Writing Prompt #16: Dreams

40 168
Avatar for JonicaBradley
2 years ago

Dreams are the movies we watch behind our eyelids.

Whether the dreams are our subconscious working while we are sleeping or idealized hopes and plans for a waking future, we all have them. We all need them.

All of my life I've had incredibly vivid sleeping dreams. I remember a dream when I was maybe 5 years old.

I was walking down a path in a park. Mount Rushmore was in the distance, the heads of dead American presidents frowning down at me.

As I walked the path I could see heads lining the border between the park and the grass. These heads wear blank. They had shapes of features, eyes, noses, mouths. But other than that they were black and identical.

They looked like the styrofoam heads on which people display wigs. It's possible I saw one at my grandmother's house. She wore wigs. But I have no memory of seeing one there.

So, little me was walking down this path with giant faces frowning down upon me and the path was lined with blank. bald heads. As I walked parallel to the heads, they started wiggling from side to side. It looked like they were attempting to put their (nonexistent) ears on each (nonexistent) shoulder. First one ear to shoulder, them the next eat to shoulder. The heads all moved in perfect unison.

I woke up terrified.

I have no idea why this dream scared the shit out of me but it did.

A few years later, I lived in Germany. We had just moved there and I still hadn't learned to speak the language. I remember asking my mom how my radio which I had brought with me from the U.S. had learned to speak German so quickly.

I dreamed I was in a swamp on a raft or a canoe. (I may have been reading Adventures of Huckleberry Finn by Mark Twain)

There were trees with Spanish moss hanging from them and a man with knee-high breeches, suspenders, and an old linen shirt at one end of the canoe. He was using a pole to propel us along. He turned to me and started speaking to me in Spanish. I replied in Spanish. We held an entire conversation in Spanish.

When I woke up, I had no idea what we had been talking about. Because I don't speak Spanish.

An interesting note: my first babysitters were South American. I can no longer remember their names, but they were "Tia" and "Tio" which means Aunt and Uncle in Spanish. My mom tells me my first words were in Spanish. So apparently, I learned the language at some point. But by the time I was 9 or 10 I had no conscious memory of it.

In my dream, I could speak and understand Spanish.

I learned French starting in 7th grade. As an adult, around age 26 I was told I would talk in my sleep and it sounded French. I have no idea what I was dreaming of at that point.

In my waking life, I feel I'm living my dreams come true.

When I was very little I read some books by James Harriet, a country veterinarian, and surgeon. There were several books in the series which was also the basis for a BBC television show. He inspired me to want to care for animals.

And of course, the famous Dr. Dolittle, who could speak to animals and understand them was also one of my heroes.

My walking dream was to be just like them.

And here I am, living on a tiny ranch in Texas, surrounded by animals who often need veterinary care which I can provide for them. I understand them in ways many people can't.

I also dreamed of being an artist. Painting and creating and just everything that goes along with it. I do this. Not daily, but at least monthly.

I've been "writing" since before I knew how to read. I'd tell my mom stories and she would transcribe them on a typewriter and I would illustrate them. I dreamed of being a "real" writer when I grew up.

And now I'm a professional writer, earning a bit of money for every word I put down.

I'm even working on a couple of novels.

My life doesn't look exactly like the movies behind my eyelids, but it's pretty close.

Unfortunately, my sleeping dreams can be vivid and ugly, too. I have a lot of nightmares. I take medication to help stop the terror my subconscious inflicts on me. Medicated, I no longer shout, scream, and physically lash out. I've bruised my knuckles so many times punching a wall or a headboard. I've elbowed and kicked my husband. I've "hit" him in the face (not sure if it's was with a closed fist or open fist) in my sleep.

Thankfully, medication helps. I only become loud and physical in times of extreme stress.

This week's writing prompt is Dreams. If you would like to join in, the rules are simple.

  1. Write anything on Dreams

  2. Write 100% original content

  3. Write at least 600 words to please Rusty

  4. Join and submit your stories to PromptlyJonica

  5. Tag @JonicaBradley

  6. Have fun!

A few notes before I release your imagination into the wild.

  • There are no time limits or deadlines imposed. You may write on any prompt anytime forever. For your convenience, I've included all the writing prompts linked and in order here.

  • It is the responsibility of the writer to ensure there is no plagiarism

  • Please keep religion to a minimum. Testifying and evangelizing is more appropriate to a spiritual community.

  • Please be generous to your fellow community members. Consider sponsoring writers whose stories you like. Consider giving a small tip to any comments you get under your story. Consider tipping the story you like at least 5 cents. Everybody here is trying to make a living. What comes around goes around. If you are generous with your tips, people will be generous with theirs.

Lead and first image: Photo by Michael Dziedzic on Unsplash

Dreams: 600 words GO!

