The nudge, (obey that voice).

50 75
Avatar for Ellawrites
1 year ago

Nudge in plain terms can be seen as a push to do; or not to do something.

Nudge, according to Wikipedia means:

to push slightly or gently, especially with the elbow, to get someone's attention, prod someone into action.

"The nudge" in reference to what today's blog is all about is simply put:

That feeling, strong, urgent push to do something. The nudge I'm referring to is that which stays in our minds.

When your mind tells you to do something, when your mind is not comfortable with something, when your mind tells you not to go somewhere, when it tells you to keep quiet and just listen...

Have you ever?

  • Been nudged to read on a particular topic for test or exams, you find yourself disobeying and when you get to the hall, you realise that all the area of concentration and all you read didn't come out, but that one or two pages you felt won't come out, actually did. Then you start regretting and wishing ooh!

And my mind said it oh... (Sober reactions).

  • Tried passing your regular route leading to your workplace and you just had that strong nudge not to pass there that morning, you decided to obey and later you heard that all the people that passed that route in the morning were robbed?

I love stories, so here's one.

A girl was preparing to go for her early morning service in church "6am-7am" there was a shorter route that would have easily led her to church, a route she always passed, (who doesn't like shortcuts) and there was also a longer route that would put her through more trekking stress before she gets to church.

Well, on that fateful day; just as she was about entering her regular shortcut route, God placed a very strong nudge in her heart to pass the longer street, she felt it was her mind playing tricks on her and after all, God wouldn't want her to go late to church, the nudge was persistent, but she couldn't imagine going through the stress of passing the longer route.

She passed the shorter route and unfortunately, there were five men who were probably waiting for someone in skirts to come by...

She was raped...

You wouldn't blame God for this, she was warned, but God doesn't force, he warns you and still gives you an entitlement to choice "you either obey or disobey" but you'll bear the consequences of whatever action you make.

  • Been nudged to call someone and encourage the person, or pray for the person. And when you do so, you realize that the person was passing through trauma, and that single call you made; uplifted the person's soul?.

  • Been nudged to speak in tongues, pray, sing a praise song, laugh, smile?.

We all receive nudges, I doubt if there's a soul on this Earth that hasn't been nudged before.

Another story from my personal experience.

I came back knackered from a vigil rehearsal at exactly 6am. After a long journey from the venue of the vigil to my house, I was feeling really dizzy, I just wanted to hit the sheets and doze off to sleep...

But...

I had work to do that same day, so I had a minimum number of hours to satisfy my sleepy feelings. I hadn't cooked too, so I felt; "since there was light, let me cook first before I hit the sheets." I placed the beans into a pot and placed the pot on the gas cooker, and went to sit on one of the dining chairs.

Lo and behold!, the sleep kept beckoning on me to spare my eyes the luxury of rest.

A nudge was placed in my heart, to either sit and drill shorthand, just to take my mind off sleeping, or put off the gas and hit the sheets.

Nay... I didn't feel like drilling in shorthand that morning, even though it's what I love to do. I resolved in my heart to go and lay for awhile on my bed, close my eyes a bit and jerk back up to check the beans.

Beloved readers...

I actually woke up, but guess what time. I woke up by exactly 9am, now 6am to 9am Is a really lengthy gap.

The whole house was filled with black fumes, funny enough my dad who has a good sense of smell didn't even perceive the odour. Black fumes were everywhere, I literally had to pin my fingers to my nose as I walked swiftly to put off the gas. The pot was burnt beyond recognition, oh!. The beans, the texture was a terrible sight to behold.

I had to open the door for fresh air to enter and for those black fumes to move out. Oh, thank goodness the house wasn't burnt.

For weeks, the stench from the burnt beans was still very much present.

If I had obeyed the nudge and probably just sat on one of the dining chairs to drill... Or if I had put off the gas and gone to sleep.

Sighs...

Nudges mostly come from God, I call those nudges: "The Divine nudge"

Let's learn to obey, but not just obey, but to also hope for the spirit of discernment, to discern what is right or wrong.

Obey the voice.

Till we meet again in my next article and in yours.

Thanks for reading.

26
$ 3.27
$ 2.49 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.10 from @Tomi-Ajax
$ 0.10 from @Big-E
+ 18
Sponsors of Ellawrites
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Ellawrites
1 year ago

Comments

I certainly experienced plenty of nudges in my life. Some I obeyed, some I didn't. And in both instances, there were consequences - either good or bad.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

My dear friend, how beautiful and inspiring you said. I completely agree with you, God always throws what is good for us in our minds, it is we who have to decide whether to listen to the heartbeat sent to us by God, or to immerse ourselves in the material things of the world and ignore God's inspiration...

