My Last New Year In Hong Kong

50 116
Avatar for Jane
Written by
2 years ago

January 1, 2022

It's been my fifth time spending New Year in Hong Kong since I stepped into this foreign land last September 2017. Every New Year event was so boring for me, except for Christmas days where I could spend my day roaming around the city, with or without my friends. But since December 31 is not a statutory holiday for us here, my friends are always working and I always found myself spending the night alone at home.

Prior to this pandemic, my boss's family always spent Christmas and New Year abroad, such as in Taiwan or Japan. That always allows me to rest more and be comfortable in their home alone. Being a HK newbie, my first Christmas vacation was boring as I only spent my days at home or anywhere around the near city, since I wasn't familiar yet with the transportation routes, tourist destinations, and so on. A literal noob I should say. And my daily routine was always spent at home, the market, and malls near us. 

December 2017

This was my first Christmas vacation in December 2017, the day after the Chinese family left the country. The one-week vacation was only spent sleeping, eating, marketing, and watching movies on my phone at home.

If I had only explored the country by myself too soon, my Christmas vacation every time my boss's family is abroad would have been so memorable. And this was the result when my boredom struck. Just take a lot of selfies at home and watch a lot of Korean TV series.  

But since I was still ignorant back then, I always relied on my friends and just waited for them to invite me to go somewhere else. Luckily, I have friends who love to explore the country.

This was my very first hike last December 31, 2017. And my New Year's Eve was just spent at home alone while watching movies and calling my family abroad.

December 2018

New Year 2018 was still the same. My boss' family went to Taiwan and I was left alone at home. The same boring routine every day, sleep, eat, watch movies, visit the park and the market, then eat and sleep again.

But at least on this new year's eve, I was able to cook some and celebrate it with my family virtually.

What I like about my boss when going abroad is that she's always giving me money so I could buy food or anything I wanted. 

December 2019

Here comes 2019 when the pandemic first hit China, but my boss' family still went on a vacation in Taiwan and I was again left alone at home.

This was my lonely Christmas eve after meeting my friend somewhere in the city.

My new year was just spent talking with my family through video calls and with my friends.

These are my friends from the US and the Philippines. We were using different funny filters that night and we were laughing out loud the whole time. At least, my new year was spent happily with them.

Then Covid-19 protocols were started to be implemented in February 2019 with more restrictions and social distancing.

I love the quote here

Who would have thought that this will be my last hang out with my friends as everything changed when the pandemic started. Most of the holidays, they opted to just stay at home due to pandemic restrictions. Besides, their bosses are paying for their holidays as well.

Since then, we have never been complete anymore.

December 2020

The start of 2020 has been so boring as well. No more meet-ups with my friend and we had different holiday schedules and they opted to just stay at home.

Then I started to have my lone journey and visited different tourist destinations alone.

And since traveling abroad was restricted, my boss' family has never gone on vacation again since then. And their New Year's Eve was always spent with their extended family, from 2020 up to this year.

Until read.cash came in June 2020. The platform helped me ease the loneliness and boredomness through interacting with different users. And my emotions were easily expressed through writing articles.

December 2021

New Year 2021 was just as boring as 2020, as I just spent my new year's eve lying on my bed while calling my family abroad and watching movies.

And this was my first photo in 2021 during my birthday tour around the city.

2022: My Last New Year In Hong Kong

Here comes my last New Year in Hong Kong which was a working holiday for me. But I wasn't really that busy yesterday as I just stayed at home the whole morning until this Chinese family went out and spent their whole afternoon and night outside with their visitor from Canada.

I went out in the afternoon as I wanted to make my favorite dessert every new year, using the money my boss gave me which was supposed to be for my dinner.

Tada!! My favorite mango float. I made two so one is for my boss' family.

After eating dinner, I just spent my night watching movies, and I was able to finish three movies while waiting for the countdown, Matrix, Clifford the red dog, and ghostbusters.

At 11:30, my sister sent me a photo showing our table, and it was all set. As I mentioned in one of my articles, our family is more excited to celebrate New Year than Christmas. We also welcome anyone on New Year's Eve. Our neighbors, friends, and relatives could stay over and eat whatever they want. That's how we usually spend our New Year.

Here they are, my family. I just saw how tall our youngest brother is. He's even taller than my mother now, and to me, lol. Three of my siblings aren't there, perhaps doing something somewhere else. The other one is in Manila, while my two older brothers opted to stay with their own families and just visited the house the day after.

So instead of feeling sad, I just felt happy as I saw my family happy.

January 1st, 2022

I felt positive on the first day of the year, and I promised myself not to feel negative anymore. After dressing up, I took out the mango float I made, bought other food, and went toy favorite spot inside the park, just watching a funny Chinese series until the dark fall.

That's all folks. My boring new year celebrations here in Hing Kong. Thanks for reading another nonsensical rambling.

How's your night guys?

©read.cash/@Jane (All Rights Reserved 2021)

41
$ 12.55
$ 11.45 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.10 from @Laurenceuuu
$ 0.10 from @Pantera
+ 26
Sponsors of Jane
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Jane
Written by
2 years ago

Comments

Hopefully by the end of this year, there will be a different story that is more beautiful, the photos that will be attached will be a journey from quite a long time, and your new place awaits beautiful creativity from you.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hey, Jane, happy new year! And happy birthday 🎂🥂 even if a little late for you, here is still January 2 ;) I wish you the very best this new year. May all your wishes come true. 🤗

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Happy New Year, I wish you all the best for this year, soon you will have your big reward for all these years in Hong Kong. A wonderful life in the company of your loved ones.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Big hug! Happy New Year, sis!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Happy New Year ate Jane, it's not easy being an ofw talaga Lalo na every Christmas and new year na Wala yung family. Sending hugs and kisses ate 🤗

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Paganda ng pagandaaa ikaw ateeeee Janeeee. Sanaol talaga. Happy NewnYear ateeeeeee. Enjoy your last new year jaan. Keep safeeeee. Happiest Birthday too ate Janeeeeee.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Happy new year madam! Bakit parang pa bata ka ng pa bata? Hehe.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Happy Birthday! I hope you are having a great time!

