Go Higher in Motivation

24 28
Avatar for LykeLyca
2 years ago

The good side of motivation is that it will surely take you places of success, though sometimes these little successes of our everyday lives can be intangible because we often view it as something ordinary whilst we can only appreciate them with realizations, a little meditation before proceeding with the busy bouts of life and of course in your prayer time. As for me, motivations are like responsibilities only that they're not tiring to think about.

Photo from Pixabay

I am the eldest of five siblings and growing up I was always encouraged by mother to be a responsible eldest sister. I can remember my mom nagging on me to humble down before my brothers and sisters, and she would slap me whenever I reason out over siblings petty quarrels. At a young age, I felt so much burdened on such responsibility. Worst comes to worst I felt so useless when I had my shortcomings. I experienced running away because I felt like I was a nobody in our home, I even attempted suicide because I always thought of myself as someone so worthless and useless. Soon, when I perk back to the reality I took responsibility as a mandatory obligation to always look into the welfare of my family.

All along as I grew up, the stiffness of my parents towards me was well, nevertheless beneficial. I was able to graduate college, passed the board exam thereafter, I was able to work in my alma mater few months after I got my professional license. In short, life was fine. However, looking back I wasn't completely fine.

Anyway, how did this brief history influenced me on MOTIVATION? It did, big time.

Again, these responsibilities were like motivations that I'm willing to beat no matter what. I'm taking it like a horse with blinkers!

Photo from Pixabay

Few months before leaving the Philippines to work overseas, I experienced a wedding proposal but I dumped it simply because he wanted me stay in the country, and unfortunately at the back of my mind were responsibilities for my family. Marrying wasn't an option that time while we still have debts (over me and my brothers' college expenses) a glimpse of the story can be seen here They Grow Money on Trees. On top of that our youngest will soon be in College, that time these were my motivation. So, for five years overseas I motivated myself to work and earn money  for the sake of paying debts, and to help my parents finance our youngest college bills. I even dumped a marriage proposal. Only God knows how much I sacrificed and perhaps only God can reward me for that. I didn't tell my family about it cause I don't want them to feel guilty of my choices.

Fast forward, after five years, I resigned from my work in Saudi Arabia and settled down in the Philippines. Here, I discovered that our youngest shifted from one course to another vice versa wasting money and prolonging the agony of my parents. Supposedly that year she must be a graduating student if my calculation served me right. Her delaying tactics let her graduate after 2 more years. Imagine?! When I was a student, my parents rules were like get a 5-year course and graduate in 5 years or else we will forever miss the diploma. But, because of favoritism our youngest had it her way.

Also, after that five years our debts were cleared, we had the land title back. However, my mom sold the property to my aunt in the following year and this breaks my heart.

Moreover, in Saudi Arabia I had a boyfriend of 3 years, planned with me to settle down, get married, have children, and enjoy life - wonderful lies a woman can have. That too was a disaster! My landing back to home sweet home was a mess, cruel, deceptive, and heartbreaking. This period of agony exacerbated because after overseas work I resorted to work as content writer for like 9 months and most writings were vehemently SAD. I cried while writing, I cried with my pilllow at night, I cried with the wind when I walk and run. I just cried. God must've seen me torturing myself, that He shutdown that website for good, I got sad for a bit I love writing and earning from there. But I can't move on from the bitterness if I have to linger on writing! So, yes! I became a Physical Therapist again, after few months of melancholic existence. Good news! God and my therapist self helped me with the healing.

Photo from Pixabay

Now, whenever I listened to Coldplay's "Champion of the World" I got reminded of that period in my life and smile. Those tough decisions, unpredictable outcomes and breakthroughs, are still a champion no matter what. Let me quote this part of the song because its inspiring how our life went upside down for life's motivation - and still be a champion!

"So I'm flying on my bicycle

Heading upwards from the Earth

I am jumping with no parachute

Out into the universe

I have E.T. on my bicycle

Because giving up won't work

I am riding on my rocketship

And I'm champion of the world."

- Coldplay

Nice line, right?

Photo from Pixabay

I have learned so far, giving up is never an option, we can build walls or build bridges to move on, both are alike - a motivation. We can say NO and still move forward because NO always comes with a reason.

Perhaps today I am channeling motivation a bit different from before. I won't work for anyone or for something, I am motivated with a higher purpose.

I work because God don't want me to be lazy.

I love because that's the greatest commandment.

I honor my parents, my family and others because that is charity.

I dream because hope is sweet.

I forgive because I deserve peace.

I write because life is tangible in words.

- LykeLyca

What is yours?


