I Never Had a Boyfriend

33 60
Avatar for CrazyRichFilipina
2 years ago

No one: . . .

My friends:

"I'm excited for you to have a boyfriend."

"Are you seeing someone right now?"

"Magpa-party ako pag nagka-jowa ka." (I'll host a party once you get a boyfriend.)

"Paano ka kaya pag may jowa? Kasi si ganito si ganyan nakita ko na kung paano pag may jowa." (I wonder if how will you act once you get a boyfriend. Because I already seen our other friends how they act when they have a boyfriend.)

Me be like:

GIF from Tenor

Well, I often get bombarded with those lines by my friends. And sometimes, I honestly get annoyed because duh? Is it really a big deal if a person is single for so long? Is it really necessary to be in a relationship? The answer is ✨ no ✨

I am 20 already and I haven't had a boyfriend since birth... ever.

What I noticed nowadays and even since then is that being single is shameful while being in a relationship is on trend.

And... single-shaming is also more focused on women. For example, if a woman isn't in a relationship, most of the people see that woman as 'undesirable' or 'tatandang dalaga' (old single woman). While if it's a man who isn't in a relationship, most of the people call him a 'bachelor' which sounds more of a compliment. Doesn't it sound unfair?

Anyways, you may ask "why am I single?". Here's the reason, my friends...

1. Alone but not lonely.

Just like other people, I enjoy spending time alone but I am not a sociopath. Haha.

2. Hush, no rush.

I am not in a rush to enter into a relationship just for the sake of having it. As I've said, I think being in a relationship is a trend and I don't want myself to enter into it just because I feel pressured because everyone around me is in a relationship.

Just like others, I also believe in love. I am not against relationships. I think having a healthy relationship is such a beautiful thing but it is not that easy. Couples who are in a relationship should work together in order to have it. Let's just say that I am being preserved for someone really great in the future.

3. I am working on myself.

No one is going to make us whole other than ourselves. 

Don't expect someone to fill something in our life. Don't expect someone to be a solution to our problems. Work on ourselves first before entering in a relationship. Otherwise, it is unfair for the other person and the relationship will turn into an unhealthy slash toxic one.

As cliche as it sounds, I am working on making myself better right now. I am working on my self-confidence, self-esteem, and being authentic in front of others. I really am not an open person so most of the time I am having trouble being my true self to other people. You know the impostor syndrome? I experience that sometimes. By the time I get a partner, I want to be so honest and true to him. Being honest to one another is followed by also being comfortable to each other. A partner is someone who I'll spend most of my time with so I want to be honest and not live in a lie for most of my life just to please another person.


That's my answer to why am I single. I think I am single by choice though.

Now, I am going to answer some questions from a link that I got from @Meyzee at her article: Single ka dahil?

Here are my chosen questions:

7. Do you think you’re being too picky?

Definitely! This question also sounds like "do you think you have high standards?". Well, why not? There's nothing wrong with that.

There are people who shame others for having high standards.They will often say:

"Ang choosy mo naman." (You’re so choosy.)

"Luh. Gusto mo ng gwapo eh ang pangit mo naman." (You want someone handsome but you’re ugly.)

"Feeling mo naman makakahanap ka ng ganyan.” (You feel like you can find someone like that.)

“Kaka-high standards mo, di ka magkaka-jowa.” (You have high standards, you won't get a boyfriend/girlfriend.)

Stop shaming others for having high standards or any of their preferences. It’s none of your business. 😋

Personally, I have my realistic high standards. I can distinguish between realistic and fictional standards. Well, realistically, I can't find the exact man that I see in movies, k-dramas, Wattpad, and novels who is so good-looking, muscular, rich, and has all the good personalities aka perfect. Well, I know there are men like that who exist but maybe 1% of the total population? LOL. I will share about my standard or my ideal type in a separate article.

But seriously, everyone, it’s okay to have high standards and you shouldn’t lower it just because of external noises. Don’t settle for less.I somehow talk about this on my previous article: Things I'm Glad that I Did In My Teenage Life. And here’s my favorite quote for this kind of topic...

“When you don’t know how much you are worth, you will sell yourself cheap.”

