Do Not Open The Door At Midnight

69 108
Avatar for Jane
Written by
2 years ago

October 27, 2021

It was Saturday morning when the Chinese family informed me about the gathering they will be attending at night and I would be left alone at home. The idea of being alone at home was even great as I could play on my phone the whole night. Besides, I am used to staying alone at home every time they go out to attend some gatherings. And that gives me enough time to converge into the digital world and do some grinding.

The dusk came and the house was filled with silence after I shut the door and bid goodbye to them. The time of their return was uncertain and they might even stay in their relative's house until early morning. "Great. That's great!" My mind rejoiced as I liked the idea of being left alone at home.

But before they set off for a ride, a message from my boss was sent to me. "Don't ever open the door at midnight. We'll use the key when we arrive home. Goodnight."

I didn't mind her message as I have no plan to stay up until midnight. My eyes are already complaining once the hands of the clock hit 11 O'clock. Unless they permit me to stay up until midnight. But that would be additional dark circles around my eyes and I don't like the sight of it.

Since I was alone at home, I opted to lay on the floor near the balcony door for a while before I climbed up to my bed. The night was just so perfect and the orris-silver disc moon was glowing beautifully in the sky. I wonder where the stars go as they weren't visible in the sky that night.

I was captivated by its beauty so I took my phone out and did some shots. And the supermoon feature of my camera perfectly captured the orb lonely hanging in the sky. But looking at the photograph I captured, the effect made the moon orris-bluish, not orris-silver, lol.

The solitude in my quiet abode is just so relaxing. No irritating noise, just the tickling sounds of the clock and the cars passing on the road and some odd noises coming from somewhere else, as well as the whooshing sounds of the cold wind once it passed through the open glass door.

I turned on my Youtube channel to watch some funny movies. But I remember the go-movies site where I could watch full movies for free. With that, I opted to watch The Free Guy as I found the trailer funny, yet, full of lessons that I could make a review.

After more than an hour of watching, it seemed like the string of the night was pulling me into the dream world. My eyes were getting heavy and the cold wind blanketed my frame and sent shivers down my spine, which compelled me to look for warmth under my quilt and drift off to sleep.

I was about to hit the sack when the bell rang and played the creepy Westminster doorbell tone. I really don't understand why they chose that creepy sound. In my sleepy head, I thought it was my boss not minding the time and the fact that it was only more than an hour from the time they left the house. I wore my slippers and sleeping jacket on and channeled lazily to the door.

As I opened the door ajar to peek outside, a cold wind blew past me and slammed the door wide open but my mind was just too sleepy to mind it. Without opening the gate, I looked outside to check who pressed the bell but no one was there. I got annoyed by the thought that it might be our naughty neighbor who pressed the bell when he passed by the house. As it happened multiple times, especially at night when I'm alone at home.

I was on the brink of closing the door when a figure of an old woman emerged from the elevator. Her head was covered by an old brown scarf. She slid it down and she revealed her mummified smokey-grey hair and wrinkled face. The old woman in her scurfy clothes had sad eyes and seemed like her eyes wanted to convey something. She stayed still and muted in front of the gate.

"Hello, po⁴ po⁴ (grandmother). Did you press the doorbell?"

She stood silently and didn't utter any words, nor act in sign language to respond to my question. Perhaps, he didn't understand my English words. But I asked her again while pointing to the doorbell, but still had no response from her.

The old woman looked sad, sick, and pale, and so I asked if she's okay. And how I could help her.

"Po⁴ po⁴, are you okay? How can I help you?"

But instead of answering my questions, she just slowly walked and was swallowed by the darkness of the corridor.

"What was that? Creepy old woman." I muttered.

I headed to my room after I locked the door, slammed my body on the bed, and crawled underneath the quilt, but the figure of the old woman with a sad face lingered in my mind. When I checked my phone, it was midnight and it reminded me of the message of my boss, "don't ever open the door at midnight." But I just shrugged and continued my slumber.

The creepy thought clouded my mind and I slept intermittently. Suddenly, the key sounds of unlocking the door woke me up and I thought the Chinese family had arrived. As I hopped out of my bed and dragged my feet to the living room, it was dark and silent.

