Transfer of aggression.

42 85
Avatar for Ellawrites
1 year ago

Today's blog topic is one that we are conversant with.

I'm pretty sure most of us would have surely acted this way to others of rather I say; been a witness or a victim to someone who has acted, or usually acts this way.

Okay, so then what is transfer of aggression?

Transfer of aggression could also be called displaced aggression.

In displaced aggression, an aggressive behavior is directed at a person or other target (e.g., a pet) that is not the source of the aggression arousing provocation or frustration.

Displaced aggression occurs when it is impossible or unwise to respond aggressively toward the source of the provocation or frustration.

Wikipedia

I'm sure we've all been in this situation before or better still, some of us acts this way at times, skip the "some of us part," let me come out plainly:

I have actually found myself acting this way on most occasions, I'm someone who has terrible anger issues, and there's a point whereby I'll just want to download all my frustrations on someone, but since the orchestrator of my frustration isn't available... I tend to talk angrily to myself instead; cursing, hissing, crying... Ooh! All form of negative emotions you could think of.

Now the problem here is that:

If you mistakenly...I used the word "mistakenly" because of the outcome.

If you mistakenly call me or come to meet me during this process, there's a great possibility that I'll transfer such aggression to you.

One amongst my thousand experiences.

I was angry about what someone did to me on that particular day, I was so angry...I started talking harshly to myself, cursing and hissing, shouting and remembering.

My phone rang, I saw the caller's ID, it was my twin... I decided not to pick, especially because I knew he was calling me because of the issue that triggered my anger.

But then...it rang again and boom!! I picked.

Me: (shouts angrily) Hello!!! What happened?!!

My twin: Wait, is it me you're talking to like that?

Me: (cuts in rudely) Wo, say what you want to say, I'm listening.

My twin: It's fine, goodbye...(hangs up)

There's one thing about my twin, of anything... He hates when he's being spoken rudely to, especially not from me. That particular day, right after he hung up, it was as if the anger was suddenly wiped off, I felt immediately sober and started calling and calling him... Nah, my twin didn't pick, he picked after the fourth ring and trust me, his tone wasn't nice at all.

Most people, due to either frustration or an annoyance that arrived from the way their boss behaved or prolly; any their colleagues at work, when they get finally home;

  • They start shouting at anyone who comes in their way.

  • They become suddenly irritated with the slightest mistake.

  • The tinniest mistake triggers more provocation and trust me...

  • they won't fail to actually lash out their annoyance in a more annoying way...

Now, how can one actually deal with displaced aggression?

  • Words are seeds, if not careful, it could kill. It's easy to say "sorry" but it's terribly hard to make the person forget those negative and bad words you said towards them, so in essence: "think before you speak."

  • Only speak or lay out your concerns or emotions when you're calm.

  • You could also take some time out, just for you to properly get back your sanity.

  • Learn to forgive the person that actually caused the aggressive mishap.

  • You could also make use of humor, you could listen to music, see a movie, flip through pictures, watch a comedy skit, try to say funny things yourself, infact you could just laugh out loud... Do things that is soothing enough to reduce the boiling tension you feel.

  • You could also take a deep breath, lol... I learnt this helps too.

Transfer of aggression isn't really nice, we tend to shout or talk rudely to people that don't even have an idea as to where our anger orchestrated from.

Sighs...

New sponsor: An hearty thanks to @Jumper-01 for the sponsorship, I appreciate this and won't take it for granted.

Special announcement: I really don't know how it feels, I'm not sure I'll be able to cope, but it happened to him, his previous account was spammed, I really don't know how, neither do I know why, but oh! How happy I'll be if you follow his new account... @Mekus_rebound , he's a lovely writer, who loves and supports other writers and trust me, his articles are top-notch.

Till we meet again in my next article and in yours.

Thanks for reading.

30
$ 3.37
$ 2.72 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.10 from @Tomi-Ajax
$ 0.05 from @Olasquare
+ 22
Sponsors of Ellawrites
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Ellawrites
1 year ago

Comments

Indeed, our word's can literally kill. However i know sometimes that we really can't avoid not to transfer our aggression to other person no matter how much we tried to hold our anger and so it would be better to stay away from people or lock ourselves in one room if we're angry, specially if we can't control our anger every time we are upset or mad to avoid hurting other people unintentionally. It was indeed that saying sorry after our anger cool down is easy, but the pain that our word's had cause aren't easy to forget and we can't get back those hurtful words anymore.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Very true dearest Grey, sometimes it's just better to lock one'self up till one's anger diminishes.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I like to be on my own when angry. Oftentimes, it is that person that's trying to calm me down that gets the heat. Jut leave me be and I'll cool off on my own. On another note, I was trying to picture your angry face and couldn't help but burst into laughter. I think it is so hard for me to get over your smiley smiley..😂😂😂😂

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Lol, exactly ooh... They should just leave you/us alone, just this... It's so true

Lol, 😂 believe me Aimure, I've got anger issues.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Perhaps that is why you smile a lot... Keeping the beast away by choosing to be jolly instead.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Everyone is surely guilty of this, though most people will try to control theirs by not speaking with another, so they won't say what they will regret, it's all the same at the end of the day.

Just in case you need someone that can understand you. I'm just a click away. 😁

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Everyone indeed is, lol 😂

Aww, thanks alot Coga

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Who has not transfered aggression once, hands in the air? No one. Lol🤣.