—Breeny Lee, 2018

15. Do you ever get lonely?

Maybe there are times when I do. But most of the time, I don't get lonely. I really enjoy spending time alone. Actually, when it comes to roaming around the city, a place I am familiar with, and when shopping for an upcoming event, I prefer to be alone because I feel like I can really go to one place to another where I truly want and I won’t bother anyone’s time.

22. Don’t you want to have kids one day?

When I was in elementary school and didn't have any idea about real situations, I thought of having children in the future. But now that I think maturely at the age of 20, I actually can't imagine myself opening up my legs to give birth. Hahaha. 😂 I can't imagine myself taking care of a child cause I can't even take care of myself, what more if it's another human being? Hahaha. Imagining myself bearing a person inside my tummy for 9 months makes me terrified and worried. Having a kid is a huge responsibility and very expensive. Most of the time, I don’t have plans anymore on having kids, but maybe my mind will change in the future. Here are my plans instead of having kids:

  • One of my big goals is to travel the world so my plan is to just spend my money on travel rather than kids.

  • I will become a pet mom. I will adopt either cats or dogs.

  • I will be the Rich Tita (aunt). 💅

Disregard that gucci gloves though. I'm not fond of designer stuff LOL. Photo from Pinterest

24 Don’t you ever get tired of hanging out with the same group of friends?

No. Periodt.

25 Isn’t there someone you at least like?

I don't have anyone who I seriously like. I think the last time I had a serious crush was when I was in Grade 9, like 3 years ago. LOL. I'm not an asexual. The crushes that I have are Jonaxx boys aka fictional characters, Bigbang, and men on k-drama. 🥰

I guess if it is face to face right now, it is possible that I have a crush on someone on our campus.

28. Are you meeting new people?

No, because it's pandemic. My other friends are actually using Bumble (online dating app) to meet new people and I'm not against it. But as for me, I am really not interested with those stuff. I rather spend my time here on read.cash and on noise.cash.

30. Do you like the single life?

Yup. I got to spend so much time on things that have value for me. I got to do anything I want without another person bugging me. I got to save money by not going on dates. I don't need to explain everything to another person.

Photo from Pinterest

Those are my point of view on being single since birth.

I think right now as I am writing this... I am single, not ready to mingle yet. But if someone will come, it's okay (?). Maybe once I graduated, that's the time when I am completely ready for a commitment.

In our family, I noticed that most of my uncles and aunts' relationships, and even my parents... they are each other's first and last jowa (lover). And I also want that for myself. ❤️ (Ayoko na ng ex ex kasi ang daming drama. Hahaha.)

Nowadays, it's so hard to find a sensible person who can be your partner for the rest of your life. So, don't pressure anyone if they can't find a partner yet.

That's all! Sorry if I blabber too much. Haha.

Thanks for reading! 🤗


Previous Articles:

Get to know me more on my noise.cash: CrazyRichFilipina

Date Published: August 13, 2021


14
$ 1.11
$ 0.50 from @ewyr
$ 0.10 from @kli4d
$ 0.10 from @OfficialGamboaLikeUs
+ 10
Sponsors of CrazyRichFilipina
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for CrazyRichFilipina
2 years ago

Comments

Ah, 20 years old is still young. There will be time to find a boyfriend soon. Haha. But of course landi is life too. Haha. Make sure to landi when you're ready. XD

$ 0.01
2 years ago

I will po.Di pwedeng mamatay ako na di pa nakaka-landi hahahaha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Enjoy your youth, tama ka travel travel ka muna at magpakasawa ka..

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hahaha. Yes po.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Good, good good.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You have given wonderful reasons why you are single. The truth is body shaming is very common especially to women. They see them as whore sometimes when they do not have boyfriend in my country.