A cold wind entered the house and moon rays passed through the slightly opened door of the balcony. The wind pushed the curtains that made the slits dance in the air. I know by myself that I closed the door before I went to my room but it was ajar.

A shadow figure moved in the dark and I thought it was my boss so I turned on the corner light. But no one was in the living room. The deeper the night, the creepier it has become due to odd noises and feelings.

I called my boss multiple times but she wasn't answering and so I opted to stay on the sofa. Every tickling sound of the clock was hypnotic and it drifted me off to sleep reluctantly.

As I opened my eyes, the old woman's face appeared at sight with her bulging bloody eyes like a monster that wanted to devour my sleepy weak body.

Unedited photo from https://camdenopticians.co.uk/trick-or-treat-fright-night-with-cheap-halloween-contact-lenses/

I rose abruptly and shouted soundlessly. Her hand gripped my arm tightly and I couldn't move. I was struggling to escape from her grip but she was too strong. Then she opened her mouth and I thought she would eat it.

I shouted on top of my lungs, but no sounds came out and I couldn't move an inch like a paralyzed patient on a hospital bed.

"Hey, Jane. Why are you shouting?"

My blurry vision started to become clearer as I saw the light open and my boss and her daughter were waking me up. And later I realized that I was only having sleep paralysis.

"Why did you sleep on the sofa? I told you, I will use the key to open the door." Said Taitai.

"Huh? What time is it? Did you receive my call last night?"

My boss took out her phone and checked the call logs but my number wasn't there.

"It's 6 in the morning and you didn't call me last night."

It put me in a daze because I was sure that I called her multiple times.

While looking at her phone, the wallpaper caught my sight as I saw a familiar face on it.

"Taitai (lady boss), who is that old woman in your wallpaper?" I asked curiously.

"Oh. She's my mother and she died last 2014. Yesterday was her death anniversary, that's why we went out to celebrate at my brother's house."

My heart started to pound rapidly sending goosebumps all over my body.

"Where did she die?" I nervously asked her.

"Here. In this house, it was midnight."

I spat some profanity words in my mind but fear just took over my body.

"Taitai...but I saw her last night outside the gate," I said in a trembling voice.

"What?" The daughter screamed shockingly.

Taitai believed that her mother's ghost probably came back to visit them on her death anniversary, but it was me who opened the door at midnight. Ever since that incident, I never opened the door again, especially at night when they aren't at home and the moon shines so bright.

Hey yooh @Theblackdoll this is my entry to your Halloween Writing Contest and I opted to make one after reading @Sequoia story Blue Room. If you want to join, visit the article here.

This is only a fiction story and I don't wish to experience something like this, lol. But this was based on the story of the previous caregiver in this house. She told me that she saw the mother of my boss in the lobby area. But at that time, she wasn't aware that she was my boss' late mother until she saw her photo. I don't have a third eye unlike her, so I don't care about ghosts, lol. I wasn't sure if she was telling the truth or just scaring me. But so far, I never experienced something terrifying here when I'm alone at night. And I even saw the photo of my boss' late mother. She doesn't look scary, haha. Her story was creepy though.

#HalloweenContest2021

#SpookyNight

34
$ 16.84
$ 13.38 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 2.00 from @ErdoganTalk
$ 0.48 from @Theblackdoll
+ 18
Sponsors of Jane
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Jane
Written by
2 years ago

Comments

How does that super moon feature work? It is stunning! I can't find anything on mine haha

I loved your ghost story :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Akala ko pa naman totoo na wahhh nagulat ako doom sa pict ng matanda 😭

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Akala ko po totoo na, kinabahan po ako hahahha. Pero tama naman po kapag midnight ay huwag na po basta bastang nagbubukas ng pinto, sinabi din po sa amin yan. Pero ang ganda po ng fiction story nakaka thrill at nakakatakot po sya.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It was as if I was there. The storyline is interesting and scary. Something related has happened to me. I can't remember what happened in that dream but afterward that midnight my ears were wide opened, any sound I could hear it.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Wow, this is yet another Halloween scary prompt. I've read quite a lot today. We don't celebrate Halloween here in Nigeria. So I only get to read about the events.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Very good story to start halloween, it was entertaining, you know not to open the door at midnight.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Wahhh! I'm lucky that I don't have that third eye. Siguro matagal na akong inatake.

