Check 5 Skills before going to Local Markets

57 82
Avatar for Lucifer01
2 years ago
Date: February 6th, 2022
Sunday

A casual day becomes horrible when something out of your syllabus surprises you. I was in my office and doing my regular job when a phone call changed my mood and I knew that my day would not be the same as I expected.

Guests are coming at my home. Well, that's good for me but my mom ordered me to buy groceries while coming back from office. That's the problem. Your Devil just returned from market with hand full of bags filled with vegetables, fishes, meats and other things. Happy Bazar Day for me.

source: unsplash.com

Hello my family. I'm tired and just want to say some quick words with you people. It’s time for my rest but I prefer talking. Actually I want to share my recent experience with you. Recent means like a few hours ago. Well, you have already understood the topic and yes, it’s all about grocery shopping of the Devil. So no more discussion on other things. Let's jump to the main point. Shall we?

Shopping from big shopping malls will not tell you the exact pain as we feel it when we buy things from local markets. Too many people surrounding you and talking loudly to each others. No sense that you are a heart patient or not. But you really need some skills to ace the problems and be the boss in shopping from local markets. Let me explain it more.

Local Shopping Market

A place where your daily necessary things can be found easily and in cheap prize. Well, fresh items are there and local farmers and shop keepers bring them to you. So it will be a better opportunity for everyone for having fresh things at a cheap prize. But as the world famous writers say that their are lessons in every single thing, the local markets will also teach you some life lessons. You need to be much skilled for that. Now, what skills do you require?

1) Handling Too Many People

source: unsplash.com

First thing you need to sacrifice is your privacy and lone space. In local markets, too many people from different areas will gather to buy and sell things. They can rarely have time to understand your privacy. All they know is pushing each other and move forward. So my friend, your first skill which is must is handling too many people. Otherwise, you will remain in a corner with empty bag.

2) Speak in High Tune

You need to understand one thing, we are not dealing with family or colleagues. We are here in a local market where people are shouting and screaming every now and them. Buyers are keen to purchase their items and the sellers are ready to sell. But you need to raise your tune. Otherwise they will not understand or pay any heed to you. Generally, this incident happens with the town boys/girls who visit local markets for the first time.

source: unsplash.com

3) Bargaining Power

Remember Dr. Strange bargaining Dormamu again and again in MCU movie? Ok, you need this skill for sure. This is an art. I can write an entire article on it. Well in local market, things are cheap but it can be cheaper if you bargain. This will help you to save money. Specially you can see the proper bargaining in fish markets. It’s like a tradition. Don't be shocked if you find that someone bought fish for 100/- which you bought 120/- a few moments ago.

source: unsplash.com

4) Having Sense of Good Things

The main problem of local market is they have less options to preserve their items. So if you reach late in those markets, there will be a definite way to get betrayed by the sellers. Rotten fish and vegetables will be given to by saying that they are fresh and when your family check them, you will be chased down by your mom or wife. Run.... dang da da da dang... You need to have sharp eyes. It’s a good skill.

source: unsplash.com

5) Passing People like Gymnast

Don't laugh with this point. But in local market the last skill you need is this one. You need to sneak around the market, buy your things and then have to return home. To get out of that crowded place, you needed to be more smoothy and flexible. Like a gymnast. You need to walk straight and maximum of times side ways. Otherwise people’s pushing won't let you out. It’s like fighting with the crowd.

Well, I'm home and applied all these skills. Resting now. This wasn’t my today’s topic but I felt like this journey does need some attention. Now, tell me, who has these all experiences?

  • All the pictures including the lead image are taken from unsplash.com

Thanks for being with me. Hope you have those useful tricks in mind.

©Lucifer01

28
$ 5.41
$ 4.44 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.07 from @Ruffa
$ 0.06 from @Ling01
+ 24
Sponsors of Lucifer01
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Lucifer01
2 years ago

Comments

Oh... great to know your gymnastic skills😃. So you are a Jack in all trades. Great.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Common people have more skills dear. We learn from almost everything.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Agreed 100%

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes! Sir devil we know that each country has a different Super market but with article you wrote some of you that describe are same to my country hahaha crowed super market is the most, may I ask you a question sir? Ahm which country are you living now? Hehe just asking sir devil

$ 0.02
2 years ago

In Bangladesh dear. One of the most populated country in Asia.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

All Asian Moms possess all these super powers you mentioned in this post especially the bargaining thing haha..

