I Thought I Lost Them

60 106
Avatar for Jane
Written by
2 years ago

September 21, 2021

It was Sunday morning and we were all on the seaside to celebrate a special event. The sun was so high and its blaring rays casting on the rocks and pebbles by the seaside. The white fluffy clouds covering the vibrant blue sky. The seawater was charging onto the warm baking sand where some of my siblings were basking under the sun and half of their bodies are buried under the sand while feeling the warm salty sea breeze.

Meanwhile, in the cottage, my parents were happily chatting with grandmother and aunties. My grown-up cousins and I were busy taking photoshoots and laughing while seeing our girlish cousins doing weird funny poses. He would climb on the tree, jump on the sand, and into the water, and pose by the trunk of the giant tree with petals of flowers on his ear.

Image from: https://www.travelingmom.com/things-to-pack-for-a-day-at-the-beach/

From my spot, I could see my youngest sibling happily running by the seashore with his little cousins. They would carefully throw sand at each other and would stamp on the water drawing near them. And my little nieces collecting seashells and pebbles on their tiny palms. They would giggle when the water touches their soft feet and run to the dry spots of the sand, afraid to be eaten by the wave.

It was indeed a perfect day and everyone was happy, which we seldom make ever since the devastating typhoon Yolanda wrecked our town. The aftermath was still vividly clear and some of its ruins were still untouched with hidden grief and sorrow that lies behind every wrecked wall and shattered glass.

I opted to go near the sea to join my siblings and cousins. While walking with my bare feet on the wet sand, waves playfully run back and forth onto my feet. A moment later I could see the water running fastly away from the seaside. It seems like being pulled by a strong force under the deep pale blue water.

My normal heartbeat starts to pace faster as I felt the same vibe when I witnessed the havoc of the super typhoon in Philippine history. I remembered how the water of the river behind our house was pulled by the force of nature and splashed back as dark whirling water wrecking every tiny house and smashing down every tree on its way. Meanwhile, in the town area which is facing the open sea, people were crying, running, and screaming to spare their lives, holding tightly onto the very last strong post they grabbed.

Those memories ran through my mind while watching the seawater being pulled by the force of nature. It revealed the corals, seashells, tiny fishes, and seaweeds that were bathing under the water. From the distance, I could see raging water forming huge waves that could destroy whatever things encountered along the way. My eyes grew wider and fear ran down my spine.

Image from: https://www.istockphoto.com/photos/ocean-storm

I ran faster while shouting the words, "Run!! A tsunami is coming!! Run!!"

I ran to grab my little brother and picked up my little nieces.

"Father, mother, run!!"

People started to panic after seeing the raging waves coming towards us and run as fast as they could without minding everything around them. Some could step onto another and trip down by the barriers. We all ran up the hill and I could hear the kids crying in fear. My siblings are good at swimming and I just thought that they could survive. All that matters to me were the little ones and my weak mother who doesn't know how to swim.

We reached the higher part of the hill, and I noticed some were missing.

"Father, where is mother?"

He wasn't answering and I saw fear painted on his face. My youngest brother wasn't around as well and I started panicking as the water drew nearer and nearer towards the seaside and crushing down the coconut trees.

"Where is July?"

I was shouting at the top of my lungs but nobody was answering. People start to climb on the tree to save their lives. Tears and fears started to form as I saw some people crying for help on the water and all I could do was to watch them drowning. Debris and fallen trees were floating and my mind told me to save my life as well.

I spotted my youngest brother and climb on the tree. As I reached the top, another surge of waves crashed into the ground and the huge wave almost reached our spot. Some fall into the water and I hold onto the trunk of the tree tightly safeguarding my little brother. But a huge wave splashed onto us and I caught off guard.

My little brother fell into the water and I cried for help. Nobody minds me as all were busy saving their own lives. I dipped my hand into the raging water hoping that I could save my brother. I heaved a sigh of relief when I touch his hand and pull him out of the water. But after placing him securely on the big branch, I slipped and fell into the water.

I tried my best to swim back to the tree but debris was hindering my way and the raging whirling water was pulling me down. I was drowning and gasping for breath and in my mind, I knew I would reach my final ultimatum and would cross the bridge of death any time soon.

