Be Productive! Say "NO"

Avatar for Khing14
2 years ago
Topics: Randomtopic
Date: November 11, 2021

I don't really have any topic to write today. But then this word "productivity" just popped up in my mind.

There are times that we're not productive at all due to a lot of factors around us. But you know what? In my 13 years of experience in the I.T industry, there's one thing that I learned which helped increase my productivity at work. And it is to say "NO".

Learn to say "NO" to people asking you a favor

If someone comes around and ask a you a favor but then your workload is too full enough to accept another load, then you can always say "NO".

If someone asked your help about something they know that you're good of, but then you're busy with your current project or work and you're trying to meet the deadline, say "NO".

Saying "NO" doesn't mean that you're selfish.

When you always entertain those people around you asking for your help, you'll just end-up missing your own deadline. You'll end-up not completing your own work on-time.

You may never realize too soon that slowly, those people coming in asking for your small help are stealing your precious time already.

And then at the end of the day, when you look in the progress of your work, you'll learn that you've lost a lot of time due to those distractions.

Saying "NO" is your way of telling them that you also have your own priorities and urgent deadline that you are targeting. That you want to reserve your time and energy to your own work.

Be honest to them and explain in a gentle way that you don't have enough bandwidth to help them. Saying "NO" doesn't mean being rude to those who are asking for your help. You must find the right words and the right tone so that you will not sound offending.

Another option is, you can direct them to someone whom you know can help them as well and might say YES to them. In that case, you are still helping them (indirectly).

Learn to say "NO" to Procrastination

Delaying things can affect a person's productivity as well. "Why not do it today than wait for tomorrow?"

I know that temptations are just around us. There are lots of distractions that will cause us procrastinate a thing.

Why not wash your dishes tonight? Why wait for tomorrow to do it?

Why not do your laundry today if you're free than wait for the weekends where you're not sure if the weather will be as good as today?

Why not pay your bills as early as now (if you have enough money), than wait for the due date to come?

Speaking of paying bills, I've experienced this once.

I am supposed to pay my credit card bills every 28th of the month although their due date is every 4th of the following month. I am paying our credit card bills via GCASH.

So here comes the 28th of September, my husband started to ask me "did you pay our bills yet?" but then my response is always "Later, once my shift is over because I don't want to make any mistakes while paying it".

He's always doing it in a daily basis to remind me to pay our bills before the due date because I'm sure those who has credit card can relate that the late payment fee is costly (more or less 500PHP in my case). And my husband is also aware of it so we're trying to get rid of it that's why we schedule our payment every 28th of the month.

And you know what? I missed it!. I missed the due date!. I am able to pay our bills on the 6th of the following month (October). That means we're 2 days overdue!. I felt guilty at that point. And then my husband told me "I told you to pay it even before the 30th but you're always delaying it, you didn't prioritized it".

So when my billing statement has been sent over the mail, I immediately checked if they charged me late payment fee on . And yes they charged me late payment fee on 5th of October (the day after the due date). But then I am so thankful that they have reversed it right after I do my payment on 6th of October.

I felt relief when I saw the billing statement. I immediately relayed the information to my husband and he told me "Lessons learned - next time, prioritize it over something else".


Sponsors of Khing14
empty
empty
empty

13
$ 4.44
$ 4.05 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.10 from @ARTicLEE
$ 0.05 from @Jane
+ 11
Sponsors of Khing14
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Khing14
2 years ago
Topics: Randomtopic
Enjoyed this article?  Earn Bitcoin Cash by sharing it! Explain
...and you will also help the author collect more tips.

Comments

Automatic 'NO' ako sa mga taong di marunong tumulong sa sarili nila tas puro pabuhat nalang sa iba. I do help naman, pero I only help those people na willing matuto tas tinutulongan din yung sarili nila to improve.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

korek sis. Nung bago bago ako sa work hindi ako marunong mag NO eh, kaya natatambakan ako ng trabaho. Pero ayun, natuto na din ako.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Sans kya ko mag say NO, hayst

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Why not sis!..hindi naman masama mag say NO paminsan minsan. Kasi yung iba abusado na din, hanggang dumating sa punto na para ka nalang nilang inuuto.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I'm always saying NO to that kind of person because if you always help them, they will always come to you.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

ay totoo yan sis. Pagbigyan mo nang isang beses for sure paulit ulit na yan.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Oo, tapos palagi na lang aasa sayo. Kapag hindi mo tinulungan, ikaw pa yung masama. Kakainis sila, Sis. πŸ˜…

$ 0.00
2 years ago

naku sis, relate na relate!..ahahaha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It would be better to say No than saying Yes but you can't make it. We have the right to say no kasi tayo din naman ang apektado hindi sila. hehe

$ 0.01
2 years ago

kaya nga te..and oras natin ang impacted...

$ 0.00
2 years ago

For me, saying NO is totally fine. Some people might misinterpret it. They always put negative thoughts on saying no. Gaya ng nanay ko, puro siya oo kaya minsan naloloko ng mga kaibigan niya.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

ou sis, may mga abusado din kasi dyan sa tabi tabi. Na porke palaging napapagbigyan, lagi na lang din nakaasa sayo...

$ 0.00
2 years ago

"No" isn't all that negative as we usually think it to be. Start saying "no" to time wasters and you wouldn't regret it.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

I agree!....some tend to waste our time and energy

$ 0.00
2 years ago

My week was really productiver however not here in read. I missed 3 articles already and writing now to post it later

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Saying no takes practice and discipline. We do need to prioritize things.

I always forget to pay my bills too that's why I incur huge late charges.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Tama ka dyan sis, ndi naman masamang mag NO if may mga gagawin ka din:)

$ 0.01
2 years ago

kaya nga po eh. Kasi impacted din kahit yung sarili mong deliverables.

$ 0.00
2 years ago
$ 0.00
2 years ago

Saying no helps us to be productive. Kaya matuto tayo magsabi ng No kasi pag hindi tayo naman ang kawawa. May mga bagay na di magawa at di kayang matapos sa loob ng isang araw. Natuto na ako niyan, may mga abusado din kasi kaya kailangan din natin Pagsabihan ng hindi para naman matuto silang gumawa ng sila lang, hindi yung iasa nalang sa atin. (May pinaghuhugutan yarnπŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚).

$ 0.01
2 years ago

naku sis, sinabi mo pa..ang iba kahit kaya naman nila gawin, ipapagawa pa sayo. Kaya naman nila kapain kung papano gawin pero ayaw talaga mag effort muna maghanap ng paraan.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ay true sis, kaya natuto na ako. Pag hindi natin sabihan ng NO naging abusado na yan sila, uutuin lang tayo at the end tayo yung naging busy tapos nakaligtaan natin yung mga bagay na dapat sana nating gawin habang sila nagpakasarap ng buhay.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

truth..danas ko yan dati..

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes must Lealholm to says Jo, because some people waste our time,

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Truth sis... Yung iba nanamantala na.. Inaabuso na ang kabaitan mo

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I like that saying no to be productive. Sometimes those asking favors was just consuming your effort and time from your priorities to some extent that your own work will put at risk.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Exactly.. They sneak around and steal a portion of your time..

$ 0.00
2 years ago

As the saying goes don't wait for tomorrow if you can do it today, because we don't even know what tomorrow brings.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Yep that's true..

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Saying no is healthy especially if it's taking too much of your personal time pagdating sa mga nagaask ng favor ha na kaya naman nilang gawin :)

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Truth sissy.. Natumbok mo ang punto ko.. Ang iba kasi tinatamad nalang din tapos sayo ipapagawa diba...

$ 0.00
2 years ago