This again is a writing prompt #2 : Motivation of @JonicaBradley

I was tagged few days ago by @MizLhaine

Tagging (without pressure) @bbyblacksheep

Here are the rules:

1. Write about motivation

2. Write 100% original content

3. Write at least 600 words

4. Tag me and @JonicaBradley

5. Have fun


Photos from Pixabay (no attribution required)


#Motivation #HigherInMotivation

9
$ 21.13
$ 20.64 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.20 from @bbyblacksheep
$ 0.10 from @MizLhaine
+ 6
Avatar for LykeLyca
2 years ago

Comments

Sis, now ko lang nabasa, hindi ako na notify ng read sa mention. Thanks for sharing your story, hindi lang ako namotivate, na inspire pa. sa mga pinagdaanan mo, pinatatag ka to move forward. The Lord is really a helper to us in our needs.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

So true and how awesome He is! Thanks!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hahahaha. Gusto ko yung "without pressure". Grabe I am so moved. I really admire your motivation. And those closing statements. So wow. 👏 Tinamaan ako sa youngest. Hahaha. Dalawa lang kami pero ako bunso at pasaway.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Thank you! And thank God, hindi ko kakayanin un talaga at cguro if not for HIM i would be an ampalaya type hahah!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I admire your bravery and courage. To be the eldest is surely not a easy. I am also the eldest, I slightly felt the burden but I am just glad that my parents wasn't pressuring me to have the responsibility cause they knew it was theirs in the first place. ☺️ All your sacrifices will be worth it in the future. 🥰 Keep fighting ma'am.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Thanks! I know everything will be worth it, God is just. I shall reap my reward. You are lucky to have parents like them, love them like you've never loved before.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ohh jud ma'am, ako jud sila gi love pag ayo.

Maka happy sie na daghan mn d i bisaya diring dapita. ☺️

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Bisdak mn diay ka.. Tga asa ka sis?

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ohh jud tawn. Taga leyte ko sis hihi

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Maau kay na pad2x pud ka dire para dghan na ta

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Napadpad jud sis ug pumangita kwarta haha bitaw uie. Mao lge. Daghan na jud ko nakita diri na mga bisaya. Maka proud kaayo kay di mga basta basta raba maghimo ug article. 🥰

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Padayon lang jud sulat mahanas ra ka kadugayan jud hahah! Practice makes perfect daw mao ng mag cge lang gud pud tag practice at least naa pud bayad hehe!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hahaha tinuod. Diri ra jud ta ga practice tapos naay bayad hahah.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Your story is one picture of Filipino culture and it's kind of sad. Sorry, you had to go all through these. This too shall pass, doctoral. Ikaw pa?

$ 0.02
2 years ago

It does and im happy that its over. Nkatapos na lahat may mga pamilya na rin ang iba kya each are responsible for their lives.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

unsa nga site to imong gisuwatan sis?

i am sorry you had been given the burden as what our culture does, the same is true sa among eldest brother and I can totally relate, our youngest also had shifted from one course to another, worse, he is still a burden to my parents, he is still studying and guess what, his first course was marine and now he is back at it. He is 32... imagine.

don't worry, God hears our cries and He will bless you for sure!

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Hala oi mas worse jud imo igsoon ay at least among youngest nakahuman ra jud tawon, hapit ma magna - magna nine years hahah! Kodus to the eldest jud unsaon nlng.. Btw, ang site kay Bubblews, dili sya crypto, fiat money jud. Dako og pay didto mka 15-20k/month sayang kaau na close

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Uy ngbubblews sad ko as in daku jd bitaw ko earnings sad ddto...

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hala oi! What a small world?! Haha! Pen name nko didto kay LycaChic mka lingaw toh na site dghan ko na friends didto hangtod sa fb karon..

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I guess junebride ako gigamit ato...hehehe taod2 sad to noh? Nakatry kag bitlanders?

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Wala ko ka try bitlanders after sa bubblews serious na sa pagka PT hahah! Taod2x jud sya, pag start nko murag 5 months na yata toh from conception, then nka almost 9 mos pud ko akong last month wala na jud na byran kay murag gina ban na sila sa adsense because of the plagiarizers.. I hope mka conceptualize na pud sila balik bah, nice toh na platform pud.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

True... dili pa jd stressful to na blogging site.. nakalimot ko kun pila ko ka months ddto..basta dugay2 sad..

Ang bitlanders kay bitcoin ila ginahatag.ao to ang next nako na blogging site after bubblews

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It's hard to be a big brother. But I think you overcame your demons very well. I realize that you have been able to grow up and do a lot of things that you like to do. And now you are a very good partner in the writing life. May the successes and your favorite song continue.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Thank you and success for you too. I think we just have to learn and grow up.

$ 0.00
2 years ago