows you to speed up your work because of this and create beautiful results. I will also try it with other mediums like watercolor or colored pencils to create specialized effects. Colored pencil is a pretty slow medium to work with, and using airbrush for the background helps a lot.

Tried drawing Kingdra before with colored pencil and airbrushed background

This drawing was done months ago and I tried using airbrush for the background and colored pencils for the Pokemon, Kingdra. It allowed to get it done faster with great results. I am looking forward to do more works like this. And currently I am still working on a painting that I didn't touch for 2 weeks LOL.

Thanks for reading and I hope that you enjoyed it! See you in the upcoming parts!

For my recent works, try to navigate through the previous parts here:

Part 1:Β It's Never Too Late to Learn Something New (Start of Journey)

Part 2: I Was Encouraged to Just Keep Going (Colored Pencils and Inktober)

Part 3: Taking the Next Step, While Dealing with Memories and Loss(Acrylics)

Part 4: Spreading Colors Through Spray and Aerosol

[#16] Published, September 9, 2021

13
$ 5.38
$ 4.97 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.10 from @ARTicLEE
$ 0.05 from @Jane
+ 8
Sponsors of MegaKyodaiBanrai
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for MegaKyodaiBanrai
2 years ago

Comments

This was so nice, especially the wall design. I love art but I haven't tried about spray paints. It looks hard to use.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Thanks! It becomes easy once you get the hang of it, and there's a lot of possibilities with the designs.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Wow! What a lovely talent. Those wall designs are to die for. Creative hands!

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Thank you hehe!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I love the result of "Busy and Rainy Nights" ✨ my eyes went like this 😯😲😍

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Me too, I can't believe that I did it haha.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I love that Busy and Rainy night! Nice work, Bryan :)

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Thank you Eliana. It is one of my favorite works right now !

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Interesting wall design. That is something new. I haven't seen that yet being done in establishments here or to any homes I have visited. Really cool idea. Love your work as well. That looks like from a window like from a bus on a rainy day.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Oh wow. I love them all, Bryan lalo na yung lights with raindrops.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Sa ngayon po un din ang paborito ko hehe.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Wow greatjob thats cool

$ 0.00
2 years ago

ang ganda ng resulta gustong gusto ko din mag try mag ganyan pero ang hirap lalo nat walang complete na gamit.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Meanwhile, I can't even draw a straight line hahaha.. these are beautiful :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

ganda naman ng final result, parang totoong ulan talaga, gusto ko din nyan sa wall namin, hahaha!

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Haha meron po ako noon nasubukang platform kung saan pwedeng magbenta if ever may gustong bumili, dito po ung site. https://www.redbubble.com/i/art-board-print/Busy-and-Rainy-Night-Bokeh-by-TyroneChubs/74043915.ZL3U1 Medyo may kamahalan lang ung charge nila.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

expensive nga, hahaha! pass na lang muna, pag mayaman na ako, char!πŸ˜…

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I'm scared to try airbrush and spray paint. Haha feeling ko masisinghot ko siya kahit nakamask and And ang mahal niya din. Haha Pero ang ganda ng effects nia for background, and magandang pang mural. 😍

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Ung spray can medyo mabaho kase parang gas ung gamit nilang chemical doon. Pag acrylic ok lang kase di mabaho, pag matagal lang ung gamit kailangan magmask. Bilib ako sa iba na nakakapagdetails gamit spray paint haha.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thanks for the sponsorship

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Welcome po. 😁

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Im amazed with the final result ang ganda po! Sana all marunong gumawa ng ganyan hehez. You did a great job po :D

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Thank you heheπŸ’™

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Aigoo! Kainggit naman.. Nakss lakas maka.throwback sa feeling nung time na nasa college pa ako. Yung feeling na nagpapagawa sa arts kasi di marunong..HAHAHA XD

Ganda nang gawa mo po..

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Hehe salamat po! Nung gradeschool hanggang highschool nagpapagawa ako pag mahirap doon sa iba, buti ngayong pandemic natuto na din ako kahit papaano.

$ 0.00
2 years ago