Tell me what did you think of the Matrix? ahah

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Happy new year sweet mam. Hey, you look like a teenager with that glass.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Haha thanks

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Have a joyous new year ahead of you 🤗

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Well you will have a hectic New Year and Happy Birthday Jane and Happy New Year , big hugs and kisses 💙

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Thank you 🥰

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hello, beautiful lady. I got to see different shades of your cuteness and how wonderfully you have evolved over the years too. That's amazing.

I am sorry you couldn't spend them with your family but seeing them happy must have left quite the impression on you. Don't worry, the next one, we are spending it together there 😍😍😍.

Happy new year once again, Janeeeeeyyyyyy.

$ 0.05
2 years ago

🤣🤣🤭 you are always funny uncle Ola.. Thank you so much.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

🤣🤣🤣😂🙈🙈🙈

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Happy new year influential Jane😊🎇🎇

Taking from experience, it is hard to be away for long without the family. But we just have to go finish what we, ve started in other to achieve our goals in life. Great to you're back happily with your beautiful family.

Compliments once again enjoy some days with your family 👪

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Thank you

$ 0.00
2 years ago

So Many experience and and enjoyment, you look really good and I can see the evolution as the years goes by, I would also like to spend one holiday at least in a good country

$ 0.02
2 years ago

I love that TIME magazine cover, I know it's just a picture frame but it looks real and it suits you 😉 I totally forgot about the matrix movie but luckily you mentioned it here and I guess that's what I will be watching tonight.

Ps: you have changed a lot within the space of five years, I thought it was someone else when I saw that first picture 😆 I love all the pictures here, they look great

$ 0.05
2 years ago

Thank you 😁

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It wasn't nonsensical at all. I enjoyed the colourful photos and I was delighted I am able know more about you since you're one of the most influential on readcash and in club1BCH. Sincerely it wasn't boring. Happy new year ma'am Jane.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Happy new year 🎉. whaoo! You are beautiful and enjoying your life,i have checked your all images. You have to stay home with your family you will enjoy more thier, families always good. Your life in hong kong is really unbelievable and fantastic i impressed a lot to see you. May God bless you and always helps you in every moment of life

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Happy new year ate Jane! You must be excited to be with your family again. Hirap pag nawawalay sa fam lalo na kung sa mahabang panahon.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Ang hirap naman malayo sa family pero para sa inyo din naman pero at least now my technology na hehe.btw, Happy New Year! Ang ganda ng transitions mo from 2017 to present. Mas gumanda ang aura. 💚

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Sa photo lng ata. 🤣 salamat madam

$ 0.00
2 years ago

How thoughtful of you na igawa rin mga boss mo ng mango float... 5 yrs is a very long time kya ayun so tangkad na ni bunsoy nyo😁

$ 0.02
2 years ago

More than four years lng nman 😁. Kya nga.. Pati sisters ko..

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Wishing you more positivity and glad tidings throughout the new year. God bless you always ☺

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Naalala ko lang yung time na nanjan pa ako,😅 mostly mag isa lang din ako sa bahay pag holiday kc wala mga amo ko. Anyway sis Happy New Year

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Happy New Year too

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It sucks to be away from your family for all these years, but I'm glad you were able to talk to them. Happy New Year!

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Happy New Year

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Enjoy the memorable instances of life wherever you spent your life. New Year celebrations being special to our hearts, it triggers almost every first of January! Have a sweet time ahead, Jane.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Maybe most of the bored years right from 2017 is because you weren’t with your families because sometimes without families courses being bored and I hope as this year is your last year I’m Hong Kong you will visits your family soonest. Happy new month/year.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Pareho tayo sis Christmas at New year video call lang sa family, di ako nakalabas ngayong Christmas at New year kasi naka quarantine kame May covid ang alaga ko ..

Last new year mo na ba uuwi kna? Happy new year to you and your family..daming food sarap

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Uuwi na sana..kung wala mkahadlang

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Happy new year miss Jane. I found your name on the 8 Influential And Important Read Cash Users Of the Year 2021.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Thanks for stopping by

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Usually ganun talaga magcelebrate ng holiday ang mga working abroad but you're lucky kasi madalas eh nagbabakasyon ang mga boss mo kaya you're free to roam around hk..

Last? Uuwe ka na ba ds year?

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Yup.. Hopefully

$ 0.00
2 years ago

1st day of the year and you're already having fun with those special delicacies. I want that spag and the loads of chicken over there.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Five years. That's what we call far from home😇😇. My night was fine. Thanks and Happy new year once again

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Not five years, more than four years..

$ 0.00
2 years ago

To live far from family, and having no one to celebrate with you, it would be a saddest thing for you.But I am glad to see that at least you have friends who can hang out with you. Watching the table which your family have embellished with delicious foods, my mouth is watered lol. They really celebrate it in grand way. BTW you are beautiful.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Thanks you

$ 0.00
2 years ago

The more I see you, the more fascinated I become. I'm crushing on you as a girl🥰. Hopefully that time in Hong Kong was very special for you. But looking at the pictures, it became clearer how happy you were.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

🥰 thank you

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Tell me your favorite series of kdramas now a days I'm watching sleepless princess

$ 0.02
2 years ago