My body was already in pain and a loud thud broke the silence when I hit a wrecked wall. Everything went black and all I could hear was a raging sound coming from somewhere else. Another water surge is coming, I thought. I was drowning and I find myself gasping for air. And I opened my eyes with a throbbing heart.

It was a dream that kept on coming and forming fear in my mind. I started dreaming about a tsunami after typhoon Yolanda brought havoc to our place and exterminated thousands of lives in our region. The devastation happened eight years ago, but the memories are still vivid clear, and indelible. And that dream of mine, a nightmare rather, doesn't fade in my mind. It happened not only once, but multiple times. Different scenes but with one climax, always running away from the raging tsunami.

From that dream, I dreamed of building a huge and tall house with strong fundamentals that could protect my family and not easily be wrecked by any natural disasters.

The typhoon Yolanda wrecked some part of our house and through my father's retirement money, he built it back brick by brick with the help of my brothers. Meanwhile, my grandmother, auntie, and two eldest brothers' houses were totally damaged by the typhoon leaving only some of their stuff. With the help of each member of the family, we build back their houses brick by brick until fully furnished.


That devastation not only ruined the lives of thousands of people but also killed the dreams of thousands of children who weren't able to survive that havoc. It was truly saddening seeing dead bodies on the streets and wrecked houses in our town. People were wailing even animals like dogs were in grief as well for losing their beloved owners.

I'm still having goosebumps while remembering my sister-in-law's story about how they survived the storm surge. My eldest brother was on duty that day and his family was told to evacuate prior to the landing of the storm but my sis-in-law hesitated as she didn't want to leave their house because of their belongings. We have survived many strong typhoons but that one was unexpected and we weren't given a heads-up about the certain condition of the storm and the range of the possible destruction it will cause. We can survive from strong winds and heavy rain, but we did not expect a water surge.

My sister told us that a huge tree helped them survive the surge. They climbed up the tree and secured my little nephew with only a few things with them. The water level almost reached them and all she could do was to pray and hold my nephew tightly while trembling in fear. They are living by the seashore and their house was entirely wrecked by the storm. Meanwhile, my other older brother's house located in the town area has been totally wrecked by the storm as well but his family was lucky to evacuate safely to our house before the storm surge creates havoc in our town. My brother was on duty that day as well, and if his family did not evacuate to our place, I don't think they are still alive by now.


These stories were the reasons I guess why I kept dreaming about a tsunami after Typhoon Yolanda ruined our town. And even if years have already passed, those dreams are still clear in my mind. Currently, our house is newly renovated by our father and we are building a strong wall by the river to protect our house from strong storm surge in the future.

And this is my entry to the prompt Dreams of @JonicaBradley

If you want to join, here are the rules:

Thanks for reading.

Lead image from https://www.istockphoto.com/photos/ocean-storm

38
$ 13.66
$ 11.84 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.50 from @ZehraSky
$ 0.10 from @gertu13
+ 24
Sponsors of Jane
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Jane
Written by
2 years ago

Comments

Yolanda. Sobrang traumatic na experience talaga yan. I am glad na okay po yung family mo and I am amazed na marealized that you are actually a Yolanda Survivor. I can't imagine the things na pinagdaanan ng lahat ng biktima.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Grabe talaga yung Typhoon Yolanda. Kalrong klaro pa lahat. We stayed at the evaccuation site for one week that time. Grabe yung trauma. Kawawang kawawa yung Tacloban talaga non. ☹️

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You keep imagining the strong typhoon that happened years ago and that made you had this dream but I am glad you guys survived even in your dream. Same thing happened in year 2012 in my Aunt's city where lives were claimed and God even saved my Aunt because she went out then.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

This scared the hell out of me, I didn't know it was a dream initially and now I can imagine what the typhoon looked like.

