Crab Mentality: If I can't have it, neither can you!

72 109
Date: 22nd February, 2022
Tuesday

May I help you dear? I think you are upset or just want to explore something by yourself. Never mind. I'm Lucifer, you host. You just clicked on the red icon and it take you here in my world. So, hello from the Devil. I'm so glad to welcome you to a very important matter which will somehow connect you to the situation. What situation? Oh, dear. It’s something like jealousy, anger and hate mixture. It seems like you are confused. Yeah, but don't worry. I am here to help you. Let me explain about it. Have a seat, please.

It's about a person who rises faster, succeeds in life, reaches the goal of his life and about to touch the golden line when some of his close ones like friends, society people or colleagues grab him from behind and destroy the reasons of his happiness. Common to you? It is called the ❝ Crab Mentality ❞. Ever heard about it? It’s about a metaphor which the old people used to explain the situation.

source: unsplash.com

Just go to some place where you can catch many crabs. Maybe beach will be the perfect place. Anyway, now put those crabs in a bucket. Cool? Just don't cover it. Now, you will be asking that they will be out at any moment! Wait and watch it. No crabs are going to make it. The question is now 'Why'? Go and check it from the distance. Whenever a crab is about to make it happen, another crab grabs one of it’s leg and pulls it downwards. This happens with each and every crab which tries to escape. This mentality never helps any of them to get out of the bucket. This is the crab mentality.

Deep breathe from inside. Now, back to the point. This is a symbolic incident which we can see in our society. Just be honest with me. Tell me dear, have you ever met such kind of people? Yes, you have. Even some of you had already encountered those ugly experiences. These types of people will never be happy with your success. They feel uncomfortable with your winning streak. You are working hard, sweating a lot to make this happen but some people will never be impressed with your hard work. They will always find fault in your works. Not only that, they will be shouting & spreading the faults to everyone. Why? Because they want others to hate you like they do.

Maybe you are thinking why a person who has Kabourophobia (Phobia of Crabs) is telling this story! Well dear, it’s a metaphor and people really need to know about it. This is important because we are human being and we live in such societies. We let them know about our success. We show them that we can change our fate. But what they do to us? They start humiliating us. Their jealousy picks a new stage. They cannot bear the happiness of us. They cannot rise like us. That's why they want us to be down like them. They wishes for our failures. Finding similarity with that crab mentality? Oh yes my dear, it is also known as ❝ Tall Poppy Syndrome ❞.

If I can't have it, neither can you

source: unsplash.com

Their mentality is just this line. They at first try to do something and somehow fail. In their vision, they had tried to the end point so no one would reach that. But whenever someone crosses their end line and creates history by achieving a new feat, they start feeling annoyed. Now they start to make that achievement in dust. They don't want you to be successful as they had never had that performance to feel proud.

Well, my friend if I start to elaborate it more you will feel bored but the truth is this is all around us. Each of us are in the web of this jealousy. We don’t want others to be a greater one. Ugly face of socially connected so called humans. Is this how we can succeed? No, never. End this mentality or we will never be able to upgrade ourselves.

  • All the pictures including the lead image are used from unsplash.com

Thanks for being with me. Beware of these guys.

©Lucifer01

33
$ 7.14
$ 6.34 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @Alther
$ 0.05 from @Ruffa
+ 23
Sponsors of Lucifer01
empty
empty
empty

Comments

Crab mentality. Nah that's very common here in our country. Just like my father sides family. They can't be happy if someone in the family is happy and successful in their life. glad I don't have that kind of mentality. It always makes me happy to see other people happy or succeed in their life.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

That types of people are everywhere. They are looking for the opportunity to pull you down. That's the fact.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

yeah they are everywhere

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I make a lot of friends and i can say i've come across people like this, it seems like their level of negativity never gets low and all we can do is stay away from them because though they may be nice at times, they are a whole lot of trouble

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Stay away from them. They are harmful.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Noted

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I have always wondered why there are people who cannot tolerate other people's happiness and what is the purpose of their existence when all they can do is provide negativity and jealousy. I run away from such people, I keep them away, I have my own wall for them.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Be safe dear. Beware of them. They only want to burn your success. That's true.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Crab mentality is anywhere that people should not very education, it's nice see but not to do.

Btw Mr. Lucifer I am Infinity_101 this is my new acc. I created new because my old acc doesn't work and rusty didn't gives tip. So that I create another one. I hope you remember me Mr. Lucifer

$ 0.02
2 years ago

I do remember you. Good to see you here. And I'm just Lucifer. No need to add Mr. before that.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hi Luci. I'm back from my vacation grande. Hehe. That mentality is common here in Philippines. You'll be surprised if you still see people that will help you without anything in return. Have a great day. ☺️

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Look, who's back! So happy to see you dear. I hope the world will become a better place one day.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

So true, this is common in our environment and another big truth is that, even some of us that are reading this are involved in this act. I hope this article touches our mind

$ 0.02
2 years ago

I hope they would understand & give up. Bad for everyone.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Really high class animals like humans should not have such a crab-like attitude. Then the human race will soon be destroyed.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