31
$ 11.90
$ 10.90 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.20 from @JLoberiza
$ 0.15 from @emily2u
+ 14
Sponsors of JonicaBradley
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for JonicaBradley
2 years ago

Comments

I have just finished my draft for this prompt. I will just insert an image or two before I post it. Anyway, reading this again reminded me of Robin Williams' movie "What Dreams May Come". I can hardly remember that movie, but I know I loved it. I will look for a copy of it...

Anyways, this is a very interesting topic.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Very interesting topic, because I have super weird dreams myself, but non-violent

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I'm having a dream just like you. But your dream has nothing in common with my dream. Hope you enjoy it. I dream that I have created a beautiful content about my life in read.cash. My content is different and completely new content. The real content I wrote was the most liked by the Cache Director. So he was happy to give me 1 #BCH. I am happy to tell all my friends that I have written a good piece of content from read.cash that is relevant to my life. So he gave me 1 #BCH from that site. Shortly after receiving 1 #BCH, I woke up. I know the dream I had was a dream. But I believe something like this will happen to me one day.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

My dreams when I was a kid are all about running and running and feels like someone is chasing me. But now, all my dreams are connected to what I am doing in real life. I do still have scary dreams but this time I can manage.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

All creatures Great and Small, those books from James Herriot were great and so were the TV series, they even have a new series now. Dreams are bizarre, I rarely and I mean very rarely remember any of mine!

$ 0.03
2 years ago

ooooh. A new one?!? I've never seen the old one. But I've read the books, all the books. multiple times.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I remembered my dream last night when I saw your new Prompt Ms. @JonicaBradley 🙂 will just gonna share it in my entry.. 🙂 thank you so much for this new topic ☺️

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Can't wait!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

First impression is last impression. Very First Article i was reading on read.cash is your! Now i realized i am nothing in front of you guys i need much effort to write an productive article. Btw past night me too saw a dream firstly it was amazing and i was so happy but end was bad. I am thinking to write about it in article from. I would write it and i hope you would visit it. I am feeling proudly and responsible that i am entering in the phase of life where i would earn enough from read.cash or grab enough BCH.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Please do and submit it to the community.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Oh i already submitted into another community. No worry next time i would submit here in you community. Anyway i hope you would visit it.

https://read.cash/@Aasii/happy-dream-turned-into-insulting-dream-3ab6696e

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Just a day ago, I dream my partner was about to slap me on my face and I packed my things and my baby with me, but since pandemic, i don't know where to go:) then I got wake up

$ 0.03
2 years ago

that doesn't sound fun.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

4 years ago my dreams changed. My dreams are now about the people that I was always longing for.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

That sounds like an interesting story.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes it is. I'm gonna write it in my prompt one of these days

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Your dreams were interesting, speaking in a foreign language that you can't when you're awake. And yes, we do need dreams at some point. I think they remind us of things only our subconscious knows. I have published my dreams a little too early last night, I could have entered it in here :D

$ 0.00
2 years ago

you can always go back and add it to the community.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thank you :) I probably create another one :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hi good morning ma'am, sometimes we can manage our dreams but in rare case only, what our hearts desired it can happens in our dreams

$ 0.00
User's avatar Amz
2 years ago

At first, I was scared because of the heads and ears but looking back I have had that sort of dream before, just that it was angels looking down on me. It was pretty scary!!

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Sometimes the most benign things can be scary in dreams.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

This is interesting I taught have missed all the past prompt. Interestingly, you can do a list from #1 - #16

$ 0.03
2 years ago

yep.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Another Prompt that I love. Thank you for giving us early Mama.

How are you feeling today? Been raining here daily now for 3 days. Power went out for three days and it was just restored.

How are you holding up, mama?

$ 0.03
2 years ago

I wish I would hear from my son. But he is likely still on a 72 hour hold and doesn't have access to his phone. I've texted bio-mom. Hopefully she had heard from him.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

I believe he is safe and he would get back to you as fast as he can. I believe you will hear from him soon, mama. Don't get worried, mama.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

I agree he is safe in the hospital. I really hope he is able and willing to stay longer than the 72 hours. I think he can stay up to 30 days. It just depends on if he wants to.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

I'm so sorry, mama.🤗🤗🤗

$ 0.00
2 years ago

He's out of the hospital. I've spoken with him. He laughed a few times. He is doing better but still not that great.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Thank God. That's a relief. He will be better and stronger in no time. You are a fighter so is he. He will be stronger soon. Such a relief that you got to speak with him.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I sometimes have dreamed of scary things, but I don't give much attention unto it. Well, in the real sense, I've dreamed of becoming a cartoonist one day despite me taking culinary arts studies.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

I would love to take culinary arts!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I don't want to imagine that scary dream you described because it's 12:00 AM already lol.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

But you aren't 5!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I still get scared like a 5 year old :D

$ 0.03
2 years ago

hahaha!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

:D

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Your first dream was a terrible but the one in which you saw yourself as a painter was something which I really love to do.I will definitely share my dreams. So you mean I can also participate in the previous prompts you shared here when I was not here?because I am one week old here.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Definitely you can participate!

$ 0.00
2 years ago