Have You Tasted The Philippines “Barako”?

10 40
Avatar for LykeLyca
3 years ago

Also known as Liberica, Barako is a coffee variety grown in the Philippines. Rich, bittersweet bite, it makes a strong drink that resembles its name – which literally means “strong man.” For the plant is known for its firmness and resistant to drought.

Barako is great if it is sweetened with brown sugar and it can be served as espresso. The aroma is rich and tempting. My dad used to drink this kind of coffee every time his friend from Cavite, Philippines brought him this coffee as a present or in our language “pasalubong.” Well, I think this was the reason why that I’m into coffee too, my morning is not complete without a cup of my favorite black coffee especially with “pandesal” (famous Filipino bread). Before, I used to drink 4-5 cups of coffee in a day, but I'm trimming it down now when I started experiencing palpitations. Yes, that means I love my heart more than coffee, I guess,lol!

Going back to the famous Kapeng Barako (Barako Coffee), now this kind of variety is considered in danger of extinction. The farmers did not seem to realize that this plant is dwindling maybe because of its less market value. And the revolution of shifting to the instant coffee became famous. Though cultivation of this coffee spread from Batangas to Cavite – these are the main provinces that cultivates this kind of coffee, and to other parts of the Philippines, but the farmers with the passion of Barako grow old and their sons didn’t want to succeed because of tedious labor and increasing competition. Just sad for the industry, I think the people shifts to instant coffee really breaks the Philippines' Barako.

It needs a connection with the earth and coffee to cultivate, I wonder if we can ever taste this Kapeng Barako from Batangas still?

So, today is International Coffee Day!

Here's my coffee. Cheers!

____________________________

Coffee is great while reading something inspiring for the day :)

  1. How are you coping a compliment?

  2. What are the Things you Learn After you Know it All?

  3. Money, Success or Family

  4. Wave Your White Flag

____________________________

Write your world! Join us! Scroll up and SIGN UP for FREE!

____________________________

Photos from Pixabay

Photo with watermark is MINE

____________________________

#PhilippinesBarako #BarakoCoffee #KapengBarako #InternationalCoffeeDay

6
$ 0.75
$ 0.75 from @TheRandomRewarder
Avatar for LykeLyca
3 years ago

Comments

One of the tastiest coffee that I tried. Theres a store in Market Market Taguig wherein the coffee they sell is made of Kapeng Barako. The name of the store is Cafe de Lipa.

$ 0.00
User's avatar Yen
3 years ago

Wow! I hope we could travel again, I would love to go to that Cafe!

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I love coffee...I once visited a friend in Batangas and tried it. I love it...I also try many different coffee here in Mindanao.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Where are you in Mindanao?

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Davao

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Hi! nice meeting you. Taga Iligan ra pud ko :)

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Wow! What a small world. Mga Bisaya ra diay.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

yes, i try and i can say this is taste drink

$ 0.00
3 years ago

just amazing article

$ 0.00
3 years ago