What Would You Do When You Can't Think of Anything To Write?

11 75
Avatar for JLoberiza
2 years ago

March 31: 7:00 AM

I have some topics to write about. However, I can't seem to get some thoughts as to their content. I'd like to write about:

  • Insurance

  • Discipline

  • The Summer Heat

  • How Bitcoin Cash helped me financially

  • And a few more.

Yes, I have the topics, but I can't think of the content.

Can't think of anything to write?

Greetings, my wonderful readers and co-writers on this wonderful platform. How are doing today? For a moment I thought I'm getting writer's block once again. This is quite normal to writers and happens even to the most acclaimed writers.

The question is, what do you do when you stumbled upon a moment of writer's block? I will share with you my thoughts on this.


What You Should Never Do.

A writer's block comes to a writer once in a while. It can happen to anybody, even to the most accomplished and best-selling authors. However, some writers for paying platforms like read. cash, hive, and others tend to do something both unethical and illegal just to post an article a day... PLAGIARIZE.

I think @lucystephanie mentioned this in one of her articles a few months ago. Some members would copy the content, in part or whole, from various sources and run them through an article spinner (re-writer) and post them as their own. That is plagiarism, which is unethical and now considered illegal in some countries.

So, if you get writer's block, NEVER PLAGIARIZE. Instead, do some of the following.

READ More

I admire @usagi in her effort to read as many articles as she can in read.cash. Then she makes sure to leave some comments. That's one way to gain new subscribers here. Besides reading some articles might give you a spark of inspiration to write. You might get a topic to write about.

Reading can help

Then again, do not plagiarize. What you can do is, you can write your reaction to the content of that article.

You can also read the news and write your reaction to what you have read.

How about reading a book and writing a review?

Watch a Video

Watch an episode of your favorite TV show, movie, or documentary. Again you can write your reaction or a review.

Go places and relax.

Last week we went to a neighboring province and had some fun there. After we returned, wrote a couple of articles about our trip.

Relaxing can help

Read:

However, you don't need to go to a far place. Perhaps, just go to a nearby place and grab some fresh air.

Walk Around

I often walk around wh I'm doing some thinking. I believe since walking gets the blood circulating, my brain gets more oxygen and gets working.

Spend some time with your hobbies aside from writing.

Get your mind off writing for a while, do something else that you love to do. Do some gardening, explore new recipes if you love to cook. Spend some time with your pet crocodile. Just don't feed it with your hands.

Sometimes we need to get our minds off writing. Don't pressure yourself. Sometimes, if we force ourselves to write, the harder it is for us to come up with something to write about.

Lastly, Just Write.

As they have said, if you can't go through an obstacle, go around it. As I have mentioned earlier, I wanted to write about different things but I can't even start writing about any of them. So, I started writing about what I am experiencing now and composed a whole new article in a little more than thirty minutes.

Just write

In Closing

Having writer's block is normal. Don't worry about it. If you learn how to get around it, you will get past it in no time. Just a note though. Everything here is based on my personal experience only.

Live a productive life.

Thanks for reading


Image Credits: All images are from Unsplash

Previous Posts


20
$ 3.16
$ 2.98 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @LucyStephanie
$ 0.03 from @Usagi
+ 5
Sponsors of JLoberiza
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for JLoberiza
2 years ago

Comments

Thank you for this guide. I frequently fall into this situation where I have a topic at hand but can't think of a good way to start it. Most times, I keep my mind off the topic and read other articles. I discovered that I find writing to be easier when prompted to write compared to having a topic saved. However, I do have a lot of topics waiting to be explored.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I also experienced about writing many titles without content. I don't know how to start and to end. Thanks for this reminder my friend.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

This is just great sir, even I take time in writing one article but I know I made it with the best of my knowledge and through the resources I've recently read.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thanks for this enlightenment. It's nice meeting you.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I agree that by reading, it can help you come up with a topic to write about. That's what I usually do..

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I am one of those people that usually experienced a writer's block. And if that happens, I usually go to my TikTok account and watch some contents in there. I also share my personal stories and experiences about a certain topic in there. Taking some pause is one of ways to think too. Thanks for all the reminders sir.. :))

$ 0.00
2 years ago

All of the above you mentioned was true and it often happens to me too. I was more on reading when I feel I couldn't think of good content. Watching can help too, but I am not good at pointing out a review lol.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thank you sir for mentioning me. Yes you are right, when I do not have something to write, I just tend to read some articles here to get some ideas. Sometimes, I just like to have a supporting article related to the article I read before and believe me, it is really one of the good ways. One more thing I love about here is that, most of the articles here are subjective so it is just like writing something that comes in your mind.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I've gone through writer's block and as you say it's normal. When I'm in that block I relax. And then I get ideas flowing and try to develop them with interesting content. Now in these last contents that I have published I have dedicated it to my passion which is gardening and decoration with plants as a sales business. So I make the arrangements with plants and publish what I do. Interesting your message, it's like a confirmation of what I do with my writing time. Thanks for sharing

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I prefer to read more because it is in reading where you can find a lot of inspirations and ideas to write. But sometimes we cannot really avoid being mental block, that's also the reason why I do not publish articles daily.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Yeah, that is true. You can get a lot of ideas crom other articles.

$ 0.00
2 years ago