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Awwwwwn, Ellen. You've said it all, dear friend. And it's always good and best if we obey. Thanks for stopping by dear friend, good to have you here.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Omoh is all I can say. Sometime ago, I was preparing for my Mock examinations I'm my school (Secondary school), so I had a lot of things to read, a whole lot. So we were to write Physics the next day, I took up the Physics past question, randomly open to one of the years there. Then as I wanted to close it, I had this "nudge" to read it, and cram it in a case where I don't understand. I read it and crammed it, lol and behold, it was that question that came out in our exams, like verbatim, no changes. I know quite well that I would have performed badly in that exams if I didn't see that question cause the teacher himself didn't even teach us that partšŸ˜‚. Or was it during our Chemistry Mock exams, I read and was ready and eager to write the exams. My hormones were raging. When we entered the exam hall to write the exams, omo, I finished the objective questions within a twinkle of an eye and moved over to the theory questions. I didn't read the instruction to my understanding, if I even read it at all because I was in a rush to finish up, as per, I too Sabi. I answered 4 questions but the instructions states that we should answer "question 1 and any other 4, that's 5 questions in total šŸ˜‚. After writing the "4" I selected to the best of my knowledge, I had this feeling to go through my work again, maybe I will discover my mistakes and correct them. I went through the instructions again but I still didn't the gist. So I went straight and submitted my papers. When we got outside after everything, one of my friends walked up to me and asked me "Emeka, which of the questions did you answer, because I was only able to answer four questions instead of 5". I was like, "where is the 5 questions coming from, I thought they asked us to answer 4 questions". He said "No, we were to answer 5 questions". I argued with him for some minutes before I opted to check the question paper and confirm it myselfšŸ˜‚. Lo and Behold, I saw the instructions and it states " Answer question 1 and any other 4"šŸ˜‚. That was how tears started falling down from my eyes unprovoked. I was sad because that exams was to be used to determine the best student in the school, and I know I have messed up. But as God may have it, the little I wrote turned out to be enough to emerge as the best in that particular course. I was the best despite omitting a question that was worth 25 marks. The emotional trauma between, the time when the exam was written and the time when the results were published, was nothing to write home about. I had a lot of mood swings and even went as far as meeting the teacher to see if there's anything he can do. He said that there's nothing he can do that I should keep praying and hoping. Omoh, God is great.

$ 0.05
1 year ago

Lol šŸ˜‚ wow! I'm just stuck in awe. Especially towards the first experience you shared, likeee... Lol, thank goodness you obeyed, and lol...for the second experience, that was a really scary one, but God is great indeed. Cheers to that Chief.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Ella has made me learn a new word today. I feel nudged to keep writing and doing the best I can do. šŸ™‚šŸ™‚

When God is warning us, we should not disobey but listen because it's for our own good.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Awwwwwn, Princess, so good to have you here. Lol šŸ˜‚ with the emoji you used, it cracked me up. Lol

Yes, Princess, we should always learn to obey.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

šŸ˜šŸ˜

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Okay i feel like the one of you falling asleep is understandable. See we canā€™t fight nature as much as we try to more over just 3 hours of sleep at long hours of prayer.. you be strong woman.

Anyways thank you for this vocabulary lesson always something new to learn from your writing

$ 0.01
1 year ago

You're right jumper, we can't fight nature. I should have put off the gas and gave in to nature's call.

Thanks for your support jumper, it's well appreciated

$ 0.00
1 year ago

More often that not, we do not listen to that voice and end up regretting it.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Yeah, Aimure. We end up regretting we didn't.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I call those nudges, the tiny little voice. It guide us to do what is right without forcing us to. It is left to us to obey it or not.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Tomi...lol, yeah you're right, those tiny voices guides us and it's left for us to either obey or disobey. There'll definitely be consequences afterwards.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

yup that's true we should listen to our inner voice, inner feelings, the voice of god to stay away from the problems and hurdles, very nice article.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Exactly dear friend, we should listen to those voices. Seems you're new on my page. Thanks for stopping by here, I'll definitely do well to see you in your articles too.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

yes my dear I'm new not only to your profile but also to this platform it would be a pleasure for me if you visit my articles

$ 0.00
1 year ago

This is a feeling a lot of us have had on one thing or the other. Have to admit I didn't know this is what it is called, finally you're teaching me something for a change šŸ˜…šŸ˜…. Anyway when the lord send signs in form of these nudges we really should listen to it the girl paid the price its no ones fault but hers(well and the raper also). As always lovely article.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Yes indeed, it is. Yeah, we really should and the girl indeed paid the price.

