Filipino Foodies and Goodies

29 52
Avatar for LykeLyca
2 years ago

A diet rich in variety and loaded with essential nutrients is the cornerstone of a healthy lifestyle. But the majority of us, especially Filipinos, are not meeting their daily needs for many vitamins and minerals, including iron and zinc. Usually, we indulge in carbohydrates, like the rice we have been eating at every meal and the bread or some sweets in between snacks.

Photo by me, first posted in IG

Adding servings of lean beef or pork to the menu is an easy way to make sure we get the recommended daily allowance of minerals. However, we only need 3-ounce serving of lean meat to get more than 10 percent of the daily value for protein and zinc. Yep, 3-ounce not 1/4 or half to a kilo of meat we cook and eat in one serving, thus, nowadays, people are more prone to cardiovascular diseases because of overeating.

Anyway, what am I doing?! I just want to talk about foodies and goodies, but instead started a couple of segments in this article pointing out harsh realities. Well, I'm not a health freak, but working in the medical field being cognizant of the different diseases just gets the best of me. Sigh.

So, let me go back to this gastronomic tour of some Filipino foodies and goodies that I have written several months ago in this platform.

"Kate-Kare" from Pixabay (free to use image)

Philippines: Luzon Food Habits and Practices

Starting in the Southern part of the Philippines, my favorite is the famous Kare-kare served with Bagoong, this viand is just so delish. Originally, this food was considered as an exotic Tagalog dish (check it out why from the original article). Nowadays, it has been cooked in several versions thus reducing its authenticity. But, still, my favorite Tagalog dish no matter what.

In Visayas, my fave is the Inasal Chicken, of course the popular Mang Inasal is still the best with its distinct recipe and taste that captures the palate of people not only in Visayas, but in the entire Philippines. I love eating this with rice, and of course with your bare hands, well, after washing your hands, hahah! To avoid those deadly viruses! lol!

Philippines: Visayas Food Habits and Practices

From Mang Inasal FB page

Lastly, Mindanao, has this fruit that I hate, but love by many. The Durian fruit has this really unpleasant smell, that's why I don't like eating it, but it's delicious as most Durian lovers would say. Businesses in Davao developed a delicacy from this fruit, like the durian jam, tarts, pastries and candies.

How can I forget my favorite, Fresh Lumpia or Lumpia Ubod. This is a healthy spring roll recipe mainly of vegetables, tokwa, shrimp and other ingredients, together with its unique sauce, this dish is just so distinct.

Philippines: Mindanao Food Habits and Practices

Durian fruit, from Pixabay (free to use image)

Last weekend, my sister and I wanted to make Broken Cathedral Jelly, but then we got confused along the process and we thought that if we would pursue with the usual plan, we might end up breaking our hearts while eating the finished product. We're both trying hard kitchen buff, so everything will be an experiment, lol! Nevertheless, we pulled it off with a simpler gelatin recipe, we call it, the fruit jelly, haha! We got the green gelatin, and I was thinking maybe we can make both green and red for Christmas! It's so easy to make and it's delicious too!

Photo by me

Did I make you hungry?

While making this article, I'm starting to crave for Kare-kare and the Inasal Chicken. My goodness! Life is just so wonderful with foods and goodies! Well, that's just the way the cookie crumbles!

Let's eat!


Not too late for the prompt given by @JonicaBradley about #Food.

This is the criteria if you wish to participate.

  • Write anything about FOOD

  • Write 100% original content, and at least 600 words

  • Join and submit your story to PromptlyJonica

  • Tag @JonicaBradley

  • Have fun!