The experience left a big mark in your hearts and that's why you are having it as a dream, I pray such an occurrence wouldn't happen to us anymore.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Tacloban po ba kayo? Balita nga po talaga na grabi yung apekto doon nong nag bagyo, bahay rin namin nasira dahil sa yolanda. Hinding hindi ko rin talaga mkakalimutan yon. 🤧

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Grabe yung panahong yun ma'am, Yolanda is one of the most scary typhoon happen in our country! Kahit ang mga reporter non, sina kabayan napasabi ng mamamatay na yata tayu? habang kinuhanan ng camera man nila ang lawak ng tubig na halos abot na ang mga ilang palapag ng building! samin nga hanggang biwang lang ang taas ng baha peru nakakatakot na. :(

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Same.pinasok bahay namin ng tubig sobrang itim

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I could picture the whole thing. Hehehe. So much horrible and scary. I thought it happened for real but it was a dream. I am always scared of water. I don’t know why. Those waves and the depths make it look so scary. I remember when we got the news of a student who died in a dam because he was playing with his friends and never knew how to swim. They pushed him and he couldn’t make his way out and no one to rescue him

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Wth, that was horrible.. So it was his friends' fault then

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Sure. It was a shocking news back then.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I remember you once told me in a comment that you were a Yolanda survivor. I know it has caused you trauma and fears. So sorry it happened to you, sis! You're a strong beautiful soul. Xoxo

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Thank you sis. We moved on..but the memories won't fade

$ 0.00
2 years ago

While you narrate what happened in your dreams, my heart is beating too fast. It was so scary 🥺

$ 0.00
2 years ago

This was truly scary. It reminded of a moveie I watched many years ago titled "2012". This was a very interesting entry ma'am 👏

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Typhoon Yolanda was the strongest typhoon in the Philippines ' history. It's known worldwide by the name typhoon Haiyan.. That movie has a resemblance to what happened during the typhoon Yolanda

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Wow, I haven't actually heard of this typhoon before and the destruction it wrecked, I bet it was one of the saddest day in the history of the Philippines

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Sorry Jane! Grabe talaga un, the worst ever! I can't imagine the loss and the pain to the families affected by Typhoon Yolanda.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Sobra.. Dami nga missing kawawa yung families

$ 0.00
2 years ago

The closest I have ever come to knowing or seeing this has been through the movie. It must be totally terrifying and scary to say the least. I am sorry also about your scary dreams. That event left a lasting impact and it's understandable. Keep being strong, Janey.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

That years ago. I just shared this after reading the prompt about dreams

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Nature can be devastating. I'm sorry you lived through that, but I'm glad your family managed to survive. Here a little more than 20 years ago there was a huge landslide in the mountain to the seaside and it was a dreadful tragedy. The images of what happened were in my mind for a long time.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

We can't really easily forget such kind of tragedy.. Especially if it gives huge impact to our own lives

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I remember Yolanda and I am not even close dun sa super affected na lugar huhu. I cannot even imagine just how much fear people had to face that day and the grief and trauma all of you had to carry after it.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Pro naapektuhan kyo ng bagyo? Hndi tlga mkakalimutan yun

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Wala naman pong nasira samin, saka di rin po kami napasok ng baha. Pero naalala ko po kasi nung sobrang lakas na ng bagyo tas bahang baha na sa labas, hindi pa rin nakakauwi si papa. Yun pala stranded na tas natangay na ng baha yung phone saka pera. Nilakad niya na lang pauwi, buti nakauwi huhu

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Oops! This is frightening. I'm happy your family survived it and i pray nothing of such happens again. I can understand the reason for such dream.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Oh dear, I was terrified. Never had such experience but I understand the fear. Loved this.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Oww nakakatakot nga yan Ms. jane,Kaya pala you said noon you are Yolanda Survivor too, I had friend from Bicol they also near the shore, sabi din niyan yan. Safe house, not the beautiful and intagramable but strong foundation and calamity proof one.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Mas gusto ko nga magtayo bahay dun sa may farm namin.malayo sa tubig at mataas na bundok wala landslide... Kaso malayo sa school naman

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It was not a dream, it was a nightmare. These events only bring destruction and infinite death. Ne loved reading you, just today I discover you here. Congratulations 🎊

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Ono, grabidad talaga pag mau typhoon talaga ee. Yan ganyan ang ayaw kong maranasan. Diko talaga tanda ang mga Typhoon na dumaan samin pero grabi grabi din. Lalo na pag lalakas ang hangin na feelinh namin liliparin ang bubong namin my gosh 😱😱

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Ito pinaka hndi ko makakalimutan buti nga sa bahay ako nun...kakaresign ko lng dn nun sa work...cguro it was destined pra ay mkatulong sla mama sa bahay