The truth is though I am not lonely or alone but there are times you will feel like wanting a relationship. But since we aren't desperate or in a rush, we should be patient and wait for the right moment.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

I think you are typo on body and it should be single. But it's okay :) I agree. I sometimes feel like wanting to have one but we can wait :D

$ 0.00
2 years ago

SIS YUNG MGA KAIBIGAN MO KAUGALI KO HAHAHAHAHA. lagi ko sinasabi sa kaibigan ko na eksayted ako magajowa sya. ayun ang kasi salawahan, pag may jowang lalake gusto ng babae tas pag may babaeng jowa ipagpapalit sa lalake. jusko wala rin

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Awe. Yun lang. Hahahaha. Buti di naman sila naiinis pag nagsasabi ka ng ganun sis? Ako kasi minsan pag ulit ulit naririndi na ako. HAHAHA.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

hindi sis puro nyenye naririnig ko xd

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Women are either single by choice or circumstance. In this day and age, with so many opportunities and options for women, being pressured to have a relationship is crazy. Live your life as you please, be responsible for your actions and choices, and don't forget that the world thrives on humanity, not whether you are single or double or even multiple!

I also wrote about the subject; It's here if you care to check out my point of view: https://read.cash/@zolabundance2/whats-wrong-with-being-single-faf5b80f

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Thanks for the advice! I will definitely check your article also :D

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Indeed, I love how peaceful being single

$ 0.00
2 years ago

No need to rush things sis. Enjoy being single. The right person will come at the right time. 😊 What's important is your happy in your status.。◕‿◕。

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Absolutely. That's what I'm doing rn. Thank you sis!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ang love hindi minamadali yan, hindi mo naman kase mapipili ang taong mamahalin mo. Di ba meron saksakan ng pogi pero hindi mo feel...🤣 Love will comes in a right time, in a right place and with the right person. Kapag naiistress ka na tungkol sa lovelife mo kapag may bf k na sasabihin mo na lang, sana di na ako nagboyfriend...🤣

$ 0.01
2 years ago

True! Pogi pero red flag? No thanks. Hahaha. 🤣

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You are welcome my love 💕, I like that keep it up

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Mas masaya maging single right now kasi you have more time to discover who you are and who you want to be without including another person sa dreams mo. Mahirap kasi pag nagka bebe lalo na pag serious na kasi kailangan mo na rin siya iadd sa isipin HAHAHA kala mo talaga may jowa ako eh no

$ 0.01
2 years ago

True yan! Pag may bebe, dagdag nanaman sa pangarap na aabutin hahahaha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hehe it's okay to be single sis... No stress, no commitment, no pains about love life. There's a perfect time and there's a deserving guy for your heart..❤️🥰

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Indeed 💯 San na kaya yung deserving guy ko baka nasa ibang bansa or kinder pa lang. Hahahaha. 🤣

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hahaha natawa ako sa kinder sis.. 😄 Malay mo baka nga nasa ibang bansa sis...☺️

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Masaya namang maging single HAHAHA 🤣 basta sabi ko sainyo may kwarta tayo iyon ang important. i don't know lang bakit rush ang lovelife ng iba. Ako taga sana all lang at crush crush okay na 🤣

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Apir tayo! HAHAHAHA. Walang jowa pero may kwarta, diba? 🤣 Ewan ko din sa iba. Kahit mga bata pa ngayon, bet na bet na mag-jowa. LOL.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Welcome to the pretty singles club 🤣

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Ay di ata ako accepted at belong dito di ako Pretty... single lang ate jane 🤣😭 HAHAHA

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Yes naman. May kasamang pretty 😂 @ExpertWritter kasama ka samin. Maganda ka kahit di pa kita nakikita. ❤️ Hahaha.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ay grabe ka 🤣 mas maganda nga kayo kesa sakin eh HAHAHA jusmeyo.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

There is nothing wrong in being single at 20. That totally absolutely fine. Its better too because its less distractions especially if you have your goals in life. At the age of 20, its better to focus on studies, career or work. Enjoy being single and work on self improvement. God's best will come at the right time. You are right. No rush!

Loves from Ate Andi. 😉😉🥰🥰

$ 0.05
2 years ago

Thank you ate Andi! 🥰 Life goals first before relationship goals? Hahaha.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You mean at 20 you don't have friends that are boys how are then working on yourselve. Because you tend to study them and know what boys do require then you will be able to understand your boyfriend when time comes for relationship

$ 0.01
2 years ago

I have friends that are boys and I even have brothers. What I mean is that I never had a boyfriend/lover. I have genuine platonic relationship with them, and I think I don't need to study them or whatever. It's unnecessary.

$ 0.00
2 years ago