Madam ang hands ng kuha no as building at ang moon ang ganda ganda!

But I na lang fiction pro totoo pa pla, hahaha di ko kakayanin mag isa pag ganyan. Buti na lang atapang atao ka. 😅

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Hndi naman kc ako naniniwala sa ghosts. Unless maranasan ko 🤣🤣

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Reading this at this hour makes me wanna jump in bed, lol!

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Haha, and the photo 🤣

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Haha I scrolled fast but I still saw the eye photo :D

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Wow! So spooky indeed. I was almost getting really scared. I have had the movie free guy In my phone all this while but I have not seen it yet. Now you mentioned it, I think I would!

$ 0.02
2 years ago

It's a great movie to watch 😁

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Paranf novel na talaga. Hooked na hooked akooo👏👏

$ 0.02
2 years ago

"Do not open the door at night". I am glad she didn't do any harm. Old grandma just came by to check out her peeps.😅

$ 0.02
2 years ago

🤣 was shy to say hello 🤣

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Haha. Was scared she wouldn't be welcomed and ended up giving a scare.🤣

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Wow this is one hell of an experience.. Thank you for writing about this and honestly sounded so creepy... your choice of words is too good to give true emotions to the heart.. :)

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Thanks for your contest haha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Actually reading about people appearing in the night is always a little scary.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Haha, of course. Especially if it's an old woman 🤣

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Okay now this is scary as hell, you can literally write anything and it will be amazing... I love your entry, I would do same if I were to be there.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Haha...you can join too 😁

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Oh! I was feeling scared reading it but I know it was fiction 😄😄 if I was the one, I wouldn't open the door because of the instruction I was given. I love holding onto instructions because I don't want to end up causing trouble on myself.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Haha.. Sleepy head tend to forget things 🤣

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Di ko alam kung magsisisi ba ako na binasa ko ito hanggang dulo..my God!..ang creepy naman ate..bihira akong nakakarinig nung mga ganitong true to life na kwento kaya medyo lumalabas ang pagkaduwag ko..ahahaha...Hindi nga ako nanonood ng TV patrol or Jessica SOho kapag undas..hahahaha

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Hndi nman sya true to life yung pangyayari 🤣 yung totoo lng jan ay yung namatay yung matanda dto. Pro hndi ko yun nakita haha. Yung pinalitan ko nakakita sa kanya..

$ 0.00
2 years ago

my gosh!...pero naexperience yan nung kapatid ko sis. May kapitbahay kaming namatay sa aksidente. nag outing sila mag anak. Tapos hindi namin alam na naaksidente pala sya (nalaglag sa tricycle) and di pinalad na namatay dahil nabaguk yung ulo sa gutter pagkalaglag. Yung kapatid ko, napadaan pa sa bahay nila tapos nakita daw nya nakaupo doon sa may gutter sa harap ng bahay nila yung bata (dalagita na). Tinanong pa daw nya kung bakit andun, hindi daw sumagot. Kaya sobrang kinilabutan kami nung nalaman na naaksidente pala, eh nakita lang nung kapatid ko sa harap ng bahay nila.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yun ang nkakatakot . bka hndi ako mkatulog ng maayos haha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ou sis.. Hindi talaga kami nakatulog pare pareho kinagabihan..

$ 0.00
2 years ago

OMG, naka experience kana pala ng kababalaghan haha ako'y di pa kaya di ako gaanong nagapaniniwala 🙈

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Fiction madam 🤣🤣

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Wow, I bristled up ahah. If they tell you not to open the door, it's for something! Good luck in the contest. I loved. Ps: With which cell phone do you shoot the photos? They are so good!

