It's Never Too Late to Learn Something New

26 68
Avatar for MegaKyodaiBanrai
2 years ago
Topics: Journey, Achievement

I was never good in art at all, even from childhood until college. I remember when I had trouble with art homework that I have to contact my two older cousins ate Anne and kuya Jon, who had incredible skills in creating works, to do most of my art yikes ! Currently ate Anne designs cakes for a living, and Kuya Jon is working in a graphic design company.

They had inspired me so much to create any artwork back then when I was younger, but my hands don't want to cooperate with my mind. Every line and shading that I make look wonky and won't improve. I tried a lot, but nope, I just felt that art wasn't cut out for me.

Art Lessons and Activities in High School

I remember way back in high school when numerous activities revolve around the art subject, as even in the likes of Science and English subjects require us to work with drawings and caricatures as homework and seatwork. I managed to get them finished, but the results were never satisfactory. I would constantly compare my work being similar to grade-schoolers and beat myself up because of it.

Around 3rd-year high school, I had an art teacher who was so laid-back and didn't bother teaching us the proper techniques and fundamentals. He will only discuss around 10 mins of a particular topic and terminologies, but almost no demonstration at all. And then, he would ask us to create something based on what he discussed, which would often leave us feeling confused and lost, aside from those few classmates who can draw and paint.

Those few people were easily recognized by our teacher with their abilities and always commended them while working on their creations. In a 3 hour long class, our teacher often walks around the room to see what his students are creating and leaving some good comments. He is generous when it comes to grading, but our concern is that we do not learn anything properly in art.

No More Time in College

As I went to college, things got way more difficult and complicated, considering I am studying engineering. The only drawing that I learned was the technical drawings that are often associated with engineering. Our engineering drawing professor was so strict and bad-mouthing us when we create terrible works.

That class is so depressing and too difficult for me as he required us to create multiple submissions of several tasks. He also instantly gives a failing grade in a glance over your work if it doesn't fit his standards. I almost failed that subject too.

As years passed by in college, I never encountered any tasks requiring complicated drawings. It was just simple diagrams that would describe a particular process.

Then the pandemic came in

Last year, the pandemic shook everyone around the globe. Most work and schools shut down, and it prompted people to do their tasks at home. By that time, I was already about to finish my academic subjects.

Here comes August, where I finally finished everything in school aside from my research paper which was moved until 2021 to be completed due to the circumstances at that time. Having no more schoolwork to work with made me feel so bored that even playing games and watching online didn't help that much.

With so much time now in my hands, I finally decided to revisit my intention of improving my drawings that I couldn't do after several years.

I tried drawing my favorite characters from anime and even some random stuff. I was pleased with the results because I can see that I am improving with the time and effort I am investing into it.

Some of my earlier works at the time

The first medium that I worked with consists of pen, graphite pencils, and charcoal.

I did butcher her lols!

The work above is the one that I did first, which was Irene Belserion from Fairy Tail. I drew her because the anime just ended, and she was a great character. Unfortunately, I wasn't able to give her any justice. I was about to throw the paper, but I decided to keep it for future reference for improvement haha.

Jigglypuff in pen

Next was Jigglypuff as a Pokémon character that I drew. I decided to give her a try because I thought it was easy, but I was wrong. Those edges were nasty and irregular.

My Catto Chubs

Another subject that I have at home is our cat Chubs. He was posing nicely and decided to take a photo of him. I was able to get some of his likenesses, but there were not many details in here.

Now it started becoming better...

I started using the old charcoal pencil that was in my pencil holder and tried to use it. I was satisfied with how bold the lines are, as well as the shading. I fell in love with charcoal because it makes it easy to finish some pieces and the bold, dark lines and shading it creates.

This is my favorite piece at that time

Finally, this leaf was simple, yet I had real fun creating this. I enjoyed making the minor details while shading some parts of the leaf.

After all of these mini-artworks, I said to myself that it was never too late for me to learn art and a new set of skills. I was never a prodigy or talented with it, but my perseverance and determination to continuously try and improve after every bad work allows me to hone my skills. I researched about the Old Masters that some of them only did art at around 30s-40s during their middle ages. If you ever feel down that you're too late with something, never get discouraged! Everything comes with time and practice.

Thank you very much for reading my art journey this time! I plan to create a series called Bryan's Art journey or something along the lines which will contain all of my experiences and growth as I venture the world of art!