I hope we understand these consequences. We need to learn.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I always make sure to avoid such people or evne become one of them. Crab mentality is one of the most toxic trait that a person can have.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Yes, you are right. Stay away from them. This is must.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I never knew that about crabs. That's a bad mentality to have though. One shouldn't let jealousy get the best of them that they try to pull down others who are succeeding

$ 0.02
2 years ago

And that's what going on and on. Look around and you will find out more.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

That's true, it actually happens all around

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I know lots of people who do not progress and yet do not want you to progress. Ridden by envy, hate, and wickedness. Ask Nigerians who "village people" are they'll tell you. 😂😂

$ 0.02
2 years ago

No bounds for them dear. They are everywhere, in every country.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I also hate that mentality, why not support and be happy if that person succeed? Hayyyysstt when envy and jealousy hits badly, we can't stop it.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

But we need to stay away from it. It is like fire that grasping everything human moralities.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

why the world is full of so jealousy, envy, and hatred...!

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Human race is not learning. This will cost them much.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Why don't we start adapting the ant mentality. They help each other and build the colony together. Why don't we humans do that as well? Hate crab mentality.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Exactly dear. This is the better option. Well said dear.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Crab mentally people are existing everywhere, they really love to ruin other people's success cause they are envious on what that certain person achieved. They don't want to support you and will pull you down like what crabs do, we can't avoid those kind of people but one thing you can do is to show them what they've got, using reverse card is always works towards them.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

So we need to be more careful about it. We should beware of them. That will help.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

This is a bad and disgusting mentality and I suppose the crabs have it so we can watch them and learn from it

$ 0.02
2 years ago

The world is teaching us always. But are we learning?

$ 0.00
2 years ago

That is the real question, and the truth is that we aren't. I hope we start doing so

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I thought this is just a toxic Filipino culture but it looks like it is present in your society too. Too bad this mentality have spread and thrive really well. We should be trimming and removing its roots for they are unhealthy.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

This is beyond everything. No national boundaries. Perhaps it is human race from the beginning.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I met a lot. I experienced that being pulled down every time I go up to reach my goal. Why can't we just go up together? Why do they have to act like crabs? It's not good to be surrounded by such a kind. It is toxic. That is why I free myself from unhappy people.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

People are learning. I hope we learn soon. Because this is not good for any of us.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

This one of the toxic trait of humans, I don't know why they hate being inferior, and others starting get better than them they do things just to pull down that person who's way better than them, they are so insecto the point that theu would do everything just to bring down that person with them.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Jealousy. The one reason for their such behaviour.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Crab mentality start how people become toxic. They become ome because of insecurities.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

They will never appreciate us. They want us to be the same like them.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I have meet this types of people Devil and they are really toxic. As much as possible I am trying my best to stay away with them. All I want to have in my life is peace

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Me too. I only desire peace now.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Crab mentality is one toxic trait of people. If you let yourself be eaten with your insecurity towards the success of others, it will not help you to be successful. Instead of pushing each other upwards, with this kind of mentality, both are pulling downwards. This is a very common attitude of so many people. They will do their best to keep you down on their level.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

They will never let us rise. This is the problem.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Insecure people will never bring you up they will never let you successful in life and I hate those kind of people. I have lots of my relatives who are like that and also called plastic friend.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Relax my friend. We all have one.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

This kind of people are actually common. They will do anything to keep you at their level. This is why we have to be careful about those we call friends

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Beware of plastic friends. They are harming you.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Nice introduction and nice writing, congratulations!

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Thanks dear. Good to see you back.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Great dear ..nice idea.good words to write

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Thanks dear.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

This great!, Filipinos have this toxicity cultures but some other how it trying to better than before.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

They are everywhere. Not bounded with any kinds of nationality.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Tsk! I remember so many people 🤦🏻

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Beware of them. Stay safe.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Crab mentality is not new to me, my dear cousin. That is one of the toxic traits of some Filipinos. Our cultures and traditions introduced that to us. Most of us, I think, have learned from the past and are trying to be better.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

I hope so. This is everywhere. I know you are dealing with some issues. I'm there for you.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Dear Lucifer, this symbolic event was very interesting and new to me. In fact, this movement of crabs can be reminiscent of some people. As you said, we humans are jealous in nature, but when we try to fight it and instead show compassion and empathy, then we show the essence of our beautiful humanity.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

This is life dear. Everything has two sides.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You beautifully explained the mentality of these people by relating the crabs. It’s better to avoid such kind of people. They are the only people who don’t want to see the other people happy they only want that everyone goes through the same phase from which they are going through. Btw, I love the way you start your article brother. Appreciated. You are getting better and better day by day MashAllah 🥰

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Thanks brother. Good to see you here.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

InshAllah from now on you will see me around here all the time.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

If you didn't know, there are some of Filipinos have this attitude also.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

I understand dear. Perhaps we should avoid them.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Onek important akta topic tole dhuresen vai. onek valo laglo article ta pore.keep it up vaiya.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Thanks brother. Don't use banglish. I'm happy to see you here.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Okay brother. I am also happy to meet you.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You just described 90% of Indians hon.. whether you realized it or not, Indians have the biggest crab mentality ever.. they just cannot see or perceive others happy and always have their shitty opinions to give that nobody asked

$ 0.02
2 years ago

We have so much people around us like this, right? Just don’t want to remember them.

$ 0.00
2 years ago