$ 0.02
2 years ago

You are imagining it all, right? Me too.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I do not have to imagine, have been to enough markets along with my Mom.. I know for sure lol

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It seems both our local market has a lot of similarities. Over the years I have learn how to move swiftly when in the market because it always crowded

$ 0.02
2 years ago

We are same bro. Yeah, I feel it.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

The market place can be very hectic. I only find it fun when i go along with mom or a friend. That way, we could talk and laugh throughout our journey without feeling the stresses.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

That's really cute. I prefer that bond.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes, we need these skills freind when going to the supermarket as we encounter different kinds of people who were sometimes other betrayed us if they see us like we don't know their way on how to choose the right product will probably end up wasting our money. Because sometimes they have some technique on how they sell their products even if it's already not good so we must be careful.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Educational skills for everyone. We need this.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I loved local market coz I can get the items with the cheaper price hahaha. Before I buy I will check all the prices then comparing which one is the cheapest but of course I'll pick the fresh one also. I just learned it with my beloved parents.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Me too. It made us strong & fight with the price hiking days.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Wonderful tips Luci! I especially don't like to go to the market but if my mom persists, I promise to apply these advices

$ 0.02
2 years ago

I hope so. Welcome to the place of bargain.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Haha like a gymnast is really legit, local super market are full of crowds, noise and everything haha this is really legit, and also the one thing I'm good at is bargaining hahaha it is essential skill my mom taught me.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

You are legend then. Good to know.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hahaha gymnast 🤣 You read my mind again, a few days ago when I was at the local market I wanted to photograph the offer and write an article about the market in my city, but I got so crowded that I could hardly wait to get out. Sometimes I really don't like that chaos, loud people, but I usually finish my shopping quickly and run away.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

I do that too. Like I said, we need to be flexible at those stages.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I only go to local market if I'm with mom, I can't go there alone ahaha I remember when I was a kid, there's a man with a creepy smile calling me. After that I don't want to go there alone.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Me too. An old guy always teased me. Still hate that feelings.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

In local markets everything is cheaper than in some malls,but of course you need to be this skillful🤣

$ 0.02
2 years ago

This is a life long lesson. We need it.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hahha I agree that you really need to be a gymnast, or else we don't know what will happened

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Simple thing. We will be behind of their bellies.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

The thing which mostly irritate me in local market is high tune of people..lol

$ 0.02
2 years ago

And it’s higher in fish market. Experienced it?

$ 0.00
2 years ago

funny devil :)) you are absolutely right

$ 0.02
2 years ago

That means you have the experience! Good to know.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hahaha, these are so true!! I was in the market yesterday and I had to walk really fast and sideways. There's no time for loitering or waiting and your really have to raise your voice if you want to be attended to

$ 0.02
2 years ago

We all had these types of experience. I must say it’s a common incident.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Passing People like Gymnast hahahahahaha :D

$ 0.02
2 years ago

We all have done this. Right?

$ 0.00
2 years ago

of course :) that's why i laughed

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Haha, I like reading this. Those skills are a must to have in the popular markets, although bargaining is not common here. And that is something that fascinated me when I was able to visit markets in Egypt many years ago and then in Istanbul. I love visiting markets by the way :)

$ 0.02
2 years ago

You have visited there? Wow dear. That's great.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Local markets are quite different from shopping malls where people aren't crowded and you can easily get what you are looking for on a well-designed shelf...good you made use of those skills in the local market so you get what you were looking for in a pace.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

I had too dear. I enjoyed it also.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Dear Lucifer, you said it very well, you reminded me of myself when I go to the local market, especially with option 5 I completely agree. Of course, sometimes reaching these markets late helps us find what we want to buy at a lower price. Because sellers don't want to bring back many of their products, they end up having to sell them at a much lower price...

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Found one! Completely agree with you. You have the experience.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

This is a different country and different laws. In our markets, everything is leveled, no one shouts, and moreover, no one shoves. But in any country you need to hide your wallet securely! At markets, as a rule, goods are always fresh and cheaper.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Different country and different rules. In Asia, this is the rule dear.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Sometimes really made our day unexpectedly bad because just one phone call made you're day very different and you are going to different places which is really newly and you face many things there

$ 0.02
2 years ago

That's true dear. This is life.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I think I need to practice the third one which is to speak in high tune. I have a low voice that the seller would not hear my voice that much haha. I remember one time I told the seller that I'll buy 1 kilo of onions, buy she gave me a wrong vege as my voice that time was so low haha

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Happens dear. But now you have your lessons.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I am an expert in all this field haha, earlier I couldn't bargain and then I realised that I can save a little and there's no shameness in bargaining so I give up my earlier shyness and reformed myself and now I go to buy groceries everyday and do exactly like what you say haah, being gymnast is my favorite part in the market.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Now you are a great Indian. That's how we deal.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Exactly... I have all above mentioned qualities except bargaining heheh

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Learn it brother. It will save your money.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Haha. Your list is very correct. Especially the power to bargain for the best of what you want. If you can't negotiate, then you likely will be cheated and buy less for more

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Indeed dear. That saves our budget.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You made me laugh, my dear cousin. Happy Bazar Day. I got an accident so I cannot comment on all the articles today, my arm was hurt. Saving energy :)

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Get well soon dear. I'm worried now.

$ 0.00
2 years ago