Blended Learning or Online Learning?

18 46
Avatar for Khing14
1 year ago

Happy Friday Everyone!..

Weekend is waving!.

Speaking of weekend, I just realized that my shift is till 12 midnight which means the date has already flipped!. Yes, you heard it right!I just finished my shift!..I am working from home Monday and Friday this week. Hence, to compensate my time that I supposedly spend travelling from office, I decided to write an article. It is to make my time productive while waiting for my eyes and my mind to shutdown and have a sleep.

Earlier this afternoon, I tried to send a message to my kids school's fb group to inquire about the enrollment fee together with the tuition fee of my incoming Grade 3 and Kinder 1 students. Basically, I am interested to know how money do we need to prepare for my daughter and my youngest son's enrollment fee.

I've actually asked the same question to me previously and they've also provided me the breakdown computation of the fees. But of course, being a mother, I believe it's normal for us to double confirm things specially if the price is a bit higher than our expectations.

While waiting for an answer, I took the opportunity to ask them if they are going to be face to face for the incoming school year. The teacher politely answered my query. They told me that they do have a blended learning set-up.

For my non-Filipino readers let me try to tranalate above conversation in english so that you will be able to relate on what we are talking about.

Me (blue background chatbox): "Hello, is the DRCI going back to face to face set-up thia coming school year?"

School (gray background chatbox): "Good evening Mommy,

This is teacher Jolina

We already have a blended learning, but you still have a choice if you still want your child to take full online classes."

My main reason for asking about the face to face classes is because my youngest son (currently 4 years old, incoming Kinder 1 student) don't know how to write and read yet. And I know from my past experiences for my eldest son and daughter that prep students needs assistance physically. For sure, they will struggle a lot for online learning set-up. Not only them, actually even the parents like us. And in my case as a working mom, it will be very difficult for me to spend most of my time just to teach my 4 year-old son all of his modules.

After confirming that the school is already offering blended learning, I then followed-up about the enrollment fee. I specifically asked them the total amount that I need to pay upon enrollment for my incoming Grade 3 and K1 student. And guess what, I was shocked to learn that the yearly amoung of obligation that we're going to pay is more than 30k php.

I then asked them, why is the tuition fee doubled?. Then I showed them the breakdown of the computation that they gave to me when I inquired about it before.

From:

To:

If you noticed, the tuition fee almost doubled for the Platinum as compared with the Premium.

On top of that, we also have to pay 100 php for aircon, 350 php for notebooks ans 1, 950 for tbe school uniform.

I Initially, thought their tuition fee has increased. Little did I know that the Platinum is the tuition for the blended learning.

When I asked them why the tuition fee for blended is almost x2 of the online (premium), the teacher answered:

I don't actually get the point because pre pandemic, their tuition is just the same with the Premium figure above.

I can't imagine that I have to spend more than 50k now for my kids' school.

And ooopppsss!. I am yet to discuss about my Eldest son's tuition..We're still undecided up until now into which school are we gonna enroll our eldest son (incoming Grade 7). We are thinking to transfer him to public school.

You might probably wonder why my husband and I chosed my daughter and youngest son to enroll into a private school. The primary reason is, public schools are quite far from our house. Hence, we're still have to pay for school service. Let's say school service transportation fee per head is 2000 php to 2500 php per month, if we're going to multiply it by 10, the total amount of fare compared to the private school's tuition fee is almost the same. The private school I am referring to by the way is just walking distance from our house.

We're just having second thought for our eldest son because my husband and I are thinking that maybe, since our Son is in junior high already, me need to let him explore the outside world. He needs to learn how to commute, or in general, how to be an independent student. He must learn how to budget his allowance for his food and transportation. In other word, we wanted to teach him some survival skills!.

Going back to the topic, after we learned that blended learning has a higher cost than online learning, my husband and I has some second thoughts now but it's like 80-20. 80 percent to go for the blended learning and 20% in doubt.

Now that we already know the figures, next step for me and my husband is to gather those amounts...we need to grind more, and we need to dohble time our hardworks because August is fast approaching!.

That's it for todays' thoughts. Thank you guys for dropping by and for your support as always!.

7
$ 1.99
$ 1.90 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.03 from @Kushyzee
$ 0.02 from @Momentswithmatti
+ 2
Sponsors of Khing14
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Khing14
1 year ago

Comments

Let's me also add to what kushyzee my friend have said. Blended learning will be much better than online learning, online learning they will just move straight to what they have to teach without minding if the person knows already what they are talking about.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Yep..you're right..I've noticed it as well...they don't mind if all the kids understand the lesson..

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Grabeh sis, 30k? Napapakamot ako sa ulo nyan๐Ÿ˜. Anyway kung magandang school naman at talagang matututokan ang bata worth it na din yan lalo na at private.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Okay naman yung school sis saka walking distance lang sa bahay... yin nga lang, ang bigat din ng tution fee

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I think it's better to go for the blended learning even though it's more expensive coz I believe that's what will make kids learn better. Online learning is much suited for those who already know what they are doing

$ 0.01
1 year ago

I think that is a nice contribution you have made.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Thanks ๐Ÿ˜Š

$ 0.00
1 year ago

You're welcome friend

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Yeah same point of view here!..thanks mate!

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Ang mahal, pero kung saan mas makakatipid and kung saan yung best decision doon nalang. Buti dito sa amin ilang hakbang lang school na. Pero ayaw ko na dito pag-aralin ng high school yung pamangkin ko.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Yung private school po walking distance lang samen..yung public ang medyo malayo

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Enthusiasm for work, friends, never give up for a bright child's future

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Grabeee ang mahal ateeee huhhu. Kaya i pa talaga ako pwedeng mag anak hahahha,. Di ako afford ganyan. anyways, para sa akin mas orefer ko yung blended leanring attee eh.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Ang mahal nga po..kasi kinompute ko ang magagastos namin kapag sabpublic, ganhn din..kasi need din kumuha ng school service..medyo may kalayuan kasi..

$ 0.00
1 year ago

omg education for a 4 year old at 50k? woah.... while my baby's annual insurance policy half of it..

need talaga ng madaming pera pag may anak na... or i'll just stick with home schooling

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Para sa 2 na po yun..31k yung sa bunso po kasi blended learning

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Grind more lang tayo sis, para sa future ng kiddos, pero sa akin public school lang parang hindi ko talaga afford ang private school.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Same lang po kasi gagastusin ko kahit mag public school eh..medyo malayo po kasi..need ko din rent ng service

$ 0.00
1 year ago