All Worth It

25 49
Avatar for LykeLyca
2 years ago

The history of what I become now started one summer day when my mom asked me what I want to be in the future. I always wanted to be a journalist or field news reporter, I can still remember my teacher in middle school telling me that I can be a good news anchor someday. That was when I excelled during our English class activity in public speaking.

However, my parents don't want to send me far from home for college. The univerity and most private colleges in our city don't have mass communication course that time, thus they convinced me to choose a course that is available in our hometown. My aunt in the United States suggested Physical Therapy, I got curious that time because it was a 5-year course, so I did. That summer I enrolled the course, though I still have second thoughts, thinking that I could just take B.S. Biology and maybe pursue Med School after. But then the school dean mentioned that Physical Therapy is a great preparatory course for Medicine and that learning is as extensive as Med School, I took the bait and got me in.

Indeed, the course is a nightmare. That was what I'm feeling when I tried to complete all requirements for third year. It was composed of qualifying exams and those nerve- wracking interviews from our doctor professors. Everyone was rushing, wanting and eager to be part of the official third year class, only to anticipate a nightmare of sleepless nights, long waits for revalidation exams (we call it revalida), moving exams, practical exams, I don't know what more, but it was a ride of fear and pressure.

Nightmare in Physical Therapy is literally real, when we started learning human anatomy, we have a real human cadaver and most of my classmates had nightmares, if not in dreams, some struggles from the smell of the formalin, not to mention the difficulty of identifying and memorizing intricate muscles, vessels and nerves in the human body. We learn to eat and took a nap inside the Anatomy laboratory despite of the smell and the toxic condition of the place, for survival and eventually graduate. Looking back, I don't know how I get through the entire ordeal, hard work it is, and heaps of prayers.

The hardship made me and my batchmates cling to each other through group study and group research, note sharing and discussions, overnight outs not for parties but for study sessions. Human Anatomy and Physiology and Medical Surgical Subjects took the bulk of those sleepless nights. We became masters in calculating the 75% passing mark in every quiz and exam LOL! For us, that is all that matters to pass. Who cares of the A's and the 1.0?

Then, internship came. The first five months of my fifth year in college was my first time to leave home. I was assigned for Metro Manila internship rotation, and adopting the busy life was difficult in a whole different perspective. I had a bunch of first time experience in Manila, I think I could write a different article about it. However, those first times are great times and treasured memories. All worth it.

The five long years passed and graduation day came. I was so proud of myself for completing a 5-year course in 5 years time, for this has been an ultimatum by my parents for us, all five siblings. Well, except for our youngest, who did course hopping almost every year. Annoys me at first, but what can I do, strict parents became soft hearted in their golden years, lol!

The fruit of my labor is here now. All worth it, I believe. I don't want additional years of tedious schooling so I gave up Med School dream. There is fulfillment in what I do now with my patients and with life, that all- matters.

I devote another year of self-study for the board exam and passed it in my first try. Praise God! This was the ultimate fruit of my labor, I guess, having this 4-letter acronym beside my name - PTRP.

My personalized inked. stamp

Closing Thoughts

The fruit always comes with hardships, persistence, consistency and devotion. The journey to it has never been an easy process.

I look back on the perils which I have overcome, of countless exams, determination, pressure and challenges. That time, I felt certainty that I have done so much. However, now I question myself if I have done it by far. What if? What now?

Myself on my PPE before heading to my in-patient, took this a year ago.

For @JonicaBradley writing prompt "The Fruits of Labor"

Prompt Rules:

  1. Write anything about The Fruits of Labor

  2. Write 100% original content

  3. Write at least 600 words

  4. Submit your story to PromptlyJonica

  5. Tag @JonicaBradley

  6. Have Fun!


Photos and content are all MINE. All Rights Reserved.


Thanks to my sponsors for renewing! And heaps of thanks to my readers, tippers and supporters. You are all the best! ❀️

Sponsors of LykeLyca
empty
empty
empty

14
$ 8.04
$ 7.41 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.10 from @Jane
$ 0.10 from @gertu13
+ 8
Avatar for LykeLyca
2 years ago

Comments

Meron akong kaklase from HS na PT din, hirap talaga yung mga exams na yan at puyatan, saka memorization. Pero ngayon na nalagpasan na din ang school, worth it naman daw talaga.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

The things that are the hardest to achieve are the things you enjoy the most in life. I liked your article.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Congrats to you, you deserve all the blessings you have right now, all hardships, pain, sleepless nights are worth it now that you achieved your goal, continue your journey to success and keep safe.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Thank you!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Congratulations po sa inyo at nagbunga na po ang lahat ng paghihirap nyo. At congrats din po sa pagpasa nyo sa board exam in just one try only. Sobrang deserved nyo po ang mga nakakamit nyo.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Thank you!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

doktora! ang saya balikan ng hirap ng nakaraan na nagdala satin sa kasalukuyang... MASAYA!!! God blessed the diversion and the hardships. and He is using you mightily there.. ! woohooop!

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Uu nga mightily nga talaga dahil ni covid, hahha! God bless you too!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hahaha.. true...

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Well deserved, doctora. I can only imagine the hard work you have been through!

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Thank you madam ganda :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hirap kya work nyo. May classmate ako sa caregiver dati, PT sya.. Pro nag aral parn caregiver.. Wow.. Hirao nun. .andun ata parn sya Middle East now. Kaw wala plan mag abroad? Laki swldo ng PT dun

$ 0.02
2 years ago

I'm cooking something.. soon madam :) Galing ako middle east na, waiting while working muna dito sa pinas kc bawal may work gap eh

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You deserved it po ..All the efforts paid off and now you had that acronym .😊What does it mean by the way hehe.. And that's right who cares A and uno's in actual battlefield of work.πŸ˜…

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Physical Therapist Registered in the Philippines... Tumpak ka jan, sa battlefield basta marunong ka un na un...

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You are tough to have withstood that 3rd year of yours, imagine you dealt with real cadaver! All worth it indeed that you are happy with what you have become and what you now do. Hard work pays off sweetly :)

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Ngayon di ko ma imagine pano ko nasikmura lahat un, all by God's grace talaga.. thanks po!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You did it, that's the most important thing :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

The fruits are always achieved with hard work and perseverance. You have accomplished a lot! And you enjoy what you do, that is so important!

$ 0.02
2 years ago

True enough all that matters. Thanks my friend!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You really worked hard to be who you are today. You deserve it. (Pardon the use of your nick) Lykelyca PTRP πŸ€—πŸ’š

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Woot! Hahah! Thank you!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I'm sorry you were not able to pursue your dream career. But I'm glad you feel good about doing what you do now. That's the important thing, to have the passion in entrepreneurship because the peace we have depends on it.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

All that matters to love what we do. I can't imagine the years and hardships you did in Med School my friend, you're amazing!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It is all part of our professional training. Just like you, you also had to go through all the difficulties that we students go through. And now we are what we are, better people and good professionals. A big hug, my Filipina friend.

$ 0.00
2 years ago