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Oh my God, your dream was terrifying. I hope it doesn't ever come true. Thank God your eldest brother's family survived their own ordeal.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Nightmare po talaga yan, nakakatakot yung pa panaginip nyo ang dami ko ng napanuod about tsunami. And typhoon yolanda really leaves scars to all people specially in the most affected areas. Yung iba may trauma pa rin dahil sa nangyare.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Lalo na yung halos buong pamilya nawala

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Naaapektuhan din pala kayo ng yolanda. Grabe talaga yun. Your dream is quite scary ms. Jane. Narealize ko na importante talaga mga puno no in times of calamity.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Strong trees . kht nga buildng natutumba.. Ibang trees dn naman natumba

$ 0.00
2 years ago

8 years na pala yon... it's been that long.. glad to read your family recovered from the devastation although there have been many who didn't. Kaya siguro naaalala mo pa til now...

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Hndi tlga mawawala. Kht yung mga dead bodies sa gilid ng kalsada,, as in alala ko pa.. At yung itim na tubig na pumasok sa bhay na halos madaganan na ako ng divider namin buti at andun si papa

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Terrifying nga naman sis... and thank God at nandon papa mo. Nakakashock yung mga ganong pangyayari, bigla na lang.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Omg.. Na carried away ako.. Sobrang akala ko totoo sis..buti nalang panaginip lang.. Yan din ang kinatatakutan ko kasi ang bahay namin sa province is like less than 2km away and when a tsunami happes (knock on wood it won't), it is possible to reach our house..and the probs is, I do not know how to swim.. So as all my kids.. Only my husband has the capability to swim..

$ 0.03
2 years ago

I don't know how to swim too.. Sa mababaw lng 😅 but it was really traumatic

$ 0.00
2 years ago

same here!..andami ko ding nalunok na tubig alat dati..hahahayyysss...

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Oh my, you and your family we're all Yolanda Typhoon survivors, That was heartstopping😳, my mind didn't stop imagining those nightmares of yours, I could see myself from it. If I we're in your shoe I might not be able to bear the situation and became overly panic. Even if it was a dream your heart of saving your love once was still your priority, your such a loving daughter💕. That was been a huge trauma🥺.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

It was..and really unforgettable that it even goes to my dream..

$ 0.00
2 years ago

🤧I didnt know it was a dream but I am glad it is!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Nakakatakot, parang na reminisce ako sa Yolanda. Naapektuhan kami nun, kasi grabe yun baha samin. Wala pa naman kami pampa gawa NG bahay pa nun

$ 0.02
2 years ago

San kayo banda? Sa Samar kmi malapit sa Tacloban.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Grabe Yung bagyong iyak. Andaming namatay dyan.

$ 0.02
User's avatar Yen
2 years ago

Iba nga hndi na nahanap.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Grabe talaga impact nong Yolanda madam. 💔 daming namatay don at nagka watak watak. For sure it did left a major scar in your hearts there.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Super.. Mas nkakaiyak stories ng iba.. Swerte kmi at ilog lng.. Yung mlapit sa dagat ang dami nmatay

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Gosh, akala ko totoong nangyari ang tsunami, I feel my heart will popped out soon but thanks God it was a dream.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Based on my real dream..

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Naalala ko yung movie na The Impossible yung true story. It happened nong may mega tsunami sa Indonesia ata yun if I'm not mistaken. Tas whole family sila, luckily naka survive sila lahat.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Former colleague ko nga. Whole family nya nawala 😢 luckily nasa company staff house sya that time at malayo yun sa dagat.. Yung isang kapatid nya nsa cebu nawowork.. So 2 nlng sla natira sa pamilya nya.. Mas nkakaiyak yun 😭 Nsa manila na sya ngayonn. Nung pinadala lahat ng workers sa former company namin to Manila, dun na sya nagstay at hndi na bumalik pa til now..kapatid nya sa Cebu parn..wala na rn naman sla uuwian dun sa city

$ 0.00
2 years ago

This is horrible, I dare not tell this kind of dream to anyone.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Oh my! Reading this was really emotional. I'm glad it was a dream after all. I think it's a good thing that the house has been renovated and a wall is being built by the river for your protection.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

The wall isn't fully done yet coz it's really costly. But my father is building it one step at a time.

$ 0.00
2 years ago