12
$ 2.56
$ 1.99 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.10 from @CoquiCoin
$ 0.10 from @ARTicLEE
+ 7
Sponsors of MegaKyodaiBanrai
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for MegaKyodaiBanrai
2 years ago
Topics: Journey, Achievement

Comments

Awesome article! This is an interesting topic and can motivate to start learning new skills. Drawing was also my passion when I was young but during and after college, I only draw once in a while even unti now, I almost not done it anymore. On the other hand, I really want to develop my skills too on the digital art or graphic design using graphic design apps like photoshop, corel draw, etc. but my my oldie laptop (with white space damage on the screen) can't install those said apps. Hopefully soon if I can buy a new laptop, I can start learning this graphic design. Keep writing and learning!

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Thanks! I wish you the best and hopefully you can get a new laptop for you to work with! Digital programs are really helpful for any artist to create mockups or finished pieces without worrying about supplies.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hahaha yung thumbnail pang malakasang irap ni Irene. Buti naitago mo pa old drawings mo. May maipapakita kang evolution. Kay jigglypuff pa lang medyo malaki na improvement. Narerecognize na sya eh. Congrats sa pagpatuloy mo sa arts. Ngayon tuluyan na talaga nagising yung talent. Enjoy natin gumawa ng artworks. More to come. 😀

$ 0.05
2 years ago

Ayun nga haha, natatawa nalang din ako pag nakita ko yung dating mga gawa. Kaya mabuti nalang naitago ko pa sila. More works to come para saatin hehe.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yow, bro you already have a great drawings. Good job! 💖. Keep practicing lang po at masasanay din po ang mga kamay nyo. Practice makes perfect sabi nga nila

$ 0.05
2 years ago

Hehe salamat! Nakakatuwa din balikan yung mga dating gawa kase doon mo din minsan makikita yung progress lalo na at hirap dati.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I also born without a talent on drawing but i am trying my best when i have a drawing project. Lol And also this days im practicing digital art and i am improving haha

$ 0.05
2 years ago

It's a good thing! Just keep practicing until we master it!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ang sabi, "Gusto ko ang drawing, pero walang gusto sa'kin ang drawing." hahaha..😅 Buti ka pa napagpatuloy mo yang hilig mo dyan.. Looking forward to see more of your drawing po..😊

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You are right. Our time will come to do all the things that we want. We just have to push through with it. Keep making art!

$ 0.01
2 years ago

The Catto Chubs looks so angry hehe. I love to draw too but it doesn't seem to like me haha.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Ahahah masungit po sya at mahiyain na pusa. Parang matanda na ayaw magpakausap😹

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hahaha ang sungit nga haha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Na bitin ako promise. Gusto ko makita mga gawa mo!! I am interested with art and my major in highschool is drafting. I do sketches, the last time na nag sketch ako, naka tulugan ko lang, kinain NG tuta ko yun sketch pad. Gusto ko din develop yun artsie artsy ko kaso I need time

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Sa susunod po gagawa ako ng ibat-ibang progression hehe. Medyo marami na din po akong nagawa kaya ilalagay ko sila sa ibang article.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Abangan ko yan!!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I find your drawings beautiful... It's not for all to be good at drawing or painting! One must have passion... And when you have passion you can do whatever 🙂

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Thanks a lot Ale! Aside from passion, having some time really helps too. Sometimes there's too much thing to do that you don't have any for art haha.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

My daugher says, "they're too cute, mommy!" :D

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Ang bait naman po ng daughter ninyo hehe.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

hehe honest lang, Bryan :D good morning!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I used to love drawing too. Been drawing before for fun lang nmn at hindi masyadong magaling heheh! Trying hard to improve it. Now, its hard to do it with work and blogging. I do photography sometimes, yun nlng... Heheh!

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Ok na din po yun hehe. Madalas talaga time ang problem sa paggawa ng mga drawings.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

To be someone who wasn't good at art, you draw incredibly well. I've seen some of your drawings in Noise, and I love them. Especially, the Jaguar that you published these days is awesome. I'm terrible at drawing, but coloring relaxes me a lot.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

You can try some coloring books Eliana! I know the feel of coloring, it is probably the exciting part of any art process!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

In fact, I have some coloring books, hehe! ;)

$ 0.00
2 years ago