We are humans and this trait in us can't not be killed completely but can be avoided.

My boss is fond of this thing and anytime he starts, we'll just be laughing in our minds because once he's calm, eyes go clear🤣

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Lol, yeah right, you're right... Yes, it can truly be avoided, it means your boss also transfers aggression Sometimes, lol.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

It happens let's say twice or more in a week and we've mastered him.

Once it start, maybe sales was down the other day or someone provoked him outside. Lol🤣

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Ella I love this write up, u are actually talking to me, because whenever am angry I can do anything and the worst part of it is that my heart bit fasting. Have actually experienced when you where angry with your so called friend jumoke, I knew how u reacted in anger

$ 0.01
1 year ago

You're right dear, lol, that day wasn't funny at all, it's always good for one to patiently dispose one's anger so as not to lash out to others.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

My dear Ella , this topic was very interesting, I had been witness of this act but I didn't know its name is transfer of aggression or displaced aggression. And angry people starts their annoying shouting and they vent their frustration on us. It feels so bad for the other person. as you said they must take some time out, make use of humor, listen to music, watch a movie, and say funny things themselves. Transfer of aggression isn't really nice, and it's a rudely behavior.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Exactly dear Ellen, it isn't nice at all, and unfortunately most people tend to pour out their angry emotions on others who actually know little or nothing about what triggered their annoyance.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

It's so unfortunate that many people don't know this. Bosses at work especially transfers agression to their employees because of one thing or another.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Exactly, bosses at work also does this alot. It's so bad though

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Many people may say after work you can practice some sports or before work to avoid such pressure outside work office but during work, you can breathe deeply during each interval like 10 minutes each 2 hours of work. This could decrease anger and aggression.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

We should learn to keep cool, when we are under pressure. I also transfer my aggression sometimes and it is a very bad habit

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Sighs... Wow! This is new, never knew you get angry too, Mr Tomi... But you're right Sir, it's a really bad habit.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

We've all been there. God knows I've taken it out on those who has never been the object or recipient of my anger. It's better to keep away rather than lash out. Sometimes I just stay on my own and keep distance till I get over it.

$ 0.02
1 year ago

Wow! You're so right Mr Ola, it's better to just keep away, than lashing out; especially to people who have no idea about one's pains, thanks for this Mr Ola, I love how you handle aggression.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Thank you so much, Ella. 🤗

$ 0.00
1 year ago

We've all been through this situation where we poured our anger on unrelated people because of our primary anger, I learned to control my angry feelings, like avoiding talking to others at the height of my anger or controlling my nerves and thinking nice things to make me smile

$ 0.01
1 year ago

We've indeed been through this stage before dear Lara. Wow! Thanks for sharing some tips through your experience, I'll definitely start practicing; saying nice things to myself.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

The best way I deal with this, is to just stay away from people for the time being or just plug earphones into my ears

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Wow! Talon, such great ways to actually deal with it... Listening to music has proven to be of great help

$ 0.00
1 year ago

This is very common among people although, it's not a right attitude.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Yeah, it's really common and indeed it's not the right attitude.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Transferring aggression only makes the situation worse and the individual would return to his/her senses after the damage had been done.... Thats why I like my father, he behaves like you. Whenever they make hum angry outside, as soon as he enters the house, without even taking his meal, he takes a plastic chair and sits at a distance away from the flat, for fear of not unleashing the anger on his family. There he keeps talking to himself for hours till the anger dissipates while me and my watch him through the window and giggle till our stomach begin to ache 🤣

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Lol 😂😂 My goodness, lol... Honestly I'm really imagining this scenario you've plsced before me, lol, but indeed your dad chose one of the best ways to tame his anger.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Yup, we should think a 100 times before speaking, it also happens with me but i try to control and to not hurt the person in front of me,cos bad words hurt the most i myself experienced this.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Beautiful contribution dear, I'm glad you know how to control such emotions.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I get what you mean and it happens because we are humans sometimes we just need somewhere or somebody to direct certain emotions to that way we can get it over and done with

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Sighs, yeah Jumper, you're so right.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

It's normal to get angry but we shouldn't transfer it to someone else. I have always tried my best not to say a single thing whenever I am angry, it might show on my face but I wouldn't say negative words at all.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

We really shouldn't, and my oh my! I never knew you get angry.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Who doesn't get angry? It only has limit

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Transfer of aggression isn't the right thing to do trust me, what if both parties are angry, while you transfer yours to him, he transfers his to you, it won't end well.thats why when am angry, I just sleep..

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Yeah, it isn't the right thing to do at all... Lol, you just sleep?, That's indeed a great one, I should practice this too.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I do not thrash my aggression on anyone rather I keep it to myself. By the way I have made up a question like you talked about displaced aggression on someone or pets even materialistic things, is it also possible that some people displace their aggression into anabolic process? Because there are also people who do not express things rather they channelise their energy into their self-development,

By the way, saying sorry to anyone is very hard for me anytime but lately I go against myself just to challenge myself and say sorry to people.

$ 0.02
1 year ago

Wow! This is indeed great to hear, Trofi, I'm glad you hardly ever transfer aggression to others and yes, it's possible... I've seen people who actually does things like that.

It's really hard dear Trofi, but I'm glad you've started challenging yourself to learn how to say sorry. Thanks for stopping by dearest Trofi.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

It was indeed my pleasure to read such pragmatic content.

$ 0.00
1 year ago