Related articles:

You and Your Food

Are You a Fan of Food Fads

Have You Tasted The Philippines "Barako"

GMO and Genetic Engineering (My Two Cents)


11/09/2021

©️ LykeLyca


Write articles, earn BCH. Join us! Click read.cash

Earn BCH by writing short posts. Click noise.cash

Follow me in Twitter @LycaLyke

Start mining, trading/ copy trading in Bityard


20
$ 8.44
$ 7.71 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.10 from @JLoberiza
$ 0.06 from @gertu13
+ 14
Avatar for LykeLyca
2 years ago

Comments

Even though I just had dinner, reading this article left me hungry, what a lot of exquisite dishes they prepare. Very good

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Wow ice cream and Mang-inasal , nako po picture palang nakakagutom na ,ang sarap talaga ,

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Sarap ng chicken ng kang insal doc. Tsaka yung durian, ako lang hindi kumakain nyan sa pamilya namin.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Natakam din po ako sa inasal at kare-kareeee! 🤤 Nagutom po ako, Doc! Hays. Haha. Parang gusto ko tuloy magpunta sa Mang-inasal at mag unli rice! 😆

$ 0.01
2 years ago

haha! kanina lunchtime sa Mang Inasal na sana plano ko kaso limited time ko kya sa cafeteria na nmn bagsak haha!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Bawi nalang pag may mahaba haba ng free time haha.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Nkakatakam na nkakalaway lalo nat dinner na😊 pro eto at nag-iisip p lng aq qng ano ipapaulam sa mga little boss q jaja

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ang sarap ng mga pagkain lalo na yung durian. Noon ayaw na ayaw ko sa durian pero ngayon isa na sya sa favorite fruit ko

$ 0.00
2 years ago

OMG, kare kare 🤤🤤 when was the last time that I ate that 🤤 namiss ko na tagal ma din ww para atang walang naga tinda dito or di lang talaga ako palalabas haha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Opo you make me feel hungry po. Hahahhah. Lalo na po yung Inasal, grabe miss na miss ko na po kumain nyan at yung nakakamay po talaga. Yung Durian po gusto ko po matikman, sabi nila masarap daw po yan kahit na hindi maganda ang amoy hahhaha.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yung tipong gutom ka na tapos eto pa makimita mo😅, Mang Insala for me, nakakatakam,nakakamiss sayang walang ganyan dito samin😞

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Sarap tlgang kumain doc😀

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Kakamiss Pinoy foods 😢

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You just made me hungry with those foods :D I am more drawn to your jelly though :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Sarap talaga ng mang inasal hehe. Nakakamiss rin mag unlirice, hanggang 3 lang ako.😁

$ 0.00
2 years ago

This user is currently craving for food even she had a breakfast. Thanks to this article. 😂 You can't reach the user, she's hungry ay the moment.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Grabe ate umagang-umaga super gutom na ako hahaha.. Durian talaga super lakas at eww ang baho pero pag natikman hahanaphanapin talaga hahaha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

nagutom jd ko pero naay guilt feeling sa first part sa article ba..

among family kay hilig kau ug carbs.. like mangaon mi ug rice with sud an then after kay ang panghimagas bread..hahahaha please don't judge us

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Kadugay na nako wala kakaon Mang Inasal, wala man gud na diri sa Mati ba, naa sauna pero nawala nagclose man. Naa man noon Penongs diri, pwede ra alternative.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It is true what you say, sis. You have me salivating and swallowing. Those dishes look very tasty.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Nagising, nagbasa, nagutom akoooooo.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ate sarap ng Mang Inasal. Matagal tagl na akung hindi nakaka tikim niyan.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ah, why post this? You've made me hungry! Ahah. Everything looks delicious

$ 0.00
2 years ago

There should be A warning that this post shouldn't be read if you are hungry lol. Your post got me salivating hard and I almost licked my screen lol lol

$ 0.00
2 years ago

ang ganda ng looks nung Jelly mo sis.. Anyways, I'm a fan talaga din ng chicken inasal. Mas gusto ko sya kesa sa fried chicken.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Wow! Thank you hahah! at least sa looks pa lang maganda na hahha! Same tau pero minsan masarap din fried chicken.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Never ako naging fan ng fried chicken.. Hehe.. Inasal as always ang bet ko..

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You made me hungry and I haven't had lunch yet. I want to try the Kare-kare. I've never eaten Durian fruit, there aren't any here. But just by telling me that it doesn't smell good, I don't know if I want to try it, hehe. Although I love papaya and I don't like its smell.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Oh! you have to come to the Philippines to try both! Though, Thailand, Malaysia and Vietnam have Durian, I guess. I love papaya too, and I don't care of the smell hahah!

$ 0.00
2 years ago