Deceived By Knockoffs

51 58
Avatar for LykeLyca
2 years ago
Topics: Mindfulness, Lessons

Nowadays, knockoffs are everywhere. Sometimes, it's hard to decipher the real and the fake ones just on the very limited images and information provided by the seller or the provider online. Oftentimes, we fall into these scams because of some testimonials that are just overwhelming. And, sometimes we fall into it because we're just diving by instincts. We miss to scrutinize it, or maybe we did, but miss some things somehow because we're just like that - humans. Yah, lame excuse. But, we all are!

Simply means, lies and deceptions are everywhere too. It varies in severity and in forms, yet, still a lie. It can go far from the petty lies we have at home to the worst of all elsewhere - on the internet, in most social media platforms, from the betrayal we get from our friends and even from the people we trust so much in our lifetime.

A Few years back, I happened to join on one great make believe multi-level business thriving virtually. I don't want to name it, but the catch it this, by signing up and doing the business the company will train you into an online entrepreneur. Great right?! But, no. After I paid the handsome amount of P3,000 or roughly $59+, I realized that the business aspect was just about recruiting people to join you and earn from a percentage from those people. We are selling e-books and training videos as they say, but actually, we are selling in leverage for the owner. The training to make me an online entrepreneur is just a ladder to continually buy e-books and training videos from the owner. All in all, I have realized in a week or so, that my money have been spent to a knock off. I don't think I can go on deceiving people just by showing them those emotionally hype videos of earning so much money. It's a shame that the people in this company have to go through a cycle of lies and manipulation just to earn. Just absurd.

Lies are prevalent everywhere. Most online shopping sites, offers some knock offs too. Just recently, I bought a bluetooth speaker that is malfunctioning. I have to go through the hassle of returning the product because the item is just useless. Also, my brother opted to order in one famous and legit clothing brand online too, hoping that this won't be another knock off in our pocket, however, when it arrived the shoes was of smaller size. Oh man! I thought this one could be processed easily. How easy for them to sort out the size, style and color? Right?!

At home, the little girl of my brother, my niece, knows how to lie now as I noticed. The other day, I discovered several plastic trash of junkfoods and candies hidden under the sofa, where she loved to sit while watching TV. I asked her who kept those trash under the chair and she said a big NO. When I told everyone that I will remove the sofa in the living room if I see litters of junkfood and candies again, she throws a tantrum and even told her dad that I accused her of doing it. So, yes, these little souls lie to make up a good excuse. Somehow, we have to teach them that it's wrong, moreover, we have to lead them by example.

This world is full of deception and lies. It is never easy to fall into these traps. Like in my previous experience, it's a pain to see your finances gone into nothing. Furthermore, your time and effort was irreplaceable, you can't turn back the time and amend your mistakes. The only consolation we'll get would be the experience and lessons we learn in that process.

Have you been a victim of scams too?

This would be my article for #8 writing prompt about LIES.

To participate, rules are simple:

  1. Write anything about Lies

  2. Write 100% original content and at least 600 words

  3. Join and submit to the community PromptlyJonica

  4. Tag @JonicaBradley

  5. Have fun


Some of my articles from this prompt:

The Pandemic: A Long Distraction

Burned Alive

Sea Shells, Beautiful Shells, and Me

The Mysterious Cave

All Worth I

Forests and Trees: In My Lens

Compassion Beyond Borders

A Lifetime of Questions

Waiting on The Night to Fall

Go Higher in Motivation

The Awesomeness of Freedom


Photos from Pixabay (free to use images)

Content by me ©️ LykeLyca

09/25/2021


21
$ 9.39
$ 8.64 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.10 from @gertu13
$ 0.10 from @JLoberiza
+ 13
Avatar for LykeLyca
2 years ago
Topics: Mindfulness, Lessons

Comments

It seems that the best company that pays the best dividends is the one that lies, the scam. God forbid. There are many of us who have fallen into these online lying traps. I do not like lies. I prefer painful truths, I will know how to deal with them.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

That's true my friend. Unfortunately, sometimes, we learned the hard way.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Naku ako po nascam na tlga about ₱100k, pero mga 2013 pa yta yun, may fault din ako eh hehe, pero ganun tlga dun tayo natuto

$ 0.02
2 years ago

OMG! grabe ang laki sis! back then mas lalo malaki value nyan.. :(

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Opo then utang pa yun hehe

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Medyo malaking amount din yung nasxam Pero buti nalang at di pa nagtuloy iyon sa mas malaking mga investments. Sa ngayon, kayang kaya na mabawi yun dito haha.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Uu nga I stopped kc I have learned in order to grow from the business, you have to shell out another bigger amount. Grabe pera2x lang talaga.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

it's innate na jud sis noh sa tao...

i remember one of our church leaders who was discipling the ladies and moms na our kids are cute but we need to pray for their salvation coz they are sinners even in their young age.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Mao jud sis prayer is so important for these children and guidance too especially from the parents kasi mas naniniwala sila sa mom or dad nila

$ 0.00
2 years ago

indeed sis!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Childrens learn to shove from a very young age. They start with white lies that later grow. You have to be attentive to it. Mine every so often tells me one, lol, but I correct it quickly. The lack of professionalism and people wanting to scam us will never be lacking. I have touched a lot of people like that unfortunately. I have tried to buy a TV online and they have wanted to scam my bank card, or sell me a TV that is not the one I want.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Oh that's the worst in buying online with credit or debit cards. Here, I often use the COD or cash on delivery, but still got knocked off, sad.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You have to always be alert so as not to fall into these traps that hurt us in the economy. We can not put the fool, as they say in some places

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yeah. Kids today learn how to lie at a very young age. sigh

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Yes po. Kya minsan nakakainis ns rin..