Thanks for your contribution el.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Cool, and you're welcome. Still funny to me how you reply to texts here in such a formal manner lool....

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Nice content... keep writing .... there is always something new their is your article...

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Awww, Rafflesia, I'm delighted to have you here, thanks dear friend.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Sometimes your mind says you do not do something related to past bad experiences that you have faced by doing such practice because life is a lesson and we have to avoid previous mistakes that we have done in the past.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Yes amani, this is indeed true

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I get this push most time, the voice in my head will just be like, Now go to school.. There are many times it has even help me, it's like following my guts

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Yes Fash, following your guts. It's always great to obey that voice.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Yes mama pastoršŸ˜‰

$ 0.00
1 year ago

This is almost the time of the exam. The question that is not seen is the question that comes to the test. Then it takes a lot of trouble. I'm sorry to read this story of yours. God is truly great. He saved us somehow. So we have to give thanks to Allah all the time.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Oh yes! Sonali, he saves us frequently. God indeed is great. Thanks dear friend, it's so good to see you here again.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Ooh thank to God that you and your family are safe , feeling sorry for the girl, from the both incidents that you described I came to know that we should always listen to the feelings that come deeply from the heart , i.e nudges, Isn't it?

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Yes dear friend, thank God, we're safe. I feel sorry for her too. And yes we should discern the good from the bad and listen to that feelings that comes deeply from the heart. Yes friend, nudge and it's also called Intuition.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

That's why we are sometimes advised to follow our instincts. The more we follow our hearts when we are not having a good feeling about something, the wiser we become and the farther we will be from danger. It's another way of being careful. Since all be can't be too careful, you just have the follow where your spirit leads

$ 0.02
1 year ago

Yes dear, we should always follow our instincts. You've really summarized it all, thanks a whole lot for this. I love this line: " since we can't be too careful, you just have to follow where your spirit leads." After reading few comments on the comment box and yours. I guess "intuition" is very much similar.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

That's intuition. Subliminal hints are given to us on things we need to do everyday, the thing is that one has to be calm and attentive and present to understand them. I feel bad for the girl

$ 0.02
1 year ago

Hmm, you're right Doc... You know, after checking out and thoroughly reading different meanings on Intuition, I see you're actually right. It's really called Intuition. Thanks for this educative contribution.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Thanks Ella. You're welcomešŸ’–

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Wow! Miss Ella, a top notch article writer. What a lovely one from you...

Yh... when he speaks to us, it's advisable for us to obey

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Awwwwn, thanks alot Preiz, I really appreciate your kind gesture.

Exactly, it's better we obey than sober up later on.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Yes i faced it hehhehehe. Recently I have done with mids exam. During preparation of islamiyat exam i learnt every thing but I left a minor topic and you know what happened i came in paper of 10 marks question i was just ready to cry after seeing that question.hahahah anyhow i attempted it by my knowledge i got 7 out of 10.you write obviously correct we should listen to our inner voice that is from GOD .

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Ouch... Thanks for sharing your experience dear friend. Lol, 7 out of 10 is actually on the good side, it's actually an awesome result still and yes dear, we should always listen.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Wow, this speaks volume. Another worthy to read composition from you, Miss Ella. I have learned a lot from thisā¤

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Thanks alot May, and I'm so glad to see you here again.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I also experienced this, the thing regarding exam:((

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Awwwwwn, I hope you obeyed? And it wasn't all that difficult

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Let's listen to the voice that encourage us to do good. The voice we heard that pushes us to do something good is really comes from God because God is the source of all goodness. On the other hand, let's ignore those voices that make us unproductive and uneffective. Thanks for this article my friend.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Exactly Han, let's listen to that good voice, and let's ignore the bad and unproductive ones... Thanks for this lovely contribution Han.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Wow. I love this. Obedience is very much important in everything we do. Thanks for that reminder. I have been in this kind of scenario where I will regret what I'm supposed to do that I didn't do.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Yes diadem, obedience is very much important in everything we do. Thanks for the lovely contribution.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Could the nudge you speak of also be referred to as 'INTUITION'?. Sorry to hear about your pot of beans.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Perfect, you know, after reading your comment, I got to realize that intuition means more like what I'm talking about. So yes!... It can be referred to as intuition. Thanks for this sharp hint my friend.

$ 0.00
1 year ago