Burned Alive

37 60
Avatar for LykeLyca
2 years ago
Topics: Dream, Personal, Memories

I woke up so early one morning, headed to the kitchen to fix my coffee, then to the bathroom for a quick shower.

The place was quite unfamiliar to me, so as I went inside the bathroom, I locked it. When I turned on the shower, scalding water spewed from the shower head and, as I tried to lurch from its blistering heat, I slipped and fell on the floor relentlessly. Struggling as I would, I could find nothing to hold on to pull myself up. I shouted and it seems no one heard my screams. I tried back and forth, trying to grab the shower valve to turn it off and again tried to pull myself up, both with no luck. The shower kept pouring hot water on me, while I screamed and struggle, and got weakened and worn out. In that crucial moment of grief and torture, the bathroom looked so tiny, that moving and crawling was seemed impossible, it was suffocating and terrifying.

Moments of sheer agony passed, a voice of a friend came. She heard my scream, but unfortunately can't burst in to help me as the door was closed. She forcefully jammed the door, like a mad woman and thank God she finally barged into the bathroom and pulled me from the floor where I was literally being burned alive.

She wrapped me with the towel hanging on the bars near the door, and had felt the texture of the cloth torturing me as it touches my skin, I could even feel excruciating pain from the gentle air or wind around me. I screamed and cried from the pain and the debilitating flaws physically.

I was rushed to the local hospital in the city, the ride was like a bolt of lightning. As soon as I arrived in the Emergency Room, I passed out, perhaps I was drugged with a powerful narcotic to shut me down to sleep.

When I came back to my senses, I was in my bedroom, lying in my bed with my skin intact. My integument was functioning normally, no more hypersensitivity, no burnt dermis/ epidermis and no bloody subcutaneous tissue. I am okay and well. Thank God!... It was just a dream.

Sigh.

A big sigh of relief.

I had this dream perhaps more than a year ago, when Covid19 pandemic ruined our plans and all. Made me realize that the dream might be a sign that new plans are sprouting out in season to let go of the old, oh well, there are really lots of changes indeed, all because of this pandemic and I'm hanging on with patience.

I checked the meaning of being "burned alive" in dreams and it means I was being abandoned and neglected. However, getting burned with hot water means magnifying problems or feelings that something is getting worse. I can't think of anything like it at that very moment, well, perhaps my fears of changing some of my future plans.

Anyway, whatever it is. I can only pray that all the negativity will be disposed of because I am a conqueror, by God's grace. I believe that dreams are sometimes warning signs for us to hold on to our faith and pray harder for any upcoming storms in our life.

Let go and just pray.


I guess this is one of my vivid dreams for the past few years. I usually do not remember anything after sleeping, but if there are clear dreams like this one, it's great to write about it.

I had written one here before, that you might want to check it out;

The Missing Flower Girl


Another interesting writing prompt of @JonicaBradley to write about.

You can join the fun!

  1. Write anything about Dreams

  2. Write 100% original content

  3. Write at least 600 words to please Rusty

  4. Join and submit your stories to PromptlyJonica

  5. Tag @JonicaBradley

  6. Have fun!


Lead Image/ Photos by Pixabay (Free to use images)

Content is MINE. ©️ LykeLyca


13
$ 8.14
$ 7.49 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.10 from @Ruffa
$ 0.10 from @ARTicLEE
+ 11
Avatar for LykeLyca
2 years ago
Topics: Dream, Personal, Memories

Comments

Cuando soñamos así parese tan real que solo cuando despertamos nos damos cuenta q era solo un sueño. Inclusive nos tocamos y buscamos indicios a ver y comprobar de que no fue real. Inclusibe dependiendo del sueño hasta nos asustamos o disfrutamos. Linda noche. Nos leemos

$ 0.02
2 years ago

De hecho, me sentí así y me alegré de que solo fuera un sueño.

Realmente hago un esfuerzo por traducir tu comentario y traducir mi respuesta. ¡Gracias!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I haven't had dreams as vivid as that or when I did I don't give a thought about it for dreams are just that, dreams. Maybe I should try to pay more attention to them.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Mostly, di ko rin maalala talaga, pero may iba na sobrang vivid..

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I was anguished for the first few minutes of reading. Thank goodness it was just a dream. And as you say, it may have been a signal to ward off negativity. Have a nice weekend!