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Victim ng scam na tao sis oo. Hashtag pakinabang huhu! A friend I cared deeply and made me feel the same pero mahilig magpa awa sa mga kwento nia. Lahat nalang ng friends nia knukwnto nia na inaabuso kabaitan nia. i didn’t know pag nakatalikod ako pati ako kasama sa mga make believe niang kwento to make her look good and pitiful.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Ay grabe nmn nyan manipulative yata taong ganyan sis.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Your niece already knows how to lie, and the worst thing is that she tries to blame someone else. XD I've never been deceived buying on the internet, but the truth is that I don't usually buy much online. But regarding investments, I've been victim of some scams.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

I know its disappointing really and what makes it more annoying was my brother/ her dad would just shrug it off.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

na scam na ako nga sis. 50k nawala sa ako :(

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Hala kadako sis! Lisoda pangitaon anang kwartaha oi

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Lalo na sa online store, I will not name it nalang dahil sikat sila. Akala mo maganda yun pala sa picture lang heheh, sabi pa nga ng seller okay yung tela nung damit tapos pagdating sayo ayown ang low ng qual.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Yun nga eh kahit known stores o brand pa yan, wla pa rin sa ayos minsan talaga. swerte2x nlng.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Grabidad sa 3000 oii, ang hirap hanapin ng kwarta ngayon tas sa wala lang din ang punta aguy. Ako nama'y na sscam din pero di ganon kalaki, pinakamalaki na ata ang 120 huehue. Tapos sa defective product, so far wala pa. Kelan lang din kasi ako natuto sa online shopping. Saka todo basa baga ako sa review at mahirap na nga. Kahit pa tag 50 lang yan, pinag hirapan natin na makuha yan kaya yown. Scammer everywhere na talaga sa panahon ngsyon, tsk.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Ang reviews kc nung defective na speaker ay okay nmn, sabi nung seller ay bka daw nasira during shipping.. buti nlng ni refund nila ung ni return ko.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I have been scammed recently. A friend invited me to join in an investing platform but weeks later we discovered that it was a scam.

Also, my friend bought three phone cases online but got two only. We have been emailing the seller but we got no response which is so sad because we didn't just pick the money from nowhere.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Shame on these scammers. Karma will get on them real soon.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Nasubukan ko na din maluko sa online business Sis, sabi ganito-ganyan lang daw ang gagawin, pero nung naka bayad na ako dun ko nalaman about recruitment pala. Nakakalungkot lang kasi di madali mag ipon tapos ganoon lang

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Uu nga. alam nila ayaw ng mga tao ng recruitment at invite2x kaya iniiba nila strategy nila

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I guess the government should take that much needed responsibilities if the act of presenting the fakes in form of the originals are to be placed on a stop as much as there should be enough reaearch before one buys anything

$ 0.02
2 years ago

The crooks will pay in karma.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Sure dear, they must pay in karma

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I fell victim to such scam scheme once and it was really painful. Even businesses run by friends also happen to be a knockoff sometimes

$ 0.02
2 years ago

I would feel terrible if a friend would introduce me to knockoffs :(

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I think I haven't experienced that yet, because I was either too cynical or too busy to.engage in them. Php 3000 is a big amount ha. Grabe.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Ang laki talaga nkaka disappoint lang coz I was after of the training.. Ang ending need pala dapat recruit2x kaso hate ko un eh

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ako din eh. Basta may involve na recruit or invite, ayoko na agad hahaha.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hihi your niece knows how to lie already. Some kids lie but when reprimanded, they will laugh and admit :) So far I have not been deceived buying online even gadgets na nabili ko noon, walang problems. As to scams, there have been many on investments haha.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Yep, nagsisimula na mag sinungaling at nkakainis na minsan..

$ 0.00
2 years ago

As humans get smarter, the evil things they are capable of doing become worse. There are so many advance deceptions and scams nowadays that if we're not savvy enough and greedy, we'll get wiped out in a moment.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Indeed. I have grown wiser I guess from those experiences.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Same kami ng napansin ni ni sis Jane, doctora hehe. Natry ko na din mascam sa Lazada. Di pa naman sa FB. Yung inorder kong tig 5k na luggage, chinese bracelet dumating lol

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Haha! So, madam malaking box nilagyan ng bracelet? kc malaki dapat if luggage eh..

$ 0.00
2 years ago

maliit madam. di ko na binalik kasi hassle :(

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Bat ibaiba lng katulong ni jonica jan sa tagging? 😅 Anyway, back to your topic . kaya I prefer buying products at physical stores than online kasi baka mag malfunction and sometimes, ang iba hndi nag aaccept ng return... Kpg gadgets at iba may prefer ko yung chinicheck ang product bago bilhin... Sa niece mo.. Much better pagsabihan mo baka masanay haggang sa pagtanda. Ganun tyo nagsimula kabataan natn simpleng lie nadadala hanggang sa pagtanda lol.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Alam ko ksi may week na di si Madam Jonica ang naghost ng prompt, si Coqui Coin yata, so sa rules,nagpatag din sya. Hehehe. (Nakisabat lang dito😂)

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Hahah! Yep na auto edit ni self..

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hahah! Sorry po mali ang pag edit.. Back to topic, kya pinagsabihan ko na, at kinausap ko papa nya kc bka mamihasa.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

True, sis. Just recently we've been lied on or scammed by an online investment platform. Glad that I Invested just a small amount that it didn't pain me much compared to the rest who invested more than 5k. The platform was suddenly become inaccessible and the people behind the platform were gone too.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Grabe dba? Ayoko ng maniwala sa mga ganyan na kelangan kung maglabas ng pera. Nka elan na rin ako, panghuli ko yan 3k na investment.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

True, marami pa namang scammers ngayon

$ 0.00
2 years ago