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Thanks.
Just vivo

$ 0.00
2 years ago

What! i was thinking it was real until i got to the disclaimer. If i'm the one and it's real every anniversary of her death i won't sleep in that house😂😂😂

$ 0.02
2 years ago

But my boss' mother really died here haha.. But I don't wish to see her lol

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ang creepy, naalaa ko bigla nung g9 ako. MAy kasama kaming babae sa room na nagpaalam na magccr daw pero di ko alam kung sino. Narinig namin nantumunog at bumukas yung pinto ng cr pati ung gripo, nung nagtagal na di pasya nalabas kaya nagaask ung naghahandle samin during exam baeon basta sa nat na connected na exam for shs sya. Pinuntahan nya sa cr ta skinatok pero walang nasagot, pero andyan parin yung tunog ng tubig. Tas nagalala na kasi baka napano sa loob, kaya ginamitan nya ng susi. Pagopen nya walang tao, bigla ting nawala yung tunog ng tubig, tas ung timba wala talagang tubig. Jusme, napasign of the cross bigla teacher ko.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Nabasa ko nga yung article mo. Kinilabutan dn ako dun. So far hndi pa ko nka experience ng ganyan. Yun pinalitan ko yun nakakita sa mother ng boss ko..

$ 0.00
2 years ago

oo ate, jusme napadasal kaming lahat e baka kasi isa sya sa old student or ano nandi matahimik kaya nagpaparamdam. Ts dahil don pinablessed ulit ung school namin since dati syang taguan ng mga army

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Nangyari b ulit after nun?

$ 0.00
2 years ago

ehhhh this creeps me out HAAHAH na imagine ko tuloy na baka don sa sofa din namatay yung mama ng amo mo ate. But I like how the flow of the story turns out, from a casual night viewing of the moon to a creepy granny haha

$ 0.02
2 years ago

But that is true . dto sa bahay na to namatay yung matanda 🤣

$ 0.00
2 years ago

What a very scary story po. Buti na lang fiction lang siya. Kinabahan po ako while reading.hihihi Galing nyo po gumawa ng story.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thanks

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I really enjoyed reading you, I was scared too, I imagined the whole scene in my mind, how scary, I would have run out of there.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Outside is scarier 🤣

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Juskooo ateee huhuhu. Tumayo lahta ng balahibo ko sa katawan 😭😭. Bakit ngayon ko to binasa hyhuhu. Akala ko talaga totoo ateee. Kailangan ko pang balikan picture ng moon para lang makalma 😭

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Sorry sa mata 🤣 kht ako natakot jan 🤣

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Whoah! That was one great fiction story Jane. i think I had my inner self screaming in my head when you saw those bulging eyes. Great job!

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Such a terrifying story. Thank God it's just a fiction

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Jusmeeeee! Natakot ako ng bongga sa mata na inattach mo ate. Ako pa namang isa mag isa ngayon dito. Hahaha! Pero akala ko ikaw talaga naka experience ate. Pati ako kinilabutan ng bongga.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Haha.. Kht ako natakot sa mata nung nilalagyan ko ng filter 🤣

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Spooky and creepy.. I like this.. Anytime I'm about to Read or what a scary movie, I alter this words in my mind "fear is the enemy" and once I over come fear, I'm good to go

$ 0.02
2 years ago

I like watching horror alone though haha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yeah, it will help you build your courage, well that's what I told myself, I once dedicated a month to watching horror movies and I got used to it that I dont fear the dark again

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Horrific story. Well written dear. But I probably feel better in darkness. So midnight is my party time.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Lol.. Are you a ghost? Haha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Indeed. Your devil dear.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

This was really terrifying, I knew it was a fictional story but the way you wrote it made it look real. I wouldn't want this to happen to me, I will end up moving out of the house 😆

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Haha.. Moving to another house in HK is expensive 🤣

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I want to come to your house at midnight. See your beautiful face. Won't you open your door for me? I am joking dear. But yes your article is good.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Haha.. Why not. Lol

$ 0.00
2 years ago

How did this go from, oh it's a lovely night let me take a picture, relax watch the new movie that I've been dying to watch free guy the one with Ryan Renolds and then grandma being swallowed by darkness? if I was able to curse on read.cash I would because this is really scary stuff........... great job scaring me. I liked this article

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Haha.. Thanks. That was figuratively..

$ 0.00
2 years ago

yap

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Seeing a ghost is one of the most disturbing thing ever.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

I won't wish to see one.. Although I've seen some during sleep paralysis 😅

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Jeez! It's scares me, Mabuti nalang fiction story lang, ganda ng pagkakagawa ate Jane. Palagi nalang horror story nababasa ko dito.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Thanks

$ 0.00
2 years ago