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Hahah! I intentionally started it like it was not a dream lol!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

My dreams are always eerie :(

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Isulat mo rin madam ung vivid na panaginip mo heheh!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ako naman may recurrent dream for I think almost 10 years di daw ako nakagraduate ng college at my subjects ako na need balikan para grumaduate haha! Ewan bakit ganun. Ano kaya meaning 😅

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Sabi ni Google, sign daw yan ng feeling of vulnerability or fragile state in life. Hala! ano kaya yan heheh! Whatever it is, alam ko you know how to deal with that. Pag pray lang natin yan.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Haha! Oo prayers lang katapat

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Dreams sometimes give us our feelings or future events but it is never good to let that hinder you from going forward, what you choose to do is left to you! I really enjoyed the story!

$ 0.02
2 years ago

True! Our life is ours and it is up to us how to deal with it. Thank you!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

i do believe that sometimes dreams gives us signs too... how are you na nga pala? done with quarantine?

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Yep! Last Tuesday ako natapos at deretso werk, werk, werk.. hehhe!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

good.. hahaha ako naman ang nakaquarantine LOL

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Omg! Bkit?

$ 0.00
2 years ago

That dream may meant for something that can happen in the future God is good so pray lang po ..and wag papatalo sa stress na dala ng covid.. Actually lahat naman tayo ..pero di talaga pareho pagtake.. stay safe always po..lalo't di nakikita ang kalaban.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Totoo yan.. Actually di ko nmn sinisryoso panaginip ko pero I pray and cast them away if I feel some negativity. Stay safe din!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It's exciting to write stories like this. The reader thinks it's a reality that the user is living that he or she appreciates so much and then discovers upon further reading that it's a dream and the reader doesn't know whether to thank God or just say "that's a great post you've written,"

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Hahah! You're right, if you won't read further you would be feeling bad about the whole thing, lol! Thanks my friend!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I always like hot shower. But before, I always dreamed of carrying a baby and shit (tae). So I just realized that in reality, I'm cleaning a baby with a diaper full of sh!t. Hahaha!

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Oh my! hahah! I've seen one episode from KMJS, a lady had a dream of seeing lots of poop in her bedroom, and after a few months after that she explored into online selling at yumaman sya from that! I think it's a sign!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

AY sana yayaman ako. HAHA

$ 0.00
2 years ago

nausab na nuon akong panan aw sa hot shower.hehe

$ 0.02
2 years ago

wahhh! ayaw pud oi, lami gihapon ang hot shower jud labi na pag naa ta sa mabugnaw na lugar hahah!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

ehehe lami jd ang hot shower ay..

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Scary - even if was a dream. Sometimes the pain in the dreams feels worse than real pain!! Did you feel a little scared when you actually stepped into a shower next?

$ 0.02
2 years ago

No. I don't take them seriously though, and our shower doesn't have hot option so it does not scare me off. However, when I'm in a bathroom and I'm not familiar, I do always check it first lol!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Grabidad naman, nag iisip ka siguro ng wagas dahil nga sa pandemic kaya ganyan kalala ang dreams mo? Pero whatever that means, pray lang always nga and wag sana papatalo sa stress of ever man stress ka.

Buti pa kayo tanda ang mga panaginip. ako'y hindi na talaga maaalala ang panaginip ee pag dating ng umaga 😅

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Cguro nga kc nung time na un I'm weighing my chances to go back to work or stay home kc nga nkakatakot mag duty ulit sa hospital na may covid hahha! kya cguro yan tuloy morbid panaginip ko. Yan lang yata huling panaginip na vivid, the rest waley sarap ng tulog hahha!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ayt, nakakatakot talaga yan. Pag di malakas immune system mo nakupo. Madaling mahahawa.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

What a terrifying dream! But yes, whatever it means, you are a conqueror and through His grace, you will get through it all :)

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Amen!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

That's a scary dream ma'am Lyca. 😲 Kaya ako ayoko talaga nanaginip ako ng hindi maganda kasi pag gising ko andyan parin yung kaba na di ko maintindhan..😔 yes ma'am Lyca we should pray talaga and be faithful to him wherever we are... Prayer is the best weapon.🙏🙏

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Dreams are just dreams, if its bad we can destroy it with our prayers.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes ma'am Lyca.. Prayer talaga. 🙏🙏 Before matulog wag kalimutan mag pray..🙏

$ 0.00
2 years ago